Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2023, 1:28 pm

alfa wrote:
adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:
adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:1674577070263.jpg
Nothing like that was in public discussion before this year. Wait? What?!

COVID happens to be a disease of the old that can only be contracted from someone else.

Together, our findings establish COVID-19 as an emergent disease of aging, and age and age-related diseases as its major risk factors. In turn, this suggests that COVID-19, and deadly respiratory diseases in general, may be targeted, in addition to antiviral approaches, by approaches that target the aging process.

Did you read the article? Because he was specifically talking about the economic and educational costs of lockdowns as well as the fear mongering
Of course I read it. Do you remember the phrase "out of an abundance of caution" used in conjunction with lock downs? I do.

I recall questioning the means of transmission, fatality rate, vaccine efficacy, reinfection period, hospital capacity, PPE reuse, etc. What was known was that there were not sufficient staffing for the number of people being held in the hospital, tests were not adequate, insufficient oxygen availability, etc.

I want to write a story predicting who will win the last World's Cup so that some tuner will post it.

This wasn't you praising the lockdowns and now talking about an abundance of caution just as a medical doctor calls out the lockdowns as damaging ? You should go into politics dude seriously. But what does Dr Bratt know, he's only a doctor and not a BSc/Msc graduate trainee/OJT on an online forum
And I'm still waiting.

Postby sMASH » January 24th, 2023, 6:18 pm

https://youtube.com/watch?v=0Qn0DqZeOEI ... IECMiOmarE

A covidian admitting covid ativaxers were right, and he is worried about suffering effects of the Vax 5 years later.

Postby sMASH » January 24th, 2023, 6:43 pm

https://youtube.com/watch?v=fgVpVHL8nkY ... IECMiOmarE

Explanation of how the use and abuse of RELATIVE risk, gives the general peolle a false sense of effectiveness.

In other words, snake oil figures.

Postby timelapse » January 24th, 2023, 7:37 pm

Antivaxer logic: Vaccines kill
Also antivaxer logic: Old age kills,not viruses
Just now is death kills,not anything else except probably vaccines.

Postby sMASH » January 24th, 2023, 8:03 pm

timelapse wrote:Antivaxer logic: Vaccines kill
Also antivaxer logic: Old age kills,not viruses
Just now is death kills,not anything else except probably vaccines.
There is no evidence to go that route.

The 'my way or highway' approach to global health is a modus operandi of the vaxers.

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2023, 8:08 pm

sMASH wrote:A covidian admitting covid ativaxers were right, and he is worried about suffering effects of the Vax 5 years later.

I'm worried about the effects of sufferers, right now.
Last edited by adnj on January 24th, 2023, 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » January 24th, 2023, 9:04 pm

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:https://youtube.com/watch?v=0Qn0DqZeOEI&si=EnSIkaIECMiOmarE

A covidian admitting covid ativaxers were right, and he is worried about suffering effects of the Vax 5 years later.

I'm worried about the effects of sufferers, right now.
They keep voting pnm... They like the kool-aid they're sold.
Or, they can't admit they were fooled, so sticking to their decision.

Postby sMASH » January 24th, 2023, 9:32 pm

Biggest cover up : saying deaths after receiving the jab, is unvaxed deaths, because they died before the time span to fall in the vaxed category.

Postby maj. tom » January 24th, 2023, 9:36 pm

Have you ever written a letter to a local newspaper editor on this topic? They can publish your concerns and findings, let the greater population know. The ones who can't use facebook to do research and stuff.

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2023, 11:09 pm

sMASH wrote:Biggest cover up : saying deaths after receiving the jab, is unvaxed deaths, because they died before the time span to fall in the vaxed category.

They have to still test positive for covid to be counted though.

If u really want to know details file a FOI request.

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2023, 6:21 am

Actually linked up with some people and they were filing the FOIR.. Last week.

the problem is, the ministry wasn't collecting the data accurately to present it easily.

They would need to go back tru alll the first jab records and follow up to see if thise peolle died....
That's a lot of resources thst they may say they don't want to allocate.

Thats 600k first jabs.

I have np doing it, but would only be able to spare a few days a week at best.

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2023, 6:25 am

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:Biggest cover up : saying deaths after receiving the jab, is unvaxed deaths, because they died before the time span to fall in the vaxed category.

They have to still test positive for covid to be counted though.

If u really want to know details file a FOI request.
Those deaths don't necessarily have to be labeled As covee deaths.

U tek d jab, ded inside a week. Not long enough to be filed as vaxed no positive covee test, so is not covee.. Just labeled as heart failure
Or ischemic stroke.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 25th, 2023, 7:17 am

So china went from zero covid to total covid... trinidad would go from the mother of all carnival to the mother of all covid.

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2023, 8:06 am

BBC News
Skip to content
Sections
HomeUKWorldBusinessPoliticsTechScienceHealthFamily & EducationEntertainment & ArtsStories
ADVERTISEMENT
China Covid: Coffins sell out as rural losses mount
By Stephen McDonell in Shanxi
BBC News
25 January 2023, 00:10 GMT
Updated 1 hour ago
coffin maker
Image caption,
Demand for coffins in some rural areas has spiked

The BBC has found evidence of a considerable number of Covid-related deaths in China's rural regions, as the virus spread from big cities to more remote areas with older populations.

In Xinzhou region of northern Shanxi province the coffin makers have been busy. We watched the skilled craftsmen as they carved elaborate decorations into the freshly-cut wood. Over recent months, they say, they haven't had time to stop.

One villager, a customer, told us that at times the coffins have sold out. Laughing with a dose of the black humour you find in the area, he added that those in the funeral industry had been "earning a small fortune".

There has been much debate about the real number of Covid deaths in China, after the virus ripped through its megacities.

ADVERTISEMENT

Some 80% of the population - more than a billion people - have been infected since China scrapped restrictions in December, according to leading epidemiologist Wu Zunyou. Last weekend China reported 13,000 Covid-related deaths in less than a week, adding to the 60,000 deaths it has counted since December.

But these deaths have been in hospitals. In rural areas there are only sparse medical facilities and those who die at home are mostly not being counted.

There is not even an official estimate for the number of village deaths. But the BBC found evidence the death toll is mounting.

We visited a crematorium and they too have been busy, mourners dressed in white walking forward carrying the ceremonial box which would eventually contain the remains of a loved one.

In another village, we saw one man and woman loading huge tissue paper birds onto the back of a flatbed truck. "They're cranes. You ride the crane into the afterlife," the woman said.

As they packed up other elaborate, Buddhist images newly made from tissue paper they said they'd had an explosion in demand for their funeral decorations, two or three times what's normal.

Everyone we met in this part of Shanxi who is connected to the funeral industry told us a similar story about an increase in deaths and they all attributed it to the coronavirus.

brother in law
Image caption,
Wang Peiwei is determined to put on a good funeral for his sister-in-law

"Some sick people are already very weak," one man said as he continued to load the truck. "Then they catch Covid, and their elderly bodies can't handle it."

We followed the truck to where the artworks were being delivered and met Wang Peiwei, whose sister-in-law had just died.

The mother-of-two in her 50s had suffered from severe diabetes for years and then she caught the coronavirus.

"After she got Covid she had a high fever, and her organs began to fail. Her immune system wasn't strong enough to make it," said Mr Wang.

The courtyard at the family house was filling up with decorations for the ceremony. Mr Wang told us there were still more images, flowers and the like to come.

Standing in front of a tent in the courtyard where her body was covered up he explained that, on the day of the funeral, 16 people would carry her coffin and bury her in accordance with tradition.

He said that, though the cost of funeral arrangements had skyrocketed because of the number of Covid deaths, they would pay the extra money in her honour.

"She was a great person. We must hold a grand event to send her off, the best we can afford," he said.

Every year, hundreds of millions of younger people go back to their hometowns at this time to celebrate the Lunar New Year. It's China's most important festival.

The villages they are returning to are now places where mostly older people live - people who are more vulnerable to Covid.

getting the train
Image caption,
Millions of people have travelled back to their hometowns from big cities

There has been great concern that this year's Spring Festival mass migration could quickly spread the coronavirus into more remote areas, to deadly effect.

The government warned those in the cities not to go home this year if their elderly relatives had not yet been infected.

Doctor Dong Yongming, who operates a very small village clinic, thinks at least 80% of residents there had already caught Covid.

"All the villagers come to us when they're sick," he said. "We're the only clinic here."

Most who had died there had underlying diseases, he said.

In terms of managing the medicine they had as Covid hit the village, Dr Dong said they would not sell medicine to people beyond their needs.

"For example, I would only give out four Ibuprofen tablets per person," he said. "They don't need two boxes. It'll just be wasted."

However he said he believed the worst of this Covid wave was already behind them: "We haven't had any patients in recent days."

Those who die in this region are buried in the fields. Farmers then continue to plant crops and raise livestock around the mounds of their ancestors.

Driving along the road we noticed fresh mounds of earth with red flags placed on the top. A lot of them. A farmer herding goats confirmed that they were new graves.

"Families have been burying elderly people here after they die. There are just too many," he said.

graves
Image caption,
Fresh graves dot the nearby fields

In his village of a few thousand, he said that more than 40 residents had died during the most recent Covid wave.

"One day someone would die, then the next day someone else. It's been non-stop over the past month," he said.

But in the countryside here, they are quite philosophical about life and death. This farmer said people would still celebrate the new year like they always have.

"My son and daughter-in-law will come back soon," he said.

I asked if locals were worried that family members returning could mean more infections.

"People shouldn't worry. No fear!" he said. "You will still become infected even if you hide. Most of us have already got it and we are fine."

He, and many others are hoping that Covid's most deadly work has already been done and that, for the time being at least, their energy can be spent on being with the living rather than burying the dead.