The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Arcmanov

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby Arcmanov » August 11th, 2020, 1:02 pm

Laventille is a special breed of PNM.

When almost everyone in the country voted PNM out in 1986, Laventille was one of only 3 seats that remained. (I think the other 2 were San Fernando and Tobago).

I really don't get the almost cult-like fascination with voting PNM when it has been shown time and again that it always turns out being counter-productive to the development of those constituencies.

There may be more at play in Laventille than just race.

Correct me if I'm wrong, of course.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 11th, 2020, 1:03 pm

toyolink wrote:The way forward is going to be real rocky and I sincerely hope that the returning gov't will do the things which the average citizen depends upon to make life a little comfortable.
The little things I refer to are not about hand-out but such things as repairs to roads and other infrastructure, security of food and medical supplies at reasonable prices, placing some emphasis on the well being of our kids and elderly.
Once our govt can takes a stand for these expectations and do so for the whole country, T&T will respond in the most positive fashion.
Elections are over and the PNM have won the right to govern and to them congratulations are in order, now let everyone step up to the reality that we must all manage covid19 and our national economic downward spiral or the pain which will befall us will spare no one.
dont expect anything.

This PNM has proven they can't even get the basics right. They're freaking up Covid-19 right now after wasting an entire lockdown.

As bad as the UNC is they are far better when governing.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 11th, 2020, 1:12 pm

Arcmanov wrote:Poor showing from the Laventille electorate.
I thought there was going to be a 'yellow revolution' (according to UNC activists).

It looks like most people eh business. Image

Even in 2010 they didn't win those areas.

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2020, 1:12 pm

Despite all the 'crap' that the PNM did...the UNC did not have the ability to beat the 'worst government evah' in the elections.
Despite all the great things that the UNC did 2010-2015 they still lost the 2015 elections.

Maybe its time to really come to terms with that.
Last edited by Redman on August 11th, 2020, 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
toyolink wrote:The way forward is going to be real rocky and I sincerely hope that the returning gov't will do the things which the average citizen depends upon to make life a little comfortable.
The little things I refer to are not about hand-out but such things as repairs to roads and other infrastructure, security of food and medical supplies at reasonable prices, placing some emphasis on the well being of our kids and elderly.
Once our govt can takes a stand for these expectations and do so for the whole country, T&T will respond in the most positive fashion.
Elections are over and the PNM have won the right to govern and to them congratulations are in order, now let everyone step up to the reality that we must all manage covid19 and our national economic downward spiral or the pain which will befall us will spare no one.
dont expect anything.

This PNM has proven they can't even get the basics right. They're freaking up Covid-19 right now after wasting an entire lockdown.

As bad as the UNC is they are far better when governing.
Stupid country filled with stupid people

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 11th, 2020, 1:13 pm

Redman wrote:Despite all the crap that the PNM did...the UNC did not have the ability to beat the 'worst government evah' in the elections.
Despite all the great things that the UNC did 2010-2015 they still lost the 2015 elections.

I fully agree, UNC is extremely out of touch. Vasant explained this quite well last night

Postby maj. tom » August 11th, 2020, 1:14 pm

Arcmanov wrote:Laventille is a special breed of PNM.

When almost everyone in the country voted PNM out in 1986, Laventille was one of only 3 seats that remained. (I think the other 2 were San Fernando and Tobago).

I really don't get the almost cult-like fascination with voting PNM when it has been shown time and again that it always turns out being counter-productive to the development of those constituencies.

Yeah it's called Political Stockholm Syndrome.

It's bred into certain parts of any voting population through propaganda, calculated entrapment through poverty and illiteracy (think about the PNM putting back the tax on computers and textbooks which affects poverty the most) and thus mental slavery; deliberate moves by politicians to keep seats safe no matter what. It's not limited to PNM and Trinidad. We observe it in any democratic nation you can name from USA, to UK, to Poland to Sri Lanka to Nigeria, to Rwanda. It's not even limited to democracy, as we have observed it during the Cold War in Communist countries, and currently in China and North Korea.

It is when a person understands that the government and politicians are corrupt, but will not go down the rabbit hole because it shatters the paradigm they live in. In other words, when having a conversation about politics, they will readily agree that politicians lie, but when you begin breaking it down for them about how corrupt they actually are and point out any nefarious agendas, they will then call you crazy, or a conspiracy theorist. At this point, they will defend those who imprison them with the lies they accept as the truth.
Tom is a good guy, but he refuses to accept that there is no possible way a missile could have hit the pentagon. He refuses to use common sense to see that the engines and wings would have also destroyed the building, and not just leave a single hole. He truly has Political Stockholm Syndrome.

Most people in this country have PSS, they refuse to see the truth before their eyes.
by C.Fooch April 04, 2016
https://www.urbandictionary.com/define. ... 20syndrome

Some more reading: http://www.briantrappler.com/political- ... -syndrome/

Postby Dizzy28 » August 11th, 2020, 1:17 pm

PNM won both Laventilles and Sando East in 1986
Arcmanov wrote:Laventille is a special breed of PNM.

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:19 pm

Redman wrote:Despite all the crap that the PNM did...the UNC did not have the ability to beat the 'worst government evah' in the elections.

Did you point out the crap the PNM did in the last 5 years?

You full ah fvcking 5hit

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2020, 1:21 pm

Dais your wok boss....not mine.

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Redman wrote:

Dais your wok boss....not mine.
My boss is Jah

But explain what Crap the PNM did?

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:28 pm

Redman we waiting

What crap did PNM do as you said in the last 5 years ?

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2020, 1:29 pm

Like I said thats your work-If the UNC cannot get its chit together do beat the worst govt evar -based on what allyuh saying then they need to clean house.

They failed as an opposition to cleanse the party of whatever ghosts from 2010-2015.
They failed as an opposition to convince the population that they deserved a next shot
They failed as an opposition to show that they should be taken seriously.

They failed.

Your opinion as stated here is that the PNM is a wft....yet the UNC failed to unseat them
It eh nobody fault but their own.

Start now and do the work.....2025 coming.

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:31 pm

Redman wrote:Like I said thats your work-If the UNC cannot get its chit together do beat the worst govt evar -based on what allyuh saying then they need to clean house.

They failed as an opposition to cleanse the party of whatever ghosts from 2010-2015.
They failed as an opposition to convince the population that they deserved a next shot

They failed.

Your opinion as stated here is that the PNM is a wft....yet the UNC failed to unseat them

You spinning

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:33 pm

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2020, 1:35 pm

No spin just stating what I see- I was being tongue in cheek in my first post- funny how Dohplaydhat understood yet it went over your head.

I added a pair of inverted commas around crap-so it would be cleared.

Sorry about getting your panties bunched ZR.
Last edited by Redman on August 11th, 2020, 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:37 pm

Redman wrote:No spin just stating what I see- I was being tongue in cheek in my first post- funny how Dohplaydhat understood yet it went over your head.

Answer the question

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2020, 1:38 pm

Redman wrote:No spin just stating what I see- I was being tongue in cheek in my first post- funny how Dohplaydhat understood yet it went over your head.

Answer the question or shut da fvck up

or what???

You gonna type hard?

Keep your ineffectual bigot rants on your side boss....

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:39 pm

Redman wrote:

Answer the question or shut da fvck up

or what???

You gonna type hard?

Keep your ineffectual bigot rants on your side boss....

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:41 pm

Redman answer the question

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2020, 1:47 pm

zoom rader wrote:Redman answer the question

Apparently not enough -cuz they won.

What crap do you think the PNM did in the last 5 years ZR?

happy?

Oh and thats a sarcastic answer-like the first post.

Just to be clear.

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:52 pm

Redman wrote:

happy?

Just to be clear.

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 1:56 pm

Redman runs and hides

abducted

Postby abducted » August 11th, 2020, 1:57 pm

Redman wrote:

happy?

Just to be clear.

What did the UNC do the past 5 years? They plan to do the same in the next 5 years?

Postby MaxPower » August 11th, 2020, 2:07 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Hello friends I have returned as it appears my ban has been lifted atleast now we know ZR is a big stinking LIAR and the admins are in fact UNC who will ban those that promote PNM. HOWEVER this is a new ERA so let us move on...

I would like to say a pleasant morning to one and all on this BEAUTIFUL blessed morning a morning that has never been so blessed before a morning that has never been so beautiful before I just awoken from my slumber to be greeted by a beautiful bright blue sky, low humidity and the smell of my PNM neighbor's freshly cut lawn. I notice he is very excited and happy this morning he has a ham in the oven I can smell it from here, he has invited me to post celebrations later today and I shall be joining him.

We shall consider all the things 88sins said will happen, water to go up, electric bill, hunting permits, (Hopefully breaking red lights and littering in public will result in jail time) and so forth and these are certainly all valid points.

However let us also consider the alternative, we would have had a crazy drunken lunatic woman leading this country in a time of Covid, a woman who has pushed wild, dangerous and crazy conspiracy theories about covid being a Hoax, Trinidad not having Covid, RUM, Lime, Sunlight and or UV light up your cacah0le would cure Covid. Demanding that Bars remain opened and operate with impunity, demanding the irresponsible 4000 people outside infected with Covid be allowed to return and spread it in this country.

This woman and her drunken shenanigans is the primary reason so many in my own family who vote UNC was telling me even up until yesterday that Trinidad eh have NO Covid and that is why they not washing their hands. This is the dangers of having a drunk or crazy person as a leader, now because of her spreading these wild conspiracy theories I need to isolate and abandon my family because they choose to follow her irresponsible anti science nonsense and put everybody lives in danger. If any of my UNC family dies it will be due to the irresponsibility of this drunk crazy woman, not unlike the mad ORANGE one in the white house in the USA who isn't much different seems the drunken leader has chosen to lead in his footsteps a footstep which I could only describe as BARKING MAD.

And I am not saying that Afros don't believe Covid is a hoax either, there are a number of them who thinks Covid is also a Hoax and that the Earth is Flat. However the difference with the Afros is that the beautiful shiny balled headed distinguished leader doesn't encourage that kind of madness, armed with this marvelous big beautiful scientific mind he educated and hammers the science into the minds of his supporters for doing the right thing, SOCIAL DISTANCE, WASH YOUR HANDS, AND FOLLOW THE SCIENCE. This has been the message of our dear leader and for that I welcome all the changes including property Tax.

Hello ED,

And top of this wonderful morning to you my lad, that the man above had blessed us with this bright blue day.

I look forward to another 5 years of leadership from the handsome, the charming, his excellency, the Hon. Keith Christopher Rowley.

As Covid cases are rising, i say thank you and another thank you to that man above to keep the PNM in power.

Hard times are ahead, yes, but remember...”Even though the situation is bad, it can easily have been worse” under the UNC.

I will not have our borders opened to these pests on the outside who want to come and conduct their dishonest and irresponsible self quarantining.

I would like to commend our leader, Keith, for holding firm and trying his utmost best to keep those IN T&T (Trinis and Venes) safe.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 11th, 2020, 2:08 pm

Redman wrote:Like I said thats your work-If the UNC cannot get its chit together do beat the worst govt evar -based on what allyuh saying then they need to clean house.

They failed.

A large part of the population were fedup with PNM but voted on race. The media pushed this spin that Kamla and UNC were racist and benefitted from it. They lost some of the marginals but not a large amount. I think the story would have been different if Kamla didn't run a poor campaign that played on gender and race politics (saying things like "blank man" and talking about slavery and putting those ads etc.)

I think the big fail was the poor campaign by UNC and Kamla especially but I certainly think PNM also did a failure of a job in the last 5 years.

It's sad because the country deserves better. I hope the UNC realizes what they did wrong and fixes it (replace Kamla and get a better campaign manager.)

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2020, 2:12 pm

Ok elections over, time to brace for the budget

Postby mero » August 11th, 2020, 2:13 pm

Lol relax yuh batty and stop toting nah zoom. Yuh frazzling the ponytail.

You just mad cuz u got served.

Served!!

SERVED!!!!!!

Re: Election prediction thread, and alternate poll

Postby mero » August 11th, 2020, 2:16 pm

screwbash wrote:

Like you spend many a sleepless night in yuh galvanize shack dreaming how yuh illegitimate mother who was raped by a negro man who result in your good self life cuda be if you wasnt born. ha ha ha it aint to late to get out of the world an make it a better place. garden shop open and hardware does still sell rope.

Don't hate. U only mad cuz you got served.

Served! !

SERVED! !!

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2020, 2:19 pm

mero wrote:

Lol relax yuh batty and stop toting nah zoom. Yuh frazzling the ponytail.

You just mad cuz u got served.

Served!!

SERVED!!!!!!
What's there to be mad about ?

Redman said the PNM did crap for the last 5 years so he's needs to explain what Crap they did.