Postby AYE_SOLDIER » March 14th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Damien wrote:Nice,so who driving it for him? :lol:

ichuckled :lol:

Re: Chris Juman's Full Drag 1st Gen RX7-2JZ powered

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 14th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Rooki3 wrote:hmmm, who driving this??

sinister you have any idea what times he aiming for?

well seeing it's being the first time he's driving this setup, its really just a test and tune of mostly the suspension and hopefully we'll see what happens in grenada.

but the goal in greenz, esp on that track is lower 9's if possible, maybe touch 8's...

iceman did 8.8 sliding, tweety did 8's (capable of lower)...the cold air on the top of the track, the dust and sand up there really hampers a quick run

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » March 14th, 2011, 4:43 pm

panic..... rel beef in here bhai :|

LOL @
about stuff that you really know about Kodak, go pro, cannon, Nikon etc.

crusty

Postby crusty » March 14th, 2011, 6:36 pm

give scorpion credit.....great job....but can the driver handle it?

EVOvi

Postby EVOvi » March 14th, 2011, 7:13 pm

sol1 wrote:Just for your information, which you have wrong on many occasions, more than 80% of that perfection i.e mechanical and race car foundation came from SCORPION, yes Singh has done the peripheral work and with quality however if Scorpion built the chassis, suspension, ENGINE complete with the installation of all the above mentioned including down pipe, drive shaft, wheelie bar, parachute which is by the way, way to small to collect the sheit that comes out of your head, transmission, coil system, front coil over system and all the goodies on Chris's car then i think he should be mentioned and not left out because you choose to paint your own picture. What you should really do is try to mingle in your own circles and speak about stuff that you really know about Kodak, go pro, cannon, Nikon etc. you get my drift.

By the way you did not mention the exceptional body job, what happen no credit to the painter, anyway maybe you were so busy fulling parachutes that you forgot to mention that, so you are excused.

GIVE CREDIT WHERE IT IS DUE, SCORPION WORKED VERY HARD ON THAT CAR AND NO LITTLE HIGHWAY HUSTLER SHOULD DISCREDIT ANYBODY.

N.B The next time you running from the police on the highway and you decide to run into the wrong vehicle make sure its not someone you have been playing word games with on Forums YUH UNDERSTAND PANIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

panic, you have time to study dem battyman from south? tell dem we doh deal with man who bullin in dey bottom boi....

lenin doh worry boy come off this forum and go on shemales.com yuh damn batty man :?

Postby Rooki3 » March 14th, 2011, 7:33 pm

:drama:

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » March 14th, 2011, 9:08 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:

look ting hyah.............. :drama:

is full chassis war in d place.... it start! :|

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 14th, 2011, 9:48 pm

back to the topic. from what i no, no expense was spared to get this car on the mark. the car was welll done but behind the beauty of it all this car wont jus run 8's the first time. chris capable of driving his car, kudos to him and the entire build team.

Rensh

Postby Rensh » March 14th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Well I'll just add mine one time:

redsled

Postby redsled » March 14th, 2011, 10:33 pm

now thats photography !!
real bess pics man

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » March 15th, 2011, 1:31 am

GEZUS KRIST

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 15th, 2011, 2:12 am

With so many completed rolling chassis race cars selling for under $20k USD, why would anyone who is serious about going fast consider building their own chassis? Especially if you lack the proper knowledge, skill and materials to get the job done in a SAFE, more efficient manner.. Right now I know someone with a completed rolling chassis 1st gen that was certified to go 6.00 for $18K USD.. Just add motor & trans and yuh ready to go..

That 2JZ Rx7 has what appears to be a poorly designed 10 point cage and I bet it's probably made of mild steel and not chromoly... Chris, put your safety before speed my friend. That car should have nothing less than a proper, NHRA spec 12 point cage because I'm sure you didn't spend all this money to go 9's.. Racing on a sheit track with no proper safety equipment & paramedics etc, you definitely wanna be safe than sorry.

The reconstruction of the world's fastest 1st gen Rx7... Pica Racing

A properly built 1st gen Rx7... Chassis certified to go 6.00
http://grs-motorsports.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3220&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

Notice the 14 point cage

Neat fender opening

BTW, it can be yours for only $100k USD 8-)

wraith

Postby wraith » March 15th, 2011, 9:37 am

I will agree with Rotaryboys, Chris's car does not have enough bars inside to be safe at the speed he wants to go.

They also retained the stock firewall which means the car is front heavy which will not work 100% especially at full boost in the top end where you will need good traction on the rear wheels.

calleocho

Postby calleocho » March 15th, 2011, 1:16 pm

rotaryboyz... how u fighting down the man so ? u rel on the man who build dat cage.....u toting awat?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 15th, 2011, 1:19 pm

wraith wrote:I will agree with Rotaryboys, Chris's car does not have enough bars inside to be safe at the speed he wants to go.

They also retained the stock firewall which means the car is front heavy which will not work 100% especially at full boost in the top end where you will need good traction on the rear wheels.

Retaining the stock firewall forward is not a problem... Chris built a 1/2 chassis car, meaning he only replaced from the stock rear crossmember back.. Everything in front of the rear crossmember stays 100% original. I've seen 13b powered 1/2 chassis 1st gen run 7.70's all day long, so this type of chassis will definitely take Chris into the 7's providing it's build & setup correctly..
3/4 chassis cars also retain their stock firewall & strut towers, but the entire floor is replaced.. That's what the white car above has. 3/4 chassis Imports like Brent Raw & a few rotarys had been in the 6.90's zone quite a few times. Those chassis's are certified to be good up to 6.00

Often times fellas with a money get taken for a ride by mechanics who claim to be "experienced"... Just a few weeks ago a rotary man in Trinidad contacted me about some parts. My first question to him was "what are your goals".. Knowing his goals, I'll be able to tell him if yuh wasting he money on the parts he's after.. He said 1000+ HP on a 13b. He said the mechanic who is also tuning it, is "handling it man".. Mind you, I herd from other sources that the mechanic in question is a "smart man" and he eheven capable of tuning to 600hp.. Yuh see what I'm getting at here? There are plenty mechanics out there that will use their customers money & enthusiasm to experiment.
Making 1200 hp in a 13b is doable, but this guy thinks it's easy because he was sold a pipe dream by his mechanic.

There are dozens of online forums to read and ask questions fellas.. Get a 2nd opinion from guys that have done it day in and day out, rather than take your mechanic word for it.. Not because yuh mechanic "always in Miami" or liming with fellas with fast cars mean that's he's capable of offering the same results.

This post is not directly to any specific mechanic.. If yuh offended, then UDFR :drinking:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 15th, 2011, 1:26 pm

calleocho wrote:rotaryboyz... how u fighting down the man so ? u rel on the man who build dat cage.....u toting awat?

Fella, yuh eh some kinda kakahole orwah? Who the firetruck fighting down the man? The car IS NOT SAFE for the speed is was built to run at and I'm pointing out the obvious before it's to late..

breds, it's a poorly constructed 1st gen with a 2jz, what's there to tote?

Postby A172 » March 15th, 2011, 1:31 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
calleocho wrote:rotaryboyz... how u fighting down the man so ? u rel on the man who build dat cage.....u toting awat?

Fella, yuh eh some kinda kakahole orwah? Who the firetruck fighting down the man? The car IS NOT SAFE for the speed is was built to run at and I'm pointing out the obvious before it's to late..

breds, it's a poorly constructed 1st gen with a 2jz, what's there to tote?

LMAO :lol: :lol: as obvious as it may be..."too late"? you really feel anybody studyin you dan? rotfl where alyuh does come out from bai :lol: :lol: :lol:

calleocho

Postby calleocho » March 15th, 2011, 1:38 pm

ok mr safety! BTW, was ur best time?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 15th, 2011, 1:48 pm

calleocho wrote:ok mr safety! BTW, was ur best time?

16's with B13 with shaved head & fire extinguisher on A-pillar.. it fass up 0X

I done.. Dem fellas was right, it just doh make sense :arrow:

BTW, hold that http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=321956

wraith

Postby wraith » March 15th, 2011, 3:43 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
wraith wrote:I will agree with Rotaryboys, Chris's car does not have enough bars inside to be safe at the speed he wants to go.

Retaining the stock firewall forward is not a problem... Chris built a 1/2 chassis car, meaning he only replaced from the stock rear crossmember back.. Everything in front of the rear crossmember stays 100% original. I've seen 13b powered 1/2 chassis 1st gen run 7.70's all day long, so this type of chassis will definitely take Chris into the 7's providing it's build & setup correctly..
3/4 chassis cars also retain their stock firewall & strut towers, but the entire floor is replaced.. That's what the white car above has. 3/4 chassis Imports like Brent Raw & a few rotarys had been in the 6.90's zone quite a few times. Those chassis's are certified to be good up to 6.00

Often times fellas with a money get taken for a ride by mechanics who claim to be "experienced"... Just a few weeks ago a rotary man in Trinidad contacted me about some parts. My first question to him was "what are your goals".. Knowing his goals, I'll be able to tell him if yuh wasting he money on the parts he's after.. He said 1000+ HP on a 13b. He said the mechanic who is also tuning it, is "handling it man".. Mind you, I herd from other sources that the mechanic in question is a "smart man" and he eheven capable of tuning to 600hp.. Yuh see what I'm getting at here? There are plenty mechanics out there that will use their customers money & enthusiasm to experiment.
Making 1200 hp in a 13b is doable, but this guy thinks it's easy because he was sold a pipe dream by his mechanic.

There are dozens of online forums to read and ask questions fellas.. Get a 2nd opinion from guys that have done it day in and day out, rather than take your mechanic word for it.. Not because yuh mechanic "always in Miami" or liming with fellas with fast cars mean that's he's capable of offering the same results.

This post is not directly to any specific mechanic.. If yuh offended, then UDFR :drinking:

Just asking for knowledge sake cause you never know everything and I am always willing to learn somthing new, but would it not make a difference between the 13b vs the 2jz weight wise on the front suspension since the 2jz along with the huge turbo's weight is infront the shock tower.

Unless the suspension is really tuned good I would think the car would unload the rear tires once the car reaches the 60ft. mark and the weight transfers back to the front.

Am i correct in this thinking or am i wrong?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 15th, 2011, 9:18 pm

No it wouldn't make a difference whether it be a 13b or 2jz because you need to use the right spring rates to compensate for the added weight up front.. The ideal weight ratio for a drag car is 52-53% rear & 47-48% front.. Also the front spring rates are usually double that of the rear.. Suspension travel limiters on the stock front struts will also help to keep the weight transferred to the rear on launch. Vehicle balance, spring rate, strut length & dampening plays a key roll on how you get the power down... I didn't think the length of the front strut mattered until 2 former pro stock cars were fitted with rotary engines and they were very unstable on the top end.. After crashing both cars, they figured out that the lighter engines required a shorter strut.. Called up strange, get their shorter unit and problem solved.. I'm far from being an expert on the subject, but I have some knowledge on the basic setup because I've been with my friend on various chassis tuning trips.. He's considered a "master" chassis tuner in the Sport compact world, with various customers in Australia & in the US.. His 13b cars are doing consistent 1.02 - 1.06 60ft times, so I guess he knows a thing or 2, but he still can't check an email :lol:

This is my last reply in this matter... Apparently someone involved with this car don't want me to point out the obvious as I have received a warning.. I ain't fraid of no big belly injun, but it pays to be quiet at times even when you know there's a problem..

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 16th, 2011, 3:40 am

^ rec'd a warning? why?

what you posted was merely you advice or opinion on a matter, based on a certain level of experience. im not saying ur right, im just saying what you said didn't warrant a warning.

anyway... bottom line.. we'll all see what happens next weekend :)

and btw...which big belly injun you talkin about?...there're MANY o.O

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 16th, 2011, 4:10 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:^ rec'd a warning? why?

what you posted was merely you advice or opinion on a matter, based on a certain level of experience. im not saying ur right, im just saying what you said didn't warrant a warning.

You, me & everyone else that notified me of the "situation" said the same thing, but apparently the "builder" took it the wrong way... Me eh business with he, I gave my opinion based on what I saw so tough luck to whoever vex.. Keep it locked in ah garage if yuh don't want ah honest opinion :!:

Looking forward to the video Christian.. Try to get an onboard camera on it as well *thumbs up*

Postby zoom rader » March 16th, 2011, 8:17 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:No it wouldn't make a difference whether it be a 13b or 2jz because you need to use the right spring rates to compensate for the added weight up front.. The ideal weight ratio for a drag car is 52-53% rear & 47-48% front.. Also the front spring rates are usually double that of the rear.. Suspension travel limiters on the stock front struts will also help to keep the weight transferred to the rear on launch. Vehicle balance, spring rate, strut length & dampening plays a key roll on how you get the power down... I didn't think the length of the front strut mattered until 2 former pro stock cars were fitted with rotary engines and they were very unstable on the top end.. After crashing both cars, they figured out that the lighter engines required a shorter strut.. Called up strange, get their shorter unit and problem solved.. I'm far from being an expert on the subject, but I have some knowledge on the basic setup because I've been with my friend on various chassis tuning trips.. He's considered a "master" chassis tuner in the Sport compact world, with various customers in Australia & in the US.. His 13b cars are doing consistent 1.02 - 1.06 60ft times, so I guess he knows a thing or 2, but he still can't check an email :lol:

This is my last reply in this matter... Apparently someone involved with this car don't want me to point out the obvious as I have received a warning.. I ain't fraid of no big belly injun, but it pays to be quiet at times even when you know there's a problem..

Dude people here in Trini dont like to deal with Facts and Logics, they dont even read tech articles on chassis tuning.They spend wasted money on huge engine power and little do they know that they should spend this money on the chassis.
Most trini mechicans are scamps and fool alot of rich boys

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 16th, 2011, 8:38 am

this maddd....hadda see this an jody/arron....

wraith

Postby wraith » March 16th, 2011, 9:05 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:No it wouldn't make a difference whether it be a 13b or 2jz because you need to use the right spring rates to compensate for the added weight up front.. The ideal weight ratio for a drag car is 52-53% rear & 47-48% front.. Also the front spring rates are usually double that of the rear.. Suspension travel limiters on the stock front struts will also help to keep the weight transferred to the rear on launch. Vehicle balance, spring rate, strut length & dampening plays a key roll on how you get the power down... I didn't think the length of the front strut mattered until 2 former pro stock cars were fitted with rotary engines and they were very unstable on the top end.. After crashing both cars, they figured out that the lighter engines required a shorter strut.. Called up strange, get their shorter unit and problem solved.. I'm far from being an expert on the subject, but I have some knowledge on the basic setup because I've been with my friend on various chassis tuning trips.. He's considered a "master" chassis tuner in the Sport compact world, with various customers in Australia & in the US.. His 13b cars are doing consistent 1.02 - 1.06 60ft times, so I guess he knows a thing or 2, but he still can't check an email :lol:

well said, it also reminds me of when we thought we had my suspension tuned good but then our good friend Mark from Autofab race cars showed us a few new more ways in which it could be better.

I never thought much of a proper cage / safety until I saw my friend flip his car 6 times with it bursting into flames when it stopped.

Point is you never know everything and you should always listen to people with more knowledge because it is your life that you are putting at risk.

nigie

Postby nigie » March 16th, 2011, 9:16 am

[quote="RoTaRyBoYz"][quote="Sinister_Audio"]^ rec'd a warning? why?

A warning .....how it reach to that ...u gave your opinion on a car that posted here ....is either the builder/owner accept or reject your points...u even added articles 2 substantiate your claims ....d warning baffling me..people dont always agree with what posted..but why a warning...i wonder who so offended????
anyhow rotaryboyz keep bumping your gum..because many can either choose to learn or look at something from another perspective or remain in ignorance in their own....

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » March 16th, 2011, 11:30 am

I know scorpion did alot of work on this car...

Saw it a few times by his garage

Very Impressive! That turbo is facking heavy yo

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » March 16th, 2011, 11:35 am

He also Did a 1970 Mustang, full drag.

What ever became of that? supposed to have pics of it on my old pc

Car was rumoured to be doing 7's

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 16th, 2011, 12:09 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
Sinister_Audio wrote:^ rec'd a warning? why?

You, me & everyone else that notified me of the "situation" said the same thing, but apparently the "builder" took it the wrong way... Me eh business with he, I gave my opinion based on what I saw so tough luck to whoever vex.. Keep it locked in ah garage if yuh don't want ah honest opinion :!:

Looking forward to the video Christian.. Try to get an onboard camera on it as well *thumbs up*

thanks, and yea i'll try,

oh and the owner of the thread just would like to say he is not on 2nr, and he really has nothing to do with all the bachanaal up in here :lol: and he isn't hating on anyone just reading the comments as they go by.

so next week it is :)

Return to “Drag Racing”