2008 sportage diesel

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

ADONI

Re: 2008 sportage diesel

Postby ADONI » January 25th, 2016, 8:41 am

Wow! Price real good! A mechanic was telling me is about 20k for a rebuild.....

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 12th, 2016, 10:56 am

Guys, my '09 Sportage diesel not crossing 140km/hr (or accelerating very slowly past that speed).

Granted that I don't really drive that fast, but I bought it a little under a year ago and the wifey does normally drive it.

I finally got a chance to finally open it up in the highway, while it accelerates pretty well normally during city driving, it not really moving past 140 or should i say it accelerates very slowly from approximately that point onward.

Filters and fluids are changed every 5000km. Oil is synthetic Mobil 1 Delvac. Tranny fluid changed recently.
Vehicle starts and idles normally, no excessive smoke, not losing water/coolant.

I put diesel treatment in the tank at least once a month.

Any ideas on what it could be? or is it normal for the diesel models?

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » February 15th, 2016, 10:02 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:Guys, my '09 Sportage diesel not crossing 140km/hr (or accelerating very slowly past that speed).

Granted that I don't really drive that fast, but I bought it a little under a year ago and the wifey does normally drive it.

I finally got a chance to finally open it up in the highway, while it accelerates pretty well normally during city driving, it not really moving past 140 or should i say it accelerates very slowly from approximately that point onward.

Filters and fluids are changed every 5000km. Oil is synthetic Mobil 1 Delvac. Tranny fluid changed recently.
Vehicle starts and idles normally, no excessive smoke, not losing water/coolant.

stupid but serious question, have you checked the accelerator pedal for proper clearance to the floor? when i now purchased my sportage i had a similar problem, only to realise the floor mat was blocking the pedal.

Also have you done a scan to see if there are error codes present? if not i have a scanner and willing to do a free scan for you, providing your near the eastside.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » February 15th, 2016, 11:06 pm

For real! That blocking of the pedal happened to me as well. After picking up my vehicle from the car wash the guy didn't fit the mat back properly and noticed that it was not accelerating as it should. Only to realise it was the mat...
:???::???::???:

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 19th, 2016, 2:30 pm

turboconch2 wrote:
ADONI wrote:Raven, I had no signs of failure. Only that I use to smell diesel around the van like is a Bedford I was driving. Poking around I saw the pump wet with diesel. However, off and on the van used to start with a rough idle and disappear in about 2 seconds and since the pump has been rebuilt I had no more of that rough idle on startup

Gastly369, the pump has been repaired five months now. I was so pissed, before rebuilding, I bought a used pump for 3K, which lasted 15 months. Yea, 5K is the price on Ebay so for it.

I have the same rough idle right now too, so will be investigating it soon also.

Got a set of glow plugs on Ebay. Hopefully dropping the van Monday to change out and see if that get rids of the rough idle on start up. Now its worst, vehicle cuts off about two to three times when cold start. More during the day than morning starts.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » February 21st, 2016, 9:16 am

ADONI wrote:
turboconch2 wrote:
ADONI wrote:Raven, I had no signs of failure. Only that I use to smell diesel around the van like is a Bedford I was driving. Poking around I saw the pump wet with diesel. However, off and on the van used to start with a rough idle and disappear in about 2 seconds and since the pump has been rebuilt I had no more of that rough idle on startup

Gastly369, the pump has been repaired five months now. I was so pissed, before rebuilding, I bought a used pump for 3K, which lasted 15 months. Yea, 5K is the price on Ebay so for it.

I have the same rough idle right now too, so will be investigating it soon also.

Got a set of glow plugs on Ebay. Hopefully dropping the van Monday to change out and see if that get rids of the rough idle on start up. Now its worst, vehicle cuts off about two to three times when cold start. More during the day than morning starts.

I used to get alot of blue smoke on mornings, on a normal gas engine you would think that its valve seals...but thats not the issue with these engines. At first i thought was glow plugs and i order a set of original bosch from ebay, that didnt solve the issue. After doing some research online, alot of people had the same issue in the US an Australia with the same D4EA engine....problem is dirty injectors or pump. Its easy to tell....check the amount of times the engine turns over before starting (a proper working diesel supposed to start on 1st or 2nd turnover).

Started using redline 85+ diesel treatment and after a couple days passed the slight rough idle at startup and blue smoke was gone, our local diesel is very dirty an clogs these newer injectors and crdi pumps quickly...hence all the smoke from newer diesel vehicles like tucson,hilux,navara an ranger.

However using a treatment can only help so much.....the fuel system needs a complete servicing to keep these engines running efficient and proper.

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » February 22nd, 2016, 7:22 am

These vehicles have pressure sensors on the rail? If they do you should be able to monitor rail pressure. I read the glow plug idea but I'm doubtful it would help.
1. These new systems don't need as much preheating to start.
2. I noticed you have rough idle. Do glow plugs even work at that time?

If anything the injectors or HP fuel pump should be looked at. Hope you get through.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 22nd, 2016, 8:35 am

Great feedback guys! I do notice that on cold start, sitting in the vehicle I get a funny shake now when idling in the mornings. From history, my injector pump was rebuilt seven months now, I have been using Redline 85+ a while, evening buy it in the gallon... Also when I change my fuel filter, I load it up with some 85+ and Schaeffer's diesel treatment and let the van idle it out. Thinking after this it may be to carry by Sookhai to clean the injectors, but is around $2000...

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 17th, 2016, 1:48 pm

cressida_override wrote:
SmokeyGTi wrote:Guys, my '09 Sportage diesel not crossing 140km/hr (or accelerating very slowly past that speed).

stupid but serious question, have you checked the accelerator pedal for proper clearance to the floor? when i now purchased my sportage i had a similar problem, only to realise the floor mat was blocking the pedal.

Also have you done a scan to see if there are error codes present? if not i have a scanner and willing to do a free scan for you, providing your near the eastside.

Haven't been online lately, but now saw this. I'll check and see. If alyuh eh see me again is because ah shame :oops:

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 21st, 2016, 9:35 am

Update: Rough idle and hard start
Injectors cleaned by Sookhai, all where tested good (Thank God! $3,500 for and injector). They checked my glow plugs and were tested good as well. Van idles smoother/even now and a bit quite. However, still get the hard start during the day (not in the morning doh). Got the throttle body cleaned. Tried to clean the EGR, but the bolts looks like it gonna snap. Mechanic said he is trying to get the pipe between the turbo and the EGR, in case the bolts snap. Will see how that goes.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » March 21st, 2016, 7:00 pm

ADONI wrote:Update: Rough idle and hard start
Injectors cleaned by Sookhai, all where tested good (Thank God! $3,500 for and injector). They checked my glow plugs and were tested good as well. Van idles smoother/even now and a bit quite. However, still get the hard start during the day (not in the morning doh). Got the throttle body cleaned. Tried to clean the EGR, but the bolts looks like it gonna snap. Mechanic said he is trying to get the pipe between the turbo and the EGR, in case the bolts snap. Will see how that goes.

The piping between the EGR and turbo gets mocked with oil sometimes which causes problems....well atleast i learnt that from my previous vehicle (3.0L frontier), dont know if its the same situation with the sportage. Its always good to have all these piping and hoses cleaned on a diesel vehicle regularly.

P.s how much did the injector service cost by Sookhai?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 22nd, 2016, 8:49 am

Thanks for the info dude! Injector clean by Sookhai was $2,500.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » April 5th, 2016, 4:14 pm

Guys has anyone ordered a timing belt kit on line for their 2008 Kia Sportage diesel?
If so please share the site and kit number.
Thanks.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 6th, 2016, 9:34 am

For the D4EA engine Raven. Did mines at the firm. Was not confident in my mechanic.
24312-27250 Timing Belt
24410-27250 Tensioner Assembly
24810-27250 Idle Tensioner

The Raven

Postby The Raven » April 6th, 2016, 12:16 pm

Adoni,
Do you ever buy timing belt kit for your Sportage?
Or replaced it?
Where did you get it?
Thanks.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » April 6th, 2016, 12:17 pm

Sorry just saw your last post thanks.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » April 6th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Excellent video.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 29th, 2016, 3:31 pm

Fed up!!! Cold start fine, hot start afterwards is minimum three tumble, before I could start. When rain falls whole day, no problem to start. However, if sun is out and it hot, trouble to start. Don't know if is electrical or fuel. Sookhai's eh seem to have a clue. I have a friend with the same problem and like nobody seem to know how to fix it.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 29th, 2016, 3:37 pm

FeEL_tHe_hERtZ wrote:Guys I have a similar with my 2009 sportage diesel the pcm models...starts fine in the morning after an overnight rest....take a 60k drive to the office, parked all day and at about 4 pm the vehicle refuses to start..the engine turns over you can see a willingness to start but it takes about 35 mins worth of trying to start to get it to get it running...then it works perfectly till the next evening again... the exhaust fumes smell horeible sometime equivalent to h2s gas i think...

Oh gawd, ah have to rebuild it seems... Any update dude?

FeEL_tHe_hERtZ

Postby FeEL_tHe_hERtZ » June 29th, 2016, 4:00 pm

Yup i serviced fuel system at sookhais and changed rings and seals...vehicle works great for the past few monts...have a slight oil leak believe its a busted rear seal...but i have the vehicle up for sale as i am migrating...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 30th, 2016, 2:00 pm

Thanks for the update. I drop mines by the guy in Tableland.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 6th, 2016, 6:01 pm

ADONI wrote:Update: Rough idle and hard start

Afternoon all..I know this post is a few months old..but I'm thinking about purchasing a used diesel Sportage (or its cousin)..I know these engines can be problematic at times but I'd really appreciate the savings diesels offer..speaking of EGRs, I'm wondering if blanking it off on these engines along with comprehensive servicing would preserve it past a respectable mileage, in terms of diesels..??

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 8th, 2016, 9:05 am

Blanking the EGR on mines caused the check light to come on. A lot of mechanics seem to stay away from fixing these vehicles. I for one believe that you save at the pump but, spend the savings back in maintenance.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 8th, 2016, 1:08 pm

ADONI wrote:Blanking the EGR on mines caused the check light to come on. A lot of mechanics seem to stay away from fixing these vehicles. I for one believe that you save at the pump but, spend the savings back in maintenance.

So..and this is just me being inquisitive..is it that there is a manufactural/design flaw within the engines themselves, similar to the WL-T engines in the Ford/Mazda vans and the cracked head dilemna, that causes them to 'give up' earlier than other diesel counterparts?? Because my wife and I were discussing this and the prevalence of the issues in comparison to the amount you see on the roads..can the problems be remedied or at least curtailed or is it that we buy a time bomb and thank God for foreign used places??

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » July 9th, 2016, 8:00 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
ADONI wrote:Blanking the EGR on mines caused the check light to come on. A lot of mechanics seem to stay away from fixing these vehicles. I for one believe that you save at the pump but, spend the savings back in maintenance.

So..and this is just me being inquisitive..is it that there is a manufactural/design flaw within the engines themselves, similar to the WL-T engines in the Ford/Mazda vans and the cracked head dilemna, that causes them to 'give up' earlier than other diesel counterparts?? Because my wife and I were discussing this and the prevalence of the issues in comparison to the amount you see on the roads..can the problems be remedied or at least curtailed or is it that we buy a time bomb and thank God for foreign used places??

Sometimes i have to laugh at some posts on this forum. At the end of the day, every vehicle has different faults...may it be engine/mechanical/suspension. Some parts hold out longer than some on different manufacturer vehicles but it always comes down to how the owner/user takes car of said vehicle.

For example, i owned a 3.0 4x4 frontier previously for almost 2years...always did maintenance on time (change oil/air/fuel filters an fluids) @ 5000km, never had to do anything major on engine besides change glow plugs and change a stuck thermostat. Sold said vehicle to a padna and within 4 months he damaged the engine because of overheating caused by damaged radiator (replacement engine cost $25k+)
Currently have a 2007 2.0 diesel 4wd sportage for a year now, got it doin about 160k mileage and i've put on about 40k to that....have not had any problems engine wise with it besides a smoke problem which was being caused by dirty injectors (common problem with CRDI engines) did some reading online and found out a simple solution was using a good treatment and the problem was resolved.

As for parts, i buy all oem parts online and import them....costs atleast 35% cheaper than locally. Its true about the mazda/ford engines, but i also know people that bought those same vans and have them for 5+years with no problems. In my opinion everyone who dont own a diesel vehicle or had bad experiences with one always says you save at the pump and spend double on parts....but in my book and experience thats b.s

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 9th, 2016, 11:09 pm

cressida_override wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

Sometimes i have to laugh at some posts on this forum. At the end of the day, every vehicle has different faults...may it be engine/mechanical/suspension. Some parts hold out longer than some on different manufacturer vehicles but it always comes down to how the owner/user takes car of said vehicle.

For example, i owned a 3.0 4x4 frontier previously for almost 2years...always did maintenance on time (change oil/air/fuel filters an fluids) @ 5000km, never had to do anything major on engine besides change glow plugs and change a stuck thermostat. Sold said vehicle to a padna and within 4 months he damaged the engine because of overheating caused by damaged radiator (replacement engine cost $25k+)
Currently have a 2007 2.0 diesel 4wd sportage for a year now, got it doin about 160k mileage and i've put on about 40k to that....have not had any problems engine wise with it besides a smoke problem which was being caused by dirty injectors (common problem with CRDI engines) did some reading online and found out a simple solution was using a good treatment and the problem was resolved.

As for parts, i buy all oem parts online and import them....costs atleast 35% cheaper than locally. Its true about the mazda/ford engines, but i also know people that bought those same vans and have them for 5+years with no problems. In my opinion everyone who dont own a diesel vehicle or had bad experiences with one always says you save at the pump and spend double on parts....but in my book and experience thats b.s

No need to laugh..I'm just enquiring..thank God yours is working fine, but I've heard some horror stories otherwise, right in this very thread..I understand that all vehicles have issues..it's just that the problems are more prevalent in some vehicles than others, hence the perception of reliability or the lack thereof, especially when it comes to the Koreans..I, however, also don't think diesel is that bad..proper maintenance and all should be well so the savings at the pump, plus extended driving distances are worth it..how many km's do you get on a tank of diesel though??..thanks for the advice..

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » July 10th, 2016, 5:24 am

I get about 500km to 3/4 tank...which would take about $80 to refill and that includes highway driving between 100-120km and running a/c.

bumpie

Postby bumpie » July 19th, 2016, 8:46 am

Goin to buy this any advice?its 2008 diesel 4x4.?
02_2199.jpg

bumpie

Postby bumpie » July 19th, 2016, 8:47 am

Goin to buy this 2008 4x4 diesel any advice?

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » September 4th, 2016, 6:12 pm

Looks like everybody vehicle working good. No post?
Anyway mine giving trouble again. did an engine job about four months now and now it overheating. blow the head gasket and lord know what else wrong.

Return to “KIA”