Side B - Indian Arrival Day, Morne Diablo Part 2!!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Smeed

Re: Side B - Indian Arrival Day, Morne Diablo Part 2!!

Postby Smeed » June 1st, 2012, 11:07 am

and finally........... dis is what happens when u miss an EPIC SIDE B RUN!!!!..............

CHESSBURN!!!!! bring de zantac!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
dis is what indian chess burn does look like.jpg
dis is what chinee chessburn does look like.jpg

droppa

Postby droppa » June 1st, 2012, 11:30 am

LMAO at then two last pics dan!!!!!

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » June 1st, 2012, 12:52 pm

Wayz sah, I had to take a handful ah Tums to watch them pictures yes...

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » June 1st, 2012, 3:01 pm

Whey sahh that was mud.I also took out 2 pig tail buckets of mud from the hilux. It was best and looking forward to the next one.
I am sending the hilux to do some body repairs next week and trying to get the tyres for the next run.
thanks again to smeed and droppa for the continued support and guidance.
IMG-20120531-00156.jpg
IMG-20120531-00155.jpg
IMG-20120531-00154.jpg
IMG-20120531-00153.jpg
Last edited by AASTRA on June 5th, 2012, 10:22 am, edited 4 times in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 1st, 2012, 5:53 pm

droppa wrote:i too am guilty of not having proper recovery gear, i have a cable, but elvis was yanking rene and it snapped, i think i will get some rope, a good length of 3/4 and some smaller shackles...

its been a while now we saying this, i think the guys who dont have better tires yet should do this first....

Wasn't me he was pulling with the cable.. I think it was aastra..

btw, aastra, yuh real get on with them HTs on that trail! man had them begging for mercy!

Postby 3stagevtec » June 1st, 2012, 5:57 pm

Smeed wrote:and finally........... dis is what happens when u miss an EPIC SIDE B RUN!!!!..............

CHESSBURN!!!!! bring de zantac!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ahahahaha!! men feeling it hard!

chote

Postby chote » June 1st, 2012, 9:33 pm

Yeah boi it hurting bad, I real miss out...next time next time

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » June 1st, 2012, 9:50 pm

That run was fun, epic, and with a lot of action.
Anywhere you look it was man and machine vs the mud.

AASTRA push through that trail with stock vehicle and HTs! and come out with the van covered in mud. it was good.

<<AASTRA navigator>>

Postby 3stagevtec » June 1st, 2012, 9:56 pm

Broke the front diff.. (something definitely went wrong, it should not have gave out that easily..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 2nd, 2012, 1:48 am

^^ what happened to the black jimny in the last vid at 3:00 sec? ?

rottedv

Postby rottedv » June 2nd, 2012, 6:44 am

Apparently Treavor didn't know how to put it in low range and he had it in high range and the lever slipped out to neutral...Man selling d van already oui!!

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » June 2nd, 2012, 3:18 pm

Yes fokes the black jimny is for sale,55k as is!

MonsterRocky

Postby MonsterRocky » June 2nd, 2012, 11:30 pm

hmmm i now watchin d vids and rememberin how much fun da run was!!!!!!!!!!!! i friggin dream d ting yes.......lmao (bess first run wit d rocky)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 3rd, 2012, 12:06 am

rocky get blessed with mud!
Nice lil baptism for it!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » June 3rd, 2012, 6:50 am

Rene bai, yuh really strain that front end by trying to pull Renul forward from there...I feel that was the reason for the damages. And Renul should have powered through there not go in slowly....Something was wrong with Renul that day oui.....Time for him to think about his ride!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 3rd, 2012, 7:26 am

He probably was... Considering what happened last time.

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » June 3rd, 2012, 8:04 pm

What do you guys recommend for shackles and rope?
I'd like to be more prepared for the next run.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 3rd, 2012, 8:31 pm

Ace_Maverick wrote:What do you guys recommend for shackles and rope?
I'd like to be more prepared for the next run.

Two shackles and either a nice marine type rope or a good sized strap will last long and handle the loads from rescue work.

Also, keeping a rope attached to your tow points makes things a lot easier and faster when doing rescues. That's why I left my tow strap tied / wrapped around the rear tyre..

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » June 3rd, 2012, 9:04 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Two shackles and either a nice marine type rope or a good sized strap will last long and handle the loads from rescue work.

Also, keeping a rope attached to your tow points makes things a lot easier and faster when doing rescues. That's why I left my tow strap tied / wrapped around the rear tyre..

Thanks for the info.
What's a good minimum size for the rope and rating for the strap?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 3rd, 2012, 9:25 pm

A strap with a 20,000lb rating would be great..

http://www.amazon.com/Keeper-02922-Vehicle-Recovery-Strap/dp/B00004Y61S/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1338772751&sr=8-11

A kinetic recovery strap is ideal! Chains / ropes that do not stretch can place excessive force on your vehicle and is likely to rip something off. A kinetic (or snatch strap) will stretch when pulled, then recoil back. The stretch absorbs the massive impact and the recoil is what actually frees a stuck vehicle..

Ask Bobvis what he thinks of them.. :lol:

.z.

Postby .z. » June 4th, 2012, 7:20 am

i normally keep 5/8 rope with me. all my rcovery on this trail was done with a single 5/8 rope
but would sometimes double by basketing for more strength>>>really bad bog downs.

General stores on the wharf in San Fdo has/ imports a good quality rope.

3/4 is better but they (gen stores) only sell this in coils.

Z

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » June 4th, 2012, 9:23 am

where can we get the schackles to buy?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 4th, 2012, 10:14 am

Check peakes, or bhagwansinghs. 5/8" is a decent size to start with - well, bigger is better but just make sure the eyebolt can still fit through your truck's tow points.

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » June 4th, 2012, 10:16 am

thanks Leo
i am also interested in changing the tyres for the next run,where can i get good all terrain tyres and prices?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 4th, 2012, 10:43 am

My two top recommendations for best all terrains:

1. BFG all terrain ko. That's what I'm running currently and that's what smeed (black Hilux who went with u guys) is running. Best all-round tyre for almost any terrain (bfg invented that category of tire eh!) and I've only been stopped by the stickiest of clay mud. Good on road manners both wet and dry, and good wear life too. Check quickserv or federals in south.

2. Kumho KL 78 All terrain. These have a nice, aggressive tread but retain good road manners. Very good tread life, had them on our frontier and they lasted morenthan 70,000km. A lil cheaper than the bfg but still a great tyre. Check Laughlin and Degannes or mileage Mack for them.

droppa

Postby droppa » June 4th, 2012, 11:41 am

AASTRA ditch those HTs and get some BFG ATs, you will be surprised how far they will take you, road noise is very low, they wear exceptionally well, and handle great in both wet and dry tarmac, jus they a bit more pricey, but they are well worth it!!!

buy some 5/8 or 3/4 rope, 60 ft is good, you will have enough, or can use it double to maximize its efficiency, easy to keep in the truck or tie up, and loads of online info wrt to splicing and ting...

Postby 3stagevtec » June 4th, 2012, 4:46 pm

3rd on the BFG ATs... Awesome off / on road tyre, it really does it all!

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » June 4th, 2012, 8:58 pm

Thanks guys, lots of good info here.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » June 4th, 2012, 11:55 pm

BFG AT..... Cyah get better dan dat!!! I also gonna look into de rope ting.... I like de idea of easily repairing it. If u want a kinetic strap check the guys at westbourne trading... Best prices!!

De shackles in bhags don't have any rating indications on them..... Seems kinda iffy to me. I believe Imtiaz got some proper shackles at SSL in Sando....might be more pricey but at least they will be the proper equipment for the job....yanking out a 2800 kg truck from deep mud puts a heck of a strain on both the equipment and the vehicle anchor points themselves, better be safe than sorry.

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » June 5th, 2012, 7:44 am

thanks for the info. i will follow up on getting these items for the next run.
Smeed where is westbourne trading, what is the tyre size you use on your van?

Return to “Off Road Runs”