"Like Yourself" Patrice Roberts ft. Machel Montano
19%

Total votes: 16

Re: Road March 2023

Postby eliteauto » February 22nd, 2023, 7:14 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Soca is such a untapped gold mine, very close to making it big internationally like Afro beats.

Lol, Soca had it’s shot and it’s been around a while now. The world knows or probably knows about Trinidad and it’s “greatest show on earth”…..if it was such a “gold mine” then successful artists as Niki Minaj would have made use of that opportunity. Even Machel with his greatness could not make it that big internationally. What is killing the music is the Trini culture, the lack of talent, consistency and the lyrics. My advice, keep the rhythm and beat, LOSE the wine, grind, jam and wave yuh hand…..the world just isn’t that into it. And when we want to promote Carnival and “show the world”, get rid of the chutney soca etc that brings the music down.

Follow the leaders of the music industry.
That's a pretty good analysis

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2023, 8:38 am

correct indeed,
but unfortunately the "artistes" themselves are trapped in the matrix of only looking to make an end from 15min/$15k fete appearances where all that matters is jump and wave yuh rag.
they already gone down the road of canned beats/rhythms which may or may not be a good thing
even voice on the rag bandwagon

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2023, 10:23 am

it's clearly a race between these 2

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2023, 10:33 am

a battle between auto tune vs non auto tune

solarkh

Postby solarkh » February 22nd, 2023, 10:45 am

They should have had EBC help them count this road-march yes…

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 22nd, 2023, 11:35 am

Looks like bunji took it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2023, 11:43 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Looks like bunji took it

Bunji 153 to 119 Nailah is what I heard

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2023, 11:44 am

Trinidad-Soca-Road-March-2023.jpg

I thought the runner was Machel x Destra

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 22nd, 2023, 11:57 am

Nice

It really is a hard mf song. Bunji very underrated and has always been consistently wicked.

Rough and tumble vibe vs the loverboi vibe like machel/kees

abducted

Postby abducted » February 22nd, 2023, 12:37 pm

What happened to the poll I made, it had a lot more votes than that,

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 22nd, 2023, 2:23 pm

abducted wrote:What happened to the poll I made, it had a lot more votes than that,

A landslide victory for Nailah too

But what u hadda understand is that when men using Tuner, they does be teefin wifi in work or shieting at home browsing tuner on the toilet.

Men does be sitting so it's hard to get pumped for a song like Hard Fete.
Nailah's song is more laidback by comparison, much more suitable for sedentary activities.

Hard Fete would hit you differently on the road. If men could vote on tuner on the road, Hard Fete would be the winner

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 22nd, 2023, 5:28 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
abducted wrote:What happened to the poll I made, it had a lot more votes than that,

But what u hadda understand is that when men using Tuner, they does be teefin wifi in work or shieting at home browsing tuner on the toilet.

Nailah's song is more laidback by comparison, much more suitable for sedentary activities.

Hard Fete would hit you differently on the road. If men could vote on tuner on the road, Hard Fete would be the winner

Tbh I find the vibe for hard fete in tribe wasn't all that, crowd definitely seemed to enjoy Nailah+Skinny and Destra+Machel and Patrice+Machel more.

Postby K74T » February 22nd, 2023, 6:23 pm

Vibes different in Bago dawg

FB_IMG_1677104413606.jpg

Postby mero » February 23rd, 2023, 9:29 am

Big up Bunji and Faye Ann for the hard work put in for Hard Fete, well deserved but Machel and Destra coulda take it imo. That song have a vibe u does hear on a 40 ft

Postby Gem_in_i » February 23rd, 2023, 8:11 pm

Nailah married?

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2023, 9:06 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Nailah married?
Not afaik, but she uncle said wash meh mouth with blue soap last time I talk bout she.

:mrgreen:

Postby Les Bain » February 23rd, 2023, 9:51 pm

The water lord put out anything this year?

Postby K74T » February 23rd, 2023, 11:58 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Nailah married?
No. Nailah Blackman Thornhill is her full name. She has both her mother and father's surnames.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 24th, 2023, 7:44 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:

Tbh I find the vibe for hard fete in tribe wasn't all that, crowd definitely seemed to enjoy Nailah+Skinny and Destra+Machel and Patrice+Machel more.

Well I hearing some reports bout Tribe that certain things happened so they didn't have energy for hard fete ehehehe

Postby redmanjp » February 24th, 2023, 9:01 am

Nails song is nice and emotional but not a song to cross d stage with except for the chorus part by Skinny. The rest of the song too slow for that - u would be walking across the stage instead of jumping like with hard fete.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 24th, 2023, 11:15 am

I keep hearing people say Hard Fete classified as Rapso tho

Anybody know more bout rapso to comment? Idk the subgenres much

Postby eliteauto » February 24th, 2023, 11:30 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:I keep hearing people say Hard Fete classified as Rapso tho

Anybody know more bout rapso to comment? Idk the subgenres much

I've heard no one say this, prob just your circle. Doesn't matter what ppl classify it as it won, deservedly so too

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 24th, 2023, 11:34 am

yeah my circle is local music producers/artists an ting, I should ask them instead :lol:

But it important to classify things tho mane, it's still soca, but there's subgenres to it

Postby eliteauto » February 24th, 2023, 12:08 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:yeah my circle is local music producers/artists an ting, I should ask them instead :lol:

But it important to classify things tho mane, it's still soca, but there's subgenres to it

I hope you didn't take my response as condescending or insulting, with what you've posted above it makes sense that your circle would have that discussion.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 24th, 2023, 12:46 pm

Kinna weird seeing Fay Ann get credit officially despite not having vocals on the track. In the past wasn't it just the singer(s) who are named winners?

For example we all know Kernal Roberts wrote and arrange some of MM's biggest road march hits but never once saw him listed a a road march winner.

Postby eliteauto » February 24th, 2023, 12:47 pm

She had vocals as stated by Bunji

Postby rollingstock » February 24th, 2023, 12:58 pm

Yes she sang all the periods and punctuation.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 24th, 2023, 1:06 pm

eliteauto wrote:She had vocals as stated by Bunji
Either she sounds like Bunji or I am deaf. I must have played that song tens of times on YT and never once could say I heard Fay Ann on it.

Postby eliteauto » February 24th, 2023, 1:14 pm

Good thing he eh need to convince allyuh, like allyuh was dey in the studio :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » February 24th, 2023, 1:57 pm

Imagine music made to be listened to only by professionals!!
eliteauto wrote:Good thing he eh need to convince allyuh, like allyuh was dey in the studio