Side B Birthday Run! Morne Diablo/Marack/Santa Flora!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

lighthammer

Re: Side B Birthday Run! Morne Diablo/Marack/Santa Flora!

Postby lighthammer » April 11th, 2012, 2:31 am

Lol @ ur codriver reaching wedding at 10pm.... Muddy too!?

Yeah boy, I real toting that I missed out on the run.....

*reaches for Acid tablets*

Postby 3stagevtec » April 11th, 2012, 4:20 am

Smeed wrote:but i ain't see nobody talk bout de most WTF moment of de run!!........ so imagine dis..... we climbing an "off camber" hill (slanted from left to right), with a HUGE rut (at least 2 feet deep) spanning 75% of the hill on de right side (from the summit downwards)... so is runul in front, then telfer, black jimny, aastra and me. just as i park up at the base waiting for the call on the radio to proceed, i hear a female voice over the radio saying in an urgent tone....." help needed, runul gone down in a rut... hurry up he stick real bad".

So yuh boy grab he boots and blade an running up de hill when i see telfer jump on runul's back left tire and bawlin.... "smeed........ we need some weight here bai...... he go tip over!!!!!

i was like wtf! I just seeing runul's puppy dog eyes staring out de back window and telfer gripping de back ah de van wid all he might..... de left rear tire was about 3 feet in de air!! i didn't know if i shoulda laff or scream for Droppa and de Ras rescue mobile!!

any how we managed to secure de back of de van to a teak tree wid a strap just to ensure he wouldn't tip and den de rasta mobile come down and winch him up..... once he was out and up de hill all ah we breathe a sigh of relief and waited a few minutes for our testicles to travel back down from below our throats to where they belong.......and BAM!! next man up de hill (telfer) went down in de same fricking rut!!..... however it wasn't too bad and de rasta mobile give a lil assistance and he made it up.

dem woulda be some epic pics..... buh we was busy wid de rescues.... (where's hammer when u need him eh?)

anyhow, was really an epic run...... was a feeling of genuine triumph when we made it to the road..... when we doing it again?!

was great fun and excitement..... sorry dat rene, jeremy and leo miss out...... next time for sure!!

Even my co driver had a blast, even though he reach de wedding at 10 pm :lol: :lol:

ok, I was holding my breath reading that!! WTF!!! 2 feet deep rut! back tyre 3 feet in the air!!! :faint:

I just want to thank telfer, smeed and any others for helping my bro out in that situation! If you all had not secured the back of the truck / hold down the the rear etc, it could have ended badly..

Excellent work guys!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 11th, 2012, 5:34 am

All dat take place???? Where I was bai? Oh right.....I was in the back almost last......Dat was some epic stuff there....When i reach that off camber I lock all to the left and press....Meh h going down there and as soon as I feel the van going to fish tail, I straighten up and I gone..Real ting dey bai Renul.....Great job Smeed and the rest..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 11th, 2012, 6:04 am

All kinda ting does happen in de dark eh..... Lol

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » April 11th, 2012, 7:04 am

It was great and so looking forward t othe next adventure. i have some pics to load will try and do it later on today. Thanks again for all the assistance from everyone who assisted us on the trail> the next move would be to change out the tyres for the next run.
Thanks again

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 11th, 2012, 8:06 am

Small ting bai..... We go never leave somebody stranded.... Even if yuh bamsee in de air or yuh bear hug a teak tree or yuh park up in a rut soo deep dat yuh cyan even open yuh door... We go get yuh out!!

For a group of amateurs I think we all did smashingly well!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 11th, 2012, 9:19 am

yup we really did well on this run, i have a vid where i can overhear Z saying, "allyuh fellas and dem ATs real surprise mih and doing real good in the back here"

when i heard runuls call i had jus climbed the last hill and was parked, soaking wet looking for clothes to change, so i tell ras go back for him, i could hear the fright in runuls voice.....

we really need to have more guys with straps and ropes for recoveries on their jeeps....

AND

we have to encourage people have a

co-driver/navigator/spotter/someone to hold their hand in panic moments with them....

my padna is not no big offroad driver but was sticking his head out and giving me some directions, this can be very useful, and having someone else with u in your jeep can help u keep your composure.......not directly intented to you eh runul!!!!!

fellas keep asking for a night run, keep asking for rain, keep asking for mud.........guess all were heard....

im not gonna say anything to the guys who missed it.......

cept.......

doh miss it the next time!!!!!!!

.z.

Postby .z. » April 11th, 2012, 9:05 pm

fellas keep asking for a night run, keep asking for rain, keep asking for mud.........guess all were heard....

yeah boi, it definitely drop on the ears of the good ol guy up there.

btw allyuh lookin 4 more ah dat?

ill b around. jus gimme ah shout.

Z

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » April 12th, 2012, 1:45 pm

Z and the tractor. Z loosing at tug of war...

Jimny coming thru, make way for Blu...

The picts @ http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 901&type=3
Last edited by stingray316 on April 13th, 2012, 4:56 am, edited 4 times in total.

Shortie

Postby Shortie » April 12th, 2012, 6:40 pm

Good day all,
I am very new to the 4x4 world, I have never gone off road as yet with my ride( d van only 6 months old)
this is just my 2 cents hope it makes sense and does not offend anyone...I am sure there are a lot off people out there who would like too go offroading with you guys...(including myself)......but with the price of parts and repairs.....sometimes the trail you choose might be the biggest turn off because of how rough it might be....
If we can get some more friendly trails it might just get a bigger turn out...(if you all want)
Take for example the picture with the Frontier nose deep in the mud....i know for the hard core guys it wont be a problem but for someone who has never done this it just might be a big problem...

I know some might say you want to go off roading and is afraid of mud.....its not that, i personally would like to see my van covered in mud...that is wat it was built for........its just that the cost of parts...like a akel,diff, tranny,gearbox,springs and so on is crazy.....not every one can buy their vehicle cash.....

Its just my opinion that the trails can be a little more friendly ( i know it might be hard to find).

regards.

Postby sliderz1 » April 12th, 2012, 7:50 pm

what vehicle you have?

Shortie

Postby Shortie » April 12th, 2012, 8:07 pm

Ford Ranger. Manual 4x4.

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » April 12th, 2012, 8:42 pm

This run was some epic fun! Turned out to be far more challenging than expected with a lot of action - and more fun for it :)
Got some pictures and I will post as soon as i figure out how.

<<navigator/spotter for green hilux(aastra)>>

Postby sliderz1 » April 12th, 2012, 9:05 pm

^ trinituner.com/upload

Shortie after getting out there you'll find the need for a greater challenge. Truth is everyone starts somewhere and work their way upp

droppa

Postby droppa » April 12th, 2012, 9:44 pm

@shortie let me say thank you for reading our post and checking out our club, i will take this opportunity to invite you to look out for future side b runs that may be applicable to your liking......

now......don't get me wrong, rude or take offense by the following statements......

Side-B, is one of Trinidad most Junior and most prosperous, healthy and alive "Offraoding Clubs"
we are not as hardcore as some of the larger clubs, but mind you, they know us, and recognize us, so we must keep a level of difficulty within our runs........we not a touring club.......

offroading is pure adrenaline and pure addiction, if u come on a runs with us, and find these traits, u will be back...there are a few who only made a virgin run, and then went home wash down their jeep, oil up the tires and say fack dat, not me and dat mud sheit again, no love lost, we just keep on truckin' Side B comradery is of a whole different nature......

we have 2 3.0 tranny rangers who does come out and dance with us, one more popular than the other, and sundays run had one of them along with 2 2.5 manny rangers, who done asking for the nex run, one had no difficulties, and the other got a small ting........

if u looking for a nice sunday drive, with ah lil sand to dig up, the Diesel Boys are here, lying low, but present, and they will be having an annual favorite coming up soon, that is the kind of run for a fella with his 200K van who doesn't want to damage anything in it!!!!!!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 12th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Shortie wrote:Good day all,
I am very new to the 4x4 world, I have never gone off road as yet with my ride( d van only 6 months old)
this is just my 2 cents hope it makes sense and does not offend anyone...I am sure there are a lot off people out there who would like too go offroading with you guys...(including myself)......but with the price of parts and repairs.....sometimes the trail you choose might be the biggest turn off because of how rough it might be....
If we can get some more friendly trails it might just get a bigger turn out...(if you all want)
Take for example the picture with the Frontier nose deep in the mud....i know for the hard core guys it wont be a problem but for someone who has never done this it just might be a big problem...

I know some might say you want to go off roading and is afraid of mud.....its not that, i personally would like to see my van covered in mud...that is wat it was built for........its just that the cost of parts...like a akel,diff, tranny,gearbox,springs and so on is crazy.....not every one can buy their vehicle cash.....

Its just my opinion that the trails can be a little more friendly ( i know it might be hard to find).

regards.

This is one of the most challenging runs our club will hit.. Usually the trails we go on are far more stock vehicle friendly, with very little risk of damaging anything on your truck.

Come on a run with us and you can get to better explore the benefits of having your 4x4 without much worries..

Keep track of the pre run info posted to get an idea of the difficulty of the upcoming run..

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 12th, 2012, 10:08 pm

@ shortie..... U can always tag along and den park up and ride along wid one of de more experienced guys.... Get a feel of of what it's like....I'm sure some of the guys who ran solo last time wouldn't mind an extra set of eyes on a trail.

Is not like all ah we does do madness offload.... If its too risky, den we will turn back..... We will always draw the line between a challenge and obvious danger.....it's not worth it to put someone and their vehicle at risk..... But things do happen - 5 trucks can cross an obstacle just fine, but the sixth guy can just simply take a wrong line and end up stuck....or with a broken tail light etc.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 12th, 2012, 10:59 pm

have a two more to upload again

Adil Teewarie

Postby Adil Teewarie » April 12th, 2012, 11:58 pm

What's up guys,i have to say thanks to everyone who help rescue me from the mud holes.I had lots of fun and hope to do it again.But next time i will be moving with a co-pilot to help navigate where is needed.It was my greatest experience in offroading so far.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 13th, 2012, 2:44 am

^ that was one epic stick dude!! lol

I so wish I was there..

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 13th, 2012, 5:34 am

regards.

Shortie forgive me eh but hahahahahaha!!!!!!!

If you ever decide to come on a run with us, the guys will definitely tell you bout me.....but let me give you an insight...My first ever trail was Morne Diablo....It was in similar condition to this but what was I driving??? A brand new out of the firm 4x2 Hilux.....The van didn't even have 10000KM on it.....I got stuck in the very beginning of the trail, the guys pulled me out and I ventured on.....I reached as far as they did and when it was all over....I sold the van and bought two 4x4's......Ofcourse the van got damage but did I care????? Hell No!!!! I love offroading now and mud and Side B runs in my veins!!!!

So as droppa said, if you want to go on a run where you feel safer and for the drive then check the Diesel Boys!!!! As for Side B we will always try and if the runs gets too difficult or dangerous then and only then decisions will be made.....But we are not a club to back down or back off!!! Sorry...We do just what or signature says....We Keep On Truckin!

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 13th, 2012, 9:28 am

@shortie you always have the option of not going through if you think the run is to risky and if you decide to go you can take your time being as cautious as you want as no one will rush you.
I have a Hilux which i still paying for so i understand what you mean but if been on a couple trails and i think the most damage comes from shrubs/bush on the side that leaves you with some small scratches.. other than that most other damages can be avoided if you drive responsible and take advice from whoever will be guiding you!
No one in the group will watch you go into a rut or part of a trail that they know will cause damage to your vehicle and there is always a more experienced person up front to determine how dangerous the trail is..

Guys sorry i missed yet another Side B run this one looked like it was epic!!

bt50

Postby bt50 » April 13th, 2012, 11:03 am

First of all- happy belated birthday to the Side B crew. You guys do keep the sport alive.

Seems like you all had alot of fun as usual

To the frontier at Bunsee Trace- yuh not alone...my zuk got stucked right there when exiting some sundays ago. lol

Keep it up guys....hopefully we meet up on a trail soon..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 13th, 2012, 11:34 am

regards.

Shortie,

As a member of the Side B executive and elected Head of the club, let me along with fellow exec member Droppa, welcome you into the Side B club of offroading enthusiasts!

It's great that you've showed some interest into our chosen motorsport and we welcome anyone who has a truck/suv/4x4 who wants to get into the world of offroading in a safe, responsible manner. We have a pretty good group of guys n gals who love the sport, and good friends with each other and we're all pretty much easygoing and friendly. Like Droppa said, we're one of the newest clubs in Trinidad and we cater to the "weekend warrior" type who wants to take his daily ride beyond the hard pavement and see what the truck can really do!

We have a library of trails that we like to go onto at different times of the year, some of them are quite easy, some are very difficult. We use a universal system of rating for each different type of trail, from Grade 1 (light dirt) Grade 2(soft dirt/mud/ruts) Grade 3 (mud/rocks/incline, potential risk of danger to vehicles) to grade 4 (same as grade 3 but high risk of danger). Side B usually tackles Grade 2-3 type trails, mostly Grade 2 esp when we have newcomers on a trail with us.

Morne Diablo, depending on the time of year and wet/dry season, can range from a Grade 2 - grade 3 trail. Just so happened this time it was more of a Grade 3 because of how previous offroaders dug it up when the trail was wet. The picture of the frontier in the mud was because of an unforeseen element of the trail... BUT, we always walk prepared to do vehicle recovery (and EVERYONE who wants to offroad should walk prepared!) and the guys were able to get him out quickly and press on.

As person who got stuck badly with a brand new 3-week old Navara on a mountainside with a 40-foot drop into the ocean right next to me (when I first started offroading and before Side B was born in 2010), I can safely tell you that one should not be afraid to take the challenge of offroading. Yes I can see that you have some passion about the sport, but don't be afraid of the risks.

Yes there are potentials for damage to the vehicles, but usually these incidents happen because of bad driver judgement, wild horseplay on a trail or simple stupidity. We always try to be safe, and we always try to scout a trail for potential dangers/risks (as well as fun spots to play on!) before bringing 20+ trucks through it.

And even so, when we're on a trail and a driver feels reluctant to pass through a trouble-spot, we don't leave you behind, we'll stick around and guide/spot for you through the obstacle. Just recently when we were scouting the Santa Flora trail, we came up to a muddy/rutty spot that I was reluctant to bring my Navara through cuz it was the lowest truck with longest wheelbase, but eventually I got through with help of my spotters (and I myself have been with Side B with these guys when it first started!).

To add to that, we're not afraid to turn around when the trail becomes impassable, nor if time is running out and darkness falling. We recognize that these are our daily-driven rides that we bringing on a trail, plus ppl have to go to work the next day so we don't take that high of a risk on a trail.

So listen, and watch for when we doing an easy trail. Come with us on a run and you'll be surprised at how far you can go with the right people around you. Put on some good all-terrain tyres on that Ranger of yours (ditch those weak-ass Bridgestones that come as stock) and you'll be surprised again at what your truck can do once you push it.

Keep on Truckin' brother!

Shortie

Postby Shortie » April 13th, 2012, 8:09 pm

Thanks very much for the positive comments and feedback from everyone.
I look forward to your next run and I will try very much to make it..
Im also on the fb page also...

really looking fwd to it...

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » April 13th, 2012, 10:34 pm

Finally, got my photos up.

A nice sunny day for a drive:
mini-08042012999.jpg

Digity Volcano
mini-080420121010.jpg

Anywhere you go in Trinidad, you find traffic.
mini-080420121030.jpg

land slide turned cliffside
mini-080420121046.jpg

one word: stuck
mini-080420121053.jpg

A cool photo
mini-080420121060.jpg

mini-080420121061.jpg

mini-080420121062.jpg

Got a few more to post.

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » April 13th, 2012, 10:39 pm

Some sights, you just don't see on asphalt:
mini-080420121065.jpg

Rolling along
mini-080420121067.jpg

Tricky spot
mini-080420121075.jpg

Off-road at night.
mini-080420121078.jpg

And that's all the photos folks. Enjoy!

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » April 13th, 2012, 11:33 pm

nice one ace_maverick< i think it is Toyota Hilux >>>> Roads Optional>>>>>lol
Well done my friend and spotter and also my cousin Rainer..... looking forward to the next challenge. Thanks to all members of Side B for making us feel so welcome and apart of this off road club... thanks again

droppa

Postby droppa » April 14th, 2012, 12:12 am

@ AASTRA no problem man, i think one thing we try to do is make new members feel welcomed, at least kinda talk to them and break the ice,

u went over a rut and jus heard krrattakks, i saw something break sure, then we saw it was the running boar, and you laughing and say, yea dat is no problem, it go straighten out with a pliers........yuh good boi, i say u cross dey one time......

another run is being brewed, as soon as the sample draft comes out, you guys will get a taste, and with your response we will proceed...............

i can only speak for my self, and one of the positives i have gained from offroading is the potential and capability of my jeep, from my jimny to now, i have real faith in my machine......

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 14th, 2012, 12:14 am

Smeed wrote:Small ting bai..... We go never leave somebody stranded.... Even if yuh bamsee in de air or yuh bear hug a teak tree or yuh park up in a rut soo deep dat yuh cyan even open yuh door... We go get yuh out!!

For a group of amateurs I think we all did smashingly well!

Really though guys. Thanks for the help. Got out with very small cosmetic damage that already fixed.

droppa wrote:we have to encourage people have a

co-driver/navigator/spotter/someone to hold their hand in panic moments with them....

my padna is not no big offroad driver but was sticking his head out and giving me some directions, this can be very useful, and having someone else with u in your jeep can help u keep your composure.......not directly intented to you eh runul!!!!!

This is true. If I had a co-driver/navigator/spotter, I would have been able to hug the trees closer and never ended up in the rut. I would advise, and from now on get someone to tag along with me on these runs. I have a navigator, but she's busy most of the time, so if I'm going alone, there will be a space for someone to tag alone.

regards.

I am one of the youngest members of Side B. I'm still in school and I have a weekly salary where at the end of the week, I'm only able to save $100, so when it comes to repairs, I will have it quite hard. I also don't have the newest vehicle of the group, but my parents wouldn't take nicely to me damaging the van. The van is for me to get to school, so if I break it, I have the most to lose and the most headache repairing it. This is one of the best aspects of Side B. The trails are challenging (some are quite easy), but when it comes to causing actual damages to your vehicle, there really aren't any real worries. I've been off-roading with them for almost all of their runs, and this was the 1st time I ever caused any damage to my van. This was due to me not taking my time when I was climbing the hill. Once you take your time, keep a level head on the trail, and take note of the advice of the group, the most that could really happen on a trail is a simple scratch that a little polishing compound can't fix.

Return to “Off Road Runs”