Re: ARA D&W #1 29th January 2012

Postby MadCrix » January 30th, 2012, 8:30 am

bwtmc look boy i go pelt it by yuh fadder if u stick too long

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 30th, 2012, 8:32 am

btw when the car did eventually drop back on teh barriers, the rear wheel squat sweeeettttttt

time to lower car boy car to get that look permantly :D

Postby MG Man » January 30th, 2012, 8:35 am

lol nah the ride height good enough....ps dem rims goin chase village...pops say no more ole car junk in he basement :(

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 30th, 2012, 8:47 am

lawddd me eh have transport for them thing that is de problem.... wifey say no more ole junk in she car.. and yuh done know them rims eh going in the evo lol

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » January 30th, 2012, 5:55 pm

this was a rel fun event. cant wait for the next :D

ng357

Postby ng357 » January 30th, 2012, 6:08 pm

agreed, my auto swift perform!!

Postby SUPAstarr » January 30th, 2012, 6:09 pm

Midnight, Vidt told me it was the poles that came off, you had 3rd wrapped up, next time for sure

Postby wagonrunner » January 30th, 2012, 7:32 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:Midnight, Vidt told me it was the poles that came off, you had 3rd wrapped up, next time for sure

thanks for that reminder.
MD, throw up a pic of yuh battery / battery box dey.

Postby Team Loco » January 30th, 2012, 10:05 pm

loved this event. but its only my 2nd event and its the second breakdown. this time its a broken diff

Postby wagonrunner » January 30th, 2012, 10:22 pm

Team Loco wrote:loved this event. but its only my 2nd event and its the second breakdown. this time its a broken diff

oho, cause your pops flogs d ish out that car, and finishes.
you.............. sigh.

Reddevil

Postby Reddevil » January 30th, 2012, 10:26 pm

Computerman wrote:
MG Man wrote:yeah my whole 'nah honey, car-park racing is safe........nothin bad could happen dey' argument gone out the window now :(
no way now can I convince her I dont gonna kill myself at ARC :(

I had the 'best seat in the house' for that one! I was staged on the right lane with co-pilot Wayne. That was some great two wheeling (about 3 seconds) to prevent rolling. MG Man you get the "Save It Skilz" award!

I agree MG man got some real skills 8-) :drinking:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 30th, 2012, 11:42 pm

Team Loco wrote:loved this event. but its only my 2nd event and its the second breakdown. this time its a broken diff

oho, cause your pops flogs d ish out that car, and finishes.
you.............. sigh.

this..

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » January 31st, 2012, 1:17 am

The VW is a 1.4L twin charged engine, and the best time I got with it was a 55.0 second run.

I take full blame for not pulling off that win for the VW sponsors.

Revenge will be sweet though!!

Kirk

adrenaline

Postby adrenaline » January 31st, 2012, 8:03 am

Yep da babe driving d civic on tuner yoo :-)

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 31st, 2012, 9:13 am

Mr. Fixables wrote:The VW is a 1.4L twin charged engine, and the best time I got with it was a 55.0 second run.

I take full blame for not pulling off that win for the VW sponsors.

Revenge will be sweet though!!

Kirk
The car was very impressive.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » January 31st, 2012, 10:12 am

SUPAstarr wrote:Midnight, Vidt told me it was the poles that came off, you had 3rd wrapped up, next time for sure

lol yup.. it was 4 screws securing the box to the flooring of the trunk then under the box 2 more securing the strap and bracket... the 2 securing the strap were ripped out of the body and the 4 from the battery box itself were ripped out of the box. battery came free and on the final corner .. the pole got disconnected and the car stalled

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » January 31st, 2012, 10:49 am

Any official times?

link

Postby link » January 31st, 2012, 11:32 am

Midnight_Demon wrote:

lol yup.. it was 4 screws securing the box to the flooring of the trunk then under the box 2 more securing the strap and bracket... the 2 securing the strap were ripped out of the body and the 4 from the battery box itself were ripped out of the box. battery came free and on the final corner .. the pole got disconnected and the car stalled

u didn't have backup plates under floorboard for those screws ??

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 31st, 2012, 11:42 am

apparently not, but lessons learnt i hope

TK!

Postby TK! » January 31st, 2012, 1:35 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:the pole got disconnected and the car stalled

does a running car need de battery to drive?

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 1:46 pm

TK! wrote:

nope
MD need to sort that out.....

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 31st, 2012, 2:09 pm

TK! wrote:

Some of the older cars don't, majority of the new vehicles do! If you (on purpose) disconnect the battery and the car conks out, you don't know if it conked out due to insufficient alternator current, or whether the resulting transients (spikes) caused your ECU to spit out bad data, shutting down the car. It is possible to cause thousands of dollars in damage by disconnecting your battery while the car is running.

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 2:12 pm

^^^yup
u can fry your ecu.........but I've encountered a few modern aka ecu equipped cars that continue running even with the battery disconnected...all my older cars (carb) run without a battery once started

Postby wagonrunner » January 31st, 2012, 2:18 pm

MG Man wrote:but I've encountered a few modern aka ecu equipped cars that continue running even with the battery disconnected

such as?
the [hook]B14's[/hook] will give you a minute or two if so much, but will cut off.

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 2:28 pm

ok I stand corrected...........never left the battery off the corolla that long........

Postby wagonrunner » January 31st, 2012, 2:39 pm

Computerman wrote:you don't know if it conked out due to insufficient alternator current, or whether the resulting transients (spikes) caused your ECU to spit out bad data, shutting down the car.

not so much spikes, but the ECU relies on sensors.
when they stop reporting voltages, (and they will), the ECU stops sending ignition signals (spark to cylinders).

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 2:51 pm

keep talkin, ah learnin here

TK!

Postby TK! » January 31st, 2012, 4:01 pm

much FUD here.

the battery poles connect all the wires to the battery and the alternator. you can remove either source but not both.

ie- disconnect the alternator, car runs on battery. (battery light will come on)
--- disconnect the battery, car runs on alternator, battery does not charge. no indication light.

If the positive pole touches the body, a short occurs, possibly blowing a fuse. This is the only way i can see the car cutting off. EFI vehicles cannot run if the ecu has no power.

But the gas pumps will still pump gas!!!

External electrical cut-off switches are used in race applications to cut power from going to the gas pump, lights etc.

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 4:06 pm

well either way I hope midnight demon gets the car sorted........I really wanna see it run at full potential :)

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”