Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Gladiator » September 13th, 2021, 2:55 pm

MG Man wrote:IMG_7733.JPG
Bought this year. Not bad

$3,300 in Value Plus Hardware in Spring Village if anyone’s interested
IMG_7708.JPG

The Stnley was going for $2400 just a february when a friend of mine got one for a construction project. Prices going up quickly...

Postby Kenjo » September 13th, 2021, 3:55 pm

IMG_7733.JPG

Bought this year. Not bad

$3,300 in Value Plus Hardware in Spring Village if anyone’s interested
IMG_7708.JPG

Anyone ever ordered one on Amazon or the weight is the limiting factor ?

Postby Gladiator » September 13th, 2021, 10:50 pm

Just a little feedback... yesterday and today I ripped up one sheet of 5/8 melamine coated MDF and a sheet of plain 1/2 inch MDF. The saw worked pretty well. Was pleased by the powerful motor and stability of the blade. The cuts werent for a precision project so didnt check the alignment of the blade and fence but will do that soon.

Not wife approved though.... she say it too noisy and making too much dust...LOL

The only issue was the width of the bed. I would have to build a table to get a bigger bed. I think so far it was well worth the price...

Gladiator wrote:Got this from Bhagwansingh's last week... only tested on some scrap to make sure it working since the buggers only giving 14 days warranty. So far it has a powerful motor and the blade is very stable. The table and fence is sturdy and well built. The stand is also pretty neat.

This is a tool that I wanted since I was 15 yrs old ...LOL... Christmas come early. BTW it cost $2k

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2021, 9:40 am

Gladiator wrote:Not wife approved though.... she say it too noisy and making too much dust...LOL

The only issue was the width of the bed. I would have to build a table to get a bigger bed. I think so far it was well worth the price...

Ripping sheets with a small table saw is a real pain unless you build an outfeed table, which also takes up space
I plan to get a Kreg track saw guide for ripping down sheets instead

Re dust, mdf dust is nasty stuff. Be sure to wear a good respirator

Postby Rovin » September 14th, 2021, 10:53 am

^^^2 spring clamps & a str8 edge will cost next to nothing & accomplish d same thing

if ur fence is not aligned with d blade u will know , wood will bind & be harder to push thru, blade with leave burn marks & worst case it will kick back d wood ... sometimes fences get out of line with even a lil bump so i always check mine when making precision cuts

u dont need a huge outfeed table , search in this thread & u will see mine

build a 4x4 & cut out 1\4 of it to fit d saw there , its sufficient for most cuts u will make ...

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2021, 3:30 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^2 spring clamps & a str8 edge will cost next to nothing & accomplish d same thing

I've done that but I find the track saw guide so much easier to use and gives precise cuts repeatedly

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2021, 3:37 pm

Made a pair of saw horses using hinges from Amazon. They are sized for dressed 2x4s so I had to cut down the ones I bought
Still have to miter the feet
ImageImage

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » September 14th, 2021, 3:55 pm

All those old English cars you like and using US spelling? Mitre.

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2021, 4:15 pm

sam1978 wrote:All those old English cars you like and using US spelling? Mitre.

I was using that swipe text thing on my phone...didn't even notice

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » September 15th, 2021, 1:29 pm

See brydens is the agent for EMTOP tools now. Anyone had any experience with this brand ?

Postby supercharged turbo » September 16th, 2021, 4:58 pm

Who is the local dealer for Krylon and where besides Allied selling them?

Postby X_Factor » September 16th, 2021, 8:46 pm

^quite a few places sell that brand, --Bhagwansingh, ABC Home improvement aranguez

Whatever you do, dont buy kelvin Ghany brand...i used their appliance enamel on a chest freezer that was rusting a bit and coverage was poor and after a week rust spots are showing up again

Postby supercharged turbo » September 16th, 2021, 11:19 pm

X_Factor wrote:^quite a few places sell that brand, --Bhagwansingh, ABC Home improvement aranguez

Whatever you do, dont buy kelvin Ghany brand...i used their appliance enamel on a chest freezer that was rusting a bit and coverage was poor and after a week rust spots are showing up again
Thanks I will check them out

Postby supercharged turbo » September 17th, 2021, 9:42 pm

Went by the Total store to buy the Total orbital sander and the price was $450.To my surprise,they also had the SKIL orbital sander at $595.The Milwaukee for $670 was out of stock and Laughlin had it for $800.I ended up getting the same Milwaukee from someone brand new with the combo for $600 so I take it.

Postby Rovin » September 18th, 2021, 12:18 am

what combo did u get

for only $150 more going with d mil is a no brainer ...

jackal

Postby jackal » September 18th, 2021, 7:06 am

My circle saw gone through last month.

The armature motor contact plates that mates with the brushes , 4 broke off.

It was a Craftsman Sawmill that I had for almost 30 years.

Looking for another Craftsman.

Who does sell that brand down hear?

The shipping cost of bringing in one is high based on weight, would be cheaper to get it down hear.

Postby X_Factor » September 18th, 2021, 7:49 am

Craftsman if 30yrs ago isnt the same today

If its for home use just get any of the decent brands available locally and use a good blade
Saw that on fb
Screenshot_2021-09-18-07-48-53-354_com.facebook.katana.jpg

jackal

Postby jackal » September 18th, 2021, 8:21 am

I will check them out.

Apart from the Craftsman brand, a lot of my tools are the Porter Cable brand

Postby supercharged turbo » September 18th, 2021, 11:13 am

Rovin wrote:what combo did u get

for only $150 more going with d mil is a no brainer ...
I got it with a bag,vaccum attachment and 2 80 grit sheets.Before I was just getting the tool alone.I know its not really a combo but I checking it as that lol

Postby Rovin » September 18th, 2021, 11:16 am

oho those bags that good tools come in are pretty good quality & comes in handy when u have to tote a few small tools to where u doing d actual work ... i have 3 of them

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » September 18th, 2021, 11:53 am

anyone have experience with steam cleaners, look on amzn rite now an seeing a wagner and mcculoch 1275/1375, any recommendations? Can these items be purchased locally at a good price,? checked pmart didn't see anything...

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » September 19th, 2021, 11:32 am

Does it make sense repairing a black and decker grinder? Got it as a gift some years ago and used it for normal light stuff around the house. Now when turned on the blade is wobbling a bit via the shaft which, for some reason, has a little play.
If I have to buy another for just regular home use(occasional cutting of a piece of steel, tile, etc) what do you all suggest?

hindian

Postby hindian » September 19th, 2021, 12:05 pm

jackal wrote:I will check them out.

Apart from the Craftsman brand, a lot of my tools are the Porter Cable brand
That's good stuff right there those Porter Cable tools. That's all my old man used to buy. I think William H Scott are the agents for them. I have an electric nibbler non insulated from Black and Decker that's about 60 years old. It got passed down to me when my old man died. That thing cutting 16 guage sheets like a hot knife through butter lol

hindian

Postby hindian » September 19th, 2021, 12:09 pm

This exact thing but I'm looking for a pair of jaws for it as the ones on it are worn out
Vintage-Black-and-Decker-electric-shear.jpg
Vintage-Black-and-Decker-electric-shear.jpg (20.76 KiB) Viewed 2706 times

Postby Rovin » September 19th, 2021, 1:14 pm

Jerry84 wrote:Does it make sense repairing a black and decker grinder? Got it as a gift some years ago and used it for normal light stuff around the house. Now when turned on the blade is wobbling a bit via the shaft which, for some reason, has a little play.
If I have to buy another for just regular home use(occasional cutting of a piece of steel, tile, etc) what do you all suggest?

i know my posts sound like meh record stick but now is d opportunity to upgrade to a better built brand & experience what better feels like ...

Postby Rovin » September 19th, 2021, 1:31 pm

PORTER CABLE , for those of u old enough to watch NORM ABRAMS NEW YANKEE WORKSHOP when T&T got cable tv yrsssss ago or anytime after that in reruns or on YT , u will know PC sponsored his show so alot of ppl bought it & they were a good big brand long time, alot of old-time tools were vry well made & some still around today

then stanley\B&D group bought them over along with other brands, they started to treat PC like a stepchild to where recently YT'ers say it looks like they gonna severely tone down d line in favor of craftsman which they pushing heavy

a good portion of my tools is also PC : palm router, 2hp router, cordless drill & cordless 4.5" circular saw - nicad batt times & regular 7.25 corded cir saw , its a middle of d road brand but all still work fine for me ...

Postby supercharged turbo » September 19th, 2021, 1:55 pm

Rovin wrote:oho those bags that good tools come in are pretty good quality & comes in handy when u have to tote a few small tools to where u doing d actual work ... i have 3 of them
Yeah the bag feels like a real top quality stuff
daxt0r wrote:anyone have experience with steam cleaners, look on amzn rite now an seeing a wagner and mcculoch 1275/1375, any recommendations? Can these items be purchased locally at a good price,? checked pmart didn't see anything...
I bought a Karcher steam cleaner for home use from the local dealer..Hadden and Company and the price was the same or maybe cheaper than if I brought in online at the time.I would suggest checking them out before you make your purchase

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2021, 5:29 pm

I have a Skil from Price Smart a good few years now. It takes good jamming

Jerry84 wrote:Does it make sense repairing a black and decker grinder? Got it as a gift some years ago and used it for normal light stuff around the house. Now when turned on the blade is wobbling a bit via the shaft which, for some reason, has a little play.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » September 19th, 2021, 7:31 pm

Guys,

Anyone knows where I can get a Palm Nailer in Trinidad to purchase.

Check most places no stock.

Thanks