Casareep?

axe

Casareep?

Postby axe » October 19th, 2021, 8:13 pm

By chance anyone knows where you can get GENUINE GUYANESE Casareep?
Thanks

Re: Casareep?

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2021, 8:41 pm

i see a local company selling bottled one
supposedly imported from guyana

Postby Chimera » October 20th, 2021, 3:16 am

Price club

death365

Postby death365 » October 20th, 2021, 4:38 am

Had to Google what it is ...

This actually shows how varied Caribbean cuisine is.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 20th, 2021, 5:16 am

saw it from chief in food basket. spelt cassareep

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2021, 7:04 am

the crappy ones taste like molasses
the good ones have bright spicy(not pepper) taste

axe

Postby axe » October 20th, 2021, 7:58 am

Not the commercial branded one. I wanted to know if there are any making it locally. Cottage type production. Commercial ones won't be true authentic.

Thanks

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 20th, 2021, 8:25 am

does trinidad produce enough cassave to make cassareep production viable?

ask anyone upstairs chaguanas market. them guyaneese must know where to get in trinidad.

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2021, 8:31 am

daring dragoon wrote:does trinidad produce enough cassave to make cassareep production viable?

ask anyone upstairs chaguanas market. them guyaneese must know where to get in trinidad.
It have land like dat to step up production. If there is demand within a year u coud get the supply to match.

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2021, 8:44 am

i have never seen the bitter cassava for sale
dunno if ppl have it growing

axe

Postby axe » October 20th, 2021, 10:11 am

Some people use it to stew chicken for diabetics...I'm interested because of that. A friend of mine uses it but since the pandemic has lost contact with a Guyanese who used to sell it.
Do you know amerindians used it to preserve their food for weeks?
There are records of pepperpot being used for more than a week ...no fridge...just added Cassareep to it...

Real interesting

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 20th, 2021, 11:47 am

Jeez man this post just hurting my head yes ... hard enough to get good cassareep in Guyana imagine the horrors getting it here.

Once you boil your pepper pot everyday it keeping ... a week is joke ... they got pepper pot boiling for months on end ... no refrigeration required cassareep is a preservative only issue is the meat does mash up so that is why in the Amerindian villages they keep adding meat to their pepper pot.

The problem with getting cassareep in Guyana sometimes is that some unscrupulous persons mix molasses into it so you get short change.

axe

Postby axe » October 20th, 2021, 12:25 pm

Oh my. Thanks for that info

Postby toyolink » October 20th, 2021, 5:25 pm

This reminds me of conversation in the 'Guyanese' thread in 2010 about casareep and tennis roles amongst other things.
With all the changes over the last few years, one wonders if Guyana will continue to give the production of casareep the importance it achieved.
Oil wealth leads to the leaving behind of many cultural blessings.
I certainly would be faced with getting a supply very soon.

axe

Postby axe » October 20th, 2021, 9:19 pm

Yes "Dutch disease" and resource curse effects for sure.
Still trying to get my hands on genuine one not that which they selling in some supermarkets...
Link me if you can....

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2021, 9:29 pm

i have some a padna bring back for me once
got it in a local market
came in a cokes bottle
really nice flavor and look like it have cinnamon and bay leaf in it

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 21st, 2021, 8:19 am

toyolink wrote:This reminds me of conversation in the 'Guyanese' thread in 2010 about casareep and tennis roles amongst other things.
With all the changes over the last few years, one wonders if Guyana will continue to give the production of casareep the importance it achieved.
Oil wealth leads to the leaving behind of many cultural blessings.
I certainly would be faced with getting a supply very soon.

Bro ... you all fellahs need to know real and i mean real cassareep is made in amerindian villages it is a source of income to them so its production is very small scale ... dutch disease is very unlikely to happen in Guyana because of how big the country is and how diverse its economy is.

If you fellahs only know how the real McCoy is made you all might not want it again ... lol.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 21st, 2021, 8:21 am

pugboy wrote:i have some a padna bring back for me once
got it in a local market
came in a cokes bottle
really nice flavor and look like it have cinnamon and bay leaf in it

Cinnamon and bay leaf ... errr bruh it might taste good but dont leave that pepper pot/stew out it wont last real cassareep is boiled down cassava juice. Also all the real cassareep i have gotten come in ole rum bottle and the more dusty it look the better ... lol ... no lie.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 21st, 2021, 8:28 am

Here you go fellahs real mcCoy being made here. Dont scorn save that when you see the amerindian making piwari.

axe

Postby axe » October 21st, 2021, 1:39 pm

It's not so unsanitary man...lol

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2021, 2:56 pm

they does chew it up and spit out to ferment to make alcoholic beverage too

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 21st, 2021, 2:58 pm

now buy it from chief and trying it now cooking some creole chicken

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2021, 3:07 pm

does it say where it made?

daring dragoon wrote:now buy it from chief and trying it now cooking some creole chicken

axe

Postby axe » October 21st, 2021, 3:08 pm

That is not the real stuff though.
Contacted someone with Guyanese connections...they trying to help me out

axe

Postby axe » October 21st, 2021, 3:16 pm

As far as I know they use the bitter or poisonous cassava to make...don't know if they said that in the vid...had to look without audio

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 21st, 2021, 3:25 pm

axe wrote:As far as I know they use the bitter or poisonous cassava to make...don't know if they said that in the vid...had to look without audio

It's all there bro ... 5:20 put on your CC like you now start looking at videos at work ... all dis stress you causing I hope this pot you making up to scratch you dont waste good cassareep on a substandard set of meat eh?

axe

Postby axe » October 21st, 2021, 3:44 pm

:lol: ok man

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 22nd, 2021, 12:42 pm

dais nuh d beach down by shagaramas?

daring dragoon