Side B South Run to Morne Diablo!!! Updates!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

mirk143

Re: Side B South Run to Morne Diablo!!!

Postby mirk143 » March 24th, 2013, 11:54 am

1.Chote
2.droppa
3.stage (ride along)
4.fazman
5. sliderz1
6.Adil (purple frontier)
7.Rottedv + better 0.999999998
8.James (witeboye211)
9. civic_minded
10.Jimmy Font
11. Rossi (green lux)
12. Amrit

witeboye211

Postby witeboye211 » March 24th, 2013, 12:53 pm

any word on the meeting place and time yet?

rottedv

Postby rottedv » March 25th, 2013, 8:02 am

Check Page 1...Post Updated Folks.

droppa

Re: Side B South Run to Morne Diablo!!! Updates!

Postby droppa » March 25th, 2013, 1:02 pm

Date: Saturday 30th March 2013
Time: 8:30AM Sharp!
Meeting Place: KFC Gulf View Car Park

doubt we will make that that 830 cut, esp as its a saturday morning, so u guy can go ahead if u want, we will catch up.......

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » March 25th, 2013, 11:17 pm

So i would like to go....but i got little experience drivin offroad with 4x4..lol, sure i dont got the right tires and stuff to make it yet..

Postby 3stagevtec » March 25th, 2013, 11:40 pm

nos_specialist wrote:So i would like to go....but i got little experience drivin offroad with 4x4..lol, sure i dont got the right tires and stuff to make it yet..

Feel free to fall in and don't worry about tires etc. The trail is dry and easily accessible, you should be able to make most of it in 4x2.. What it will offer is a nice location to get to learn your vehicle with its dexterity..

Morne Diablo in the dry is one of the best places to get to learn to drive off road because of how dynamic the terrain is there.

Walk with adequate food / drinks / sun screen / basic meds / a tow rope and proper foot wear for walking in the forested areas. Don't forget your camera and FRS Radios (if you have any).

btw, we've had guys drive in there with 4x2s already and they made it all the way with careful driving and by paying attention to their wife's navigational instructions.. :lol:

rottedv

Postby rottedv » March 26th, 2013, 6:29 am

3stagevtec wrote:btw, we've had guys drive in there with 4x2s already and they made it all the way with careful driving and by paying attention to their wife's navigational instructions.. :lol:

Weeeeeey!!!!!.....Dais a low blow eh....lol
Last edited by rottedv on March 27th, 2013, 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

droppa

Postby droppa » March 26th, 2013, 10:07 am

truth hurts!!!!

lolol

buh nos_specialist, this is a good learning run for you, its not muddy, mostly dry, will give for some good dexterity and handling challenges, you will definitely learn a thing or two about the jeep, try not to ride alone, get a rider, a female self, wear some long pants and shoes, and we hitting a beach, so u can walk with a change if u like, bring food and drinks, no alco please.....

be sure to check all fluids, belts, hoses and make sure everything good and stable to make the run...

oh and clear the day, Side B runs usually go into the evening, yeah its that much fun......

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » March 27th, 2013, 8:09 am

I will have to pass on this trip, sadly....lemme do some improvements on the van first...thennn i will fall in.

droppa

Postby droppa » March 27th, 2013, 8:32 am

boi, i eh trying to chain yuh up eh but this run is easy now, yuh will get a good feel of the van and there will be guys to support you tru.....

Postby 3stagevtec » March 27th, 2013, 10:24 am

We serious, it's an easy run so you don't have to be worried. The reason we hold these easier runs is to keep encouraging the newer guys to join in and have fun with their 4x4s.. These are specifically chosen for stock vehicles!

The 4x2 pickup we were making fun of (rottedv's Hilux) drove through on low profile tyres and made it all the way without roughing up the van. He did get stuck once though, but that was because he disobeyed his wife's directions.. :lol:

droppa

Postby droppa » March 27th, 2013, 10:45 am

^^agreed, later on in the year these trails will be more difficult, cause not only Side B use them, when other clubs and log skidders pass tru is more pressha......

witeboye211

Postby witeboye211 » March 27th, 2013, 12:53 pm

here's what guys, i aint comin back from offshore in time to change my tires for this. do any of yawl think that almost bald H/T tires wud make it thru the trail? i've been thru cuevas with them no problem once i take the right line but i've never been on this trail. what u guys recommend? BT-50 we tlkin bout here tho.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » March 27th, 2013, 8:54 pm

As the guys said......My 4x2 Hilux were on Nexen 17 HT.....Thats Right..........And I made it through and out without much of a hitch......

witeboye211

Postby witeboye211 » March 27th, 2013, 9:25 pm

alright well sounds good.

.z.

Postby .z. » March 28th, 2013, 7:09 am

Delete
Last edited by .z. on March 29th, 2013, 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

witeboye211

Postby witeboye211 » March 28th, 2013, 8:42 am

thats why im asking, i wanna get to kno the trail but im skeptical about my tires. like i said, they're bald H/T's

Postby sliderz1 » March 28th, 2013, 11:20 am

the guys will make a decision call if things get iffy.
no worries man you safe

droppa

Postby droppa » March 28th, 2013, 12:27 pm

last word from the penal side was just more light showers, so lets hope that inside the forest itself did not have any downpours, so we will still on.....

witeboye211

Postby witeboye211 » March 28th, 2013, 5:40 pm

sounds good

rottedv

Postby rottedv » March 29th, 2013, 8:48 am

Weather looking nice...Yesterday south was sunny and today its already shaping up to be the same.....

However,

I do not understand the all the hype in the rain......except for mud (Yay)......The executives of Side B will make a decision based on weather conditions and type of rigs and their equipment as they have done countless times in the pass.....to guarantee ppls safety and the rigs integrity....Also even tho you have signed up for a run, this doesn't mean that you must go......The decision is ultimately yours.......

So come prepared to have a fun filled run, safe and relaxing......Remember walk wit everything mentioned....

witeboye211

Postby witeboye211 » March 29th, 2013, 11:00 am

the way things going, doesnt look like im coming. im stuck offshore. hopefully next time guys

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » March 29th, 2013, 9:20 pm

I have a stock hilux, and I have road stone ht tyres and I have made it on this trail with heavy rain. Droppa remembered, we came out of the forest in d dark ,but it was fun fun fun.....
We on for tomorrow Aastra and crew

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » March 29th, 2013, 10:39 pm

mirk143 wrote:1.Chote
2.droppa
3.stage (ride along)
4.fazman
5. sliderz1
6.Adil (purple frontier)
7.Rottedv + better 0.999999998
8.James (witeboye211)
9. civic_minded
10.Jimmy Font
11. Rossi (green lux)
12. Amrit
13.Nos_Specialist...... YEA I IN..

Postby 3stagevtec » March 29th, 2013, 11:03 pm

Place still dryyyy... a lil rain won't hurt. *does rain dance*

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 29th, 2013, 11:32 pm

^^^ i going and wash down the ole' datsun now!!!

*tempts fate*

rottedv

Postby rottedv » March 30th, 2013, 6:02 pm

Real nice and easy run. Hope the new guys enjoyed themselves. That was probably the easiest that trail would ever be. Hope to see you guys on other runs.

Pics and write up soon.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 30th, 2013, 6:11 pm

Flex challenge winner - rossi

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » March 30th, 2013, 6:30 pm

WHOYY....Lucy Survived.....even tho she got stuck comin back up the hill....ah slide into a ditch and needed a pull out...

But all in all, bess run dey fellas...

chote

Postby chote » March 30th, 2013, 6:39 pm

I real miss out fellas, my transfer case got stuck in neutral while shifting...still have to find the cause of the porblem, I believe it's the shifter bushing...
Next time for sure..

Return to “Off Road Runs”