Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Haunted

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby Haunted » March 20th, 2011, 11:44 pm

kk sono heres a quick breakdown

Ford Ranger- Comes with the most horsepower and torque out the show room, a very powerful vehicle down side is not really back seat friendly

Toyota Hilux- I rate the hilux as the best overall stock vehicle, this is because the suspension is amazing it has power and its a family vehicle

Nissan Navara- Navara's are heavy so they sit on the road good but sink in the mud, they have an amazing engine tho

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » March 21st, 2011, 12:39 am

The Mazda BT50 is a great all-rounder too. It is basically the 2.5L Turbo Rangers. The Mazda/Ford work great anywhere, anytime.

Quick Update. I got home safe and sound with no problems from my vehicle. Just finished give a complete under wash to the van and cleaned out clothes/shoes. All that is left is to clean the 'little' mud on the mats (Thanks to all the news papers. Oh yea! It worked! :D) and rub down the van with a sponge. I'll post pics, vids and more info when I get some sleep. I'm completely drained.

Great day guys! Didn't have this much fun since the year start and I don't see anything topping this for the year. As said before, it was great that everyone came together and help each other out. Must say, I don't know their names, but thanks guys who helped me with my tire change under those rough circumstances and the rest for helping me get through without 'much problems'.........On second thought, thanks for helping me get through the trail. The amount of problems encountered was crazy.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 21st, 2011, 5:39 am

Some teaser pics from the run yesterday.

I'll try to put more pics and a write up later today/tonight.
Good run everyone, glad we all made it out safe and sound. It was going well at first, but then rain started to fall around lunchtime and transformed the trail from a grade 2 to a grade 3 - 4 very quickly. LUckily the rain stopped and the trail dried up after a while. However the rain actually did us some good - cuz the amount of pressure the guys up in front had to get out the exit with all that grade 3-4 mud would have been too much for the newbies. Good thing we turned around and went back up the trail, through mud that was already compacted down so it was relatively easier to drive through (though slippery) and we didn't have to battle through softer mud.

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 21st, 2011, 6:23 am

awesum pics! im jealous.... soon though, very soon..... :)

claries

Postby claries » March 21st, 2011, 7:54 am

Well yessss dat was madness .I had great fun with you guys and glad everyone reach home safe . It was more off a river lime so we should have a duck to curry and respects to rotated who is on 24's and brian aka "gas man" rel good performance

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 21st, 2011, 8:25 am

sono wrote:
MrCuddles wrote:
sono wrote:jus came across this thread browsing. seem like a cool bunch. how does a guy join?

:idea: get a diesel vehicle!

lol. working on that mc enerary sticking though. made a down payment on a ranger but they dont hav the colour in stock so gotta wait for the shipment to cum in. thinkin of retractin that. any other criteria 4 the group? most of the dudes here have loads of experience with trucks so maybe sum advice/ preference to ranger/ navara? im thinking auto though... thanks a lot fellas

Auto!?? Nahh! Only girls does drive auto yo!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 21st, 2011, 8:28 am

lighthammer wrote:NAh, if he have a suitable gas vehicle, he could come through man!

Jeremy - since u in Rio so often, if you ever passing Grande side, Chow's auto services, just opposite courts in Grande on the main road - underwash and shock oil = $120.00

Cool, tom I'll check him.

but for today; the stares in morning traffic were priceless...

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 21st, 2011, 8:35 am

Jeremy Mohd wrote:
sono wrote:
MrCuddles wrote:
sono wrote:jus came across this thread browsing. seem like a cool bunch. how does a guy join?

lol. working on that mc enerary sticking though. made a down payment on a ranger but they dont hav the colour in stock so gotta wait for the shipment to cum in. thinkin of retractin that. any other criteria 4 the group? most of the dudes here have loads of experience with trucks so maybe sum advice/ preference to ranger/ navara? im thinking auto though... thanks a lot fellas

coming from the 'dude' thats packing the 3.0 auto! lol
would love to get the 3.0 but gotta settle for the 2.5.. strapped for cash sigh

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 21st, 2011, 9:07 am

i park up meh truck normel normel, ppl passing and real staring, hee hee hee.

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 21st, 2011, 10:00 am

someone stole my hubs it was there last night and this morning is not...... :x :x :x :x :x

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 21st, 2011, 10:22 am

sono wrote:
Jeremy Mohd wrote:
sono wrote:
MrCuddles wrote:

coming from the 'dude' thats packing the 3.0 auto! lol
would love to get the 3.0 but gotta settle for the 2.5.. strapped for cash sigh

yuh walk rite into dat one dey Jeremy :lol:

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 21st, 2011, 10:28 am

brianr20v wrote:someone stole my hubs it was there last night and this morning is not...... :x :x :x :x :x

wtf dude?!? u kno wat dat means.....time to slap som rims on dat b!tch!! lol

but she relly didnt let u down yest, evn wit those HT tyres :shock: i was most def impressed :!:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2011, 1:13 pm

speedaholic wrote:yess guys!! great day indeed!!!!! think some damage was done to my van tho!! :|! when i cross 60Km/h.. my van is vibrating violently! i drove all the way home under 60... think my steering Rack got damaged.... will check tmr... and update... but home safely.. main thing.... peace..

don't worry! there is mud inside your rims that is causing the misbalance!

same thing happens to me when I drive through mud.. my rear rims were filled with mud and I couldn't cross 55km/h while driving to work! the entire back end was vibrating.

After i washed the mud out, it ran fine..

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2011, 1:21 pm

brianr20v wrote:someone stole my hubs it was there last night and this morning is not...... :x :x :x :x :x

YOU TOO!! AHHAHAHAAAAA...

This sucks! There is a slight fault in the hub design where they tend to slacken out on their own.. I lost one of my hubs (it fell out) on the way to work.. :? :bad-words:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2011, 1:50 pm

After work this morning I went straight by RONS for a wash. As soon as I entered the compound, the manager spot me and said, 'quick, book this guy a wash, now!' lol..

Did a complete body and under wash + shock oil. My interior is still a complete mess, but I will clean up that later after I get some rest. I also plan on removing each wheel and greasing / cleaning / servicing etc all mechanical components around the brakes and suspension. Even with the under wash, there are a few places where they missed.. and I'm sure I will find more mud when I take down the tyres.

I completely forgot to take pics along the way. Trail was just too much fun! These are the few good one I have..

That's a lot of trucks!

Not enough momentum.. or was it lack of power??

Talk about stuck! This was the 1st difficult section of trail just after the point where you guys turned back. (Just after that slippery hill).

No help from the rear tyres either..

I also got stuck here trying to turn around.. Innocent looking path..

Parked at work.. Everything looks normal from this angle..

and then I was like.. WHERE MEH HUB!!

To be honest, loosing that hub had me vex all night.. damn thing gonna cost almost $1000 to replace..

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2011, 1:59 pm

lighthammer wrote:Image

We went by a tyre shop in San'do this morning and found a used tyre to temporarily replace the blown one.. The used tyre actually have enough life on it to give us a few months of use!

Cost us $30 for the tyre / install..

Lesson learnt, do NOT drive over sharp objects with deflated tyres.. It was amazing / scary to see just how easy that sidewall ripped open..

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 21st, 2011, 2:12 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
speedaholic wrote:yess guys!! great day indeed!!!!! think some damage was done to my van tho!! :|! when i cross 60Km/h.. my van is vibrating violently! i drove all the way home under 60... think my steering Rack got damaged.... will check tmr... and update... but home safely.. main thing.... peace..

same thing happens to me when I drive through mud.. my rear rims were filled with mud and I couldn't cross 55km/h while driving to work! the entire back end was vibrating.

My is vibrating slightly from around 90. Van never did that before, will see if its the mud. If not, then speed balance and aligntment, if not; I will be worried!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2011, 2:14 pm

I also gotta admit, the Fords / Mazdas did work pretty well off road. The huge torque from those vehicles was of great benefit in climbing the steeper hills. I actually was having to use full throttle on the steeper set of hills and the Zuki 2.0L was just running out of oomph.. The only advantage I had though was the relatively high (ish) rev limit on the engine.. 6600rpm.. so I was able to stay in the lower gears longer..

Another thing that is worth mentioning was the performance of Rotated's Hilux! Riding on 24"s with low profile tyres and just look at the potential of that vehicle.. Imagine it with some proper ATs..

Oh, and for sure, the Bravery Award must go to Speedy for driving his 4x2 Mitsu down into that madness..

FYI, we did come out VERY lucky with the rain.. Yes it did fall, but that was nothing compared to how heavy it fell in Fyzabad & Forest Reserve! On my way to work, 1/2 the road was flooded out, just before the security gate, and the majority of the Tank Farm I work on was also flooded out..

If that quantity of rain had fell on the trail, most would not have made it out!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 21st, 2011, 2:18 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

My is vibrating slightly from around 90. Van never did that before, will see if its the mud. If not, then speed balance and aligntment, if not; I will be worried!

I'm 99% certain it might be mud stuck somewhere in the rims causing it.. Once you vehicle is tracking a natural straight line on the highway and not pulling to either side, you should be good to go after a wash..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 21st, 2011, 4:13 pm

thanks for having me on the run guys - had alot of fun - i never knew my ranger can handle half of the stuff we did..lol. That trail was definitely grade 3 after all that rain. Sorry to hear some of you guys had damages, I was able to get mines underwashed and cleaned last nite - van looks like it never touch dirt..lol
thanks to 3stage for the helpout on the second hill - I was sure as hell i wasn't going to make it over that hill but deflating the tires and some extra 'weight' in the tray, I manage to push throu.

Overall great run fellas, had alot of excitement.

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 21st, 2011, 4:18 pm

Here as some pics......... :mrgreen:
SDC10765.jpg
CIMG2842.jpg
CIMG2834.jpg
CIMG2831.jpg
CIMG2826.jpg
CIMG2818.jpg
CIMG2817.jpg

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 21st, 2011, 4:23 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
CIMG2910.jpg
SDC10812.jpg
SDC10777.jpg
SDC10776.jpg
SDC10773.jpg
SDC10768.jpg
SDC10767.jpg

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 21st, 2011, 4:26 pm

3stagevtec wrote:

YOU TOO!! AHHAHAHAAAAA...

This sucks! There is a slight fault in the hub design where they tend to slacken out on their own.. I lost one of my hubs (it fell out) on the way to work.. :? :bad-words:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 21st, 2011, 4:27 pm

3stage.... yeaa... the mud was my problem as well... this morning after drivin the van to a alignment shop a huge junk of mud fell out of the front right wheel... as i was there.. i had alignment check and both front wheel speed balanced... all is gud now!!! :D yest was jes too epic... :D :D

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 21st, 2011, 4:27 pm

this moring that happen...... :?:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 21st, 2011, 4:35 pm

yeppp! :S!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 21st, 2011, 4:50 pm

civic minded wrote:thanks for having me on the run guys - had alot of fun - i never knew my ranger can handle half of the stuff we did..lol. That trail was definitely grade 3 after all that rain. Sorry to hear some of you guys had damages, I was able to get mines underwashed and cleaned last nite - van looks like it never touch dirt..lol
thanks to 3stage for the helpout on the second hill - I was sure as hell i wasn't going to make it over that hill but deflating the tires and some extra 'weight' in the tray, I manage to push throu.

Overall great run fellas, had alot of excitement.

I was really surprised at the difference deflating the tyres made. Both me and Rene's bro made the second hill as well without too much trouble after deflating.

The main thing that made you stop your momentum and causing you to stick on this trail is the dam trees! At one point going up the second hill (with 3stage in d trayy), The dam vann swing and was heading directly for a huge tree...
Had to stop, reverse, and try again.

At some places where you needed to go X2board, there towering trees on the left and right, making you slow to a speed where your brakes would hold.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 21st, 2011, 5:00 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Oh, and for sure, the Bravery Award must go to Speedy for driving his 4x2 Mitsu down into that madness..

I think I go miss that van when yuh upgrade someday!
Yuh have reall belly yo.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 21st, 2011, 5:09 pm

yeaa i goh miss it tooo! *sigh...! but i must!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 21st, 2011, 5:09 pm

oh gosh leave meh belly alone nah! hmph!

Return to “Off Road Runs”