Side B - Night Run to Paria!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

stingray316

Re: Side B - Night Run to Paria!

Postby stingray316 » April 17th, 2012, 8:23 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:
stingray316 wrote:Need to get mih radio... Any recomendations...

The max you are going to get is prob the 35 mile, suggest getting that.

I recommend the MidWay that Rene has, or the Motorola that I have.

Motorola comes with a rechargeable battery, or can take 3 AA's. And the charging port is the normal mini USB every me2 BB uses.

MidWay I beleive has all the same features as above.

Or you can just use a push2talk app on your Samsumg! Try Voxer or Zello.

Tried phone up there last time got no network coverage for data, so PTT wont work. Is there any where i can get the radio locally.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 17th, 2012, 11:03 pm

try radio-shack steve.....

@monster, time to bring out the rocky boi!!!!!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 18th, 2012, 12:40 am

droppa wrote:try radio-shack steve.....

@monster, time to bring out the rocky boi!!!!!!!

dem expensive bai! skybox ett in!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 18th, 2012, 12:46 am

.z. wrote:k. think i mixed up the trail with the Madamas trail ie via Brasso Seco

Z

The end of the Paria trail gets mildly challenging (for stock trucks). There is one guy who lives at the end of the trail, but he is very friendly and offers assistance to anyone who passes through.. real cool dude.

For all those who dreading the hike at the end, I gonna organize a special Side B Hike run for alyuh! :evilbat:

If anyone is interested in checking out the Lopinot caves, just lemme know.. :mrgreen:

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » April 18th, 2012, 8:34 am

3stagevtec wrote:
.z. wrote:k. think i mixed up the trail with the Madamas trail ie via Brasso Seco

Z

The end of the Paria trail gets mildly challenging (for stock trucks). There is one guy who lives at the end of the trail, but he is very friendly and offers assistance to anyone who passes through.. real cool dude.

For all those who dreading the hike at the end, I gonna organize a special Side B Hike run for alyuh! :evilbat:

If anyone is interested in checking out the Lopinot caves, just lemme know.. :mrgreen:

Last time I went in them cave this fella was there to greet us...

And here's a glimpse as to how dark and small it was, but this is one of many caves in the area...

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » April 18th, 2012, 9:32 am

3stagevtec wrote:

What you think about this one. Battery and battery-less operation...
http://www.amazon.com/Midland-75-822-Ch ... pg__header

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 18th, 2012, 11:40 am

We CAN park at the side with about 15+ vans and leave the roadway free - we did it already.
However the VANs are going to be out of visual and hearing range.

Fellas, no worries.
Once we park up, the vans will be locked, and we'll arrange shifts for two guys to walk with radios and flashlights to check the vans periodically....

Plus we not staying at Paria Beach too long, not safe to park up and walk for too long.

Cuevas is still readily accessible and the trail is graded slightly.
Tyrico is also another viable option for all of us to fit.

The Arima way is also open, but not repaired fully. I am positive a Ranger can pass as at Saturday.. (Lol.. the Nav might need to diet this week)

Nah man... the navarararara making dat normel!... this nav goes all the way!!

And I still have a VERY interesting side-trail to show allyuh, just for funsies!!! (will be even more scary in the D-D-DARK!!)

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 18th, 2012, 12:15 pm

I want to come!!!!! who leaving early????

Postby 3stagevtec » April 18th, 2012, 7:02 pm

stingray316 wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

What you think about this one. Battery and battery-less operation...
http://www.amazon.com/Midland-75-822-Ch ... pg__header

That's CB.. We use the FRS / GMRS bands..

I was never able to find them all in one unit though.

Did you know that the cave narrows down to the point where you have to crawl on your hands / feet to continue through. I never made it past that point though.. cockroaches! :skurry:

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » April 18th, 2012, 9:04 pm

Me too, turned around when i got to that point... I was pretty much on my own by this time, then i saw the roaches and his friends...

Will consider your advice. But still looking for a car based type...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 18th, 2012, 9:11 pm

stingray316 wrote:Me too, turned around when i got to that point... I was pretty much on my own by this time, then i saw the roaches and his friends...

Will consider your advice. But still looking for a car based type...

Same here.. Keep me updated if you find one..

droppa

Postby droppa » April 19th, 2012, 9:00 am

nothing to fear in lil roaches!!!!!

btw what time do you guys expect to be on the beach? tyrico or las cuevas?

i will not be able to come from the beginning, due to some family stuff, but will catch up with u all and may then ride out early, cause sunday i have to get some stuff done....

if flour more than water, then i may not make it all together!!!!!!

bobvis

Postby bobvis » April 20th, 2012, 11:24 am

Roll Call
1. 3stage
2. Droppa
3. Lighthammer
4. Stingray
5. Claries
6. DooMRR
7. AASTRA
8. aliman
9.Brianr 20v
10.FOX
11.Bobvis

.z.

Postby .z. » April 21st, 2012, 7:00 am

001.jpg
001.jpg (39.2 KiB) Viewed 4091 times

Guys, just read in today's newsday (sat apr 21) that there is a new bailey bridge 2 cross the marianne river.

However, into the article, a community representative shared some views and i think everyone (all offroaders) should be cognizant, and as much as possible traverse in a manner to minimise damage to the trail so we wont affect the relationship(s) we have/ can develop in the area.

Thread lightly!!!

Z

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » April 21st, 2012, 8:02 am

Is the bridge still passable after the scrap iron thieves pass thru?

.z.

Postby .z. » April 21st, 2012, 8:13 am

from what i gathered the thiefin take place when the bailey bridge was being built an the part was replaced. yerterday was the opening of the new bridge.

the old suspension bridge will be restored/ preserved and will be for pedestrian use.

Z

Postby 3stagevtec » April 21st, 2012, 8:29 am

Good info Z! Agreed with not destroying the terrain, the last thing we want to see is off roaders getting a bad name..

aliman

Postby aliman » April 21st, 2012, 10:35 am

i'm an idiot :) got to tru value parking lot at 8:45 am and waited until 9:30 then remembered its a night run

Postby 3stagevtec » April 21st, 2012, 11:30 am

aliman wrote:i'm an idiot :) got to tru value parking lot at 8:45 am and waited until 9:30 then remembered its a night run

Nawwwwww!!!!!!!!!! :lol: hard luck dey! Well at least you're already packed.. lol

Get a good rest today and see you tonight..

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 21st, 2012, 12:26 pm

Aliman take de cake dere!! Allyuh be careful as usual..... Make sure an wear shoes eh!! Not nice to tread on a creepy crawly, especially in de nite!! .... Yuh know somebody got intimate wid a "chinny worm" last run! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby sliderz1 » April 21st, 2012, 7:38 pm

have a safe run tonight guys.....hope the rain dont catch ya on the hike

droppa

Postby droppa » April 22nd, 2012, 12:26 pm

well i guess all these guys are sleeping or either cleaning down after last nights run, i heard it was a best night run, lets see how the pics look!!!!!

for all of us who missed it, next time for sure!!!!!!!

aliman

Postby aliman » April 22nd, 2012, 1:39 pm

yeah!!!that was alot for one run, was a challenge for my little hoopty and me but Side B guys and girls are the best, lots of help and advice. excellent run!!!
100_0448 (640x480).jpg
100_0450 (640x480).jpg
100_0452 (640x480).jpg
100_0449 (640x480).jpg
100_0446 (640x480).jpg
100_0445 (640x480).jpg
100_0443 (640x480).jpg
100_0442 (640x480).jpg

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 22nd, 2012, 7:07 pm

more!!!!!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 22nd, 2012, 7:11 pm

Good morning... or rather, Good Afternoon SIDE B!!

Phew, now wake up dey, went to sleep at 8:45am this morning after a BESSSSS night run!

This was a fantastic run, everyone had a blast running the lopinot/blanchisseuse/las cuevas route overnight and in the dark!

Also, I'm very proud to say that the guys who came on this run showed proper safety protocols and trail etiquette - all vehicles & drivers were WELL prepared for this type of run, followed instructions, kept good communications, worked as a team and looked out for each other while out there conducting our nighttime run operations.
Great job and a BIG congratulations to you guys and this is how a good, proper run should operate!!!

So... this is how it went....

Trail Preps & Safety Briefs
- Met up with everyone at Trincity Tru Value carpark. Most of the guys came on time, a couple latecomers including myself (I got there at 9:20pm) so we passed the time while waiting by helping FoxBrown install some new foglights onto his battle-rig BT-50.
- Left at around 10:15pm after everyone came and were briefed.
We made sure to set-up the convoy properly: two experienced & trail-familiar guys in front (I took point followed by 3stagevtec), the less experienced guys in the middle and two experienced guys in the back. Almost every truck had hand-held radios so we were in good communications. There were 3 winch-equipped vehicles, so we put one in front, one in the middle and one at the tail of the convoy. All resources were considered and spread out properly throughout the convoy to maximize safety. Also almost every vehicle came equipped with foglights & auxillary lighting and everyone had on their tall-boots & had plenty of flashlights/head-lamps as well as lanterns. We also had a bunch of cutlass and a bow-saw in case we ran into obstacles such as trees. However no one packed any salt & garlic in case the Lopinot Soucoyants came out to check us on the trail.

Trail Operations
- The drive from trincity to lopinot was light-hearted, with lots of radio chatter and joking around. THe guys were joking about looking out for Lagahoo's and soucouyants in the trees, while one guy reported feeling a cold hand on his neck and another man said to look out for a lady in a white dress as we were passing. The guy at the tail of the convoy said that behind him was completely pitch black and when asked what he would do if he saw a ghost, he replied that he would speed up and hug the bumper on the guy in front of him, bounce or no bounce. :D... either way they were lamenting over the radio about the lack of salt & garlic on this run.
Lopinot trail was relatively easy, mostly grade 2. Traversing the trail and going up the mountain went relatively smoothly. A couple points in time I got a bit hung up on some ruts where my stock suspension didn't have enough reach to get the tyres down into a rut, but all it needed was a slight change in the angle of approach and I was able to climb through the rut easily. The other guys made it through as well, and a couple other similar deep ruts along the mountain trail came up with little difficulty.
At the top of the lopinot trail by the lookout point, we stopped for a rest period and also to repair stingray316 steering rod which had slipped out of place. Everyone was in good spirits and had a lot of fun going up the lopinot trail. Pictures were taken and more jokes about little red eyes in the forest watching us (i didnt' see any eyes, but I did see a red light in the sky!!). Eventually we go through with the help of the master mechanics with us and we were off again.
There was a collapsed section of the Arima Old Road just after the junction to head into Brasso Seco, which fell due to landslides last Christmas. It had been mildly repaired and had just enough space for one vehicle to pass through at a time. Being point-man, I volunteered my Navara to see how much space we had to pass through. Using a couple spotters in front & back, I was able to make it with a foot of space on the drop-off side, so we knew the other vans had enough space to pass; which they did easily enough. (see pics below).
After that obstacle, we proceeded all the way down to blanchisseuse to the old spring bridge. It had been blocked off earlier this year but there was another bailey bridge that had been built which we were able to cross. Headed into the trail and made it all the way to the last house on the hill.
At this point, myself and 3stagevtec ordered all vehicles on the convoy to hold position and we would go ahead and scout the downhill section (where I had first gotten stuck, many moons ago). The guys complied and waited, while we crawled down in 4-LO and 1st gear to gauge the steep ruts. It was dry and passable, so we moved ahead and sent the message to move the trucks on down through the trail. This was an important safety demonstration especially on a night-time run, when familiar territory can become unfamiliar and weather/natural changes can happen on a trail over time. The guys appreciated it and had fun coming down the trail and heading towards the beach.

Just before we got to the end of the trail, there was a large tree that had fallen across the path and was blocking the road. 3stagevtec considered winching the tree out of the way, but we soon discovered that the path around the tree was driveable. Most of the other guys came up to the front and brought their cutlasses, flashlights and lanterns to help clear out the side-bush and some of the tree. After about half an hour of work, we were able to drive around the tree and proceeded to the end of the trail. Everyone made it and parked up and got ready to head to the beach. I volunteered to stay behind with my sleeping navigator to watch over the trucks. Everyone took their flashlights and hiked the short 5 min downhill trail to the beach to enjoy themselves for half an hour. In the meanwhile, it was pitch black on the trail by the trucks, so I took out a couple of my mini lanterns and set up a light-perimeter at the front/middle rear with the lanterns, so I could see & keep an eye out on the trucks. armed with a knife and short-hatchet, in case anything came up. A couple of the guys had stayed behind to repair a broken number plate, so I had some company. This was at around 3:45am in the morning, with nothing but star-light and no moon in the sky.

After everyone came back up to the trucks, we had some coffee and then headed back out of the trail. 30 mins later we were out by the spring bridge and decided to head down to Las Cuevas to play in the mud before morning light came.

Made it into the las Cuevas trail.... and then all the guys' tiredness vanished. First to try and stick was aliman but he made it out with a little assistance. 3stagevtec then got himself stuck exactly where I told him he would and shouldn't go, but it was like adrenaline kept pumping through him. He eventually had to be winched out by foxbrown.. who himself went to wild-up in the deep mud-bog. His battle-ready BT50 made an epic show of blasting through the muddy water and up the bank of the deep mud-hole by the 2nd tree. Next, brianr20v threw his black-mamba into 4WD and thundered through the mud, splashing muddy water everywhere.

After all the last bit of excitement, our final reward came when we parked up on Las Cuevas beach to see the wee hours pass and sunrise come over us. Everyone relaxed, some bathed, some had coffee, I made a fire and some tea, some chilled and ole-talked. We were all talking about how much fun the run was and remembering the night's events. Watching the sun rise over Las Cuevas Beach was one of the best parts of the run and a fantastic end to a wonderful night's experience. And better still, we still had the trail to go through again and more mud to splash through. We bid our final goodbyes and congrats at the exit of the Las Cuevas trail, then headed home. Some went to a carwash in Curepe, others went home or stopped to buy breakfast (doubles).

All-in-all... this was an awesome run and I'm proud of the Side-B guys for conducting themselves in a professional manner, keeping up the high-standard Side B has set. This wasn't a hardcore offroad run like some of the other clubs do, but it was a fantastic experience that won't be soon forgotten.

So.... when we goin again?????

Enjoy the pics here... I'm just sorry I couldnt' take enough shots for the entire run(was too busy in front directing the crew).

SIDE-B... KEEP ON TRUCKIN'!!!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 22nd, 2012, 9:18 pm

wow, nice lights boi, some of them real bright.....glad you guys had fun and all went well, we were gonna come up with blu, but man was real tired......

im not seeing pics of the defence force hilux man, is dat i wanna see.........

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 22nd, 2012, 9:45 pm

Waaaaaaaaaaaaays!! Congrats guys on another safe run! I reaaaaaaal missed out!

Lovin de last pic dere hammer. Alsi I seeing real men in shoes, so dais good.

Ohho and fox lookin mean!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 23rd, 2012, 5:20 am

Great write up as usual El Presidente!!! All I could do is cry!!!! Miss out is not the phrase!!!! More like dumb asses for not attending...Good work guys!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 24th, 2012, 2:49 am

Really enjoyed this night run. It's an all new experience in the dark. I say we could make another one of these again. Wayyy too much fun. Also I finally got a chance to use my roof lights. This was the most about of usage they ever got. Glad I found out that they work well. The only sad thing was that I didn't get a chance to assemble the custom home made, TopGear style tent in my tray. Oh well, there is always next time.

Here are some of my pics...

Hmph. Yea right...

This wasn't much of a worry. When we inspected it, even the fat waist Navararara can pass with more than a foot of room to spare.

Long way down... I tried using the flash on my phone but this was all I got...

Brian and me ended up turning this run into a day run.

Bush man Ameel.

Lighthammer and his 2 suns... When you see these 2 hazards on, make room. Big truck passing...

Some friendly wildlife. Glad we didn't encounter some unfriendly wildlife. Except Brian, he found some scary wildlife walking up his foot (and the occasional girl in the white dress).

The best picture I could get in Paria Beach using my phone. It was so dark, all my eyes could see was the outline of the hills and giant rocks in the sea.

The end result...

Pantos

Postby Pantos » May 9th, 2012, 12:54 am

That last part before the 5 minute walk to the beach, did you guys come across a piece of iron stake hammered into the trail? Right before the trail becomes impassable by a vehicle? Did anybody notice?

Return to “Off Road Runs”