Did TT SQ scene die?

altec

Re: Did TT SQ scene die?

Postby altec » March 16th, 2021, 8:34 pm

Watching the workmanship in the pics making me feel "shame" with my novice install.....cyar put my attempt next to that level of craftmanship.....

Postby SR » March 16th, 2021, 11:19 pm

There are different classes based on the competitor experience and crafstmanship.

From rookie to amateur to pro am then pro etc

Sound quality comp does not take into consideration the craftsmanship. Instal quality does

Postby SR » March 16th, 2021, 11:20 pm

The event had the largest sq competitor turnout trinidad has seen in over 10 years

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 16th, 2021, 11:54 pm

altec wrote:Watching the workmanship in the pics making me feel "shame" with my novice install.....cyar put my attempt next to that level of craftmanship.....
Boy dbu, I went one of the sq gatherings with my van, 4 pa speakers and subs tuned in the 40s lol.

Hands down one of the best times I had at a 'meet up'. Changed my outlook on alot of stuff and got schooled a bit... You could show up with zip ties and duct tape. It's all good, no judgement passed.
Last edited by nick639v2 on March 16th, 2021, 11:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 17th, 2021, 6:23 am

kavaninho wrote:Link to pics of SQC event held yesterday:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?van ... 0320580597
timelapse wrote: look what going on with the a pillars

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 18th, 2021, 11:02 pm

I see those A pillar speaker pod thingies are very popular. I wonder how they deal with the diffraction issue though? Placing a driver in a circular baffle (in this case, a baffle that's slightly wider than the driver itself) can result in huge diffraction issues.

Postby timelapse » March 29th, 2021, 7:43 pm

The stepped baffle should help,but other than that,dsp the heck out of it.Also consider that some people putting small woofers in a pillar pods that are sealed.Very scary territory

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 29th, 2021, 9:14 pm

Brian Steele wrote:I see those A pillar speaker pod thingies are very popular. I wonder how they deal with the diffraction issue though? Placing a driver in a circular baffle (in this case, a baffle that's slightly wider than the driver itself) can result in huge diffraction issues.

Anywhere above the dash the baffle sizes will be minimized to not obscure the drivers sight, as most local builds are daily drivers.
Your concern is valid, however, car audio limitations are far greater than a home audio setup.