Side B Birthday Run! Morne Diablo/Marack/Santa Flora!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Re: Side B Birthday Run! Morne Diablo/Marack/Santa Flora!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 8th, 2012, 7:36 am

Sweet cake!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 9th, 2012, 5:56 am

Epic run!!........ who ever do dat rain dance allyuh good yes!!..... out de forest in de dark, i got back to penal around 8:30. hold some pics, didn't get many when de action started (was muddy and de rain was falling).

Mud Volcano.JPG

Mud Volcano 2.JPG

Chillin.JPG

Mamba taking 3 stage from behind.JPG

first victim of morne diablo.JPG

rescue.JPG

z.JPG

surf navigating ruts.JPG

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 9th, 2012, 6:01 am

few more........

civic minded.JPG

jimny.JPG

convoy.JPG

vitara flexing.JPG

compression.JPG

cake.JPG

Rescue vehicle.JPG

claries.JPG

civic minded

Side B Birthday Run! Morne Diablo/Marack/Santa Flora!

Postby civic minded » April 9th, 2012, 6:51 am

This is the first time I got stick, had to get pulled out about 4 times , very disappointed with the maxxis i have , got little or no traction. I need to upgrade these tires!
It cost me a rear light and a trip to the straightener

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 9th, 2012, 8:19 am

What a bessssssss run!!!!!!

Started the day by meeting up at Gulf View KFC. Left a bit late around 8:20am. Left to head to diggity mud volcano....We heard that it erupted the other day and we wanted to investigate. Nothing much to see really but the volcano had signs of an eruption occuring but a very small one.

We continued to proceed to the first trail. Marack!!! Place was dry like a salt biscuit! Was really more of a drive through rather than a real challenge. Some of the guys ventured here before with Trini4wheelers. It was a very scenic drive though. Then we came up to the spot where they couldn't go any further....It was a landslip in the middle of the trail!!!!! I think we under estimated the slip but we attempted to cut down treacherous banks and level out with material so that we all could pass. We worked like a WASA crew digging up d road and not fixing it back......Rene then attemted to cross with what work was done.... If yuh see that vitara flex.....But sadly it still wasn't passable....We had to make the decision to turn around (I was very very disappointed!!!!) but for the sake of the group we had (which was about 15 vehicles) we could not move on. Big up to Rene for making a responsible call....

So we headed out!!!!! We stopped by an intersection in the trail for two reasons...Decide what to do do next and celebrate the birthdays mentioned....Myself, Claries, Kirk and Dave! Big up to Smeed for a best birthday cake!!! Dat was no betty crocker special.....It was better!!! Yuh real get on dey hoss...We ate cake, for the sugar rush would prove to be benficial later on!!!! We met Z on the way out and he proceeded to head to the next trail with us!!

We decided to head for Morne Diablo! We were greated by some great technicality on this trail and right at the beginning it claimed it first victim....Adil....after a bit of pulling and tugging we got him out.....Be reminded that it was still dry at this point!!!! There were big ruts to navigate through and we proceeded into the trail........ It was a slow grind but progressive and we all continued to move on.... Then whoever did the rain dance really did a good job!!!! The rain that was coming down was worst than last year when Side B first ventured...With the advice from a farmal on the trail and really no place turn to head back out...We decided to continue on......When the rains finally came, the trail became like oil on glass!!!! Very Very Slippery!!!! Now together with the technicality of the ruts, we now had the slippery surface..... WOW!!!! What an epic drive!!!!! We continued to move along but at a crawling pace....We decided on advice that the trail to the volcano was deplorable and with the rain falling as it was that we would hit the side trail to morne diablo beach instead!!!! This trail was never on a Side B list but it would be a new trail for us!!!

This side trail still proved to be challenging but not as challenging as the main trail....But with the rain, it claimed many victims....We all had some difficult challenges to come through... We met another member of Z's fraternity and they would end up helping us through to trail...Big up to them as well cause if it wasn't for them we would have had a much longer time in the trail...

We exited the trail around 8pm!!!! Yes darkness....Great that we saw the endurance of Side B!!!!! We stopped at a gas station for some eats and drinks and discussed the great run we had and those who missed out!!!!! We all had some sort of battle scars on this run but all in all, it was a real BESS run..... Big up all those in attendance and especially to Z, ras and friend in the range rover and Smeed for the cake..!!!!!

Onto the next adventure!!!!

Side B
Keep On Truckin!

claries

Postby claries » April 9th, 2012, 8:58 am

Rel Bess run

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 9th, 2012, 9:34 am

After this my camera died..... All this action was before the rains came!!!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 9th, 2012, 9:56 am

civic minded wrote:This is the first time I got stick, had to get pulled out about 4 times , very disappointed with the maxxis i have , got little or no traction. I need to upgrade these tires!
It cost me a rear light and a trip to the straightener

Darn right!!..... Power is nuttin without control... All three rangers and the green hilux needed better tires. Allyuh have de power, but de tires is what let you all down. I actually had no problems... Even on de stickiest parts....BFG's are de schnitniz!!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 9th, 2012, 10:53 am

a reall bess run, we did not expect all that action eh, buh its Side-B, if yuh doh wah action, stay home and keep yuh van clean, jus cold yuh pepto........

so marack was dry, had a few lil spots, buh nothing to make trouble, good call by rene for us to turn back and leave the fallen section, really eh, if the flexy GV cudnt make it, we was not going to, then smeed bring out the cake, yuh real score dey bigman, it was bess, happy birthday to the april boys...

we jump out marack and start to toes up to bunsee, where we decide we gonna see for our self the real condition of this trail, disregarding the info that came forward from others clubs who recently ventured in......

the MD trail was dry hard and crisp, a very nice challenging trail for driver skill, esp if u dont have the ground clearance, u had to straddle the bank and keep out the ruts, that was great, me and telfer up in front was pushing with no probs, occasionally stopping and waithing for the others...

while rescuing a few tru a deep section the rains were making up, some say it blowing away, some say it going town, some say was a passin cloud, neverthe less it came, and hard too, met up with the ole PX range rover ras and he said he will show us a way out to MD fishing depot side, so i kno the guys wanted some fun and we followed him in, the rains made some sections slippery and really the driveway tires and road tires had the probs, the better all terrains and mud terrains had no problem, well except wile man brian, who jump off the track and find himself in a bog....

guys started to air down, which i had done earlier and even recommended before the rains, maybe if this was done earlier, we mite of come out in daylight, Mr Toyota man rel put on a show too, and was also very instrumental in recoveries, nevertheless, bunsee to morne diablo has been completed by side-B, and im sure we will be back again!!!!!!!!!

i cant say how sorry i am for those who got scars, or broke parts, or even got home too late, offroading is about nothing less, i have felt my share in the past, very costly too, but i will continue.............

hold some pics for now...vids will come on page 6........

Postby sliderz1 » April 9th, 2012, 11:59 am

:o :shock:

telfer

Postby telfer » April 9th, 2012, 12:47 pm

All I want to know is
When we doing it again???????????????
BEST RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 9th, 2012, 2:09 pm

sliderz1 wrote:Image

The start of that trail has claimed so many... :lol:

droppa

Postby droppa » April 9th, 2012, 3:16 pm

3stagevtec wrote:

The start of that trail has claimed so many... :lol:

he goin and sell dat 4-door and buy a surf jus now eh!!!!

Postby sliderz1 » April 9th, 2012, 4:22 pm

^wha? he turning he back on the Nissan Yakuza?

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 9th, 2012, 4:24 pm

Nissan again........de yotas real represent.... Minimal stickage!!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 9th, 2012, 8:28 pm

Sadly, I had to report out for work, so I got to miss the best part of the run. Here are some pics of the Marack trail I took along the way..

Digity Mud Volcano

Bess driver!

I can't believe my front bumper hit the ground! *steups*

Every time I spun the wheels, the rear of the vehicle would slide closer and closer to the tree stump on the left. Staying closer to the right would have put me at a more dangerous angle. The uneven surface in the ditch is what caused my bumper to impact with the ground. I know we put alot of work into crossing, but it was too risky to send stock vehicles down in there. Just couldn't risk it..

Bess cake!

Overkill on the knife? nahhh...

Smeed's reaction says it all! lol

Speach time!

Nice crew!

Visible enough? Trail entrance highlighted..
Last edited by 3stagevtec on April 9th, 2012, 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 9th, 2012, 8:30 pm

I have a video but its taking forever to upload....
Last edited by rottedv on April 10th, 2012, 4:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 10th, 2012, 1:53 am

Sorry that I couldn't make it guys.
Had to work.. duty called and I had to begrudgingly answer.

Looks like it was a great run, and Morne Diablo is one of my favourite trails (except for the damned bees).

Me was sad that me couldn't come to the trail....

.z.

Postby .z. » April 10th, 2012, 7:29 am

Know u guys had fun, an so too myself.

But as they say, if it nice u have to do it.....

Went back yesterday an found the keys. Dropped off where i suspected>>> offcamber hill with the tyre trench on the right.

ps did the trail rvs.

Z
100_3380.JPG
100_3380.JPG (37.58 KiB) Viewed 3225 times

Kashman

Postby Kashman » April 10th, 2012, 9:50 am

Great run!! Serious battle scars this rounds but will be back the next one.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 10th, 2012, 10:49 am

dais the spirit......doh study it, chick dig battle scars!!!

and now u guys even more confident in your jeeps!!

hats off to aastra, telfer, and kashman eh, u guys probably did the least offroading with us and still did very well.....

very very amazed at the performance of the bfg at on smeeds jeep, hardly any wheelspin at all, did he stick anytime???

heard the beach is a nice and private beach, we would have had to take a left and the Y and get up there, next time, we will reach the beach!!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 10th, 2012, 11:19 am

^^ sound like a plan! did anyone in side B reach the Morne Diablo active mud volcanoes? -

The guys on the tractor said that they will be grading the trail soon and it will be easier for the stock 4x4's to make it.. just keep your ears open!.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 10th, 2012, 11:59 am

.z. wrote:Know u guys had fun, an so too myself.

Went back yesterday an found the keys. Dropped off where i suspected>>> offcamber hill with the tyre trench on the right.

ps did the trail rvs.

Z

damnnn, you real luckly yo!!

Postby Rooki3 » April 10th, 2012, 12:07 pm

damn :wtf: how did he get out?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 10th, 2012, 12:13 pm

^ pulled backwards..

droppa

Postby droppa » April 10th, 2012, 1:25 pm

ole man on the tractor jump off and hide he shotgun in the fig patch yess, we rel laff, man must be get bomby.....

droppa

Postby droppa » April 10th, 2012, 1:28 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
.z. wrote:Know u guys had fun, an so too myself.

ps did the trail rvs.

Z

damnnn, you real luckly yo!!

u think is jus so he lost dat keys there, i sure it was all part of his plan!!!!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 10th, 2012, 7:51 pm

Hold Dat!!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 10th, 2012, 10:38 pm

D toyota man boi......

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 10th, 2012, 10:42 pm

droppa wrote:dais the spirit......doh study it, chick dig battle scars!!!

and now u guys even more confident in your jeeps!!

hats off to aastra, telfer, and kashman eh, u guys probably did the least offroading with us and still did very well.....

very very amazed at the performance of the bfg at on smeeds jeep, hardly any wheelspin at all, did he stick anytime???

heard the beach is a nice and private beach, we would have had to take a left and the Y and get up there, next time, we will reach the beach!!!!

stick?? wha's dah??..... i tell allyuh i make it thru mostly in 2 wheel and neutral..... didn't really need to put it in drive self!! wid dem bfg's and de powah from de D4D..... me nah stick at all. I got held up a bit on some ruts in the early dry parts..... just threw her in reverse and wiggle free, no worries in de wet.

of course i fishtailed like a beyotch sometimes, especially on a couple of the slopes..... but i treated it like i was powersliding....a lil bit of opposite lock and even more powaaaaaah and she held it every time. Dem tires nice boy..... for a civilised AT, dey real bess. I ran dem at 28psi all round in de dry and went down to 20 (front) and 18 (back) for de wet bits.

hats off to those guys for real..... i saw aastra go thru a mini evolution when de rain came down.... meh boy started off a bit hesitant at first ..... buh he handle himself well especially in the latter parts when de place started getting dark.... meh boy rescue himself a couple times when he ran down his left side into ruts.... rear right tire in de frickin air..... i jump out and give him a tug down and he wiggle free.... i'm sure he has new appreciation for wht his vehicle can do!! :lol:

but i ain't see nobody talk bout de most WTF moment of de run!!........ so imagine dis..... we climbing an "off camber" hill (slanted from left to right), with a HUGE rut (at least 2 feet deep) spanning 75% of the hill on de right side (from the summit downwards)... so is runul in front, then telfer, black jimny, aastra and me. just as i park up at the base waiting for the call on the radio to proceed, i hear a female voice over the radio saying in an urgent tone....." help needed, runul gone down in a rut... hurry up he stick real bad".

So yuh boy grab he boots and blade an running up de hill when i see telfer jump on runul's back left tire and bawlin.... "smeed........ we need some weight here bai...... he go tip over!!!!!

i was like wtf! I just seeing runul's puppy dog eyes staring out de back window and telfer gripping de back ah de van wid all he might..... de left rear tire was about 3 feet in de air!! i didn't know if i shoulda laff or scream for Droppa and de Ras rescue mobile!!

any how we managed to secure de back of de van to a teak tree wid a strap just to ensure he wouldn't tip and den de rasta mobile come down and winch him up..... once he was out and up de hill all ah we breathe a sigh of relief and waited a few minutes for our testicles to travel back down from below our throats to where they belong.......and BAM!! next man up de hill (telfer) went down in de same fricking rut!!..... however it wasn't too bad and de rasta mobile give a lil assistance and he made it up.

dem woulda be some epic pics..... buh we was busy wid de rescues.... (where's hammer when u need him eh?)

anyhow, was really an epic run...... was a feeling of genuine triumph when we made it to the road..... when we doing it again?!

here's de beast de morning after....

muddy.jpg

and one of the parts of the trail i brought home....

trail remnants.jpg

was great fun and excitement..... sorry dat rene, jeremy and leo miss out...... next time for sure!!

Even my co driver had a blast, even though he reach de wedding at 10 pm :lol: :lol:

Return to “Off Road Runs”