TTUNDRA NIGHT DRAGS! TONIGHT! SEPT 21st

Official T&T Drag Racing Forum

Re: NIGHT DRAGS BRIEFING MEETING TONIGHT!!

Postby 16 cycles » September 20th, 2013, 1:33 pm

thanks SA for the input....

DJ

Postby DJ » September 20th, 2013, 4:30 pm

Sinister, I applaud your patience in answering us critics. Thank you for that.

But just a suggestion to invest some time and effort in getting more financial sponsors to be involved in the events, in an effort to offset the ticket costs. It will be worthwhile, as lower fees WILL encourage increased spectator participation.

Paying $75 bucks and unsure of seat or good gaping spot, kinda hard. May still make ah pass tru tho, but mih whole crew definitely not comin.

drlancer

Postby drlancer » September 20th, 2013, 6:34 pm

will there be any parking inside, and how much will it cost?

Alain_2NR

Postby Alain_2NR » September 20th, 2013, 7:32 pm

Does it have a competitor listing together with the various classes available..?

DaveyRocket

Postby DaveyRocket » September 20th, 2013, 9:12 pm

Can you say if Ryan Garcia will race SKF Lancer....i don't know if it's possible but if you could give an idea/list of some of the cars racing maybe that will have an impact on the number of spectators....for eg. had i known SKF would have been present at the last event i would have been most present....thanks...!

Re: TTUNDRA NIGHT DRAGS! TONIGHT! SEPT 18th

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 21st, 2013, 1:30 am

SKF will NOT be racing, however there is his equivalent vehicle, Ashton's RB powred lancer @ 905hp with the same chassis setup as SKF's car, may even clock a faster time than Ryans 8.6

Competitor listing will be published later today.

Parking inside will be on a first come first serve basis, and it's quite obvious that the inside parking will be full VERY quickly.

Praying for good weather later today

EXODUS

Re: TTUNDRA NIGHT DRAGS! TONIGHT! SEPT 21st

Postby EXODUS » September 21st, 2013, 3:13 am

twingated42R wrote:
DJ wrote:If there are banners at your event there are obviously a number sponsors. At $75.00 a ticket, there has to be proper seating for ALL.

Lighting towers are rented by Power for Rent at $1500 a day.
FOR HOW MANY TOWERS?

Security is $27 an hour per person.
HOW MANY PEOPLE?

Let see how we justify this.
100 registered cars = $35,000.00 already.
HOW MANY TTUNDRA MEMBERS WHO RACE FOR FREE

If 200 ppl go thats average $100 X 200 = $20,000
APPROXIMATED TARGET ATTENDANCE IS 1200 PEOPLE

We done start with $55,000.
THIS: :roll:

Add up the number of sponsors' financial inputs, and I still cant wrap my mind around that initial $100.00 a seat with no proper seating.
MOST SPONSORS SUPPORT VIA THEIR OWN BUSINESS CONTRIBUTIONS EG: DYNO TIME, $$$ VOUCHERS @ SPECIFIC TUNER SHOPS, HAMPERS, AND HARDLY ANY FINANCIAL CONTRIBUTORS TO OFFSET MAJOR COSTS.

Not trying to make out anyone, but cant we something better to encourage more interest in these kinds of events?
HAVE YOU ATTENDED ANY OF TTUNDRA's PAST 2 EVENTS?
IF SO, WHAT WERE YOUR ISSUES THAT WERE BROUGHT UP IN THE 1ST EVENT, THAT WAS NOT BROUGHT UP IN THE SECOND EVENT? AS SUCH, THE SECOND EVENT THAT WOULD BE ADDRESSED IN THE THIRD EVENT?

Will there be enough food and drink stalls, or will people have to jam up and bunch up to get their refreshments?
THERE WERE AN ABUNDANCE OF DRINKS FOR SALE, ALSO A WIDE VARIETY OF FOOD FOR SALE, EVEN TO THE EXTENT OF AN COMPLETE GYRO STALL.

Will there be adequate and sanitary washrooms?
THERE WERE, AND THERE WILL CONTINUE TO BE.

These are some of the major issues I always had with Numerous racing events.
NUMEROUS? ARE YOU STEREOTYPING ALL MOTORSPORTING EVENTS INTO ONE?

patiently await your response kind sir.

rgds.

Yo yo...i aint mean to hijack yah all convo but im experiencing a 3d effect with this post!

do this (Best viewed in the dark)

Set your phone brightness to automatic
Set the trinituner app in dark mode
Now read twingated42r's post in the 3rd page of this thread.

Somehow the gray and red gives a nice 3d effect.....coooool

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 21st, 2013, 10:24 am

EXODUS wrote:
twingated42R wrote:
DJ wrote:If there are banners at your event there are obviously a number sponsors. At $75.00 a ticket, there has to be proper seating for ALL.

FOR HOW MANY TOWERS?

HOW MANY PEOPLE?

Add up the number of sponsors' financial inputs, and I still cant wrap my mind around that initial $100.00 a seat with no proper seating.
MOST SPONSORS SUPPORT VIA THEIR OWN BUSINESS CONTRIBUTIONS EG: DYNO TIME, $$$ VOUCHERS @ SPECIFIC TUNER SHOPS, HAMPERS, AND HARDLY ANY FINANCIAL CONTRIBUTORS TO OFFSET MAJOR COSTS.

Not trying to make out anyone, but cant we something better to encourage more interest in these kinds of events?
IF SO, WHAT WERE YOUR ISSUES THAT WERE BROUGHT UP IN THE 1ST EVENT, THAT WAS NOT BROUGHT UP IN THE SECOND EVENT? AS SUCH, THE SECOND EVENT THAT WOULD BE ADDRESSED IN THE THIRD EVENT?

Will there be enough food and drink stalls, or will people have to jam up and bunch up to get their refreshments?
THERE WERE AN ABUNDANCE OF DRINKS FOR SALE, ALSO A WIDE VARIETY OF FOOD FOR SALE, EVEN TO THE EXTENT OF AN COMPLETE GYRO STALL.

rgds.

Yo yo...i aint mean to hijack yah all convo but im experiencing a 3d effect with this post!

you GOTS to be neo....

there's no 3rd page.

DaveyRocket

Postby DaveyRocket » September 21st, 2013, 11:01 am

Love Drags...but to be honest i find it kinda expensive for the fact that most ppl doh have any seating...ah mean we does stand up in the cane field and hot sun fuh Rally...buh dat is free...rally club doh charge....don't mind paying 100 if i know seating is provided.....

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 21st, 2013, 12:32 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:
EXODUS wrote:
twingated42R wrote:

FOR HOW MANY TOWERS?

HOW MANY PEOPLE?

rgds.

you GOTS to be neo....

there's no 3rd page.

on the mobile app that is...lolol

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 22nd, 2013, 2:15 am

Not to lambaste any organization with a 2x4 , but this is one of the worst events TTUNDRA has held to date . Their standards and events to date have been good to great but what but this experience was nonsense. I will input here that this is from a pit crew and driver point of view and also at times spectator ;

The race Marshall needs to know how long it takes for a racer to get to the line . While there were no brackets per say and most were running to get a time and or a few grudge matches . It took more than 50 mins between races assuming that you got inline straight after you run . Clearly this line up was disastrous . Better is needed : race management

The lighting . Laing sponsored or so where were told but the more than 30 min pause to set them up after sunset was unreasonable. However a light tower went out an credit to the company . They were able to replace the tower in a few minutes . The tents on the southern side had no lights . In 2010 when the racing crew went to Grenada , while it was not a night event . Late in the evening each tent had and incandescent bulb that was lit to provide suitable lighting . Better is need :lighting

The traffic and lane management in the pit . With cars coming from the return, some coming out of the pit space it was more of a who can get in-front of who scenario . With bikes rolling in-between the lanes often over taking cars who were ling up there for more than 30 mins . This area was black , some teams had torch-lights and used them but without lighting here it was dangerous I and many like to see fast bikes but with the lengthily duration s between individual runs and this development . Prompted many persons to say that drags needs a separate event for the bike men.

On the grid person management. One of my roles with my team is media and public relations . This encompasses replies here , information correction with photography and video capture an production , coupled with the work on the car at or far from the race weekend. There were variants in restriction on the team personnel allowed to the starting area . Sometimes it was one and sometime it was two . In our team it must be two . One to direct the burnout and any other race issues pre race and after race and the second person to collect data and imagery for use by the team . I listen to rationalization of one fire official who said that i did not have reflective vest at night , thus negating me from some areas at the start line . I have a solution for that.

Band or pass management. Clearly TTUDRA did not know how many persons would be attending this event , because at 6pm there where no more designation bands left . In fact this caused me some uneasiness later on because I had a VIP band instead of a race crew band . Know or approximate you numbers better TTUNDRA.

Thanks for the 3 events . There is a bit more I can write regarding to many lengthy delays . But for now I await an explanation and response. :?
Last edited by cornfused on September 22nd, 2013, 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » September 22nd, 2013, 6:30 am

cornfused wrote:Not to lambaste any organization with a 2x4 , but this is one of the worst events TTUNDRA has held to date . Their standards and event to date have been good to great but what but this experience I will input here that this is from a pit crew and driver point of view and also at times spectator ;

The race Marshall needs to know how long it takes for a racer to get to the line . While there were no brackets per say and most were running to get a time and or a few grudge matches . It took more than 50 mins between races assuming that you got inline straight after you run . Clearly this line up was disastrous . Better is needed : race management

The lighting . Laing sponsored or so where were told but the more than 30 min pause to set them up after sunset was unreasonable. However a light tower went out an credit to the company . They were able to replace the tower in a few minutes . The tents on the southern side had no lights . In 2010 when the racing crew went to Grenada , while it was not a night event . Late in the evening each tent had and incandescent bulb that was lit to provide suitable lighting . Better is need :lighting

The traffic and lane management in the pit . With cars coming from the return, some coming out of the pit space it was more of a who can get in-front of who scenario . With bikes rolling in-between the lanes often over taking cars who were ling up there for more than 30 mins . I and many like to see fast bikes but with the lengthily duration s between individual runs and this development . Promoted many perosns to say that drags needs a separate event for the bike men.

On the grid person management. One of my roles with my team is media and public relations . This encompasses replies here , information correction with photography and video capture an production , coupled with the work on the car at or far from the race weekend. There were variants in restriction on the team personnel allowed to the starting are . Sometime it was one and sometime it was two . In our team it must be two . One to direct the burnout and any other race issues pre race and after race and the second person to collect data and imagery for use by the team . I listen to rationalization of one fire official who said that i did not have reflective vest at night , thus negating me from some areas at the start line . I have a solution for that.

Band or pass management. Clearly TTUDRA did not know how many persons would be attending this event , because at 6pm there where no more designation bands left . In fact this caused me some uneasiness later on because I had a VIP band instead of a race crew band . Know or approximate you numbers better TTUNDRA.

Thanks for the 3 events . There is a bit more I can write regarding to many lengthy delays . But for now I await an explanation and response. :?

Ok,in their defense it was abundantly clear that TTUNDRA was not expecting such a extremely large turnout by the spectatators, because even at around 10pm after it took close to an hour just to try to leave the event people were still trying to get a park outside to enter the event.
However it should be noted that it took about 1 1/2 hours from lining up for competition runs to actually running and to make a second run would have taken an even longer time.

Also just a suggestion to try and better this immense lineup of cars which blocked most persons tents, run the cars by brackets only and run them to completion untill you have a winner and leave the grudge runs for after. This was my first drag event as a driver and it was the biggest I've seen so far, whilst I applauded TTUNDRA for providing for the racers, I think it's safe to say that you guys gonna have to cut down the number of registered racers per event as Camden is certainly too small now for your night event which is heavily suscribed. Also the cars were not moving along quickly enough, after cars are starting the return lane, get the next in line into their burnouts.

All in all I believe TTUNDRA was overwhelmed last night and did try to sort everything out, just do some fine tuning of your methods, limit the sizes of your classes, try to start on scheduled times, and you guys will do fine next time. The racers obviously supported you and will support you still once you guys can keep improving.

My 2cents

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » September 22nd, 2013, 8:31 am

I would to add about (3) cents to last nights charade of an official event.
If TTUBDRA was a competitor they would have red failed scrutineering red lighted, and did the slowest time of the day.
It is ashame that after 2 seemingly successfully events to end with such an epic blunder. Let me say now how disappointed I was along with many over all that was wrong and disturbing but is to much to mention. However I will highlight (2) serious situations, 1) the accident in the grid area where a driver was pinned between two cars, resulting in injuries. This was recorded by many and he was advised to pursue this matter, the grid was too dark and overwhelmed with an unnecessary crowd with no martial support. 2) there was no ambulance in the event an so the patient was escorted by fire officials to his tent, when he requested to go to the hospital but was denied, please note this very same organisation boycotted others over lack of safety, what irony ?

This being said, it is now evident that TTUNDRA had absolutely no controls in place for this event, and therefore this young organisation should not have proceeded into the night without the proper management systems in place. I am still in support of Pernell and his endeavours, but you have a lot to learn from AUTOSPORT a name that was repeated last night in hush corners.

link

Postby link » September 22nd, 2013, 9:44 am

MICROTECH 7 wrote:I would to add about (3) cents to last nights charade of an official event.
If TTUBDRA was a competitor they would have red failed scrutineering red lighted, and did the slowest time of the day.
It is ashame that after 2 seemingly successfully events to end with such an epic blunder. Let me say now how disappointed I was along with many over all that was wrong and disturbing but is to much to mention. However I will highlight (2) serious situations, 1) the accident in the grid area where a driver was pinned between two cars, resulting in injuries. This was recorded by many and he was advised to pursue this matter, the grid was too dark and overwhelmed with an unnecessary crowd with no martial support. 2) there was no ambulance in the event an so the patient was escorted by fire officials to his tent, when he requested to go to the hospital but was denied, please note this very same organisation boycotted others over lack of safety, what irony ?

This being said, it is now evident that TTUNDRA had absolutely no controls in place for this event, and therefore this young organisation should not have proceeded into the night without the proper management systems in place. I am still in support of Pernell and his endeavours, but you have a lot to learn from AUTOSPORT a name that was repeated last night in hush corners.

mmmm...........TTASA gone...an' this still happening ????
and this :
but you have a lot to learn from AUTOSPORT

check how much happen re: St.Lucia...how much 'talk' u heard after that ???
I am not at all bashing TTUNDRA here....but
...what irony ? ...

Postby Monk BANzai » September 22nd, 2013, 1:41 pm

interesting.....awaiting more opinions/responses...

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » September 22nd, 2013, 2:35 pm

personally gotta say that it was the BEST event in years. Yes there were hiccups and short comings but the intent to provide an event where everybody left happy was there. There was no doubt that the team of TTUNDRA was clearly overwhelmed but the goal was to accommodate and facilitate racing and that was done.

Could there have been improvement - YES
Were the gaping issues - YES
Are they going to be worked on - based on ttundra history yes

i wish them the best and if it anything that this even has shown me is the NEED for a PROPER motorsport facility because if anyone says drags/ racing is dead they are a ASS. Camden as it is, is not adequate but it all there is due to the indiscretions and narrow mindedness of others in the past.

Microtech there are some half truths and blatant untruths in ur statement and i will point them out just so you know.

MICROTECH 7 wrote:2 seemingly successfully events to end with such an epic blunder
what was seemingly successful about the last two events. They were successful so give jack his jacket. You say mistakes but it was really logistical issues that can easily be identified thru a SWOT analysis. It by "mistakes" you learn and gain information - TTUNDRA wasn't prepared for the overwhelming support of the event. That's a logistical issue and all association have that when doing anything, especially when trying to do it so that everybody leaves contented. It's only a mistake if you don't LEARN and they are learning.

MICROTECH 7 wrote: I was along with many over all that was wrong and disturbing but is to much to mention
with all that you say was wrong, let me hear you point out 5 thing that was right. if you can't then u are biased, deconstructive and have an agenda

MICROTECH 7 wrote:the accident in the grid area where a driver was pinned between two cars, resulting in injuries. This was recorded by many and he was advised to pursue this matter, the grid was too dark and overwhelmed with an unnecessary crowd with no martial support.
The pit was dark and it did have unnecessary individuals there many of whom accompanied the DRIVERS. Mind you there was a point where some officers tried to remove such individuals and some drivers leaped to their defence because is their partner, family, friend, supporter.

MICROTECH 7 wrote:There was no ambulance in the event an so the patient was escorted by fire officials to his tent, when he requested to go to the hospital but was denied, please note this very same organisation boycotted others over lack of safety, what irony ?
there was a paramedic team on hand will all of the relevant training and resources, the driver was tended to TWICE (that means 2 times) by the paramedics of the TTFS and given the all clear. In fact the injured didn't want to go to the hospital since he was given a clean bill and just had some discomfort and swelling. He was NOT DENIED to go to the hospital and yes there was and investigation done into the matter

MICROTECH 7 wrote:This being said, it is now evident that TTUNDRA had absolutely no controls in place for this event, and therefore this young organisation should not have proceeded into the night without the proper management systems in place.
I'm sorry but you talking BS with ketchup all the control were in place and outside of the logistical issues that can be learned from and improved in the future the even ran well. The only problem was that the systems in place were OVERWHELMED by the sheer support from both drivers AND spectators and their wanting to accommodate both.

MICROTECH 7 wrote:you have a lot to learn from AUTOSPORT a name that was repeated last night in hush corners.
Very True! They do have a lot to learn from Autosport a name that was repeated in many corners.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 22nd, 2013, 6:27 pm

Ahhh I really expected such a reply , but really I and many many others have been involved in this sport for too long , just to state such an opinion that says , I'm just happy to be here . The scenario last night could have happened in 1993, 2003 and now in 2013 . Yet we still have happy campers that are just happy to be here and to have and event . This is the complacency and mediocrity that pervades our society and this sport. When can we look to a great event , professionalism on all fronts . Take some time an watch drag events even in the Caribbean, see if you see the uncontrolled line ups in the pit area . If one really has to compare Cyclops in Sunday School , Gangsta some time ago had better race management "skills" that those in charge yesterday. A "random" pick of car numbers with two runners to check the respective cars state of readiness in the pit area. Would have solved a lot last evening .

Announcer gets the car numbers call each 2 race , MAYBE 6 PAIRS so as not to overwhelm any of the pit lane , after this race we can tabulate some times to get similar car to race . Instead of the mayhem that was last evening .

The thing(s) that were good about the event were :

The track is getting better , cars are hoking up very well.

Lets stop there that's the only thing that was good .

We have a timing system that does not give 60ft times .

When can we look to a drag great event , professionalism on all fronts ? another 20-30 years ?

Carry on .........

nioboi

Postby nioboi » September 22nd, 2013, 8:26 pm

If is one thing the spectator fee keep rising after each event. People use to boycott previous events finding it hard to pay $50 wonder what happening now.
The seating area in front of the pits is where all the smoke and fumes does go and u caged up in a wired fence I wonder what really happen in an emergency.
If TTUNDRA didn't expect such a large turnout and budgeted for a certain amount of people the additional revenue made must be huge.
Overall I think the event was great. Post some times someone

look korn

Postby look korn » September 22nd, 2013, 9:09 pm

I really find dem bikes should NOT race in certain events that is my 1st complaint..... They shouldn't be skipping cars lined up and being allowed to race...... Poor poor poor poor d officials on the line were the worst......

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 22nd, 2013, 9:16 pm

I do not understand why TTUNDRA persons are getting annoyed with critical comments. Accept them, go back to the drawing board and plan a better event next time.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 22nd, 2013, 9:22 pm

link wrote:.
and this :

I ask no forgiveness in responding to this Jackass Link, who has been put into that place where he should have been years ago, far and away from any management in Motorsport, for this dotish statement. AutoSport has been invited to coordinate the staging of the best International Event in St. Lucia for the past four years and has successfully done so on each occasion.

TTUNDRA is going through the growing pains that every new organization must experience, and with the good manager that Pernel Roberts is, once he eventually gets the right mix and the right team, they too shall move forward.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 22nd, 2013, 10:07 pm

AutoSport wrote:
and this :

I ask no forgiveness in responding to this Jackass Link, who has been put into that place where he should have been years ago, far and away from any management in Motorsport, for this dotish statement. AutoSport has been invited to coordinate the staging of the best International Event in St. Lucia for the past four years and has successfully done so on each occasion.

TTUNDRA is going through the growing pains that every new organization must experience, and with the good manager that Pernel Roberts is, once he eventually gets the right mix and the right team, they too shall move forward.

well said.....

Postby foss » September 22nd, 2013, 10:29 pm

was there yesterday..

that $100 fee though....

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 22nd, 2013, 10:31 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
AutoSport wrote:
and this :

well said.....

YOU would know that in AutoSport's early days that we also received a host of criticism, alot from you Banzai, Cornfused, X2, just to name a few, and we were at each others throats.

But we listened, dialoged and eventually developed a healthy mutual respect for each other and each others opinions. And this brought us to the place where we are today.

If TTUNDRA should listen and learn, they can eventually make that transition.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 22nd, 2013, 10:43 pm

^^ well I didnt attend ...so I cant comment and can only absorb from users comments. But you're right. Despite what ppl may think of certain elements....we must all recognize that motorsport (in this case Drag racing) will survive.

one dropping of the ball does not mean a GOOD team cannot continue to produce. Hope the TTUNDRA guys keep doign what they doing.

Postby X2 » September 23rd, 2013, 1:21 am

Wait...what ?? You host a night event and didn't expect a healthy turnout ?

You start drag racing last year ?

No lights
No ambulance
No bands

Seriously sounds like y'all joking around.

Autosport...any and all criticism i give is for improvement... and the older i get, the more critical :-D

As for the management of this event.... with all the greenhorn project managers out there.... I'm surprised to hear such rudimentary issues would be brought too light. Get you proverbial shift together... before racers start dredging up memories of ttasa run events.

Damn...too late. Heh....

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » September 23rd, 2013, 6:36 am

AutoSport wrote:
and this :

Well said, St lucia was Awsome....

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » September 23rd, 2013, 7:46 am

Dear Mr.fivefoward, Its is just amazing that you have a bandaid for everything I have personally witnessed that night, where were you ???

Forget me for now, lets talk about what the cries from the paying on this night that expected value for their money, but received less to nothing.

We will not mention the (1hr) and more reading a book stuck in the grid trying to reach the top, whilst the big boys used the express return lane that paid the same money.

We will not talk about the lack of safety in the grid, as my good friend stated it looked like the greens on panorama night.

We will not talk about the lack of an ambulance which is mandatory for any event, especially when this was the criteria stated from state lands. Thats OK.

We will not talk about the patient and his hospital request when my friend spoke to him in my presence.

We will not talk about when we reported the incident to some officials and was told, " thats not my business".

We will not talk about the (1) run most cars only had an others none.

We will not talk about the bracket competition advertised that did not take place, some paid for that.

We will not talk about the lengthy delays that initiated spectator loud comments to carry on and the clock was ticking.

It is apparent that these issues did not affect you sir, maybe you had a cold drink in hand and blinkers, when even TTUNDRA members expressed dissatisfaction, But you are right Drag Racers are accustom to all of the above and should expect nothing less except when the leave these shores.

We are all fast and out of place to demand and receive what is promised, take what you get and shut up because I pay $500 and this is my club, but we will mash up everybody else. Familiarity really breeds contempt. Good day to you sir.

altaph

Postby altaph » September 23rd, 2013, 9:02 am

:?: :?: :?: :?:
Waaay, Real bacchanal here boy. I just visited the thread to see if anyone posted event results.....
:(

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 23rd, 2013, 9:59 am

This is all I know so far...

Peter Laquis RX- 9.4
Aaron Dowridge Skyline-9.1
S13 - 9.5?
Faisal R35 GTR - 9.7

Return to “Drag Racing”