SR20 IN ELANTRA... SOME PROBLEMS
Posted: January 24th, 2009, 11:40 am
by Grind
I recently put an automatic SR20 engine in a 1999-2000 model elantra and have a few problems that I need assistance with.
* The gear shifter is not properly lined up
* The Tachometer vibrates while movint through the range put is generally in the about the right position
* The speedometer does not work
* The overdrive switch used to work but no longer does; it still goes into overdrive as it should though
* Once the car goes into overdrive it feels as if it wants to buck and cut off. It never does though and once I step on the accelerator a bit it smoothes out
Can anyone direct me to a GOOD, REPUTABLE mechanic who can help me out with these issues?
792-2355
Posted: January 25th, 2009, 11:52 am
by Zh@ne
Sorry to hear to things due but generally why you cross breed like that you end up with those sort of problems.
Posted: January 25th, 2009, 12:20 pm
by Grind
I know that there are some things you can't get away from but this is such a common swap that I'm sure there are ppl out there who have the experience and can help out a bit. Ent?
Posted: January 31st, 2009, 9:09 am
by acesinghit
it annoys me everytime i hear of an elantra with a dated nissan sr20de swap. not only is it a trouble-some combination it destroys the resale value even more. Proper care and maintainance of the car's original engine/tranny would have avoided this as buying an sr20 with transmission then getting it installed costs money and there's no guarantee that its a good engine installed and as the norm these days it have ah set of mechanics lately who could do this and do that thus fueling alot of cross-breeding mayhem with more problems which costs money.
but good luck otherwise.
Posted: January 31st, 2009, 11:03 am
by Grind
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 1:14 pm
by QG
Shoot. soory to hear that problem.
come to the nissan forum...i'm sure someone would be able to help u
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 2:05 pm
by A172
Grind, don't study the paper tuners hoss...
all of them believe the myth that; '
a conversion go never be as bess as original bhai' cuz they read that on some online forum or personally thinks the idea is too much of a headache for
them
Sad to see people with common sense forgetting that it's simply mechanical parts bolting onto another onto another etc.....once done RIGHT, no problems...
Look I have a pardna runnin a highly powered sr20det in an Accent and that thing does drive/ shift like yuh never interfered with it.....even my car, operates totally original for a conversion....
Is just that we did our research and have a boss of a mechanic....mostly attributed to the latter tho
pm meh if yuh want some real results...mech located in Freeport.

Posted: March 2nd, 2009, 12:43 pm
by Grind
A172 wrote:Grind, don't study the paper tuners hoss...
all of them believe the myth that; '
a conversion go never be as bess as original bhai' cuz they read that on some online forum or personally thinks the idea is too much of a headache for
them 
Sad to see people with common sense forgetting that it's simply mechanical parts bolting onto another onto another etc.....once done RIGHT, no problems...
Look I have a pardna runnin a highly powered sr20det in an Accent and that thing does drive/ shift like yuh never interfered with it.....even my car, operates totally original for a conversion....
Is just that we did our research and have a boss of a mechanic....mostly attributed to the latter tho
pm meh if yuh want some real results...mech located in Freeport.

Thanks very much, will vibes you cause I'm in that area.