Side B First Run 2013!!! Meeting time and place added!!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

droppa

Re: Side B First Run 2013!!! Meeting time and place added!!

Postby droppa » January 28th, 2013, 9:31 am

super great run yesterday, cantamon was descent, I cud do that again, and las cuevas was a real treat....

one of my front shackle perches broke off in the lopinot trail, so i didnt stop at the lookout, i kept on truckin, a bit slower than normal, and by the time we reached las cuevas the convoy had met back up with me....

nevertheless, still zant up a bit in the trail and get the trol lil muddy, woulda ruff up more if that perch didnt break off.....

best first run for the year

thanks to all who made, look forward to the next one......

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 28th, 2013, 9:57 am

finally made a side b run well last part anyway ,going through las cuevas was fun.

lincx28

Postby lincx28 » January 28th, 2013, 10:33 pm

It was fun yesterday I had a ball I even got stuck on my way out..........had to be towed out. Where can I find the pics

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 29th, 2013, 7:57 am

will post pics and a couple vids of the beach part soon

Smeed

Postby Smeed » January 29th, 2013, 8:02 am

whey de fackin pics?? normally men does post pics same evening..... whaam like it wasn't fun or wha??????? :) :)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 29th, 2013, 9:49 am

there are pictures and videos on the facebook page

.z.

Postby .z. » January 29th, 2013, 2:50 pm

send ah link

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 29th, 2013, 3:26 pm

Via Steve

Via Fareed

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 29th, 2013, 3:35 pm

Some of my pics (courtesy the wifey) from the facebook page

Album - http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 966&type=1

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 29th, 2013, 9:46 pm

So, we had a blast this past sunday, on Side B's first official run for 2013!!

On this run, we took one of our favourite routes - Lopinot Trail down to Blanchisseuse and into Las Cuevas. Mostly a grade 2 run, with a few challenging spots for folks with stock vehicles or green, uninitiated offroaders, this route has something for everyone (and a great beach at the end to lime and bathe at!) We also included a side-adventure, a hill climb up through Cantamon (the easterly hill that overlooks the Lopinot Tourist and Historical Center) that offers great views of the entire valley. However, the hill climb is steep and could be treacherous, depending on the weather/local conditions.

Having met up at our usual secret meeting place (right next to the Piarco Gas station), we distributed the newly designed Side B T-shirts and stickers, as well as met a few new guys to our little family. Brief introductions were made and then our usual pre-run safety briefing and mini member meeting. We announced a few items, including the following:

- one scout and one run per month (at least). Scouting runs tend to be harder than actual runs (so we can work out all the dangers/pitfalls on a trail, to find the safest path), so only well-equipped vehicles should be allowed to scout. The actual run will be mapped out and posted on the public forums
- Announcement of our annual rally, which will be determined later on in the year
- In house rally, which offers a variety of different challenges (terrain challenge, dexterity challenge, navigational challenge, etc. etc.)
- Training day: including proper off roading driving techniques, proper & safe vehicle recovery, as well as basic CPR and Life Support. This will be announced later on in the year.
- Open orders for more stickers/jerseys are welcomed - however please pay UP FRONT to help satisfy our printer's demands.

We set off into the lopinot hills and made our way to the Cantamon vistas, with a few stragglers coming up afterwards and meeting us.
We had a relatively entertaining river crossing from the main road onto the trail, a couple of whom which was great for the new guys who had never engaged 4WD on their trucks let alone gone offroading. We marshalled them and instructed them on proper hill descent discipline as well as proper use of 4wd.

However, as we made our way up the cantamon hill, it soon became apparent that the local trail conditions were not welcoming to stock vehicles or inexperienced drivers. There was simply too much mud and the angle of ascent was too steep for unprepared vehicles, hence rather than risk damage and potential injury, we decided to turn back and head directly into the lopinot trail.

The trail itself was just as I had remembered it, save for a few spots which had washed out because of the previous weekend's heavy rainfall thus exposing some sharp rocks. A few of the steep corners proved a worthy challenge to our new explorers and with the help of some of our more experienced guys, we got them up the hills with relative challenge. One of the guys said to me he had never offroaded before and he was having a legitimate blast with his truck, with a HUGE smile on his face.

As we exited the lopinot trail, we began the rather long and bumpy ride down to blanchisseuse and then into las Cuevas. As we got to Las Cuevas, we realized that we weren't the only aspiring offroaders to enter the infamous trail that day. There were a couple other jimny's and trucks already in the trail (this was at around after lunch) and a stricken Land Rover discovery that had gotten bogged down in some of the sticky, soft Cuevas mud. Apparrently he had never taken the LRD into cuevas before and was unfamiliar with the terrain - but not to worry, Side B was there to save the day! A friendly Surf driver with a brand new Warn winch was able to safely winch out the stricken LRD, only to find that his front diff was damaged and was making a harsh clacking sound when turning. The other guys decided to leave the trail and limp home, while Side B enthusiastically entered the trail and romped through the mud (which is always fun after a long mountain drive!)

We instructed the newer guys who were hesitant at first to go through the intimidating water pools and slush pits of Las Cuevas (esp. that big concrete slab at the entrance) but they soon found the safe pathway through Las Cuevas where if taken correctly, you can even drive through it in 2WD.
After about half an hour of romping, sticking and getting wet down in mud from an enthusiastic Patrol driver, we made our way onto the beach and began the first official lime of 2013 for Side B.

The surf turned out to be rough that day, but just enough to have some fun with body-surfing and boogie boarding. We had lunch, relaxed and limed until late into the evening. After exiting the trail at around 5pm, I personally had a minor incident where my Navara got damaged and had to be towed home (let's just say I had a bit too much of fun somewhere near that stupid concrete slab) but I made it home safe and sound (thanks to the Side B family who as usual, would never leave a brother behind!!)

All in all, a great opening run for 2013 and a wonderful experience for all who came, both veterans and rookies. We hope to see some of the new guys on future runs (a certain K74T L200 driver seemed to have caught the mud-fever!) and on future exploration journeys of our country.

Here's to more excitement and grand adventures in 2013 - KEEP ON TRUCKIN'!!!!!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » January 30th, 2013, 12:08 am

That L200 driver!! he send me in to stick all by myself!! :lol: (Man was saying he following me anywhere..)

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 30th, 2013, 10:30 am

Bess write up as usual Presi!!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 30th, 2013, 5:12 pm

wow, looks like a great run to kick off the year!
it's funny though, I've been in and out of lopinot for years, and have driven past that entrance to cantamon by the river, and never knew that trail existed (or that it was even called cantamon :oops: :lol: )

Postby 3stagevtec » January 30th, 2013, 7:16 pm

tourniquet wrote:wow, looks like a great run to kick off the year!
it's funny though, I've been in and out of lopinot for years, and have driven past that entrance to cantamon by the river, and never knew that trail existed (or that it was even called cantamon :oops: :lol: )

Well next time you passing, we hadda see some action shots of you crossing the river.. :D

.z.

Postby .z. » January 31st, 2013, 6:19 am

My friend, i myself had heard of "canatmond" some years ago, and being in Lopinot regularly and enquiring with locals abt it, no one ever knew or pointed it out....

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » January 31st, 2013, 1:15 pm

I was the stuck LRD :( I chose a bad line and went down into about 18" of mud on my right side, broke a front axle at some point while trying to maneuver out, and was then stuck in RWD.
Much thanks to Side-B for showing up at that very moment and getting me out!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 31st, 2013, 1:36 pm

InDeForest wrote:I was the stuck LRD :( I chose a bad line and went down into about 18" of mud on my right side, broke a front axle at some point while trying to maneuver out, and was then stuck in RWD.

It's part of our motto man - "KEEP ON TRUCKIN' "

Get that diff sorted out, and maybe come on a side b run sometime?

droppa

Postby droppa » January 31st, 2013, 2:13 pm

lol, no problem man, just know yuh christen that warn on the surf, you was the first official recovery the man made with it.......

pity yuh padna with the red L2 didnt know how to use his equipment, he a tuner?

let him come on a few runs, he will learn how to safely handle his gearsz while having fun.....

Postby 3stagevtec » January 31st, 2013, 5:51 pm

InDeForest wrote:I was the stuck LRD :( I chose a bad line and went down into about 18" of mud on my right side, broke a front axle at some point while trying to maneuver out, and was then stuck in RWD.

Well look thing! lol, Don't worry man, I went and stuck myself in the same hole right after you.. :lol:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 31st, 2013, 6:06 pm

3stagevtec wrote:

Well next time you passing, we hadda see some action shots of you crossing the river.. :D

haha yeah, I'll do it when things are a bit drier up there though :) this would have been an ideal run for me, even with the vitara, however, I only came back in the country that afternoon

.z. wrote:My friend, i myself had heard of "canatmond" some years ago, and being in Lopinot regularly and enquiring with locals abt it, no one ever knew or pointed it out....

well the funny thing is I think the curator at the museum over there was telling my father about that trail some time last year, but for some reason I thought he said the access road was from the road where the cemetery is located :? of course at the time I was busy watching a cute spanish thing, so my mind might not have been too focused on trail directions at that moment :oops: :lol:
anyway, if memory serves me right, I want to believe he said that road takes you to, or at least very close to the "Devil's Hole" cave :)

.z.

Postby .z. » January 31st, 2013, 6:13 pm

The "road" access to Cantamond is through said road and u turn right, the river is just ah shortcut and some added attraction.

Heard of Devil's Hole, not sure exact location, but heard u got 2 rope descend to explore (and well ascend to get out) ....I wld like 2 try that

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 31st, 2013, 6:57 pm

^^ok cool, guess I can multitask after all :lol:
as for devil's hole, we hiked to there several years ago, and you heard right about the rope part :)

Postby 3stagevtec » January 31st, 2013, 8:08 pm

Rope.. pff.. I could winch my way down.. :D

.z.

Postby .z. » January 31st, 2013, 8:11 pm

eh eh.... sometimes u gotta hav 2 b a scout!!!

trailmaker

Postby trailmaker » January 31st, 2013, 9:15 pm

Seem to be a good run. Nice pics fellas.

lincx28

Postby lincx28 » February 2nd, 2013, 7:35 pm

3stagevtec wrote:That L200 driver!! he send me in to stick all by myself!! :lol: (Man was saying he following me anywhere..)

which L200 there was two there.....?

I'm looking for two towing hooks for the rear of my truck..........anyone knows where I can get them.

I got an L200

Postby 3stagevtec » February 5th, 2013, 8:06 am

More pics..

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=oa.506751689376955&type=1

The pics taken after the Las Cuevas shots were those of Paramin..

droppa

Postby droppa » February 5th, 2013, 9:34 am

lincx28 wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:That L200 driver!! he send me in to stick all by myself!! :lol: (Man was saying he following me anywhere..)

I'm looking for two towing hooks for the rear of my truck..........anyone knows where I can get them.

I got an L200

found these on amazon, price is good too...

http://www.amazon.com/Curt-Manufacturin ... wing+hooks

http://www.amazon.com/Smittybilt-7605-B ... wing+hooks

lincx28

Postby lincx28 » February 5th, 2013, 9:27 pm

droppa wrote:
lincx28 wrote:

I got an L200

found these on amazon, price is good too...

http://www.amazon.com/Curt-Manufacturin ... wing+hooks

http://www.amazon.com/Smittybilt-7605-B ... wing+hooks

Thanks bro!!!!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » February 6th, 2013, 1:02 am

Here is the complete album of pictures I got from my navigator:
http://s481.beta.photobucket.com/user/cvt-7_RR/library/Cantamon%20-%20Lopinot%20-Las%20Cuevas%20-%2027th-01-2013

A situation that may have turned spoiled. When rolling down a slippery hill in reverse (and forward), never let your front tires lock up. A locked up tire does not allow you to turn. Use engine breaking and manage your brakes.

Note : There is a 3-4ft water drain in the bushes a meter behind the Vitara. He luckily stopped in time.

Newest member of Side B? We wouldn't mind in the least bit getting a LR to join the group. 8-)

He just had to try the exact same hole eh. Lawd.

*cough cough* Some people got a good skin treatment of mud after this one pass...

What is this?? Brian?? :twisted:

Is this a winch I see being called out?

Woofs

Beachhhhh :drinking:

The Family:

Side B

Return to “Off Road Runs”