Beers in Trinidad Review Ched

Re: Beers in Trinidad Review Ched

Postby stev » September 30th, 2021, 12:37 am

LMAO. it's not the best but it's not THAT bad...

Postby De Dragon » September 30th, 2021, 12:39 am

viedcht wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Yes, anyone remembers Carib Strong? :evil:

Only ever heard of Carib strong

7.2% alco. Was about $3-4 iirc, so for a $20 yuh cudda get ah nice buzz :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 30th, 2021, 9:39 am

Carib Strong was good stuff. I had a mega sad when it was discontinued
Things I think taste stink and nasty
Hurricane Reef
Blue Moon (rotten grapefruit)
IPAs in general
I used to like Coors Light until they started making it locally

Also, Peroni is pretty decent

Postby st7 » September 30th, 2021, 9:56 am

peroni leggera does taste decent.

i agree -- coors light tasting rel diff since carib making it.

Postby timelapse » September 30th, 2021, 10:38 am

Carib Strong was Chris Garcia's sweat

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 30th, 2021, 10:39 am

Anyone ever try stella artois?

Postby st7 » September 30th, 2021, 11:47 am

SuperiorMan wrote:Anyone ever try stella artois?

yeah -- it good. would recommend

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 30th, 2021, 1:06 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Anyone ever try stella artois?

Aka the Wife beater beer in England, pretty much the Carib and Budweiser of Belgian beers, i.e. a cheap AF beer that hits the spot.

Postby timelapse » September 30th, 2021, 2:40 pm

My cousin r.i.p. brewed beer at home before it died.Was on his bucket list.Tasted really good for home stuff.Was a kit he bought on Amazon

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 30th, 2021, 4:15 pm

st7 wrote:peroni leggera does taste decent.

i agree -- coors light tasting rel diff since carib making it.
The bottle tastes very different from the can too

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 30th, 2021, 6:24 pm

stev wrote:what you guys think of Hurricane Reef? (Green label with the plane) everyone I ask hate the bitterness but I rel like it (not too cold)
Men say that if ever someone decide to make beer from carillie, it would taste like Hurricane Reef
It don't taste that bad, have to get used to the aftertaste though

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 30th, 2021, 6:28 pm

Gladiator wrote:
timelapse wrote:Dawg I cant believe that I forgot Black Wolf.That was my absolute favorite

That made a guest appearence in Trinidad... drank two to try it and never saw it on the shelf again... :?
Somebody turn up the stove too high in the kitchen. Roast a batch.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 30th, 2021, 7:53 pm

Ey I tried another Toomy' brewery today. Shipwreck i think is the name. Sorry boy but dat ting was bad. Had to drink it with a whole pack of Doritos

Postby st7 » September 30th, 2021, 8:07 pm

Trinispougla wrote:Ey I tried another Toomy' brewery today. Shipwreck i think is the name. Sorry boy but dat ting was bad. Had to drink it with a whole pack of Doritos

it have Stowaway -- worst one i ever had

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 30th, 2021, 8:15 pm

I actually bought the stoaway but it broke in the freezer. Does pride myself on being open minded when coming to beers. Hoss i did even try the mondelo beer they does bring from Mexico( which is awful).....but Tommy's disappoint me, especially coming from a country that produces at least two quality beers

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 30th, 2021, 9:21 pm

After cutting out the hard liquor, I went in search of a good beer. One of the first I tried was Miller Genuine Draft. Still a favourite.

- Carib & Stag draft are actually a pretty good drink. Get that from the tap in a frosty cold mug and you orn.
- Carib Pilsner & Coors Light... no thanks. Only end up drinking those after everything else finish, lol
- Hurricane Reef IPA kinda meh. The Pilsner that made a brief appearance was pretty good.
- Blue Moon is great but only so much of that I could drink one time. Will switch up after a few.
- Fullers Honeydew has a real enjoyable flavour. Always a good pick up.
- Old Speckled Hen is noice.
- Peroni is a good change up once in a while. Quite refreshing.
- Carlsberg... can't remember the last time I drank one, if ever lol
- Stouts... never liked them at allll

Beer of choice currently is Heineken Light with some original in d mix. Other than that, a cold stag does the job pretty well with zero complaints.

st7 wrote:the Caribbean Rum Musk is the best beer i've ever had so far. the prices vary.. i saw it in Best Deal Supermarket for 23$, JTA supermarket for $25, and gas stations have it for $27
Well dayum, I gotta try it ASAP with a comment like that, lol :drinking:

Postby De Dragon » October 1st, 2021, 3:02 am

MG Man wrote:a lot of people don't like the bitter stuff Old Speckled hen, mainly because they drink it too cold
We accustomed to 'beastly cold' but most of the ales and dark stuff taste best lightly chilled

Hmmm.......this could explain a lot because I would taste the Ales but generally wouldn't repeat.

There was a time I was in to hard ciders but the only place I see any (Angry Orchard in the gourmet store in Valpark), they sell a bottle for $65. That's a bit too much. Used to like the Strongbow on Tap in Bat and Ball.

Ghostry by me have White Claw.

Postby timelapse » October 1st, 2021, 3:12 am

If you guys ever see Phantom Bride, let me know asap.Big Deftones fan.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » October 1st, 2021, 4:01 am

Best store bought bottle beer I've had (aside from German beers I had in Berlin) was Innis and Gunn.

Valparks gourmet store occasionally has them. It's a Scottish beer that is just rich and smooth.

Worst beer by far is Stag.

Postby MG Man » October 1st, 2021, 8:00 am

nah hurricane reef waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay worse than stag
in fact it so nasty that 'IPA connoisseurs' force it down and say it's great
THAT'S how stink it is

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 1st, 2021, 8:48 am

Whatever happened to the samba brewery? Didn't they make the presidente beer?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 1st, 2021, 8:49 am

MG Man wrote:nah hurricane reef waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay worse than stag
THAT'S how stink it is

Normally don't like either Carib or Stag but in August supermarkets had deals on the min kegs of those. Ended up drinking both and I must say beastly cold from the keg they went down well. The key is having a sufficienlty sized cooler of ice at hand to keep the keg chilled.

Capture.JPG

carluva

Postby carluva » October 1st, 2021, 9:01 am

Where do you all purchase all of these (finely) crafted brews?

And, has anyone seen the draft Guinness in the can for sale? If so, where?

Postby st7 » October 1st, 2021, 9:16 am

you could find them in Gas Stations, Lucky Spot mini mart, some groceries carry them too (massy, best deal, JTA)

carluva

Postby carluva » October 1st, 2021, 10:37 am

Lucky spot has a huge variety of beer and other alcohol. Honestly one of the best stocks IMO.

Was just asking to get a sense for other places that y'all shop at.

None of these places have this Guinness in the can tho. Lucky spot has the bottle which I buy. I've found the can to be a bit smoother.

When I traveled to the UK years ago, I fell in love with Murphy's stout. Anyone ever seen this locally?
Screenshot_20211001-103818.jpg
Screenshot_20211001-103642.jpg

Insomniac

Postby Insomniac » October 1st, 2021, 11:08 am

carluva wrote:Lucky spot has a huge variety of beer and other alcohol. Honestly one of the best stocks IMO.

Was just asking to get a sense for other places that y'all shop at.

None of these places have this Guinness in the can tho. Lucky spot has the bottle which I buy. I've found the can to be a bit smoother.

When I traveled to the UK years ago, I fell in love with Murphy's stout. Anyone ever seen this locally?Screenshot_20211001-103642.jpgScreenshot_20211001-103818.jpg

Tried the Murphy's, it's good but not as good as Guiness and this one is one of my recent discoveries
guinnesscoffeebeer.jpg

carluva

Postby carluva » October 1st, 2021, 11:11 am

Are you in Trinidad? Or are you teasing me from overseas?

Where did you get this??

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 1st, 2021, 11:43 am

MG Man wrote:nah hurricane reef waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay worse than stag
THAT'S how stink it is

Normally don't like either Carib or Stag but in August supermarkets had deals on the min kegs of those. Ended up drinking both and I must say beastly cold from the keg they went down well. The key is having a sufficienlty sized cooler of ice at hand to keep the keg chilled.

Capture.JPG

I know Heineken has promos during the Rugby world cup. In 2011, I bought a Keg and drank it during the tournament. Which was kinda weird because it was in NZ and most of the games were like 2-5 in the morning

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 1st, 2021, 11:45 am

Penguin wrote:Best store bought bottle beer I've had (aside from German beers I had in Berlin) was Innis and Gunn.

Valparks gourmet store occasionally has them. It's a Scottish beer that is just rich and smooth.

Worst beer by far is Stag.

ey nah hoss.....stag is an excellent beer.....worse by far is Modelo, the mexican beer they start selling

Postby MG Man » October 1st, 2021, 2:42 pm

Murphy's in the can used to be available years ago, but then whoever was bringing it stopped