Side-B Cedros Pt2,volcano found 16/09/12, pics up!!!!!!!!!!!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Toyopet

Re: Side-B Cedros Pt2, in search of the lost volcano 16/09/1

Postby Toyopet » September 15th, 2012, 10:26 pm

Roll Call!!!!!!

1. Droppa
2. MonsterRocky
3. Sal and Dave
4. 3stagevtec
5. Lighthammer
6. Dwayne
7. Jon_one
8. Aastra
9. Jeremy
10. Rottedv + Better 0.9999999
11.civic_minded
12. sliderz1 maybe in the passenger seat this time coaching a noob!
13.Zangeif B2500
14.Hulk Purple Frontier
15. DooMRR + Navigator
16.khameel + navigator
17. Toyopet(black isuzu)

200sx

Postby 200sx » September 16th, 2012, 12:21 am

1. Droppa
2. MonsterRocky
3. Sal and Dave
4. 3stagevtec
5. Lighthammer
6. Dwayne
7. Jon_one
8. Aastra
9. Jeremy
10. Rottedv + Better 0.9999999
11.civic_minded
12. sliderz1 maybe in the passenger seat this time coaching a noob!
13.Zangeif B2500
14.Hulk Purple Frontier
15. DooMRR + Navigator
16.khameel + navigator
17. Toyopet(black isuzu)
18. 200sx (grey smurf)lol!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 16th, 2012, 5:54 am

Wake up people ! Time to go in the bush!

droppa

Postby droppa » September 16th, 2012, 7:21 am

time to roll !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 16th, 2012, 7:28 am

Already leave home

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » September 16th, 2012, 9:34 pm

WE FOUND IT!

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » September 16th, 2012, 10:30 pm

Pics, lemme get some tums first dey...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 17th, 2012, 7:46 am

^^some pics are up on the side B page

droppa

Postby droppa » September 17th, 2012, 10:38 am

great run yesterday, exploration and excitement galore......

the run started off as the usual Side-B runs do, we met at Gulf View and had a lil meet and greet with some of the new guys who were joining us for their first run (16.khameel + navigator(black Ranger), 17. Toyopet(black isuzu), 18. 200sx (grey smurf))...with Side-B...

we rolled down to Cedros and entered the estate, a small decisions on how to approach was done by the run leaders with the assistance of some gmaps, played around the estate, in 2WD, some had to engage and we were soon on top a hill where we off scouting on foot and some in their jeeps, then a call was sent out, and with some slight shrub clearing we was at the Cedros volcano.......the other one a few steps away......it was good to see the guys working together and to see the mission was accomplished, we then left and went to the other side of the estate where the real fun was to be had.....

there were some epic stick-ages and then some still didn't engage yet!!!!!
of those stuck was doomrr, rottedv, bobvis, toyopet, lighthammer, 3stagevtec, obviously these guys were jus playing the @$$ and making full use of their 4X4 capabilities, must say great job to Khameel and his guys for the use of their straps and also those fells worked hard at clearing trenches for some speedy recovery......by this time everyone was really in need af the sea bathe, the tide was full, so no beach driving was possible, we took a dip in Columbus and then looked to make our way out.....upon reaching the creek there was alot of traffic from the waters crossing, we could have made it tru, but took the drive tru woodland and got out.....

it was a great day, real nice to have the new guys come along, hope u all had fun and we hope to see u all again on a next run.....now bring them pics.....

post pics here please......

Postby 3stagevtec » September 17th, 2012, 9:44 pm

Volcano pics on the Side B FB page..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 17th, 2012, 9:52 pm

gonna post some pics and a more detailed writeup inna bit.... copying some off mih camera now!

Postby sliderz1 » September 17th, 2012, 9:54 pm

good run, mission accomplished!

the heat + high humidity had its effects tho

edit;
had to use 4H to get myself out a couple times...

you could see my problem

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 17th, 2012, 10:20 pm

i cyah go on to macco book......... put some pics here naaaaaaaaaaah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 17th, 2012, 10:22 pm

@ sliderz1.......... dems slicks :shock: :shock:

droppa

Postby droppa » September 17th, 2012, 11:03 pm

a few shots from my xperia......

more to come again

droppa

Postby droppa » September 17th, 2012, 11:18 pm

ope condom style, no front drive shaft, 2WD IYMC!!!!!!!!!!!

more again to come

droppa

Postby droppa » September 17th, 2012, 11:29 pm

caption it!!!

droppa

Postby droppa » September 17th, 2012, 11:44 pm

on Columbus beach now........

Surf family growing!!!!!!!!!

rene goin outback style

ahhh finally done!!!!!!!!

lighthammer

Re: Side-B Cedros Pt2,volcano found 16/09/12, pics up!!!!!!!

Postby lighthammer » September 18th, 2012, 12:30 pm

^^ nice pics dey boi droppa!

Ok here's the full run report, in bullet points...

- Met up at gulf view kfc, the usual south spot. Good turn out of 13 vehicles, including a nissan-toyota connection who brought a new toy (that will be debuted at a future run!)... but what a vintage piece that he got!!
- someone brought a Mahindra Pikup... that we quickly dubbed the "Masala Machine". This was the 2.5L 4x4 version with the eaton mechanical rear-lockers..... we couldn't wait to get this one stuck in the coconuts!
- left at around 9:30am.... the niss-yota guy was real toting cuz he had to leave to go to work... next time buddy!
- made a couple stops along the way, one in Otaheite (is that correct??) to pick up some snacks and one at the Cedros fishing depot to wait for the Masala-men (who stopped off in Point to buy pizza and fried chicken).

After cedros, we headed straight for the coconuts. We stopped at the entrance of the trail to regroup and figure out where the lost volcano was on google maps.
Found the relative location after a while, which was a couple hundred feet away from our position, so we set off again. However, we had a little bit of fun along the way - we all decided to try the "2WD challenge" - everyone would do the trail in 2wd only, whoever had to engage 4wd would get real talks.... and what fun we had! Found a couple mud-pits along the way, and tore the place up going in 2wd and not movng an inch. Droppa was already handicapped since his front driveshaft wasn't installed.... so he went along in 2wd whether he liked it or not.

After some tire smoking and mud moving, we found the ridge for the volcano basin, approx 1/2 mile wide but surrounded by a tree line. We split into two search parties, one would try to hack their way through the trees and find a walkable path, while the others would drive around the perimeter of the ridge and try to find an alternate path to drive the vehicles through.
After about half an hour of searching, the first group gave up because the shrubbery was just too thick to walk through, even with machete's and cutlass. But with a little bit of luck, the second group found a hidden driveway between some of the trees, next to a marshy pit. We regouped in the middle of the coconut forest and headed into the surprisingly thick and dark underbrush, with trees growing into a heavy canopy over our heads. The sun was relentless all day, beating on us with merciless heat and the canop of trees was a welcome relief from the blast of heat.

Sure enough, the path lead straight to the volcano. It was quite overgrown, as if no one had visited for years, though we couldn't tell really. But the volcano was found, and there were two of them! Of course with all the dry weather we've had recently, the top crust was dry and walkable, however we opted to park the vehicles near the shaded trees.

After the midday heat and exploring the mud volcanoes, the group was lookng forward to some fun in the sand some more, and a beach-bath. So we headed out of the volcano fields and went back to the main road for a short blast down the pitch down to the rest of the estate. We soon found the entrance to the trail leading to the beach and proceeded to tear it up between the coconuts. The top soil was mostly sandy and dry, but underneath was a slushy, sandy trap. There were a couple soft pits that provided lots of entertainment for the guys and new-comers to retry the 2wd challenge..... needless to say almost everyone got stuck (in 2wd at least).

Finally we hit the beach at Columbus Bay at around 3:45pm. The water was at high tide and was so inviting, we had to take a bathe!

So, all in all, it was a successful run (we even hit water this time!).
We found the Lost Volcanoes, and had lots of fun splitting into search parties to do it and exploring the area. The 2wd challenge was a blast and the guys enjoyed letting loose all that horsepower. I'm sure that collectively, we must have all put about 60-80km on our odometers together just spinning in mud/sand.

Slight inconvenience on the way home though, there was water on the creek and lots of traffic, so we took a detour through Avocat from the Oropouche junction, to come out by Paria Suites. Long drive, lots of fun, and we definitely wanna do this again! (some saying that we might even have a treasure hunt for the new-guys next time in the coconuts!)

Side B - Keep On Truckin' !!!

200sx

Postby 200sx » September 18th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Noice run guyzzzz!

Willing to do another ASAP! As soon as I get some muuuuud tires! Lol!

Hats off to droppa and the burgundy jimny! For not engauaging 4wd! Lol! Well at least to the jimny! Cause droppa couldn't even engauge if he wanted to so triple "whoop" to him!

Postby sliderz1 » September 18th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Smeed wrote:@ sliderz1.......... dems slicks :shock: :shock:

when i tell dem fellas droppa Nexen have more tread than my ATs they laughed :shock: :lol: :lol:

droppa

Postby droppa » September 18th, 2012, 5:36 pm

soldier dem is driveway tires i rolling with eh, and dais why they wukking so good......

next run coming soon, for now we hadda deal with trailblazers on sunday first!!!!!!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 18th, 2012, 10:26 pm

looks like fun was had!!

de fellas wid de slicks WDMC!? dem ting not safe to drive with on de frickin road far less on a trail .... leave dem slicks and driveway tires home please!!

lol @ masala machine.

i knew sumting was missin from de under carriage pic droppa posted!!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 19th, 2012, 9:36 pm

So how did the mahindra perform ???

droppa

Postby droppa » September 19th, 2012, 10:18 pm

where yuh was boi, yuh cudda come down

spidervan

Postby spidervan » October 5th, 2012, 10:20 am

Yo yo when is the next run?

dlittlelion

Postby dlittlelion » October 5th, 2012, 10:51 am

looks like real fun!!!!!!

aidan

Postby aidan » October 7th, 2012, 9:30 pm

MonsterPower wrote:So how did the mahindra perform ???

I wana know the same thing!!!

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 7th, 2012, 9:54 pm

aidan wrote:
MonsterPower wrote:So how did the mahindra perform ???

I wana know the same thing!!!

Really well actually. They didn't engage 4x4 at all

.z.

Postby .z. » October 8th, 2012, 7:44 am

m, d curry machine might b up 4 someting more difficult???

Return to “Off Road Runs”