Side B - Indian Arrival Day, Morne Diablo Part 2!!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Re: Side B - Indian Arrival Day, Morne Diablo Part 2!!

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2012, 11:38 am

droppa wrote:paul dont worry, Side-B will teach you how to handle that beast of urs

that stick you get last time is childs play, one of our 2wd could come out that.....

jus listen to me and you sure not to get stuck!!!!!!!

He's not kidding, we actually had 2WD men (on low profile tyres) in Morne Diablo already! Don't rush to change tyres for the run, come as is and you'll be surprised at what they can really do..

.z.

Postby .z. » May 26th, 2012, 5:03 pm

"one of our 2wd could come out that....."

like u guys have somethin hidin????

Z

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2012, 6:41 pm

.z. wrote:"one of our 2wd could come out that....."

like u guys have somethin hidin????

Z

Some say that man was driving a Toyota.. and have an unquenchable thirst for mud.. :lol:

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 27th, 2012, 7:30 am

LMAO....And since that day he bought two 4x4's and hasn't found a cure for his muditis other than the mud!!! He.......needs.......MUD!!!!

.z.

Postby .z. » May 27th, 2012, 7:48 am

rottedv wrote:LMAO....And since that day he bought two 4x4's and hasn't found a cure for his muditis other than the mud!!! He.......needs.......MUD!!!!

?It makin a showin 4 this event?

Z

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » May 27th, 2012, 5:02 pm

AASTRA wrote:1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Bobvis
6. Markymark
7. Smeed
8. Paullct
9. Rottedv and better 0.9999999
10.Chelsea29
11. DooMRR (RuNuL)
12. Aastra
13. Trevor

droppa

Postby droppa » May 27th, 2012, 5:35 pm

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Bobvis
6. Markymark
7. Smeed
8. Paullct
9. Rottedv and better 0.9999999
10.Chelsea29
11. DooMRR (RuNuL)
12. Aastra
13.Hulk
14.Trevor
15.Jon One
16. Brianr20v
17. Chinee (tentative if brian done lifting his van and given the all clear))
18.Monsterrocky (tentative if his 4wd fixed)

wayss almost 4X........................................................................internet connection lost

Postby 3stagevtec » May 27th, 2012, 8:17 pm

I see Brian moving real fast with Chinee build, so it seems a 3rd zuki will be terrorizing the trails this holiday..

Would like to see the Rocky out on the trail too, whatta buy that truck was! Wish I had found such a deal myself..

Droppa, we'll have to work on that internet connection of yours.. :rofl:

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 27th, 2012, 8:29 pm

BTW....How did this thread end up in the announcements?

droppa

Postby droppa » May 27th, 2012, 10:31 pm

some kewl mod did some cleaning up in here and dislodged all the old stickies, looks like only current runs will stay there until they start to get cold!!!!!!

thank you mr. mod, was about time!!!!!!!!!!

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » May 28th, 2012, 10:29 am

Which beach are we going to?
Last edited by chelsea29 on May 28th, 2012, 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 28th, 2012, 1:06 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
droppa wrote:paul dont worry, Side-B will teach you how to handle that beast of urs

that stick you get last time is childs play, one of our 2wd could come out that.....

jus listen to me and you sure not to get stuck!!!!!!!

He's not kidding, we actually had 2WD men (on low profile tyres) in Morne Diablo already! Don't rush to change tyres for the run, come as is and you'll be surprised at what they can really do..

Okay thanks guys. I think I have an idea of what they can do.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 28th, 2012, 1:11 pm

^ and you didn't even invite us.. :(

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 28th, 2012, 2:58 pm

if you guys are interested, it's actually a trail that my friends and i discovered some years ago that leads to a waterfall in balandra. the waterfall is a real cool place to lime and swim and there's a nice, high plunge into the water for those who like that kinda thing.

now, because i only go with my truck, and everyone just hops in the tray, it's fine, but there really isn't any parking if let's say, a group of trucks heads up. the track is really narrow and i just park in a little ditch off the side of the trail while we're at the falls. i mean if it's three or four trucks, i'm sure we could figure something out. the trail itself is relatively short but when i went on saturday, the mud was literally like quicksand. if you guys really wanna make a small lime and head up anytime i'm cool with that.

i go off road regularly but i never really thought about inviting you guys :oops: haha but yeah i'm up for it anytime. i'm actually heading to las cuevas tomorrow if anybody is interested.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 28th, 2012, 4:50 pm

this is on the way up to the waterfall. i managed to snap a couple pics when i got out of the truck to assess my "sticky situation"

i was the only vehicle there so i had no choice but to maneuver my way out of it. took me well over 15mins of rocking back and forth, etc to get out. but i'm learning as i go.

i will take some pics of the actual waterfall (which is beautiful!) next time i go up

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » May 28th, 2012, 5:55 pm

i don't mind taking a drive to the water fall!

bobvis

Postby bobvis » May 28th, 2012, 7:48 pm

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Markymark
6. Smeed
7. Paullct
8. Rottedv and better 0.9999999
9.Chelsea29
10. DooMRR (RuNuL)
11. Aastra
12.Hulk
13.Trevor
14.Jon One
15. Brianr20v
16. Chinee (tentative if brian done lifting his van and given the all clear))
17.Monsterrocky (tentative if his 4wd fixed)

Sorry guys,,, will not be able to attend,,, my day off was not granted,,, maybe I'll meet you down there if possible...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 28th, 2012, 8:06 pm

If all else fails... air-down your tyres to about 18PSI.
That should be enough to get you out, yet have enough pressure to get you to a gas station (or just carry an air compressor with you!)

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 28th, 2012, 8:13 pm

lighthammer wrote:If all else fails... air-down your tyres to about 18PSI.
That should be enough to get you out, yet have enough pressure to get you to a gas station (or just carry an air compressor with you!)

thanks for the advice LH. i'll definitely remember that if ever it becomes necessary. i go to that waterfall fairly regularly.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 28th, 2012, 9:17 pm

My bro's Mazda is identical to yours and he runs as low as 14psi when on difficult trails, you'd be amazed at the extra traction gained by airing down. because of this, it is a technique we use often to get through the difficult stuff, so it makes owning a portable air compressor very useful..

If we get favourable conditions in MD, you will get the opportunity to try it out for yourself.

Look for our old trip to Santa Flora, everyone was running ATs at that time and the only reason we made it through that trail was because we aired right down..

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 28th, 2012, 9:30 pm

bobvis wrote:Sorry guys,,, will not be able to attend,,, my day off was not granted,,, maybe I'll meet you down there if possible...

Man....Fleck Wok oui!!!! ah man cyar get sick or wah!!!!

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » May 28th, 2012, 11:56 pm

rottedv wrote:
bobvis wrote:Sorry guys,,, will not be able to attend,,, my day off was not granted,,, maybe I'll meet you down there if possible...

Man....Fleck Wok oui!!!! ah man cyar get sick or wah!!!!

try to at least leave work early nah boy! my father jumping out too!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 29th, 2012, 9:09 pm

Ok guys, just a lil last minute briefing for tomorrow's run....

Tomorrow's route will include entering from Morne Diablo beach area to take an alternate path to the Morne Diablo Mud Volcano. This trail is known to be grade 2-3, so expect mild - moderate difficulty getting through the trail. If we have inclement weather... Well it might turn into a grade 3+ trail.

Remember all your recovery gear, including straps/chains/rope/shackles... First aid kits, Flashlights, cutlass and shovel.... Also don't forget to bring sufficient food and drinks for the day.

Of course you'll need your high boots as well, for better traction in the mud.

One last vital piece of equipment if you have it - Air Compressor. We're expecting to do some airing down of tyres to get better traction.

Meeting Point - KFC GULF CITY CARPARK
Meeting Time - 8:00AM
Departure Time - 9:00AM

droppa

Postby droppa » May 29th, 2012, 9:38 pm

boots and change of clothes is a must for tomoro!!!!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » May 29th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Lay down some news papers / plastic sheets etc inside your vehicle and cover all carpets, when you enter / exit a vehicle often on such trails, you tend to bring in a lot of mud with you..

Check your engine oil level, transmission fluid level, wind shield washer fluid and also make sure all your rubber hoses are in good condition. Make sure your battery is well secured (properly clamped). If you have a known mechanical problem with your vehicle, walk with appropriate spare parts / tools to do repairs if required.

Fill up on drinking water, pack spare cloths / a towel, whatever recovery gear you may have and make sure and get a good rest tonight.. If you are reading this now, go sleep!

Be careful on the way to the meeting point and see you all tomorrow!

Rene

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » May 30th, 2012, 12:25 am

Have a safe one Guys n Gals, looking forward to seein some awesome pics of Side B ripping up the trail...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 30th, 2012, 1:46 am

I still on work.... Night shift pumping!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » May 30th, 2012, 5:35 am

WAKE UPPPPPPP!!!!!!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 30th, 2012, 6:18 am

lets do this, morning looking nice!!!!!!

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » May 30th, 2012, 6:24 am

Roger that. Today's going to be fun.

Return to “Off Road Runs”