Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Dohplaydat

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby Dohplaydat » October 21st, 2021, 3:00 pm

sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:
adnj wrote:
eitech wrote:So tell me this, aren’t there people who cannot take the vaccine?
That is not anti-vaxx.

If you have medical or religious reasons, most governments allow for special dispensations.

---------

"... there are certain categories of unvaccinated safe zone employees that can enter these area once they have in their possession a medical exemption certificate or a medical deferral certificate."

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/u ... 3f0fe.html

All i am saying is that there are balanced arguments for and against. This has nothing to do with antivaxx or provaxx extremists. But some of you have on blinders and jus shoot out the stables. Geez boi

Let's hear some of your so called balanced arguments then.

Someone stated that there is no good argument against the vaccines.
So aren’t those who have genuine reasons for not taking the vaccine as you mentioned above arguments against the vaccine?

That's not an argument against vaccines, it's actually an argument FOR vaccines. All vaccines have had this problem where some persons are not able to take it due to allergies, immune-compromised, etc.

Therefore, the only way these persons get protected is if all of us take the vaccine.
U get immunity naturally, after infection.
Vaxed people can still catch it.

Who harden and dont want to vax will either develop immunity or die.

There isn't a big gain if all get vaxed,
And there isn't an increased risk if some people don't Vax. Cause they will either die or get naturally immune.

This (that there isn't a big gain) has proven to be completely untrue. 95% of the covid deaths we're having right now would not have happened if those persons were fully vaccinated. 90% of the hospitalizations we have now would not need to be there if they were vacinated.

You can't go back to any normalcy without vaccines, and you can't NOT overload hospitals without vaccines.

Basic logic, I still can't understand how some of you all don't get it.

You want to develop natural immunity? Fine, just expect hospitals jam up for months on end, and unnecessary deaths skyrocketing. So that isn't a solution.

If 99% of people took the vaccine the covid problem would be eliminated. Simple as that.

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2021, 3:38 pm

If unvaxed, would rather die than take a jab, and vaxed can spread it still, why force people?
If ur unvaxed and get it, u die or gain immunity. U vaxed, and still spreading it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2021, 4:41 pm

COVID reinfections likely within one or two years, models propose
Estimates based on viral evolution forecast a 50% risk 17 months after a first infection without measures such as masking and vaccination.

The findings also warn that people could be reinfected in just a few months if they are not vaccinated. “Immunity is relatively short-lived,” says study co-author Jeffrey Townsend, a bioinformatician at the Yale School of Public Health in New Haven, Connecticut. “You should still get vaccinated even if you got infected.”

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-02825-8

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2021, 7:11 pm

Keep allyur jab and leff me alone.

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » October 21st, 2021, 7:42 pm

sMASH wrote:If unvaxed, would rather die than take a jab, and vaxed can spread it still, why force people?
If ur unvaxed and get it, u die or gain immunity. U vaxed, and still spreading it.

hope ur still uttering this garbage when you break your leg and need hospital care and cant get it because everywhere filled to the brim with covid patients

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2021, 7:49 pm

Govt already mentioned triage, sando was always as u described, like a war zone.
I pay my health surcharge
Gimme back my taxes or rock so

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 21st, 2021, 7:55 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:
adnj wrote:
eitech wrote:So tell me this, aren’t there people who cannot take the vaccine?
That is not anti-vaxx.

If you have medical or religious reasons, most governments allow for special dispensations.

---------

"... there are certain categories of unvaccinated safe zone employees that can enter these area once they have in their possession a medical exemption certificate or a medical deferral certificate."

All i am saying is that there are balanced arguments for and against. This has nothing to do with antivaxx or provaxx extremists. But some of you have on blinders and jus shoot out the stables. Geez boi

So aren’t those who have genuine reasons for not taking the vaccine as you mentioned above arguments against the vaccine?

That's not an argument against vaccines, it's actually an argument FOR vaccines. All vaccines have had this problem where some persons are not able to take it due to allergies, immune-compromised, etc.

Therefore, the only way these persons get protected is if all of us take the vaccine.

And there isn't an increased risk if some people don't Vax. Cause they will either die or get naturally immune.

This (that there isn't a big gain) has proven to be completely untrue. 95% of the covid deaths we're having right now would not have happened if those persons were fully vaccinated. 90% of the hospitalizations we have now would not need to be there if they were vacinated.

You can't go back to any normalcy without vaccines, and you can't NOT overload hospitals without vaccines.

You want to develop natural immunity? Fine, just expect hospitals jam up for months on end, and unnecessary deaths skyrocketing. So that isn't a solution.

If 99% of people took the vaccine the covid problem would be eliminated. Simple as that.

Your whole point is hinged on covid deaths ... What is the definition of a Covid death?
Also how does a vaccine prevent a covid death when a covid death is not actually a covid death??? :shock:

Postby adnj » October 21st, 2021, 8:09 pm

drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:
adnj wrote:That is not anti-vaxx.

---------

Your whole point is hinged on covid deaths ... What is the definition of a Covid death?
Also how does a vaccine prevent a covid death when a covid death is not actually a covid death??? :shock:
Let's talk actual deaths at rate... they are higher than they used to be, higher than what is reported and very, very likely have only one explanation - COVID. But you should know this.

----------

How many people have died because of the covid-19 pandemic? The answer depends both on the data available, and on how you define “because”. Many people who die while infected with SARS-CoV-2 are never tested for it, and do not enter the official totals. Conversely, some people whose deaths have been attributed to covid-19 had other ailments that might have ended their lives on a similar timeframe anyway. And what about people who died of preventable causes during the pandemic, because hospitals full of covid-19 patients could not treat them? If such cases count, they must be offset by deaths that did not occur but would have in normal times, such as those caused by flu or air pollution.

Rather than trying to distinguish between types of deaths, The Economist’s approach is to count all of them. The standard method of tracking changes in total mortality is “excess deaths”. This number is the gap between how many people died in a given region during a given time period, regardless of cause, and how many deaths would have been expected if a particular circumstance (such as a natural disaster or disease outbreak) had not occurred. Although the official number of deaths caused by covid-19 is now , our single best estimate is that the actual toll is people. We find that there is a 95% chance that the true value lies between and additional deaths.

https://www.economist.com/graphic-detai ... -estimates
Last edited by adnj on October 21st, 2021, 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » October 21st, 2021, 9:05 pm

Dotish kants like hover and "dr" Falsi will never be convinced. They keep shifting goalposts because they are struggling for attention and relevance.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 21st, 2021, 9:23 pm

De Dragon wrote:Dotish kants like hover and "dr" Falsi will never be convinced. They keep shifting goalposts because they are struggling for attention and relevance.

Ahh the poster child for gross obesity graces us with his words.
Covid is deadly for the obese so you should be afraid ... you should be very afraid.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 21st, 2021, 9:29 pm

adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:

Let's talk actual deaths at rate... they are higher than they used to be, higher than what is reported and very, very likely have only one eeexplanation - COVID. But you should know this.

----------

How many people have died because of the covid-19 pandemic? The answer depends both on the data available, and on how you define “because”. Many people who die while infected with SARS-CoV-2 are never tested for it, and do not enter the official totals. Conversely, some people whose deaths have been attributed to covid-19 had other ailments that might have ended their lives on a similar timeframe anyway. And what about people who died of preventable causes during the pandemic, because hospitals full of covid-19 patients could not treat them? If such cases count, they must be offset by deaths that did not occur but would have in normal times, such as those caused by flu or air pollution.

Rather than trying to distinguish between types of deaths, The Economist’s approach is to count all of them. The standard method of tracking changes in total mortality is “excess deaths”. This number is the gap between how many people died in a given region during a given time period, regardless of cause, and how many deaths would have been expected if a particular circumstance (such as a natural disaster or disease outbreak) had not occurred. Although the official number of deaths caused by covid-19 is now , our single best estimate is that the actual toll is people. We find that there is a 95% chance that the true value lies between and additional deaths.

With this logic we should start counting all road traffic deaths as caused by alcohol since some road traffic victims and perpetrators have alcohol in their systems.

You sir are a true loyal Tribal drone like the PNMites/dUNCes ... Even when you see your party/side spewing out sheit you lap it up and tell everyone to come they giving out free chocolate ice cream and its great. :lol:

Postby adnj » October 21st, 2021, 9:40 pm

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Let's talk actual deaths at rate... they are higher than they used to be, higher than what is reported and very, very likely have only one eeexplanation - COVID. But you should know this.

----------

With this logic we should start counting all road traffic deaths as caused by alcohol since some road traffic victims and perpetrators have alcohol in their systems.

You sir are a true loyal Tribal drone like the PNMites/dUNCes ... Even when you see your party/side spewing out sheit you lap it up and tell everyone to come they giving out free chocolate ice cream and its great.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 22nd, 2021, 1:42 am

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

----------

You sir are a true loyal Tribal drone like the PNMites/dUNCes ... Even when you see your party/side spewing out sheit you lap it up and tell everyone to come they giving out free chocolate ice cream and its great. :lol:

Do you even know how to read?

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2021, 6:18 am

Media have an agenda

https://youtu.be/zTtzGhYd0Po

Postby adnj » October 22nd, 2021, 7:01 am

sMASH wrote:Media have an agenda

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2021, 7:07 am

Day 538 existing without the jab and still alive

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2021, 7:17 am

Coming soon to a safe space near u
FB_IMG_1634900920485.jpg

Postby adnj » October 22nd, 2021, 7:28 am

"More than a third of 26 major trials of [ivermectin] for use on Covid have serious errors or signs of potential fraud. None of the rest show convincing evidence of ivermectin's effectiveness."

---------

Ivermectin: How false science created a Covid 'miracle' drug

By Rachel Schraer & Jack Goodman
BBC Reality Check

Ivermectin has been called a Covid "miracle" drug, championed by vaccine opponents, and recommended by health authorities in some countries. But the BBC can reveal there are serious errors in a number of key studies that the drug's promoters rely on.

For some years ivermectin has been a vital anti-parasitic medicine used to treat humans and animals.

But during the pandemic there has been a clamour from some proponents for using the drug for something else - to fight Covid and prevent deaths.

The health authorities in the US, UK and EU have found there is insufficient evidence for using the drug against Covid, but thousands of supporters, many of them anti-vaccine activists, have continued to vigorously campaign for its use.

Members of social media groups swap tips on getting hold of the drug, even advocating the versions used for animals.

The hype around ivermectin - based on the strength of belief in the research - has driven large numbers of people around the world to use it.

Campaigners for the drug point to a number of scientific studies and often claim this evidence is being ignored or covered up. But a review by a group of independent scientists has cast serious doubt on that body of research.

The BBC can reveal that more than a third of 26 major trials of the drug for use on Covid have serious errors or signs of potential fraud. None of the rest show convincing evidence of ivermectin's effectiveness.

Dr Kyle Sheldrick, one of the group investigating the studies, said they had not found "a single clinical trial" claiming to show that ivermectin prevented Covid deaths that did not contain "either obvious signs of fabrication or errors so critical they invalidate the study".

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-58170809

Postby adnj » October 22nd, 2021, 7:34 am

No 10 to buy new antiviral treatments for Covid in time for winter

Trials show one of drugs cuts risk of hospitalisation or death for patients by half

Wed 20 Oct 2021 17.00 BST

Last modified on Thu 21 Oct 2021 05.14 BST

No 10 has made deals to buy hundreds of thousands of doses of two new antiviral treatments for coronavirus, ministers have announced, at least one of which it is hoped will be approved for use in the UK ahead of the winter.

One deal covers 480,000 courses of molnupiravir, which can be taken as a pill twice a day. In trials, the drug, made by Merck, known as MSD outside the US, has been shown to cut the risk of hospitalisation or death for patients not in hospital by half.

The other treatment is PF-07321332/ritonavir, a combination of another oral antiviral treatment with ritonavir, a drug usually used to treat HIV/Aids. Made by Pfizer, the UK has a deal for 250,000 courses, the announcement said.

Neither treatment would be used in patients before approval by the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA); trials for PF-07321332/ritonavir are still under way. The supply of molnupiravir is expected to arrive no earlier than mid-November, with the Pfizer antivirals expected in late January.

Ministers and health advisers said the deals, made by the government’s antivirals taskforce, could play a significant role in reducing the extent of serious Covid cases over the winter. The health secretary, Sajid Javid, said they would form part of “an armoury of lifesaving measures to tackle the virus”.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/ ... for-winter

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 22nd, 2021, 7:49 am

UK has almost become a testbed for the rest of the world. It seems like they've got the right size, weather (sheit weather), population density, social interactions and money to throw at the pandemic....giving us a good glimpse of what we can expect in other countries.

Now we'll see how boosters, and molnupiravir (really should choose a better name) affect covid cases and deaths this winter.

US and the rest of the temperate world take note.

Trinidad might now follow the dynamics of these countries, especially during the winter effects. That said, delta is still very contagious and trinis are becoming more relaxed.

I do feel our delta outbreak will take place around Dec.

Postby adnj » October 22nd, 2021, 7:53 am

Dohplaydat wrote:UK has almost become a testbed for the rest of the world. It seems like they've got the right size, weather (sheit weather), population density, social interactions and money to throw at the pandemic....giving us a good glimpse of what we can expect in other countries.

Now we'll see how boosters, and molnupiravir (really should choose a better name) affect covid cases and deaths this winter.

Trinidad might now follow the dynamics of these countries, especially during the winter effects. That said, delta is still very contagious and trinis are becoming more relaxed.

"Molnupiravir, known as MSD outside the US."

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 22nd, 2021, 7:57 am

Screenshot 2021-10-22 at 12.56.47 pm.png

Do any Anti-vaxxers want to explain the excess deaths?

Postby hover11 » October 22nd, 2021, 7:58 am

Dohplaydat wrote:UK has almost become a testbed for the rest of the world. It seems like they've got the right size, weather (sheit weather), population density, social interactions and money to throw at the pandemic....giving us a good glimpse of what we can expect in other countries.

Delta has been here weeks now probably months and we only expected to see an outbreak in Dec, where is the pandemonium where is the crisis of epic proportions, where are the full ICU units....just fear mongering

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 22nd, 2021, 8:06 am

hover11 wrote:

Delta has been here weeks now probably months and we only expected to see an outbreak in Dec, where is the pandemonium where is the crisis of epic proportions, where are the full ICU units....just fear mongering

We are currently in a bad situation, it's a manageable situation only because things aren't fully open, we have mask-wearing mandates. Delta in other places caused increases in spite of that, give it a few more weeks, there will be an uptick.

Postby hover11 » October 22nd, 2021, 8:17 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:

We are currently in a bad situation, it's a manageable situation only because things aren't fully open, we have mask-wearing mandates. Delta in other places caused increases in spite of that, give it a few more weeks, there will be an uptick.
Mask wearing? These cloth masks do nothing against the delta variant and we have alot of chin diapers here but alright

Postby adnj » October 22nd, 2021, 8:24 am

hover11 wrote:Delta has been here weeks now probably months and we only expected to see an outbreak in Dec, where is the pandemonium where is the crisis of epic proportions, where are the full ICU units....just fear mongering

Postby aaron17 » October 22nd, 2021, 9:26 am

adnj wrote:

"More than a third of 26 major trials of [ivermectin] for use on Covid have serious errors or signs of potential fraud. None of the rest show convincing evidence of ivermectin's effectiveness."

---------

Ivermectin: How false science created a Covid 'miracle' drug

By Rachel Schraer & Jack Goodman
BBC Reality Check

Ivermectin has been called a Covid "miracle" drug, championed by vaccine opponents, and recommended by health authorities in some countries. But the BBC can reveal there are serious errors in a number of key studies that the drug's promoters rely on.

For some years ivermectin has been a vital anti-parasitic medicine used to treat humans and animals.

But during the pandemic there has been a clamour from some proponents for using the drug for something else - to fight Covid and prevent deaths.

The health authorities in the US, UK and EU have found there is insufficient evidence for using the drug against Covid, but thousands of supporters, many of them anti-vaccine activists, have continued to vigorously campaign for its use.

Members of social media groups swap tips on getting hold of the drug, even advocating the versions used for animals.

The hype around ivermectin - based on the strength of belief in the research - has driven large numbers of people around the world to use it.

Campaigners for the drug point to a number of scientific studies and often claim this evidence is being ignored or covered up. But a review by a group of independent scientists has cast serious doubt on that body of research.

The BBC can reveal that more than a third of 26 major trials of the drug for use on Covid have serious errors or signs of potential fraud. None of the rest show convincing evidence of ivermectin's effectiveness.

Dr Kyle Sheldrick, one of the group investigating the studies, said they had not found "a single clinical trial" claiming to show that ivermectin prevented Covid deaths that did not contain "either obvious signs of fabrication or errors so critical they invalidate the study".

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-58170809

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 22nd, 2021, 10:28 am

Social engineering. Tests are being done to check systems. If they put it in the water many people will die yes. But they are trying to depopulate with a strategy. To answer the question posted before.

Postby adnj » October 22nd, 2021, 10:36 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:Social engineering. Tests are being done to check systems. If they put it in the water many people will die yes. But they are trying to depopulate with a strategy. To answer the question posted before.
Interesting but the exact opposite is true. The most profound way to decrease population is to increase affluence.

-------

BIRTH RATES DECREASE AS PEOPLE RISE OUT OF POVERTY

Many people argue that deaths resulting from poverty are an unfortunate solution to overpopulation. They assume that raising families out of poverty will only give them more resources to support ever more children. However, the evidence actually shows that birth rates decrease as people rise out of poverty. This is because parents are often forced by high child mortality rates to have several children to ensure that they will have someone to care for them as they age. When these families are no longer living in extreme poverty, they can be more confident that their children will survive, allowing them to have fewer children. According to the World Health Organization, both the actual death and the fear of death of a child results in higher fertility rates, regardless of a family’s size or income level.

https://borgenproject.org/birth-rates-d ... f-poverty/

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 22nd, 2021, 10:52 am

adnj wrote:

You should care that the media willingly hides info and moves the goal post :P

It's not like millions of people watch the news anyhow, right? :drinking: