I am too old to keep wearing sneakers everyday .....

Karim Khan

Re: I am too old to keep wearing sneakers everyday .....

Postby Karim Khan » October 25th, 2021, 8:41 am

altec wrote:Ok I hit the big 50... and the sneaker look is not cutting it again. Where sells decent chukka boots in TT?

I would suggest online shopping or waiting until you can make a Miami trip.

I understand maturing and the need to change/ upgrade your look.

As most of you guys know, I am on my feet for the better part of the day, so I need something comfortable, long-lasting, and stylish.

Some footwear brands from my experience that will give you both comfort and style are

- Birkenstock- Everyday comfort - Their sandals are durable and very comfortable, I have a couple of pairs of sandals, and they have never failed me. I wear their boots for work, there are also very comfortable, and I get loads of compliments.

- Cole Haan - Trendy and edgy shoes. They are a mix of both traditional shoes mixed with some sneaker elements. Very upbeat and comfortable.

- Timberland and or Sketchers - Workboots - the Timberlands are long-lasting, and depending on which style/ model you get, they are comfortable. Sketchers are also nice.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 25th, 2021, 11:17 am

Stylish department for the older gentleman I have been eyeing up minimalist sneakers - Common projects type sneakers with at less cost,crown northhampton, koio and Greats or even Thursday boots bought some Captain's recently but those are far from comfortable.

On your feet all day Sketchers had something called work sneakers in black dont look gawdy like most sneakers recommended here like you trying to catch a young ting.

It is really hard to get a shoe that is work comfortable, conservative and stylish all at the same time.

Postby MaxPower » October 25th, 2021, 12:03 pm

IMG_8101.JPG

IMG_8102.JPG

Some other shoes my African brothers used to wear in high school.

They were my friends so i used to wear a Clarkes sandman to fit in.

Oh and my Kangol hat in my bag.

Postby Dave » October 25th, 2021, 12:25 pm

What high school would that have been?

Postby De Dragon » October 25th, 2021, 12:40 pm

Dave wrote:What high school would that have been?

KFC High.

Postby Les Bain » October 25th, 2021, 12:43 pm

What was the appeal of Clarks desert boot? Of course I asking because I find they were ugly.

hindian

Postby hindian » October 25th, 2021, 1:02 pm

Les Bain wrote:What was the appeal of Clarks desert boot? Of course I asking because I find they were ugly.
Not to mention uncomfortable. I only bought my first pair of desert boots a couple years ago when I took a trip to London I wish I had bought their sneakers instead. Wifey has the sneakers and cah done talk about how comfortable they are. I didn't even know Clarks made sneakers until then.

Postby De Dragon » October 25th, 2021, 1:05 pm

hindian wrote:
Les Bain wrote:What was the appeal of Clarks desert boot? Of course I asking because I find they were ugly.
Not to mention uncomfortable. I only bought my first pair of desert boots a couple years ago when I took a trip to London I wish I had bought their sneakers instead. Wifey has the sneakers and cah done talk about how comfortable they are. I didn't even know Clarks made sneakers until then.

The kinda gum soled ones were very comfortable.
The caveat is that in my time they were, now with every sheit being made in China, maybe the standards have dropped?
Friday/Saturday evening rolling out in yuh freshly steamed, brushed suede desert boot Clark's, yuh colored Street Bright Levis and yuh Le Tigre long sleeves was the bees knees. Yes, I old :lol:

Postby timelapse » October 25th, 2021, 3:31 pm

IMG_8101.JPG

IMG_8102.JPG

Some other shoes my African brothers used to wear in high school.

They were my friends so i used to wear a Clarkes sandman to fit in.

Oh and my Kangol hat in my bag.
The Adi on top was my kinda style when I used to skateboard

Postby eliteauto » October 25th, 2021, 5:22 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Stylish department for the older gentleman I have been eyeing up minimalist sneakers - Common projects type sneakers with at less cost,crown northhampton, koio and Greats or even Thursday boots bought some Captain's recently but those are far from comfortable.

On your feet all day Sketchers had something called work sneakers in black dont look gawdy like most sneakers recommended here like you trying to catch a young ting.

It is really hard to get a shoe that is work comfortable, conservative and stylish all at the same time.

I have some Converse Jack Purcell in leather which does the trick.
Yesterday I saw Perry Ellis sneakers at Pricesmart, very clean look for under $400 would have grabbed a pair but the largest size was 12 looked similar to this:
perry.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » October 25th, 2021, 5:29 pm

eliteauto wrote:
timothymcdavid wrote:Stylish department for the older gentleman I have been eyeing up minimalist sneakers - Common projects type sneakers with at less cost,crown northhampton, koio and Greats or even Thursday boots bought some Captain's recently but those are far from comfortable.

Yesterday I saw Perry Ellis sneakers at Pricesmart, very clean look for under $400 would have grabbed a pair but the largest size was 12 looked similar to this:

POS branch?

Postby eliteauto » October 25th, 2021, 5:35 pm

No Mausica, not seeing it on their site so I don't know if it's a one-store item or it's just new and not uploaded yet. There were a lot of pairs

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » October 25th, 2021, 5:50 pm

hindian wrote:

The kinda gum soled ones were very comfortable.
The caveat is that in my time they were, now with every sheit being made in China, maybe the standards have dropped?
Friday/Saturday evening rolling out in yuh freshly steamed, brushed suede desert boot Clark's, yuh colored Street Bright Levis and yuh Le Tigre long sleeves was the bees knees. Yes, I old :lol:

The rubber of desert boots is called crepe, hence the term crepsole.

Postby Les Bain » October 25th, 2021, 9:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:

That's the sneaker aesthetic i always strive for, but the insole on those Perry Ellis real hard. I was checking it out and an uncle said some Dr. Scholl's would remedy that, but I cah do that anymore. Memory foam soles spoiled me too much. There's also this brand Oceania that makes really lightweight , breathable, flexible footwear.

The flexibility comes at a cost as it favours dry weather but i was surprised getting caught in rain and my feet and thin socks were dried within an hour.

Postby bluefete » December 20th, 2021, 6:36 am

Les Bain wrote:Never saw the hype with them Air Force sneakers. They look like 'special shoes,' especially the pure white ones that were all the rage in the 2000s.

This is the most popular sneaker in America
Updated: Dec. 19, 2021 at 9:40 a.m. ET
By Jeanette Settembre

The Nike Air Force 1 — the iconic sneaker that debuted nearly 40 years ago and has been seen on the likes of everyone from Victoria Beckham to Justin Timberlake — tops the list of the most searched for sneakers in 2021, according to an analysis from ebay of 32 brands of sneakers over the past four years. And for its part, research firm NPD also found the Nike Air Force was hot: Its data showed that the Nike Air Force 1 Low was the best-selling sneaker in America for the first half of 2021

https://www.marketwatch.com/picks/this- ... eid=yhoof2

Postby MaxPower » December 20th, 2021, 7:21 am

^ bandit shoe

They seem to love the white.

Postby timelapse » December 20th, 2021, 7:23 am

My dad bought me a guntha shoe:Airmax.
I wore it twice thus far.
First time, foot pain.Second time, I had to end up by an orthopedic doctor for sesamoiditis.
I guessing I won't be wearing it again.

Postby mero » December 20th, 2021, 10:05 am

MaxPower wrote:^ bandit shoe

You mean Black af1s.. All Black air force one is literally the most memed about criminal sneaker of all time.

Postby Les Bain » December 20th, 2021, 10:23 am

bluefete wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Never saw the hype with them Air Force sneakers. They look like 'special shoes,' especially the pure white ones that were all the rage in the 2000s.

This is the most popular sneaker in America
Updated: Dec. 19, 2021 at 9:40 a.m. ET
By Jeanette Settembre

The Nike Air Force 1 — the iconic sneaker that debuted nearly 40 years ago and has been seen on the likes of everyone from Victoria Beckham to Justin Timberlake — tops the list of the most searched for sneakers in 2021, according to an analysis from ebay of 32 brands of sneakers over the past four years. And for its part, research firm NPD also found the Nike Air Force was hot: Its data showed that the Nike Air Force 1 Low was the best-selling sneaker in America for the first half of 2021

https://www.marketwatch.com/picks/this- ... eid=yhoof2

The colour combos camouflage that the design makes it look like 'special' shoes. It very telling that the plain white ones are all the rage.

Postby Rovin » December 20th, 2021, 11:22 am

how dat looking jes like dem BOLT from school days , i guess bolt prolly copy them but imo that shoe always look so plain & boring ... meh

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 20th, 2021, 11:36 am

MaxPower wrote:^ bandit shoe

Alot of jordans and Af1s that bandits wear tend to be fake.

In America, Jordans and Af1s are viewed as premium sneakers. Jordans tend to be collectibles as well. It's the brand/shoe of choice for middle class and wealthy.

Nike on the whole I should say. Don't be fooled.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » December 20th, 2021, 5:54 pm

Presto Mid Utility Comfy and light

IMG_2556.JPG

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2022, 2:43 pm

Just got some new sapats

Dan's,
Vans
Acsics
Clarks
IMG-20220122-WA0002.jpg
IMG-20220116-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20220115-WA0020.jpg
IMG-20220118-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20220118-WA0004.jpg

Postby K74T » February 2nd, 2022, 2:44 pm

Dem Asics harddd dey baiyya.

Postby eliteauto » February 2nd, 2022, 2:45 pm

The Asics and the Vans look cool not a Jordan or desert boot fan

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 2nd, 2022, 6:10 pm

Fresh gear bai

david12

Postby david12 » February 2nd, 2022, 6:17 pm

Post your new Kicks thread?
IMG_20211224_075856.jpg
IMG_20211224_075910.jpg

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2022, 6:24 pm

eliteauto wrote:The Asics and the Vans look cool not a Jordan or desert boot fan
This my first Jordans and will be my last. My nephew encouraged me to get pair as a resell , but I will most likely keep it. I never knew Jordans has a big resell business. I saw pairs in the UK for £3000 plus.

The clarks is just to casual hang.

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2022, 6:29 pm

K74T wrote:Dem Asics harddd dey baiyya.
That's the tiger Onitsuka brand of Asics made in Japan.
That pair was £180 , I got a stach of regular Asics but never had the Japanese made one.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » February 2nd, 2022, 6:36 pm

Asics………

Nothing else needed