Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing. Carded for 2nd Sept

Re: Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing. Carded for 2nd

Postby SR » August 22nd, 2012, 6:33 am

y dat looking like parts from the terapin...............

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 22nd, 2012, 8:49 am

SR wrote:y dat looking like THE terapin...............

And I still looking for "mainly out of wood"
So is that compressed wood, or fibreglass wood, or carbon fibre wood?

nigie

Postby nigie » August 22nd, 2012, 8:55 am

Dawg..that bad...Mr Auto sport may i suggest we have a prize for top speed...

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 22nd, 2012, 8:58 am

lol looking like a long time dawg want to make a strech go kart lol

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 22nd, 2012, 9:01 am

nigie wrote:Dawg..that bad...Mr Auto sport may i suggest we have a prize for top speed...

Where will this end?

Latest entry coming from Gormandy Engineering out of California, Sea Lots!
He just waiting for the Great Race to be over and grab some parts...
Prize for the most over-engineered project.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 22nd, 2012, 9:57 am

AutoSport wrote:
SR wrote:y dat looking like THE terapin...............

And I still looking for "mainly out of wood"
So is that compressed wood, or fibreglass wood, or carbon fibre wood?

SR, No terrapins were harmed in the building of this box kart, however we did sacrifice an old go kart frame and two bicycles.
Autosport, what you see there is all the steel that will be used (with the exception of the steering). The rest of the kart, the flooring and bodywork will be wood.

Postby SR » August 22nd, 2012, 11:15 am

runs back to confirm pics of terpin...................

where dat seat come from???

i found the steering wheel if you need it

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 22nd, 2012, 12:53 pm

SR wrote:runs back to confirm pics of terpin...................

where dat seat come from???

i found the steering wheel if you need it

The seat is from the sacrificial go kart

nigie

Postby nigie » August 22nd, 2012, 1:19 pm

Feel this will help that fella by Gormandy..... :lol:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 22nd, 2012, 2:05 pm

nigie wrote:Feel this will help that fella by Gormandy..... :lol:

As they say, straight out of the box!

Around

Postby Around » August 22nd, 2012, 8:14 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:flyer added

i in dat

Moko_Jumbie

Postby Moko_Jumbie » August 23rd, 2012, 11:24 am

Has there been an official box cart spec put up?
How much wood? metal? type of suspension?
Is the ramp confirmed?
My friends and i would like to take part and waiting until next Wednesday to find out that we are building the wrong type of cart will be tough.
Is there a contact number for more info?
Thanks in advance.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 23rd, 2012, 11:52 am

Introducing
Red Dawg Racing's
"Downward Dawg"

idk?

Postby idk? » August 23rd, 2012, 8:49 pm

^^ I thought it was suppose to be mainly made of wood?

nigie

Postby nigie » August 23rd, 2012, 9:18 pm

Downward Dawg...looking good!!!!but.....wait till u see LEGIN RACING SI-7 :lol:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 23rd, 2012, 10:13 pm

Hope when we pull the micrometer and test the % of wood in the build we doh get haul before the Privy Council. Mainly out of wood get lost somewhere along the way. The competitors will decide!

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 24th, 2012, 5:24 am

AutoSport wrote:Hope when we pull the micrometer and test the % of wood in the build we doh get haul before the Privy Council. Mainly out of wood get lost somewhere along the way. The competitors will decide!

I am sure that the next event (assuming that there is one) there will be a more comprehensive set of rules regarding the construction of the karts. Might I suggest different classes for the steel frame versus the mainly wood karts.
Looking at Team Loco's photo, I can say that my frame has less steel than theirs.

nigie

Postby nigie » August 24th, 2012, 7:15 am

Hey the rules were given....so come on fellas....leggo wood. :)

main·ly/ˈmānlē/Adverb:
1.More than anything else: "he is mainly concerned with fiction".
2.For the most part: "the west will be mainly dry".

Synonyms: chiefly - mostly - principally - primarily - especially

Postby Monk BANzai » August 24th, 2012, 12:22 pm

sooo..

just to be clear:

Ramp starts
16" external diameter is the limit for the wheel diameter (can this be extended to 20" for the over 12yrs class?)
Simple Braking System
No "pushing" support Team?
Helmet and other Safety Stuff?
Metal/Wood combination for build?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 24th, 2012, 1:23 pm

"BANzai Rastafarai sooo.. yuh comig as Race Director?

Just to be clear:

Ramp starts - Yes.

16" external diameter is the limit for the wheel diameter (can this be extended to 20" for the over 12yrs class?) NOOOOOO. Next thing yuh start to rob all them wheel-chair people.

Simple Braking System - Yes.

No "pushing" support Team? No pushing, no touting.

Helmet and other Safety Stuff? Right. Bicycle helmet good enough.

Metal/Wood combination for build? We started off by saying More wood than metal, we will let the other competitors vote and yuh know how "fair" motor racing" people can be!

Those who push their luck will get a nice shake hand, well done, you early for the nex event.
Doh want to stifle the imagination but repeat...we started off by saying "mainly wood"- and then them boys start to show off and go in their own direction.

If Yuh doh understand this, then we will get Nigie to give some more English and dictionary classes.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 24th, 2012, 2:01 pm

"BANzai Rastafarai sooo.. yuh comig as Race Director?

Just to be clear:

Ramp starts - Yes.

16" external diameter is the limit for the wheel diameter (can this be extended to 20" for the over 12yrs class?) NOOOOOO. Next thing yuh start to rob all them wheel-chair people.

Simple Braking System - Yes.

No "pushing" support Team? No pushing, no touting.

Helmet and other Safety Stuff? Right. Bicycle helmet good enough.

Metal/Wood combination for build? We started off by saying More wood than metal, we will let the other competitors vote and yuh know how "fair" motor racing" people can be!

Those who push their luck will get a nice shake hand, well done, you early for the nex event.
Doh want to stifle the imagination but repeat...we started off by saying "mainly wood"- and then them boys start to show off and go in their own direction.

If Yuh doh understand this, then we will get Nigie to give some more English and dictionary classes.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 24th, 2012, 6:06 pm

ok so limit is 16"...cool

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 27th, 2012, 9:31 am

No posts here since Friday
Everybody busy building box kart.
Was in Ojars / Bike Inn in Tunapuna on Saturday and noticed a pile of used 10" and 16" wheels.
The guys there said that people taking them to build karts for the competition. lol.

I have four new 16" wheels with tires to get rid of. (the wheels that are on the kart in the pictures)
New wheels cost $145 each and tires cost $60 each.
Getting rid of this set for $200 and will throw in three tubes

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 27th, 2012, 10:04 am

i tell you the builds are on !!!!

i feel that kart you put pics of was just a decoy

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 28th, 2012, 11:59 pm

Reminder to all - Briefing meeting on Wednesday night - 29th August at 7:00pm at Arima Town Hall.

And while most of this has already been stated, here is it in full:

Regulations
(1) Date 2nd September 2012
(2) Time From: Noon to 6:00pm
(3) Entry Fee $100.00
(4) Classes: Age 12 and Under; Over 12
(5) Safety Requirements: Helmet, Elbow pads - Knee pads - Long pants and shoes
(6) Pit Area – Royal Bank Car Park.
(7) Start- Between Royal Bank and American Stores
(8) Finish – Marios
(9) Full Drag Racing Timing system will be used.
(10) Start Procedure:
Karts to be lined up on ramp before Christmas Tree, with small chuck or braking system to prevent rolling forward.
Once ready, chuck will be triggered as the starter presses his button.

(11) Wheel size/type to be no more than 16 inches.
(12) Space for Competition Numbers
(13) Competition – to be determined depending on number of entries.
(14) Karts to be constructed by Competitor/Team
(15) NOT motorized in any manner!
(16) Must NOT be an already built chassis or must not be any type of racing chassis.
(17) Built mainly out of wood.
(18) Must have some type of simple braking system.
(19) Must have a place to connect a hook, to facilitate towing back to top.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 29th, 2012, 9:26 am

Simple Braking System???

nigie

Postby nigie » August 29th, 2012, 11:36 am

SIMPLE FORMULA 1 FRONT CLIP.... :lol:

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 29th, 2012, 11:45 am

Nigie
How that lowrider rolling off of the start ramp?

nigie

Postby nigie » August 29th, 2012, 11:51 am

TEAM PRESSURE EXTREME SUGGESTED THAT THE RAMP B LESS THAN 45 DEGREES
ONE OF OUR CARTS HAVE 6 INCH FRONT WHEELS... 8-)

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 29th, 2012, 12:37 pm

45 degrees????

I should say so.
That is too steep, a ramp that is 8 feet long, at 45 degrees will have to be 8 feet tall at the back.
the impact of hitting the road at a 45 degree angle will be less than pleasant.

Here are a few photos of soapbox ramps.

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”