Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby Habit7 » September 9th, 2021, 2:39 pm

Wraith King wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:But seems like they hell bent on mashing up every goddam industry for poktical and personal financial gains.

How is the T1 TAR mashing up the industry?
We covered that already a few pages back when the tar was completed and it was not runnung.
I explained the difference between the 'Atlantic lng train 1' and the 'TAR' cause u seemed to not know d fack ur Talking about but yappin.

My knowledge of the subject is far better than your spelling. But don't punt, how is the T1 TAR mashing up the industry?

Habit7 believes he's an expert on every topic by association because be believes he receives expert information from his handler who he believes is an expert on every topic.

Habit7 is also the person who posted an "academic" article that said flooding is desirable and necessary, he said Tobago is a rural municipality and the PNM corruption and incompetence is the fault of the UNC because the UNC didn't stop them from engaging in it.

Somehow he believes he claiming to be knowledgable on a topic holds weight.

:drinking:

Habit7 wrote:The boast
Wraith King wrote:
Redman wrote:Wraith king...can you explain the UNC abstention from votes?
What's the strategy?

I can because I am experienced in parliamentary practice and knowledge.

The backpedal
Wraith King wrote:One of your male lovers asked about abstaining and I explained its use in a general way.

Postby De Dragon » September 9th, 2021, 10:25 pm

Lawyers now saying indemnity cannot fly, and Impsy cannot indemnify anybody

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » September 10th, 2021, 8:56 am

Habit7 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:But seems like they hell bent on mashing up every goddam industry for poktical and personal financial gains.

How is the T1 TAR mashing up the industry?
We covered that already a few pages back when the tar was completed and it was not runnung.
I explained the difference between the 'Atlantic lng train 1' and the 'TAR' cause u seemed to not know d fack ur Talking about but yappin.

My knowledge of the subject is far better than your spelling. But don't punt, how is the T1 TAR mashing up the industry?

Habit7 believes he's an expert on every topic by association because be believes he receives expert information from his handler who he believes is an expert on every topic.

Habit7 is also the person who posted an "academic" article that said flooding is desirable and necessary, he said Tobago is a rural municipality and the PNM corruption and incompetence is the fault of the UNC because the UNC didn't stop them from engaging in it.

Somehow he believes he claiming to be knowledgable on a topic holds weight.

:drinking:

Habit7 wrote:The boast
Wraith King wrote:
Redman wrote:Wraith king...can you explain the UNC abstention from votes?
What's the strategy?

I can because I am experienced in parliamentary practice and knowledge.

The backpedal
Wraith King wrote:One of your male lovers asked about abstaining and I explained its use in a general way.

Habit7 you can't judge everyone based on your standard.

Just because you're a liar doesn't meant everyone is a liar. Same goes with your homosexuality.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » September 10th, 2021, 9:00 am

De Dragon wrote:Lawyers now saying indemnity cannot fly, and Impsy cannot indemnify anybody

Yes but remember the PNM didn't pursue the case against Malcolm Jones. They may just do the same thing with another lame excuse for their corruption.

Postby Redman » September 10th, 2021, 11:00 am

De Dragon wrote:Lawyers now saying indemnity cannot fly, and Impsy cannot indemnify anybody

musbe the reason they giving it fass fass.

Postby De Dragon » September 10th, 2021, 10:45 pm

Wraith King wrote:

Yes but remember the PNM didn't pursue the case against Malcolm Jones. They may just do the same thing with another lame excuse for their corruption.

That was just pure corruption, but the fact that the NGC Board could make a decision to throw almost quarter of a BILLION dollars and then seek indemnity for that decision, stinks to the high heavens. Even if they were compelled by JUHN Scarfy/Impsy/Goebbels, it shows clearly that none of them have the stones or the best interest of T&T in mind.
Yet you have the rabid LFD RFD PNM usual apologist sheep crew with their dotish "we eh know keke keke keke" nonsense :?

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2021, 10:15 am

THis is clico style fiduciary duty again. And Malcom Jones wgtl, and iscott, and port of port of spain.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 12th, 2021, 1:24 pm

Wraith King wrote:

That was just pure corruption, but the fact that the NGC Board could make a decision to throw almost quarter of a BILLION dollars and then seek indemnity for that decision, stinks to the high heavens. Even if they were compelled by JUHN Scarfy/Impsy/Goebbels, it shows clearly that none of them have the stones or the best interest of T&T in mind.
Yet you have the rabid LFD RFD PNM usual apologist sheep crew with their dotish "we eh know keke keke keke" nonsense :?

Hope we can get the 1 BILLION wasted on the wastewater treatment plant by Kams and her crooks too

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » September 12th, 2021, 1:41 pm

NGC: Saving face or gambling?
Mariano Browne
Chief Executive Officer at UWI Arthur Lok Jack Global School of Business

NGC is incorporated under the Companies Act and sections 101 to 105 allow for indemnification of Directors. Section 101 allows the company to indemnify directors and officers, against all costs, charges, and expenses PROVIDED THAT the directors or officers to be so indemnified acted honestly and in good faith in the best interests of the company.

The other shareholders, and ALNG can sue NGC/ NGC ALNG. If recent history is a guide (Eteck, Udecott, Petrotrin), NGC itself and future directors appointed by a new government can sue former directors. The Companies Act neither recognises “national interest”, nor cabinet/ ministerial directives to directors. It requires directors to act in the best interest of the company meaning that the directors must reasonably anticipate that their decisions would add value.

Natural gas, not oil, has been the cornerstone of the TT economy since the 1990’s. Rising prices of petrochemicals and the commencement of LNG exports formed the basis of the rapid economic growth between 1999 to 2014. The energy sector has been vital to the country’s stability as it generates approximately 80% of the country’s foreign exchange earnings. BPTT and Shell account for 68% of all gas produced.

High international prices between 2011 and 2014 masked the underlying decline in natural gas production which fell from a high of 4.1 billion cubic feet a day (bcfd) in 2011 to an average of 3.3 bcf in 2016. Juniper and Angelin provided a brief respite. The failure of BPTT’s infill drilling programme has led to continuing production decline. Average daily production in May 2021 was 2.5 bcf. That isn’t enough gas to keep all the plants open as installed plant capacity requires 4.bcf natural gas daily to achieve maximum production. The plants that are open have supply contracts that can be satisfied from existing production. The rest are closed including Train 1 (LNG plant) in Point Fortin.

Each LNG train has a separate ownership structure. NGC is a minority shareholder in Trains 1 and 4 (10% and 11% respectively) and owns nothing in Trains 2 and 3 whilst Shell and BP are the majority shareholders in each Train. Train 1 is the oldest and least efficient. It was scheduled to be upgraded last year assuming that there was enough gas to keep it operational.

TT is a mature hydrocarbon province and faces several challenges; declining supply, higher cost and therefore higher prices, reliance on multinationals, aging plants, a regulatory and enabling environment that has lost its competitive edge and attractiveness to investors. Gas “curtailments” have led to pricing and contracting issues for several years. These factors raise governance, policy and business issues across the sector and is reflected on the plant closures. These plants will remain closed unless these issues are resolved

This is the context in which Franklyn Khan, deceased former energy minister, first stated in December 2020 that Train1 would not be closed. At the time he would have known that BPTT had notified NGC that it could not meet its daily contracted supply and advised NGC that the decision to upgrade Train 1 should be reconsidered. One can safely presume that Mr. Khan’s statement was informed by cabinet’s deliberations in this regard.

Recent press reports in the Business Guardian indicate that the NGC Board unilaterally spent millions on Train 1 and did not meet its commitment for ALNG funding for its’ share of maintenance costs. Why would directors spend on a questionable train and not fund the viable train? What analysis was done, and which experts were consulted? Did they advise that the investment should proceed? Did the instruction come from Cabinet to fund Train 1 and under fund the commitment to ALNG, in breach of contract? These questions raise serious governance and legal issues.

Some have argued that the decision was necessary as the multinational partners cannot be relied on to pursue the national interest and that gas would become available in the future. This ignores the legal arrangements with other shareholders and that the decision could have been deferred until it was clear that a gas supply was available. How does this compare with Petrotrin’s closure?

By February 25, 2021, NGC’s Chairman requested the finance minister to indemnify NGC, NGC LNG, and the directors. “We also previously discussed your commitment to indemnify the NGC company and Directors for any claims or losses stemming from the Train 1 rescue package ($168M). Our request is to extend that indemnity to cover ALNG funding for the April 1, 2021, to December 31, 2021. NGC is also required to indemnify its subsidiary NGC LNG which holds the 10 per cent interest in Train 1.”

NGC is incorporated under the Companies Act and sections 101 to 105 allow for indemnification of Directors. Section 101 allows the company to indemnify directors and officers, against all costs, charges, and expenses PROVIDED THAT the directors or officers to be so indemnified acted honestly and in good faith in the best interests of the company.

The other shareholders, and ALNG can sue NGC/ NGC ALNG. If recent history is a guide (Eteck, Udecott, Petrotrin), NGC itself and future directors appointed by a new government can sue former directors. The Companies Act neither recognises “national interest”, nor cabinet/ ministerial directives to directors. It requires directors to act in the best interest of the company meaning that the directors must reasonably anticipate that their decisions would add value.

The indemnification requested by the NGC’s directors suggests that they complied with Cabinet/ ministerial directives and did so in the full knowledge that the decisions were questionable. Therefore, the indemnity requested is wider than allowed by the Companies Act and NGC cannot indemnify itself. These are major legal issues.

Is the state giving an amnesty or an indemnity? What was the reason to proceed with the expenditure if it became doubtful so quickly? Is this a complex strategy or a gamble? How do citizens ensure that business decisions in the state enterprises are data driven and avoid the wastage of public funds? And how do we hold elected officials accountable?

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/ngc-savi ... no-browne/

Postby zoom rader » September 12th, 2021, 2:31 pm

^^^ the great red government con job.

Jack arse cont tree

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » September 12th, 2021, 3:32 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

Hope we can get the 1 BILLION wasted on the wastewater treatment plant by Kams and her crooks too

Randull , you are a fraud and an imbecile. If not you are mentally challenged if you don't understand that it was Rowlee who stopped the plant from being completed. Then , the money would not have been lost.

You cook and wash your wife underwear today as yet?

Postby Habit7 » September 12th, 2021, 3:35 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Yeah they want blood from a NGC board for a $400M action that we don't know the result of yet.

But the $1B the NGC gave to SIS for a project for which they overbid and admitted they can't finish, they silent.

But for some, taxpayer money is only bad spent when the govt you didn't support is in power.

Postby zoom rader » September 12th, 2021, 3:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

Yeah they want blood from a NGC board for a $400M action that we don't know the result of yet.

But the $1B the NGC gave to SIS for a project for which they overbid and admitted they can't finish, they silent.

But for some, taxpayer money is only bad spent when the govt you didn't support is in power.
Where is the 600milion from project pride?

Not even a gain of sand for the red government airport con job.

Talk about dat nah cont

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 12th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yeah they want blood from a NGC board for a $400M action that we don't know the result of yet.

Talk about dat nah cont

Y'all are hilarious. Studying which of the political leaders you have a Helga in Hey Arnold-like shrine for stole/squandered/misplaced more and/or why and/or what and/or where, as justification for how much less the other stole/squandered/misplaced, instead of holding them BOTH to account and demanding value for money.

That's why they'll continue to teef, give away and mismanage our resources and disrespect us as a nation, unabated.

People like YOU enable them.

Postby zoom rader » September 12th, 2021, 9:51 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Yeah they want blood from a NGC board for a $400M action that we don't know the result of yet.

Talk about dat nah cont

Y'all are hilarious. Studying which of the political leaders you have a Helga in Hey Arnold-like shrine for stole/squandered/misplaced more and/or why and/or what and/or where, as justification for how much less the other stole/squandered/misplaced, instead of holding them BOTH to account and demanding value for money.

That's why they'll continue to teef, give away and mismanage our resources and disrespect us as a nation, unabated.

And u still rush to vote red government

Postby De Dragon » September 14th, 2021, 5:49 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Talk about dat nah cont

Disagree, the very few options to hold them accountable like civil cases cannot be allowed to be voided by indemnifications like what JUHN Scarfy and Impsy have granted to the shambolic NGC Board. Only when ALL politicians, State Board members, TTPS, Public Servants etc, realize that they have a realistic chance of personal loss, will we even turn a corner and reverse the rot that has weighed down this country for far too long.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 15th, 2021, 10:11 am

De Dragon wrote:Disagree, the very few options to hold them accountable like civil cases cannot be allowed to be voided by indemnifications like what JUHN Scarfy and Impsy have granted to the shambolic NGC Board. Only when ALL politicians, State Board members, TTPS, Public Servants etc, realize that they have a realistic chance of personal loss, will we even turn a corner and reverse the rot that has weighed down this country for far too long.

That's basically what I meant, but of course that's virtually impossible when you have perpetual apologists for both sides. We as a petulant society lack the conviction and maturity to say 'I voted for Party X, but that decision was poor and unacceptable. They need to answer for that'.

The powers that be overtly and covertly use the powerful tool of race amongst other things, to bait and switch us into hating and fighting each other because of 'loyalty', and so we're distracted while they pilfer or worse yet, we find ourselves defending them, by acceptance and/or omission of one or the other's sins, according to where loyalties lie (i.e. My party might have firetrucked up $400M, we aren't too sure yet, but your party definitely firetrucked up four times that so ha :roll: ).

Funny how for election season, Oppositions often campaign based on how much they know the incumbent Administration teef..but if and when they become the GoRTT, no one gets arrested/charged/fined and then billions are 'lost' and the cycle repeats itself.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 15th, 2021, 10:12 am

Anyhow, back to energy. Separated these posts so we don't continue to derail the thread.

Glad to see the MoU between NGC and SWMCOL re: landfill gas. Several wins there..
Methane vs CO2 as a GHG, goes without saying, so if we can use it for fuel, why not. Also, I'm not sure how much NG or NGLs are used for CNG. Even if it's a small amount that can now be redirected to ALNG, the PL Estate or elsewhere, instead of used for fuel, again..why not. Let's see how this rolls out.

Also, let's talk Energy Transition, locally for now. The impacts, potential, etc. Thoughts?

Postby De Dragon » September 15th, 2021, 12:39 pm

https://guardian.co.tt/article/ngc-gamb ... cafbf37435
So the plan apparently was to hope downstreamers and the commodity prices for their products never rebounded? :shock:
WTF did I just read there? Note it is the Chairman of NGC making those statements

Postby Redman » September 16th, 2021, 7:34 am

Joshie23 wrote:Anyhow, back to energy. Separated these posts so we don't continue to derail the thread.

Glad to see the MoU between NGC and SWMCOL re: landfill gas. Several wins there..
Methane vs CO2 as a GHG, goes without saying, so if we can use it for fuel, why not. Also, I'm not sure how much NG or NGLs are used for CNG. Even if it's a small amount that can now be redirected to ALNG, the PL Estate or elsewhere, instead of used for fuel, again..why not. Let's see how this rolls out.

Also, let's talk Energy Transition, locally for now. The impacts, potential, etc. Thoughts?

I call BS on the land fill project.
Swmcol has resisted multiple attempts to modify their dealing with solid waste.
Pictures at signing...then projects die.

We not serious at transition.

Look at Barbados for a country that has a plan.
And is executing and attracting fdi.
Policy in place,Feed in Tariff stated, concessions available.

Solar in TnT is thus far, a gimmicky pr stunt.

Wind worse.

We eh ready yet.
Last edited by Redman on September 16th, 2021, 9:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » September 16th, 2021, 7:37 am

Joshie23 wrote:

Talk about dat nah cont

Disagree, the very few options to hold them accountable like civil cases cannot be allowed to be voided by indemnifications like what JUHN Scarfy and Impsy have granted to the shambolic NGC Board. Only when ALL politicians, State Board members, TTPS, Public Servants etc, realize that they have a realistic chance of personal loss, will we even turn a corner and reverse the rot that has weighed down this country for far too long.

Forget party.

Would you offer yourself to serve on a board if you know that in 5years govt can switch, and a case brought against YOU as an individual, that is weak but politically driven?

We asking people to serve in a way that opens them up to ruin.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » September 16th, 2021, 9:05 am

Redman wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

Talk about dat nah cont

Forget party.

Would you offer yourself to serve on a board if you know that in 5years govt can switch, and a case brought against YOU as an individual, that is weak but politically driven?

Asking persons to serve but holding them responsible for their actions is seen as opening them up to ruin by you.

Your preamble was "forget party" yet you didn't take your own advice.

Postby zoom rader » September 16th, 2021, 9:08 am

Redman wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:Anyhow, back to energy. Separated these posts so we don't continue to derail the thread.

Swmcol has resisted multiple attempts and dealing with solid waste.

Wind worse.

We eh ready yet.
Barbados have a real Prime Minister

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 16th, 2021, 10:59 am

Redman wrote:

Swmcol has resisted multiple attempts to modify their dealing with solid waste.

Typical Trini projects. Let's hope this kicks off because again, methane is several times more potent than carbon dioxide. It's a quick win if managed properly.

Wind worse.

Well wind and solar both require minimum parameters to be effective. We can reach somewhere with solar, wind might not be lucrative or feasible though.

We eh ready yet.

I took in Professor Jupiter's seminar last week re: our energy transition. If current attitudes towards diversification, economic growth, etc. continue, it's best to look to migrate because the recommendations they made, the reasons for the recommendations and the potential outcomes of not adjusting towards the recommendations show a bleak outlook if we continue BAU.

Postby The_Honourable » September 16th, 2021, 5:10 pm

Something is wrong at the NGC

Over the last two weeks I have written at least five articles on management decisions taken at state-owned National Gas Company which have cost the company over $400 million and counting.

For reporting on this major public interest issue and bringing the facts into the public domain, which is the essence of journalism, I have been attacked by the Prime Minister, the Minister of Energy and their proxies.

All have attempted to rubbish the reports while stoutly defending the NGC and, more specifically, its president.

Curiously, in performing the media’s role as watchdog, I have not only been vilified by a government that show no appetite for holding the NGC to account but by individuals trading on their past in the profession of journalism.

In one bizarre case, Keith Subero an employee in the Office of the Prime Minister brazenly resurrects my late mentor, David Renwick, to cry shame on me while condemning my journalism for being based on information from whistleblowers.

All I will say to this is that every investigative journalist understands the value of whistleblowers who are people who serve their country by having the courage to take the risk of bringing wrong-doing to light in the public interest.

Today’s revelation that the NGC wasted another $200 million, under the leadership of its President, Mark Loquan, on another failed project, merely rubs salt into the wound of citizens who are the ultimate shareholders of the NGC.

To be clear, no one has suggested that the NGC is unprofitable, or that it is not a valuable asset, or that it is not in a business in which it competes with large multi-national players, but what has raised its head is the apparent mismanagement of the enterprise, its weak governance structure, the quality of its decision-making process and the loss of public funds.

Lest we forget, these are the incontrovertible facts which Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, his government and its proxies have failed to respond adequately to.

1 The NGC spent US $24.7 million or $168 million behind a Turnaround (upgrade) of Atlantic LNG Train 1 plant aware that it did not have the gas for the plant and was relying on gas that had already been committed and contracted to downstream petrochemical companies.

No amount of finger-pointing or name-calling will change this fact. Nor will it change by suggesting that the inner-Cabinet and NGC management are the only ones who went to school and know everything while the rest of us are lucky to have the best salesman in the world.

The NGC’s own Chairman Conrad Enill admitted the extent of the miscalculation when interviewed by i95.5 fm last week: “We committed to the downstream producers that once they wanted the gas, the gas would have been available to them. So we moved the gas back into that facility. And the challenge the NGC had with having gas, having to pay for the gas, and having no opportunity for converting it to revenue was resolved.

“In those circumstances therefore the investment in keeping Train 1 operational to use the gas for LNG, was no longer required because the gas was back into the downstreamers and the company had been restored to the revenue position that it was looking for.”

2 We are yet to hear an answer to the fundamental question of whether the NGC and the Government have located natural gas for Train 1. If so, when is the plant to restart and, if it is not going to restart anytime soon, has the investment been effectively lost?

To say that the loss of $400 million is nothing in an attempt to stay in the LNG business, but that $80 million is too much to spend on police vehicles to protect the population or that $100 million is too much to provide scholarships to our brightest students confuses the public.

3 Despite the loud ambient noise, the Government remains silent on its controversial and legally dubious granting of a personal indemnity to members of the NGC board for approving the Train 1 Turnaround agreement.

4 Equally deafening is the silence from Rowley administration and its proxies on the question of why, after three months, the NGC stopped paying for the maintenance of Atlantic Train LNG 1 when it was so confident about having gas to restart the plant.

5 Railing against the foreign multi-nationals in a narrative of “we against them” with the Government as saviour does not distract from the core question surrounding the waste of the $400 million and counting by the NGC.

6 In today’s Business Guardian lead story the NGC admits to having lost $197.5 million on a project that it realised it no longer needed and tries to spin it as having saved $125 million since the project was not completed.

This is akin to gambling away $800 of $1000 and boasting of having saved $200.

As the Minister of Finance Colm Imbert prepares his 2022 budget he must have cringed when he heard the attack on bpTT and Royal Dutch Shell, the two largest natural gas producers in the country, and whose investment money we need to keep the energy sector going.

Minister Imbert, I am sure knows that companies are in business to make money, they have a duty to maximise profits in the interest of their shareholders.

The make-believe notion that they will invest hundreds of millions of dollars because a salesman suggests to them that Ruby is a good deal is just imaginary talk, full of sound and fury, because if it were not profitable no such investment would be made. We must embrace the private sector as the engine of economic growth.

Government must limit its role to the provision of efficient services to the population. It must provide security and safety to its population.

It must only keep the most profitable and well-run state enterprises that are of strategic importance to the country. The rest must be sold off to the private sector.

The time has come when the state enterprise sector stop being as the former Attorney General in a PNM government, John Jeremie suggested, a place for political patronage.

In closing, I would like to apologise to my friend David Renwick for being indirectly responsible for him being dragged into the government’s propaganda war.

If he is looking on, I imagine him in his glee. He was a great supporter of my work which was more on the hard news side. On the eve of my departure from the country to go to university some years ago, he organised a luncheon for me.

He truly supported my focus on the energy sector and while I don’t profess to be a clairvoyant I suspect he would object to being misrepresented by those who claim to be part of the glory days of journalism.

Source: https://www.cnc3.co.tt/something-is-wrong-at-the-ngc/

Postby De Dragon » September 16th, 2021, 9:04 pm

Redman wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

Talk about dat nah cont

Forget party.

True LFD RFD PNM brainwashed question.
When you serve in genuine good faith and fiduciary responsibility, you should have no fear of repercussions.
How many State Board directors have faced the courts for mismanagement? How many private sector board members?
How many NGC Board members raised an objection to the Train 1 rescue package? NONE, to seek an indemnity means you know sheit is happening but rather than do the honourable thing, and speak out or resign, you ask for and get a get out of jail card to continue to hog feed at the trough.
If you cannot serve in good faith and conscience, don't.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 16th, 2021, 10:06 pm

Redman wrote:Forget party.

Idk how I missed this. Redman, this can't work. Serving on a Board is by no means mandatory. Kindly elaborate on your statement 'We asking people to serve in a way that opens them up to ruin.' because if you're that much of a crackshot and you're faced with a decision that could potentially 'ruin' you or worse yet, an organization, or worserer yet, an economy (!!) and you have even an iota of integrity, you would Pontius Pilate pronto. In other words, 'Let them do what they want. This company's blood is not on my hands', and if you're really that good, you'll be sitting in an interview using that experience to successfully answer the 'Tell us of a time you disagreed with your Manager' question with another organization in no time.

This isn't a type of nation where you and/or your family can be executed for failing to align with the Administration of the day. Countless persons have resigned from top posts (Robert Le Hunte, Dr. Lennox Sealy, etc. for a few recent names) and while speculation was that they didn't toe the line, they aren't obligated to answer to any of the rumours, unless they feel the need to publicly clear their names.

If the decision could be so bad that they need indemnification, and as you say their hands were forced, again I ask...why not just resign from the jump?

Postby De Dragon » September 16th, 2021, 10:11 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Idk how I missed this. Redman, this can't work. Serving on a Board is by no means mandatory. Kindly elaborate on your statement 'We asking people to serve in a way that opens them up to ruin.' because if you're that much of a crackshot and you're faced with a decision that could potentially 'ruin' you or worse yet, an organization, or worserer yet, an economy (!!) and you have even an iota of integrity, you would Pontius Pilate pronto. In other words, 'Let them do what they want. This company's blood is not on my hands', and if you're really that good, you'll be sitting in an interview using that experience to successfully answer the 'Tell us of a time you disagreed with your Manager' question with another organization in no time.

This isn't a type of nation where you and/or your family can be executed for failing to align with the Administration of the day. Countless persons have resigned from top posts (Robert Le Hunte, Dr. Lennox Sealy, etc. for a few recent names) and while speculation was that they didn't toe the line, they aren't obligated to answer to any of the rumours, unless they feel the need to publicly clear their names.

If the decision could be so bad that they need indemnification, and as you say their hands were forced, again I ask...why not just resign from the jump?

It also brings into stark light, the type of persons being appointed to these boards, where a plainly nonsensical decision could be supported to the tune of 440 million dollars, with ZERO accountability, yet you have morons here, blinded by the Balisier, positing that a director's hands are tied because of what may happen :?

Postby Redman » September 17th, 2021, 7:46 am

Joshie23 wrote:

Business is risk.
Political dimension s add infinite layers of risk.

Normal business decisions especially at a board level require decisions to be made now that will have an indeterminate result in the future.
The world,the markets,ministers and government change.

Allyuh talking about state enterprises that throw money on projects that they shouldn't have, possibly because the Cabinet say so because ..politics.

What makes you think cabinet wouldn't throw money behind a politically driven law suit to nail an opposing party.Its great press and people lose interest but retain the negatives.

An individual will have to fund his defense privately while the political directorate doesn't.

This is fact.
This is done by both sides.
This has happened and is happening.

Neither of you would serve if there is exponentially more downside than there is upside.

Postby De Dragon » September 17th, 2021, 7:59 am

Redman wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

Business is risk.
Political dimension s add infinite layers of risk.

Normal business decisions especially at a board level require decisions to be made now that will have an indeterminate result in the future.
The world,the markets,ministers and government change.

Allyuh talking about state enterprises that throw money on projects that they shouldn't have, possibly because the Cabinet say so because ..politics.

What makes you think cabinet wouldn't throw money behind a politically driven law suit to nail an opposing party.Its great press and people lose interest but retain the negatives.

An individual will have to fund his defense privately while the political directorate doesn't.

This is fact.
This is done by both sides.
This has happened and is happening.

Neither of you would serve if there is exponentially more downside than there is upside.

Actually I knew someone big in the UNC Youth League that floated my name for consideration for PT's Board, but I was deemed "too young" :lol:
Yes both parties have appointed boards that acted recklessly BUT
Name one other board that has asked for, and gotten an indemnity?
Also indemnity is granted when a company took a risky decision in GOOD FAITH, here you have NGC's Board basically saying it is a sheit deal, and we know it is a sheit deal, but you, the LFD RFD PNM forced our hand, and not having a shred of integrity, shame or scruples, we want you, the LFD RFD PNM to bail us out of what is failure to do the fundamental requirements of our jobs.