WTK- where to get Crossover parts...

NateM92

WTK- where to get Crossover parts...

Postby NateM92 » June 16th, 2020, 1:05 pm

Looking for 0.3mH Inductor Coil and 10uF Capacitor... a lot of places have only Capacitors no inductor.
Anyone know where I can get it?

Re: WTK- where to get Crossover parts...

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 16th, 2020, 3:10 pm

Check sham's and steves

But inductors is just a coil of wire eh, you can probably make that from scratch. Here is a calculator to get you started:
http://www.66pacific.com/calculators/co ... lator.aspx

But read this first:
http://www.bcae1.com/inductor.htm

You can get the coil winding wire in sham's and steve's as well.

It would help a lot to have a multimeter with a mH setting as well. But you can go even more extreme DIY with a program called ARTA, you'll need to build a test jig.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Regards,
Shiv.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 17th, 2020, 7:42 am

Parts express!
If not , like suggested, you can wrap your own.

Postby sMASH » June 17th, 2020, 1:25 pm

So no iron core, it's just a coil of wire ?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 17th, 2020, 5:49 pm

sMASH wrote:So no iron core, it's just a coil of wire ?

Yup in most xovers designs air core is used.

Postby sMASH » June 17th, 2020, 7:26 pm

kavaninho wrote:
sMASH wrote:So no iron core, it's just a coil of wire ?

Yup in most xovers designs air core is used.
is there any advantage/drawback, db slope change, inductance change, between metal to air core?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 18th, 2020, 4:45 pm

As for slope, that will depend on the order of the xover network you construct.
I read something once about ferrite cores causing distortion due to hysteresis or something at higher power applications. I'm not too sure of the specifics, however, good hifi systems only employ air core inductors.
I guess you can google that up if you need to know more.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 17th, 2020, 10:44 pm

as we on the topic doh

If anyone wants a free crossover design program, this one is good.

https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/softwar ... igner.html