Side B - Exploration in Mahawal!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Re: Side B - Exploration in Mahawal!

Postby sliderz1 » July 14th, 2012, 10:23 pm

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. sliderz1
4. rottedv and d better 0.999999
5. Dwayne (Red Zuki)
6. Hulk (Purple Frontier)
7. chote
8. Bobvis

sorry

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » July 14th, 2012, 10:27 pm

chote wrote:Anyone have a onboard compressor? One of my tire will need some air before we leave KFC...all the gas station air hose missing down Debe.

yes,i have one you can use.

chote

Postby chote » July 14th, 2012, 10:51 pm

chelsea29 wrote:
chote wrote:Anyone have a onboard compressor? One of my tire will need some air before we leave KFC...all the gas station air hose missing down Debe.

yes,i have one you can use.

Nice! well in the morning for 8am

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 14th, 2012, 11:01 pm

anybody need company ?

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » July 15th, 2012, 7:19 am

Wake-up... Time to cure some Muditis... Esp mines... :-)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2012, 7:46 am

On the way now!

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » July 15th, 2012, 8:55 pm

some pics before we got dirty!
IMG00542-20120715-1056.jpg
IMG00541-20120715-1056.jpg
IMG00540-20120715-1044.jpg
IMG00539-20120715-1044.jpg
IMG00538-20120715-1015.jpg
IMG00537-20120715-1012.jpg
IMG00536-20120715-1012.jpg
IMG00535-20120715-1012.jpg

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » July 15th, 2012, 9:00 pm

pics after we got stink....well at least they did!
IMG00550-20120715-1333.jpg
IMG00549-20120715-1244.jpg
IMG00548-20120715-1243.jpg
IMG00547-20120715-1243.jpg
IMG00546-20120715-1243.jpg
IMG00545-20120715-1243.jpg
IMG00544-20120715-1057.jpg
IMG00543-20120715-1056.jpg

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » July 15th, 2012, 9:03 pm

more pics!
IMG00558-20120715-1339.jpg
IMG00557-20120715-1339.jpg
IMG00556-20120715-1339.jpg
IMG00555-20120715-1336.jpg
IMG00554-20120715-1335.jpg
IMG00553-20120715-1334.jpg
IMG00552-20120715-1334.jpg
IMG00551-20120715-1334.jpg

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 15th, 2012, 9:28 pm

Epic run...We didn't reach far but we had a lot of fun and mud!!!

That makes it two trails we haven't completed. We must go back and complete!!!!

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » July 15th, 2012, 10:08 pm

dayummmm I think I missed out yo!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » July 16th, 2012, 12:06 pm

Very Nice Trail!!
That small mud pit is funnn.

Mud washed off fairly easy when wet too, and unlike the last time we ventured into there, where it tured into concrete bascially.

Radiator already by Ishmel's, sourced a fan.
Should be back on the road by this evening.

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » July 16th, 2012, 2:29 pm

Great to hear Jeremy.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 17th, 2012, 2:46 am

Postby 3stagevtec » July 17th, 2012, 3:27 am

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 17th, 2012, 7:17 am

Great pics and vids man! Sorry about the jerk.......lol

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » July 17th, 2012, 7:33 pm

WOW i real miss out wish i could of made it :(

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 17th, 2012, 8:22 pm

Ok so, here's a small writeup on the run to Santa Flora/Mahawal.

Met up with a small crew that morning, just 8 vans this time. Waited for a couple stragglers and we were off by about 9:15Am towards Santa Flora.
Entered the Santa Flora trail in search of the Mahawal trail - none of us really knew where it was so we were on an exploration/scouting mission (hence the run's name!)

Found a couple side-roads that lead to nowhere, just some dead ends.
Eventually we got to the old logger's campsite that we were familiar with, having run through that area last March 2011 when we did our Santa Flora run.

We decided that the old trail we knew was too easy, so we went off on a second main trail that was supposed to lead towards Quinam Beach. We had been there before but had been stopped at a certain point where a tributary of the Mahawal river had eroded the trail too much to press on. We had heard that a new trail had been cut through, so we decided to try this trail again.

Our expedition didn't reach very far when we got to an innocent-looking mud-pit. We had crossed it before when it was dry, so we thought it would be a piece of cake again. Boy was I wrong.... i got through half of the pit ok, but towards the last section i seemed to have gotten hung up partly on a bank, and partly on a submerged & hidden log that wasn't tehre before. Took me a few tries, and some pulls on Imtiaz's Surf using a snatch strap to get me out, but I was out soon enough.

Next to try and brave the bog was Adil in the purple frontier - but alas, he too fell victim to the hidden obstacles in the deep slush pit. Imtiaz in the Surf and Jeremy in the hilux were able to make it through by staying on the right, riding the hard bank.

Our journey came to an end after the mud bog though.... unfortunately the river had passed through the trail and washed it out too badly for us to make it much further. To make matters worse, Jeremy's hilux was injured - apparently he had hit the slush a bit too hard, and the muck came up into the engine bay causing the clutch fan to shred itself to bits and gashing open the radiator in the process. After a short while of deliberation, it was decided by the group that we should tuck tail and limp home. We used Elvis's hilux to tow jeremy through most of the mud, as he had the best tyres and could pull him in lo-range gearing. After getting jeremy out, I had to fight again in the mud pit, got stuck temporarily on the same underwater log.

Luckily Imtiaz was still around to pull me out, using a snatch technique and heavy ARB snatch strap. After a few tugs, the big Navara was free and we limped back to the main road. Towed jeremy out of Santa Flora, through Fyzabad and San Fernando all the way back to the North.

So once again Side B was unable to hit water.... but we had loads of fun in some mud!! This is a usual thing for side B anyway, so we not diggin no horrors, only digging mud!!

keep On Truckin'!!

droppa

Postby droppa » July 17th, 2012, 8:37 pm

best run dey fellas, had to miss it, nex time for sure....

.z.

Postby .z. » July 18th, 2012, 8:44 am

"fell victim to the hidden obstacles in the deep slush pit"

one of the gravest dangers that x-ist in a teak field trail esp when logging ops r ongoing.

all sorts of things can b submerged in these pits, most common r tree parts, which can seriously impair both vehicle and man

Z

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2012, 9:00 am

^^ true!

We were lucky it was just a small log, and not anything more dangerrous

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2012, 10:09 am

0___0
how come adil didnt opt for his muds?
sweet pics

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 18th, 2012, 3:28 pm

Good to know that the vans made it out safe that looked like serious mud!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » July 19th, 2012, 5:22 am

whaaaaaaaaaaaaaat! looks like fun! man play brave and roll wid he chromeses!! dais wha we talking about!

I sending out an SOS.... anyone and I mean anyone who wants to play in a lil mud during 21st - 24th August please contact me!! dais all de free time I will have so I gotta give de lux a thorough mud bath before she parked down for a while! I will provide lunch for those interested (cheese paste and a chubby

and btw... how de presi datsun lookin sooo high??

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 19th, 2012, 11:05 am

Smeed, send meh yuh number nah bai....I think I have a shackle of yours.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2012, 12:04 pm

@smeed - cuevas and bake and shark, oooorrrrr?
Mickey mouse is now known as Godzilla, and even more upgrades are coming very soon!

droppa

Postby droppa » July 19th, 2012, 9:19 pm

yeah smeed, we go do something, jus link up wen them days come closer....

but come better than that chubby and cheese paste eh.......

Smeed

Postby Smeed » July 19th, 2012, 10:51 pm

@ rottedv - check pm

@ hammer - she lookin mean! wha odder plans u have? i will definetely be on de north coast for a couple of those days.

@ droppa - u know i go come plenty better dan dat dude!! curry in a hurry?

Return to “Off Road Runs”