Side B & TTORC to Mount Harris!! - 13th Nov

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Choose Your preferred day

November 5th
10%
November 6th
10%
November 12th
17%
November 13th
40%
November 19th
7%
November 20th
17%

Total votes: 30

bobvis

Re: Side B - Morne Diablo - Take 2

Postby bobvis » October 19th, 2011, 10:21 pm

wanted to go on this scouting run,,, but definitely cannot make it, but ah making sure i going the actual run,,,,

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » October 20th, 2011, 1:49 am

Jeremy Mohd wrote:The men who work shift eh!
Sometimes I think I would prefer that!

Shift does really be best when all ur limin buddys are on the same shift. Four days to make mas...

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » October 20th, 2011, 1:53 am

bobvis wrote:wanted to go on this scouting run,,, but definitely cannot make it, but ah making sure i going the actual run,,,,

Definately, takin a day off to go dat day... I in d middle of a shutdown, other wise i'd be most present friday...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 20th, 2011, 5:56 am

Meng files gettin Buss.. LOL

rottedv

Postby rottedv » October 20th, 2011, 6:00 am

stingray316 wrote:
Jeremy Mohd wrote:The men who work shift eh!
Sometimes I think I would prefer that!

Shift does really be best when all ur limin buddys are on the same shift. Four days to make mas...

I hate my job!!!! I would have liked to make every run!!! Sometimes the time is more important than the money!!

Postby sliderz1 » October 20th, 2011, 8:04 am

*Phoenix* wrote:Meng files gettin Buss.. LOL

comin out awah phoenix?..........u bought another pickup since?

droppa

Postby droppa » October 20th, 2011, 8:35 am

^^how u mean, man comin out with ah HardLux......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 20th, 2011, 10:26 am

he making an indestructible hilux..... I go try to chain up he head to come on de actual run :D :D :D.

I wanna see that suspension kit flexxxxxx

Smeed

Postby Smeed » October 20th, 2011, 10:39 am

dudes.......9am on friday kinda bad cause i have Mosque at 12:30. oh well hopefully u all go scout again soon............ :cry:

droppa

Postby droppa » October 20th, 2011, 12:27 pm

no scene man, doh feel no how, cuz is jus a handful doin the scout, the real run will be alot bigger....

bobvis

Postby bobvis » October 20th, 2011, 9:42 pm

aye rottedv,,, know anyone wid a 4x4 for sale

rottedv

Postby rottedv » October 21st, 2011, 5:09 am

Come buy mine nah...I might be looking to upgrade!

Postby 3stagevtec » October 21st, 2011, 2:53 pm

OMG!! What a trail! Trail report with pics and vids will come later..

Basically the trail was graded down, so no deep ruts to get you stuck in, but the heavy rains have the ground extra soft / slushy.. Epic fun to play in, but it's a little too difficult to tackle. Another issue was our vehicles were damaging the trail abit too much and the farmers use that track to get to their crops. At that point we turned back. One farmer told us to wait for some better weather to reattempt. He said it was easy to reach the volcano, but the recent heavy rains really made the trail a mess.

Stay tuned for the pics..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 21st, 2011, 8:18 pm

Agreed x2.

The trail is massive fun, graded a couple weeks ago so the ground is nice and flat. Butlike 3stage said, its waterlogged and slushy so only aggressive all terrain tyres like the bfg, toyo opencountry and kumho kl78 would make it with relative ease - and thats with airing down to about 20psi and whatnot. Mudterrains will make it with ease, however the track will definitely get damaged and we as a conscientious off-roading club dont like to destry tracks uncessarily. We'll wait till its dryer so that everyone who comes on the run will beable to make it through and have a chance to try their hand at driving skills.

Oh and 4x2 drivers.... Forgeddaboudit. You'll stick right at the entrance.

So the verdict is: Morne Diablo is postponed until w have a longer period of dry weather.

In the meantime, we'll defintely try to find a backup plan, so dont worry.

Sorry guys, but we have to think of eveyones safety, preserving the environment and not upsetting the local townsfolks so that we'll be able to offroad for years to come.

droppa

Postby droppa » October 21st, 2011, 8:34 pm

that jus sucks jed, now i really wished i had gone to the scout........dammit.....

anyways back to basics....we gotta come up with a plan for the 13th.....

rottedv

Postby rottedv » October 21st, 2011, 9:06 pm

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(......I really wanted to take revenge on that trail.....soon my sweet....rubbing my hands together....Anyway it will give me more time to repair....let see what the bach up is...and then there is always Las Cuevas!?!?!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 21st, 2011, 11:19 pm

sooo no morne diablo next month>>>??? hummm - lets see how the weather goes for the next few weeks - we are at the beginning of the dry season.
How about some forest runs going down to quinam

Postby 3stagevtec » October 21st, 2011, 11:20 pm

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 21st, 2011, 11:23 pm

noooiiicceeee!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » October 21st, 2011, 11:36 pm

civic minded wrote:sooo no morne diablo next month>>>??? hummm - lets see how the weather goes for the next few weeks - we are at the beginning of the dry season.
How about some forest runs going down to quinam

Most likely this run will be cancelled.. but keep your fingers crossed for some good sun over the next few weeks..

I uploading a vid to show how aired down All Terrains was handling the mud.. Should be up in a 10 mins..

Postby 3stagevtec » October 21st, 2011, 11:53 pm

Speedo was reading between 30 - 60km/h.. I was moving at about 2km/h.. lol

This was with front tyres at 21psi and the rears at 18psi. I kept bogging down every time I left off the power. Basically, my current tyres are definitely not suited to this type of terrain. My older Hercules Terra Tracs worked a lot better than the Destinations.

All that slipping and sliding was starting to damage the track and the local farmers was no too pleased about it. They had no problem with us being there, they just wanted to protect the track..

droppa

Postby droppa » October 22nd, 2011, 9:59 am

but wah killing me is, if u all were having so much trouble up there, what kinda vehicle the farmers does use, tractors only!!!!!!!!!!!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » October 22nd, 2011, 10:09 am

I have more videos to upload but didn't get the time. I will admit, that trail was VERY fun. The Terra Tracs terrorized the terrain, but I had to use a lot of power to keep them spinning to self clean themselves. From what I hear, it is a 7km long track and that is a lot of stress on your engine. We would/should have to make frequent stops to allow the engine and transmission to cool down. All that RPM and moving 2km/h not nice for cooling. The slush was really holding down the vehicle. I guess the more vehicles pass through, the easier it will be as the first few that enter will clear a path. I honestly wish we could continue the course, but the farmers wouldn't like it. So now, the hunt is on for another course on the 13th. Anyone have requests? Our backup most likely right now is the Side B Rally Special Stage (King Of The Hill). But that might be too short, so let's hear those suggestions. The new members, if you all know any trail, make a suggestion and we can scout it. New trails are always welcomed. 

Postby 3stagevtec » October 22nd, 2011, 1:55 pm

droppa wrote:but wah killing me is, if u all were having so much trouble up there, what kinda vehicle the farmers does use, tractors only!!!!!!!!!!!

Nope, they only use their bull carts.. the guy was telling me that's the only way they can pass through without damaging the ground too much.

I really forgot to mention the stress on your transmission as well, especially the guys with automatics..

Postby 3stagevtec » October 22nd, 2011, 2:03 pm

Oh ho.. I forgot to mention.. There were bees as well.. Care to comment Lighthammer?? :lol:

claries

Postby claries » October 22nd, 2011, 3:05 pm

hw abt a mayaro / guaya run ?

Postby sliderz1 » October 22nd, 2011, 4:53 pm

^the maintained surface above the underlying gas lines there may be an option

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » October 22nd, 2011, 10:20 pm

I should have really gone, that looks like real fun.... And i miss out... Any body know the place or the trail that was used somewhere in Rousillac on a TTORC run a few years aback. Bisram had mention that one to me in a conversion some time ago...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 22nd, 2011, 10:28 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Oh ho.. I forgot to mention.. There were bees as well.. Care to comment Lighthammer?? :lol:

I got attacked by some very angry bees at the trail entrance of the trail while waiting for u and brian to exit. Some guys in a farmal came and parked up ontheotherside,then one of them must have disturbeda bee nest cuz next thing i know one of them came running in our dirction bawling "bees!!". Got stung about 4times on meh back and left shouder. Good thing im not allergic :-)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 22nd, 2011, 10:30 pm

Trailblazers doing a pipeline run next sunday but thats grade 4 terrain only....

Return to “Off Road Runs”