T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

NR8

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby NR8 » September 3rd, 2021, 2:11 pm

Gladiator wrote:The MG HS is a very interesting car... I have been looking at reviews online and it seems to be a favorite in Oceania and environs. The features and interior trim is almost like a Mercedes (exaggeration I know). I think it can do well, but depends on how well Massy supports it.

The fully loaded SUV is $254k not bad for a 1.5Turbo with DCT. That's the price of the highest Vitara you can find but the MG has 10X the features, tech and some more HP to boot.

The red is a sweet colour too...

Chinese? turbo and DCT? Wonder what could go wrong

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 3rd, 2021, 10:25 pm

NR8 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:The MG HS is a very interesting car... I have been looking at reviews online and it seems to be a favorite in Oceania and environs. The features and interior trim is almost like a Mercedes (exaggeration I know). I think it can do well, but depends on how well Massy supports it.

The fully loaded SUV is $254k not bad for a 1.5Turbo with DCT. That's the price of the highest Vitara you can find but the MG has 10X the features, tech and some more HP to boot.

This simple one line post surely is the top contender for Tuner post of the year 2021.

Postby Gladiator » September 3rd, 2021, 11:39 pm

NR8 wrote:

Interesting read...

The results are in for the What Car? reliability survey, with MG coming ahead of brands such as Porsche, Audi and Volkswagen. In the most reliable cars by brand category, MG Motor UK was in the top ten – an impressive result that illustrates the brand’s commitment to quality manufacturing.

The survey involved 14,200 participants, who were each asked to report on faults that had occurred in the past twelve months on cars aged between 0-3 years. Categories included battery, bodywork, brakes, engine, engine electrics, exhaust, exterior lights, fuel system, gearbox/clutch, interior trim, non-engine electrics, steering, suspension and other.

Speaking about the result, Matthew Cheyne, Head of Sales and Marketing at MG Motor UK, said: “To be recognised for the second time this year in the What Car? results is brilliant. MG Motor UK came second in the What Car? inaugural customer satisfaction survey and to now be recognised for our reliability, ahead of other premium manufacturers, is indicative of our ambitions as a brand.

“Modern MG builds high-quality, stylish cars that represent excellent value for money. We are committed to furthering and delivering this brand ethos, something that you can see in our all new Compact-SUV, the MG ZS.”

Postby Habit7 » September 4th, 2021, 8:37 pm

If the dealerships want to bring Chinese econ cars why don't they try more recognised euro econ cars.

Dacia and Skoda has cheap reliable cars. I will feel more confident those than with MG and Biac.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » September 4th, 2021, 11:38 pm

The features of the fully loaded MG are impressive for the price- TBH it has everything i was looking for. It’s the risk with the brand - it I was a Liverpool supporter the Anfield edition would be a winner.

That MG Pilot stuff is what has be intrigued. In the end I may still go with a tried and true brand.

Postby Gladiator » September 4th, 2021, 11:58 pm

triniboi49 wrote:The features of the fully loaded MG are impressive for the price- TBH it has everything i was looking for. It’s the risk with the brand - it I was a Liverpool supporter the Anfield edition would be a winner.

That MG Pilot stuff is what has be intrigued. In the end I may still go with a tried and true brand.

I hear you... I am also intrigued by the features and tech. But the 4 year warranty might be some comfort for the skeptical buyer?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 5th, 2021, 9:36 am

Gladiator wrote:
triniboi49 wrote:The features of the fully loaded MG are impressive for the price- TBH it has everything i was looking for. It’s the risk with the brand - it I was a Liverpool supporter the Anfield edition would be a winner.

I hear you... I am also intrigued by the features and tech. But the 4 year warranty might be some comfort for the skeptical buyer?
Yea but is massy.. that warranty worth less than a lb of aloo.. no matter what, is always something you do that cause the problem

Postby Dave » September 5th, 2021, 9:48 am

I had one warranty issue where a J10 Qashqai fan was making noise. Vehicle was only serviced there the first three times. We had like less than a year again for the warranty to expire. No issue was made and it was changed.
Never had any other warranty issues with any other local dealership.
nick639v2 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Yea but is massy.. that warranty worth less than a lb of aloo.. no matter what, is always something you do that cause the problem

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 5th, 2021, 10:48 am

Anyone checked out the new Mazda BT 50?
How’s the interior compared to the Isuzu DMax?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 5th, 2021, 11:16 am

The new Audi A3
anyone knows if its a wet clutch or a dry clutch?

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » September 5th, 2021, 1:12 pm

Dave wrote:I had one warranty issue where a J10 Qashqai fan was making noise. Vehicle was only serviced there the first three times. We had like less than a year again for the warranty to expire. No issue was made and it was changed.
nick639v2 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Massy record for backing brands is iffy - look at Suzuki, Peugeot and VW. Nissan and Hyundai are their big success. This budget MG
it would be interesting to see how they support it. I not sure about that MG badge, you spending 1/4 mil on car you want to be proud of it. But that MG Pilot technology is really what makes the difference for me. It’s a shame other local dealers are not including that tech in their cars. To get it in the Corolla Cross you have to buy the 400k+ Hybrid model.

People only coming outside to check your MG because they not sure what it is.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 5th, 2021, 1:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:If the dealerships want to bring Chinese econ cars why don't they try more recognised euro econ cars.

Dacia and Skoda has cheap reliable cars. I will feel more confident those than with MG and Biac.
Probably the landed prices? I like Alfa Romeo designs and the ride quality, but the Japanese, or the more economic Korean cars already established down here

Postby Gladiator » September 5th, 2021, 4:35 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:Anyone checked out the new Mazda BT 50?

Been doing some homework on these two... Mazda interior looks more refined. A bit more leatherette here and there. You also get cruise control (basic), a dimming rear view mirror and a CD player (for those who still owns CDs).

Was looking at the ISUZU X Terrain but Southern Sales wont be getting it... sigh

Postby Gladiator » September 5th, 2021, 4:40 pm

triniboi49 wrote:
Dave wrote:I had one warranty issue where a J10 Qashqai fan was making noise. Vehicle was only serviced there the first three times. We had like less than a year again for the warranty to expire. No issue was made and it was changed.
nick639v2 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Massy record for backing brands is iffy - look at Suzuki, Peugeot and VW. Nissan and Hyundai are their big success. This budget MG
it would be interesting to see how they support it. I not sure about that MG badge, you spending 1/4 mil on car you want to be proud of it. But that MG Pilot technology is really what makes the difference for me. It’s a shame other local dealers are not including that tech in their cars. To get it in the Corolla Cross you have to buy the 400k+ Hybrid model.

TBH 1/4mil these days not really getting you anything to be proud of when it comes to a brand new car. The MG brand seems to be a hot seller in the UK, Australia, NZ, India, Pakistan and of course China.

The only person I know had a warranty claim was a friend with a Subaru Impreza. The service was late by 2 weeks, the engine failed due to some manufacturer's defect, after 2 meetings they changed the engine under warranty.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 5th, 2021, 5:32 pm

drchaos wrote:The new Audi A3

From the little info I have on this car, it may be the dq200…so do I sense that you’re in replacement mode? :D

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 5th, 2021, 5:39 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:Anyone checked out the new Mazda BT 50?

To me the interior differences are not significant enough to draw me to one model over the other. Both are Isuzu made and designed so it’s a matter of which one is cheaper, cause it’s the same dealer and support.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 5th, 2021, 5:44 pm

Gladiator wrote:
triniboi49 wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

TBH 1/4mil these days not really getting you anything to be proud of when it comes to a brand new car. The MG brand seems to be a hot seller in the UK, Australia, NZ, India, Pakistan and of course China.

The only person I know had a warranty claim was a friend with a Subaru Impreza. The service was late by 2 weeks, the engine failed due to some manufacturer's defect, after 2 meetings they changed the engine under warranty.

I hate to say this but depending on your negotiation skills you may be able to squeeze in a Hyundai Creta 1.5 fully loaded with sunroof and Bose. That’s probably the most ‘bling’ one could get in the market today for 1/4 mil. Another one is the Suzuki Vitara 1.6 GLX AllGrip for around the same price as a loaded Creta albeit with a towering 5 year warranty. You don’t get Bose but at least you have awd which is better to have than upgraded speakers.

triniboi49

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby triniboi49 » September 5th, 2021, 8:24 pm

Unless I missed something - peoples incomes really have not increased the past 5 or 6 years - but these car prices are getting up there.

A 1/4 Mil TTD is approx 35K USD which in the US (where the levels of income are higher) can get you Rav 4 Prime.

The systems in Trinidad is just crazy. And the the cars selling. It’s just crazy.

Why is a 1.5 CRV or 1.6 Tucson so expensive when they are 2 or 3 thousand Australian dollars more than that MG?
The price for the 1.6 Sportage seems about right.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 5th, 2021, 8:54 pm

The Sportage 1.6 is over priced imo. Years ago, a RAV4 locally was within reach of many salaried individuals from both the public and private sector. Today, a RAV4 especially a fully loaded one is for people holding some really nice jobs.

Recognizing how over priced a RAV4 is and now its a semi-premium vehicle locally, with the introduction of the Corolla Cross, perhaps public servants/private sector workers can still look forward to a new Toyota "SUV".

The tax system here is not fair and the forex situation is not making it any better. Lastly, local dealerships and their healthy profit margins contribute to the lavish lives that the executive management of dealerships enjoy.

Its not getting any better. 10+ years from now. The RAV4 will become a vehicle for the elites only and the Corolla Cross would be for those right under elite status. By then, some entry level Toyota SUV (like the Raize, CHR and Yaris Cross) would now be within reach of some salaried people. If you hold a clerical position, tuff luck. PTSC fuh it.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 5th, 2021, 11:51 pm

agent007 wrote:

From the little info I have on this car, it may be the dq200…so do I sense that you’re in replacement mode? :D

I need an SUV now ... Need the trunk space and ground clearance.
Options so far are the CRV, Rav4
Corolla cross and the Foreign new Vezel are options on the table.
The BMW x1 is an attractive option as well but not sure if I wanna go euro again.

Trying to convince a friend not to buy a A3 if it has a dry clutch tranny.

Postby Gladiator » September 6th, 2021, 12:27 am

triniboi49 wrote:Unless I missed something - peoples incomes really have not increased the past 5 or 6 years - but these car prices are getting up there.

A 1/4 Mil TTD is approx 35K USD which in the US (where the levels of income are higher) can get you Rav 4 Prime.

The systems in Trinidad is just crazy. And the the cars selling. It’s just crazy.

Why is a 1.5 CRV or 1.6 Tucson so expensive when they are 2 or 3 thousand Australian dollars more than that MG?

Its greed and bottom line profits that's all the local new car dealers care about... as soon as that MG start flying off the showroom they increasing the price by $40k by the next shipment.

Postby aaron17 » September 6th, 2021, 3:52 am

drchaos wrote:
agent007 wrote:

The BMW x1 is an attractive option as well but not sure if I wanna go euro again.

Vitara too small?

Postby aaron17 » September 6th, 2021, 3:54 am

agent007 wrote:The Sportage 1.6 is over priced imo. Years ago, a RAV4 locally was within reach of many salaried individuals from both the public and private sector. Today, a RAV4 especially a fully loaded one is for people holding some really nice jobs.

Recognizing how over priced a RAV4 is and now its a semi-premium vehicle locally, with the introduction of the Corolla Cross, perhaps public servants/private sector workers can still look forward to a new Toyota "SUV".

The tax system here is not fair and the forex situation is not making it any better. Lastly, local dealerships and their healthy profit margins contribute to the lavish lives that the executive management of dealerships enjoy.

Its not getting any better. 10+ years from now. The RAV4 will become a vehicle for the elites only and the Corolla Cross would be for those right under elite status. By then, some entry level Toyota SUV (like the Raize, CHR and Yaris Cross) would now be within reach of some salaried people. If you hold a clerical position, tuff luck. PTSC fuh it.
Toyota trinidad selling raize or yaris cross? Asking for a friend to buy. I thought is only foreign used?

carluva

Postby carluva » September 6th, 2021, 7:05 am

Yip.

But... It is also the weakness of consumer and purchasing "power". As I have said all along and many times, if consumers hold their hands on purchases, that act alone has the power to force prices to hold or even drop.

As long as there is one buyer who can't wait or who can't exercise restraint, which there will always be, and as long as shipments are sold out before even touching the shores, dealers will continue to make their exorbitant profit margins.
Gladiator wrote:
triniboi49 wrote:Unless I missed something - peoples incomes really have not increased the past 5 or 6 years - but these car prices are getting up there.

Its greed and bottom line profits that's all the local new car dealers care about... as soon as that MG start flying off the showroom they increasing the price by $40k by the next shipment.

Postby Habit7 » September 6th, 2021, 10:48 am

Ppl regularly like to compare us to the US market, the largest car market in the world. So obviously prices there will be cheaper.

The 2 largest expenses ppl will make in their life are a house and a car. A house mostly uses local resources but a car is 100% imported, thus there will always be higher taxes on it because it restricts forex leakage.

An entry level 2021 Toyota Rav4 is:
US$62,497 in Barbados
US$50,767 in Jamaica
US$50,830 in TT
US$44,473 in Mauritius

We can't even compare this to the US because all these entry-level are the 2.0L version and the US only has 2.5L which starts at $26,350

It is not just a Trinidad thing.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 6th, 2021, 11:35 am

drchaos wrote:
agent007 wrote:

Scene, in that case the new CRV it is. I know you got spoilt with that turbo over the years!

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 6th, 2021, 11:38 am

aaron17 wrote:
agent007 wrote:The Sportage 1.6 is over priced imo. Years ago, a RAV4 locally was within reach of many salaried individuals from both the public and private sector. Today, a RAV4 especially a fully loaded one is for people holding some really nice jobs.

Toyota trinidad selling raize or yaris cross? Asking for a friend to buy. I thought is only foreign used?

No I just included those examples as TTTL may recruit more lower entrants as the current lineup continues to increase in price year over year. The rate they going, the only “suv” the masses may afford at Toyota is the rush.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 6th, 2021, 11:41 am

Habit7 wrote:

Ppl regularly like to compare us to the US market, the largest car market in the world. So obviously prices there will be cheaper.

The 2 largest expenses ppl will make in their life are a house and a car. A house mostly uses local resources but a car is 100% imported, thus there will always be higher taxes on it because it restricts forex leakage.

An entry level 2021 Toyota Rav4 is:
US$62,497 in Barbados
US$50,767 in Jamaica
US$50,830 in TT
US$44,473 in Mauritius

We can't even compare this to the US because all these entry-level are the 2.0L version and the US only has 2.5L which starts at $26,350

It is not just a Trinidad thing.

In Singapore, a starter RAV4 2.0 starts at just under $784,000.00 TTD. That’s around the cost of a Fortuner 2.4 currently. Insane! Scouts from TTTL on this thread probably already prepared to increase the RAV4 yet again for good measure.

Postby Habit7 » September 6th, 2021, 11:52 am

I didn't want to reference Singapore because that is an anomaly. They purposely don't want ppl to buy cars because they are 5million ppl living on an island the size of Couva Tabaquite Talparo Regional Corp. So they make cars very expensive and have excellent public transport.

Postby Gladiator » September 6th, 2021, 3:49 pm

agent007 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
agent007 wrote:

Scene, in that case the new CRV it is. I know you got spoilt with that turbo over the years!

For a 20K more you can have the Mercedes GLB as an option also... assuming you going with the fully loaded CRV