Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

droppa

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby droppa » March 10th, 2011, 2:42 pm

nah he have imaginary 4wd so he will get tru, is all about will power.......

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 10th, 2011, 4:05 pm

^^ yuh kno d tinggg!!! :D!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 14th, 2011, 9:31 am

So fellas... what's the final plan now?
20th March is this weekend coming.

I'll be on call for Sunday 27th, so that's out for me.

So from the recent thread history, the proposed runs we can go on are:

- Morne Diablo Trail
- Devil's Woodyard
- Trip to quinam beach via a newly cleared trail
- Possible run again on the cedar hill rally stage

Also on the cards might be:
- Las Cuevas trail
- Blanchisseuse trail: Take two

I would also like to propose a couple "liming day/run" for us:
- Excursion to Harry's Water Park for a day at the park to lime
- trip to salybia to go kayaking on the river, liming on the beach, possible run to Toco lighthouse to lime on the cliffs.

^^ these two proposals dont' really have much off-roading potential; they're more of a lime for the group + families + friends.

ALso coming up soon - TURTLE WATCHING SEASON!! Usually between april - june, the leatherbacks will come lay their eggs on the north coast beaches.

Anyone here feeling to rent a beachhouse up in Matura and go turtle watching in Grand Riviere, with a possible trip to Shark River to lime/bathe/cook?

I'll try to look into these possibilities over the next couple of weeks, hopefully I'll be able to lock in a beachhouse for us if everyone is interested, or if anyone knows someone with a beachhouse up toco/balandra side for us to use those months.

In the meantime, keep looking out for those trails guys, all of us itching to use the 4wd in our trucks :D :D :D

droppa

Postby droppa » March 14th, 2011, 11:45 am

yeah this sunday sounds good, let we do the drive to quinam....

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 14th, 2011, 3:28 pm

Can come to love to try out my 4x4.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 14th, 2011, 4:11 pm

In on the 20th run.
Quinam + Morne Diable seems real interesting.

On the Toco run there is a drit/gravel road on the right before you reach the lighthouse. Most of it is graded now, but when you reach closer the beach, you need a 4x4. It leads to 2 beaches (one if you take the left, one if you take the right) that most people dont know exists. (Well the folks who tend to think the only beach and river is Maracas and Caura)
Shark river is really nice run too. From Piarco to there is around 90km one-way.

Along the way there is alsothe Matura National Park...; Realllll interesting; long roads through the forest. (I trying to source a map of it). It extends from Salybia all the way past Toco then headings towards Matelot side. I am hoping the roads are connected so that you can drive in from Salybia then come out somewhere either closer to Toco side or more west closer to San Souci/Grand Riverre through these roads.

^^ that will be an interesting run sometime as well.
matura.png

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 14th, 2011, 4:20 pm

hmm interesting...

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 14th, 2011, 4:26 pm

I in dat!!!!!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 14th, 2011, 7:20 pm

Right... start the roll call then...

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 14th, 2011, 7:29 pm

scene! brian! make sure u come eh!! does be rell boss..!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 14th, 2011, 11:36 pm

lighthammer wrote:Right... start the roll call then...

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage

right, I will make a pass sometime either Thurs or Fri to ensure the trail is still there and not graded down to a smooth road.. lol

I will also be working both this Sat and Sun 11/7 shift, so you guys will have to meet me either in Fyzabad, Santa Flora (by the Petrotrin main offices) or Siparia and we will head up from there..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 15th, 2011, 6:14 am

3stagevtec wrote:

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage

right, I will make a pass sometime either Thurs or Fri to ensure the trail is still there and not graded down to a smooth road.. lol

I will also be working both this Sat and Sun 11/7 shift, so you guys will have to meet me either in Fyzabad, Santa Flora (by the Petrotrin main offices) or Siparia and we will head up from there..

Ok cool, sounds like a plan.
How's Morne Diablo trail looking?

What about Devil's Woodyard?

So Jeremy and 3stage taking point this time :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 15th, 2011, 6:21 am

Jeremy Mohd wrote:In on the 20th run.

On the Toco run there is a drit/gravel road on the right before you reach the lighthouse. Most of it is graded now, but when you reach closer the beach, you need a 4x4. It leads to 2 beaches (one if you take the left, one if you take the right) that most people dont know exists. (Well the folks who tend to think the only beach and river is Maracas and Caura)
Shark river is really nice run too. From Piarco to there is around 90km one-way.

Along the way there is alsothe Matura National Park...; Realllll interesting; long roads through the forest. (I trying to source a map of it). It extends from Salybia all the way past Toco then headings towards Matelot side. I am hoping the roads are connected so that you can drive in from Salybia then come out somewhere either closer to Toco side or more west closer to San Souci/Grand Riverre through these roads.

This will be an interesting run.
All we need to do is scout it and make sure it safe for the rest of the fellas to make it through, as well as to familiarize ourselves with the route.

Might be one of the bigger runs for us - i suggest we take it in the dry season, to ensure most of us will be able to tackle it?

If we could combine this run, with a night of turtle-watching (i.e. an entire weekend run!!) while staying up that side at either a beachhouse or a local hotel/guest house.... that would be fantastically epic!!

But safety and navigation first.
I'm looking forward to this one!

droppa

Postby droppa » March 15th, 2011, 8:45 am

hopefully by weekend we will get some rains down south.....heheh...

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 15th, 2011, 2:51 pm

lighthammer wrote:
Jeremy Mohd wrote:In on the 20th run.

This will be an interesting run.
All we need to do is scout it and make sure it safe for the rest of the fellas to make it through, as well as to familiarize ourselves with the route.

Might be one of the bigger runs for us - i suggest we take it in the dry season, to ensure most of us will be able to tackle it?

If we could combine this run, with a night of turtle-watching (i.e. an entire weekend run!!) while staying up that side at either a beachhouse or a local hotel/guest house.... that would be fantastically epic!!

But safety and navigation first.
I'm looking forward to this one!

I drove through from the side after San Souci.. but only went so far. Some of the roads are old pitched roads, some are mud with grass overgrown. Drove for about 2km, but then got kinda scared as it was just me and the gf. None of the roads seem to be dead end anytime soon though. I'll be in Toco on the 28/29/30; will do some more exploring then..

Real excited for this run too.. there are so much places up that way to explore.. waterfalls/rivers/random trails/sandyy beachess.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 15th, 2011, 2:55 pm

lighthammer wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage

Ok cool, sounds like a plan.
How's Morne Diablo trail looking?

What about Devil's Woodyard?

So Jeremy and 3stage taking point this time :)

*goes to find morne diablo on google earth*
:) Dont know that side too well.

I might be in Rio over the weekend though, so I will meet you guys somewhere on the way to meet 3stage.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 15th, 2011, 8:45 pm

This was a PITA to find...

http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.106751,-61.417605&spn=0.008239,0.009645&t=f&z=17&ecpose=10.10673035,-61.41760526,726.96,-0.134,0.185,-0.013&lci=com.panoramio.all

The houses you see there represent the start of the trail OR the end of Bunsee trace. Head north up the map and you will see Penal Rock Road.. Head south and all you will see is mud trails..

It's insanely difficult to spot the volcano's on the amp..
Last edited by 3stagevtec on March 15th, 2011, 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 15th, 2011, 8:49 pm

If you follow the trail south enough, you will see it will eventually reaches the beach..

http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.089044,-61.40255&spn=0.00412,0.004823&t=f&z=18&ecpose=10.08902861,-61.40254977,589.76,-0.132,0.185,-0.013&lci=com.panoramio.all

I believe the white spots in the middle of this page is where the mud volcano's are..

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » March 15th, 2011, 10:37 pm

Guys I am out....I will be offshore on Sunday :(
So have fun guys and be safe......

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 15th, 2011, 11:44 pm

hmm dat far dred..!

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 15th, 2011, 11:52 pm

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage

I AM NUMBER SIX!!!
still hadda go see dat movie....but u guys NEED to go see Hall Pass!! ah was literally in tears :lol:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 16th, 2011, 5:46 am

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage
6. mrcuddles

any more takers?

All are welcome, not just "side b" :) :)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 16th, 2011, 6:29 am

Just to give you all a heads up = Sunday 20th is Phagwa!. So if you want your van to be abire free - stay far from any grounds where the festivities are taking place.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 16th, 2011, 6:47 am

^^^ nah the mud will protect us :D.

Anyway guys... the meeting point is Gulf View KFC carpark, meeting time is 8:30AM. We leaving at 9:00 AM, so be there!

Once the list finalized, anyone on it who don't have my number, PM me and I'll give u my contact details.

Bring allyuh shovels, pickaxe, garden boots, etc. cuz I hear it gonna have level mud on that side :).
Also bring some recovery gear, straps, shackles, tow-ropes, etc.
Don't forget the coolers full of drinks and some food, snacks if u like.

Also, if anyone has hand-held radio's, please bring them - they always prove to be handy for communication between vehicles. I'll definitely be bringing mine, and I know 3stage has his as well.

Once again... list is as follows:

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage
6. mrcuddles

droppa

Postby droppa » March 16th, 2011, 11:12 am

for the guys from north, east and west we can link at monroe rd or price plaza and move down together.....

btw wat is the run.........

gulf view to quinam and devils woodyard???

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 16th, 2011, 11:30 am

Gulf View to Quinam Beach, through that new trail.
Then from there back to the main road and we'll try to make it through to Morne Diablo.

Hear it's got loads of mud to go through..... good possibility of sticking in the mud.

droppa

Postby droppa » March 16th, 2011, 11:43 am

well it raining like that in POS so i eh know if them cloud will go down south.....

claries

Postby claries » March 16th, 2011, 11:52 am

hey 4x4 fans i want to know if i can tag along.My problem is I've never had any offroad experienced so i might be first to stick plus what recovery gears i should aquire and where they can be bought.I drive a B2500 4x4

droppa

Postby droppa » March 16th, 2011, 12:02 pm

in bob barkers voice "claries, come on down"

jus link up with us as where u coming from and get the details, pm lighthammer......

as for the reco gear, u can walk with what LH said above.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 16th, 2011, 12:09 pm

claries - the essential gear may include the foll:

- tow rope 15-25feet long or snatch-straps with shackles
- shovel
- garden boots
- flashlight
- bottle of water/drinking water (maybe 2-3 litres)
- walkie talkie (if u have a pair)
- first aid kit
- small tool kit incl. 10,12,14 spanners, locking pliers, pliers, phillip's + flat head screw drivers
- complete jack & spare tire kit with changing tools

Other than that, just the basic stuff for a lime
- food
- snacks
- cooler full of drinks
- co-driver or navigator (Gf's and wives do very nicely here)

We'll have a couple of experienced 4x4-drivers on the run with us, and safety is always first priority with FUN as a close second!

As far as driving techniques go, most of us have a little bit of experience going off-road, but there's always room for improvement.
I found a few articles here on the http://www.4wdaction.com australian off-roading magazine about driving properly off the paved path.

Tackling a series of challenging ruts is great fun, but it always pays to have a closer look before tearing into them. Consider the lines that are available and how the truck will react to these lines. When looking at ruts, try to see the route in your head – it’s a bit like imagining where the water would run down the hill when it rains. The rule is to plan at least three moves ahead and to have already walked the track to form an overall plan of the entire attempt.

The most important aspect to rut driving is to know the underside of your vehicle intimately – where are the diff pumpkins located on the axles, what else hangs down below the chassis rails, and where other vulnerable components are.

When going downhill on wet slippery mud, it can be a real advantage to stay in the ruts. In this situation, the ruts are often the only thing that keeps your 4WD on the right track. Avoid using the brakes wherever possible, so idle down in first gear, relying on engine braking. If the wheels start to slide out of control, a little throttle can help to recover grip and direction.

Source Article: http://www.4wdaction.com.au/articles/tips-and-techniques/44582-stuck-rut

And more from the same article....

...Driving at the edges of ruts can allow the shoulders of tyres to find traction. To successfully use this technique involves turning the wheels as if trying to drive out of the ruts, but only using enough steering lock to catch the outer front edge of the tyre on the rut edge. This can give the tyres something to find traction on, while the ruts themselves act like rails. If muddies are fitted, then the more aggressive side biting treads will have a greater effect with this technique....

...... If traction is lost in muddy sections, then working the steering from left to right can find grip where there isn’t much traction. Maintaining forward momentum is the key to successfully getting through muddy ruts, but there needs to be a balance between enough speed and too much speed......

...Always use a smooth throttle action and gently feed in power when required.....

Return to “Off Road Runs”