Electrical wiring advice needed

Postby *KRONIK* » January 28th, 2021, 3:54 pm

Fellaz

This not audio related
But it falls in the category

I have a relay box to wire up (more like wire- in)
Its pre-wired, so i just need a current and ground supply.

Input is 8ga

But the problem i gonna face is that all the relays and fused outputs gonna be hot.

How can i wire this in to have it ignition switched?

goviboo

Re: Electrical wiring advice needed

Postby goviboo » January 28th, 2021, 5:01 pm

Post a good quality photo of the underside (buss run/layout) of the relay box.

You can:
1- go with a relay (multiple in parallel) large enough to handle the current of the 8awg.
2- if the box is left and right as I’m picturing you can cut the buss and solder wires to two external relays which can in turn be controlled by the ignition. (Or more) depending on how many controlled branches you need.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 28th, 2021, 6:56 pm

So the box is an internally bussed unit
1 8ga positive, 1 8ga ground

So, once it powered, everytjing will be "hot"...
If that makes sense
Screenshot_20210128-185223_Google.jpeg
Screenshot_20210128-185106_Google.jpeg

Postby adnj » January 28th, 2021, 7:52 pm

8 ga handles about 40 amps so you will be able to pass 30 to 40 amps. You need a Bosch mini relay 30 amp normally open and base or similar. The relay sits outside of your block and will switch power.

Run a cable from your b+ terminal with a 30 amp inline fuse near the source. Connect this battery power to terminal 30. Run terminal 87 to your relay block positive terminal.

Connect keypower to terminal 86. Connect terminal 85 to ground.

Run your 8 ga ground to a clean point in the chassis.

Run a busbar, short connector or cable-Y between the two power input terminals, if necessary.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » January 28th, 2021, 9:10 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

This not audio related

Input is 8ga

But the problem i gonna face is that all the relays and fused outputs gonna be hot.

Ras pay your money and go by a good electrician nah, you really want to risk getting electrocuted or burning down your vehicle ?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 28th, 2021, 9:29 pm

The is pre-installed and wired with 5x 35a relays fused at 30a
And 5x 15a constant fuses.
So i dont think a normal 40a relay will work.

Someone recommended this:

IMG-20210128-WA0223~2.jpeg

adnj wrote:8 ga handles about 40 amps so you will be able to pass 30 to 40 amps. You need a Bosch mini relay 30 amp normally open and base or similar. The relay sits outside of your block and will switch power.

Run a cable from your b+ terminal with a 30 amp inline fuse near the source. Connect this battery power to terminal 30. Run terminal 87 to your relay block positive terminal.

Connect keypower to terminal 86. Connect terminal 85 to ground.

Run your 8 ga ground to a clean point in the chassis.

Run a busbar, short connector or cable-Y between the two power input terminals, if necessary.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 28th, 2021, 9:32 pm

I am going by a professional car audio installer to do the wiring, but i just wanna have my schematics in my head as i am purchasing the hardware items myself
randolphinshan wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

This not audio related

Input is 8ga

Ras pay your money and go by a good electrician nah, you really want to risk getting electrocuted or burning down your vehicle ?

pjfred

Postby pjfred » January 28th, 2021, 11:10 pm

Have you really ever noticed that your car ignition switch handles the highest power transfer in a non hybrid vehicle continuously.
100% duty cycle.
Most electronic switching devices within a reasonable price range wont exist because you will need a 100% duty rating.
You need to install your relay box as is taking supply direct from battery with proper fuse and holder for protection closest to the battery.
Bolt that ground closest to box.
Any other wiring will result in failure especially in 12 VDC systems.

Postby adnj » January 29th, 2021, 1:10 am

That Stinger is a normally open relay rates at about 200 amps. There's no reason that you cannot use it.

If your fuse/relay block is being set up where each relay is passing 30 amps, you should not switch power to the relay block. You should wire the the block directly to B+ with a fusible link or inline mega fuse on the supply. You then should be switching each circuit relay on the block separately.

You could choose to wire every relay for keypower activation.

I believe this is what pjfred was trying to say.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 29th, 2021, 8:29 am

So how come they does use them same stinger relay as battery isolators?
You overthinking this, i think

pjfred wrote:Have you really ever noticed that your car ignition switch handles the highest power transfer in a non hybrid vehicle continuously.
100% duty cycle.
Most electronic switching devices within a reasonable price range wont exist because you will need a 100% duty rating.
You need to install your relay box as is taking supply direct from battery with proper fuse and holder for protection closest to the battery.
Bolt that ground closest to box.
Any other wiring will result in failure especially in 12 VDC systems.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 29th, 2021, 8:36 am

adnj wrote:That Stinger is a normally open relay rates at about 200 amps. There's no reason that you cannot use it.

If your fuse/relay block is being set up where each relay is passing 30 amps, you should not switch power to the relay block. You should wire the the block directly to B+ with a fusible link or inline mega fuse on the supply. You then should be switching each circuit relay on the block separately.

Yes
This is what i plan to do
Battery to 100A breaker
Breaker to 80A fuse (this is the input rated fuse recommended by manufacturer)
Fuse to stinger relay (wired/triggered seperately)
Relay to box input. With a chassis ground.
The box has seperate relay light guage inputs/trigger for switches with a heavier guage output for devices.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » January 29th, 2021, 8:07 pm

Price that stinger relay

Postby adnj » January 29th, 2021, 11:30 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:That Stinger is a normally open relay rates at about 200 amps. There's no reason that you cannot use it.

Yes
Battery to 100A breaker
The box has seperate relay light guage inputs/trigger for switches with a heavier guage output for devices.
It seems that you are wiring a primary relay box. I believe that I misunderstood your intended use. Many 30A relays on the road only control one or two amps.

You probably already have the correct supply and ground cable sizes then.

As an aside, your Stinger is based on the Ford Motorcraft starter motor relay that was used for more than 60 years. Those tended to be very reliable.

Last edited by adnj on January 29th, 2021, 11:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 29th, 2021, 11:33 pm

Its 17US on amazon
pjfred wrote:Price that stinger relay

Postby *KRONIK* » January 29th, 2021, 11:41 pm

adnj wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Yes
Battery to 100A breaker
It seems that you are wiring a primary relay box. I believe that I misunderstood your intended use. Many 30A relays on the road only control one or two amps.

You probably already have the correct supply and ground cable sizes then.

As an aside, your Stinger is based on the Ford Motorcraft starter motor relay that was used for more than 60 years. Those tended to be very reliable.

Yea
Its for 12v acessories.
Need to wire a 15A fan soon and a LED lightbar
And some other outputs for future stuff

I cant stand seeing random relays screwed in haphazardly for various things.
When a man pull he bonnet and yuh see a relay screw randomly, i does wanna die inside.

I prefer a neat, easy to troubleshoot system

And yes, there are other versions of the isolator relay.
I just looked at the stinger because it was the 1st one someone showed me and its fairly reasonable, price-wise

adnj wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Yes
Battery to 100A breaker
It seems that you are wiring a primary relay box. Many 30A relays on the road only control one or two amps. I believe that I misunderstood your intended use.

As an aside, your Stinger is based on the Ford Motorcraft starter motor relay that was used for more than 60 years.

Postby adnj » January 29th, 2021, 11:55 pm

You don't have any critical circuits on the relay so you should be fine, I think. I would like to see a photo after it's all wired up.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 30th, 2021, 12:03 am

Sure
Will update as i progress.
adnj wrote:You don't have any critical circuits on the relay so you should be fine, I think. I would like to see a photo after it's all wired up.

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2021, 5:22 pm

Contactor.

356-7171

frankie, and tell him I say HYMC for old time sake.

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2021, 5:24 pm

If not try wilog, ask if they start stocking replacement contactors for the daikin units yet, they are 12v dc.