Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

lighthammer

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby lighthammer » April 21st, 2011, 9:17 am

x2 on BBM - it's actually quite handy for group communications, relaying info and posting up msgs for the rest of the boyz, esp when we not near a computer...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 21st, 2011, 11:38 am

3stagevtec wrote:the only safe place to do this, is as Droppa suggested, at Icacos..

I always like the idea of competitions, so we could do stuff like a figure 8, time attacks, sand drags, tug of war :twisted:

but something like this needs to be well planned out with safety in mind. we will need quite a few ideas to make for a full day of events / fun.. will work on this idea later on..

at the moment, other plans are in the works.. :wink:

:twisted:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 21st, 2011, 12:24 pm

sand drags - men doing burnout as they see de flag drop - and digging themsevles into de sand..... hilarity ensues :D

Postby 3stagevtec » April 21st, 2011, 1:14 pm

lighthammer wrote:sand drags - men doing burnout as they see de flag drop - and digging themsevles into de sand..... hilarity ensues :D

and imagine if we restrict everyone to RWD only.. :lol:

but meh 5yr ole Sony Ericsson Walkman wukkin good still.. :oops:

droppa

Postby droppa » April 21st, 2011, 1:21 pm

aye bbm is the way to go boi..........

sand drags, tug of war, dex, obstacle course

all that can be a day of fun events with alot of spectating and pics galore

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 21st, 2011, 8:01 pm

the new curve is a pretty good BB to get, it powerful like the Bold, but it has media buttons on the top like the 8520, so the best of both worlds.

Plus BBM is quite handy.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 21st, 2011, 8:42 pm

wats d best package to get?? an which network cheaper??

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » April 21st, 2011, 9:08 pm

I recently upgraded from the Storm 1 to the Bold 9780...
What a difference....and Speed...It is also running BB OS 6 It is nice..

The Curve that LH is taking about is not bad...My wife has one...
The buttons are a bit easier on the bold and you don't get OS6 or a flash
but it is a bit pricey.

So if you pocket tight go with the Curve...If you want to spoil yourself go for the bold....But as anything else I had to put my name on a waiting list.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 21st, 2011, 10:19 pm

I love my bold, it could take real licks and keeps going.
Had to wipe it clean a couple times and replace the OS - the OS 5 that i'm running now is actually from a Canadian company and doesnt' come with all the bells and whistles the bold originally came with.

And the amount of times my BB fell on the ground.... it fell just a while ago as I was getting out of the truck to reach into my yard. Keeps on ticking - almost as tough as a Nokia!

Plus I love the keyboards on BB's - if that's one thing that RIM did better than anyone else, is the keyboard.

But anyway.... that's going off-topic.

Fellas - just got back a scouting report from Jeremy - Las Cuevas Trail looks passable for our trucks/suv's... and there's just enough mud for us to have a bit of fun!!

SO... the next proposed run, to be done sometime in May (probably towards end of May)....

- Blanchisseuse Trail: Part 2 - this time we reaching Paria Beach for sure!
- Then las cuevas trail, we reaching that beach too! Jeremy wants to take us down to Marianne Beach. I never heard of it but it sounds good to me!
- After-lime on Maracas/Tyrico, with some bake & shark, maybe a football match/cricket knocks....

What allyuh tink? We not going to pass through Demerara Road/Blanchisseuse road - we going straight through St Joseph/Santa cruz directly into Maracas and hitting Blanchi trail EARLY - from early as 8:30am - 9:00am. This way we have MOAR FUN!!!!!

And in the name of safety & security, we'll keep the meeting point and actual date of the run as a secret - it will be revealed closer to the actual run date, and will be revealed to those guys who put their name on the list ONLY. If your name not on the list... then you won't see the meeting date & meeting point.

Besides that, we can probably do a quick safety briefing on the morning of the meet, with a crash-course and demonstration for the newbies on anchoring-points on our trucks/suv's for attaching rescue lines, proper snatch-technique as well as proper equipment (not just rope and chains!), proper hill-climbing and rut-crossing technique... as well as a quick rundown on first-aid/CPR for the newbies or whoever interested. Don't forget to prepare your first aid kits - even basic ones are good to have.

For the moment, we have big events like The Arima Gran Prix, which is this Easter Sunday at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Arima (I def. in that, that's in meh backyard!!!).. and we have the Diesel Boyz major run down to Icacos Beach in South trinidad. After these two big events clear up, we'll hit the North Coast HARD!!

Soooo.... rest, relax, repair... come watch some circuit racing/drags this weekend, and everyone have a safe Easter Weekend.

Keep on truckin'!

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » April 21st, 2011, 11:10 pm

geez you want to teach everything in one go.....space out the training you will run out of topics...Calm down..
I don't know about the La Cuevas part but we will see.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 21st, 2011, 11:17 pm

Finally!! Consider me there! Itching to go Blanchi again as well..

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 21st, 2011, 11:25 pm

so long we hadda wait?!? screw u guys.....i hittin d Cuervas trail sat yes!! lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 21st, 2011, 11:25 pm

^^ in time... in time...

Ok we can do vehicle safety and recovery on that run...
.. and then first aid on another run or another date at least.

I need to refresh myself on it too :(

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 21st, 2011, 11:42 pm

I have my iPhone4 which is just epic (except for itunes) and my Sony Ericsson K810i which is always reliable. A BlackBerry is just over complicated. I have 1 too many phones and getting a 3rd phone will be really annoying. However, I might just buy a BB for the BBM feature cause it will come in handy for these runs. Just need to know which is the cheapest BB available and how much. Maybe Side B can all get a BB just for BBM.

3stagevtec wrote:the only safe place to do this, is as Droppa suggested, at Icacos..

I always like the idea of competitions, so we could do stuff like a figure 8, time attacks, sand drags, tug of war :twisted:

Figure 8 - I'd like to see your lifted Vitara try this. It will be one event you would be biting your nails over. LOL.
Time Attack - This would be waaaay too much fun. We will consider this speedaholic Christmas gift.
Sand Drags - Nav VS Ranger - Battle of the power houses
My B2500 VS Frontier - Battle of the old school 2.5L turbos
3stagevtec Vitara VS brianr20v Vitara - Heavy 2.0L with arthritis up against 1.6L "youth".
Tug Of War - We gonna need the winch to pull all the competitors out the big hole they gonna dig themselves into. (I was worried about the strain on the chassis of the vehicles in this competition, but that sand gonna kill all the grip of the vehicles so no stress there).

Right now I'm just itching for the next run. 3stagevtec suppose to be doing a scout 2moro on something he found so he will fill us in after. So what are the suggestions for the next run? Blanchi?

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 22nd, 2011, 12:38 am

cvt-7_RR wrote: My B2500 VS Frontier - Battle of the old school 2.5L turbos

evn doh he sed 2.5L turbos, i still feel as doh dis statement directed towards me, so....

Challenge Accepted!!!

:mrgreen:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 22nd, 2011, 1:13 am

so no N/A sand drags?? :( :(!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 22nd, 2011, 2:53 am

speedaholic wrote:so no N/A sand drags?? :( :(!

Isn't the RWD Hilux that went Morne Diablo N/A?

MrCuddles wrote:
cvt-7_RR wrote: My B2500 VS Frontier - Battle of the old school 2.5L turbos

evn doh he sed 2.5L turbos, i still feel as doh dis statement directed towards me, so....

Challenge Accepted!!!

:mrgreen:

Bess!! LOL.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 22nd, 2011, 5:43 am

My heavy-@ss navara gonna dig sheself into de sand faster than a crab on amphetamines... but... CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!!

After the blanchi/paria/cuevas trail though :)

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 22nd, 2011, 6:54 am

This blanchi trail I suspect is not 4x2 friendly......My van is 2.5 turbo diesel just 4x2.....

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 22nd, 2011, 6:59 am

guys....any ideas on making the 4x2 a little more off road worthy? Like can a 4x2 be lifted in any way? I know bout the arb diff lockers but that would be later.....Just looking to work with what I have....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 22nd, 2011, 7:23 am

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 22nd, 2011, 7:59 am

I know of a real Sweet Deal on a 2010 3.0 HIlux...

Make: Toyota
Model: Hilux
Series: TCR
Price: $210,00o

:twisted:
Last edited by *Phoenix* on April 22nd, 2011, 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 22nd, 2011, 8:33 am

Yeah was thinking of selling and refinancing but things are a bit tight.....Will have to think outside the box for this one.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 22nd, 2011, 10:58 am

Black scorpion had a 4x2 frontier and he made it through icacos beach and a couple trails, cuz he had the BFG all terrains.
So maybe if u upgraded ur tyres to all terrains, you'd reach farther...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 22nd, 2011, 1:00 pm

rottedv wrote:guys....any ideas on making the 4x2 a little more off road worthy? Like can a 4x2 be lifted in any way? I know bout the arb diff lockers but that would be later.....Just looking to work with what I have....

I have seems situations where 4x2s with diff lockers can outperform stock 4x4s.. but for soft mud situations, 4x4s usually regain their advantage.

Is it possible for you to do a 4x4 swap on your Hilux? Say, if you buy the transfer case, front differential etc etc? In the long run though, selling and purchasing a 4x4 model is always best and easiest. Don't rush it, wait until the funds become available..

Also, don't sell those rims, I really like how they look! :fadein:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 22nd, 2011, 1:01 pm

speedaholic wrote:so no N/A sand drags?? :( :(!

8-)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 22nd, 2011, 1:27 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
rottedv wrote:guys....any ideas on making the 4x2 a little more off road worthy? Like can a 4x2 be lifted in any way? I know bout the arb diff lockers but that would be later.....Just looking to work with what I have....

I have seems situations where 4x2s with diff lockers can outperform stock 4x4s.. but for soft mud situations, 4x4s usually regain their advantage.

Is it possible for you to do a 4x4 swap on your Hilux? Say, if you buy the transfer case, front differential etc etc? In the long run though, selling and purchasing a 4x4 model is always best and easiest. Don't rush it, wait until the funds become available..

Also, don't sell those rims, I really like how they look! :fadein:

it would be a waste of money to install a lift kit or locking diff on a 4x2 - best thing - leave the 4x2 alone and sell when ready

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 22nd, 2011, 1:33 pm

This is still a little costly, but a lot less than the other suggestions. Now I know your rims is what sets you apart from everyone else, but how about getting some old used rims and some beastly mud terrain tyres. You can put some normal All Terrains in the front and the good MT in the rear. I could see that alone beating the 4x4's. The reason for the spear rims is because I don't think they make MT's in 24's.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 22nd, 2011, 1:39 pm

cvt-7_RR wrote:

This is still a little costly, but a lot less than the other suggestions. Now I know your rims is what sets you apart from everyone else, but how about getting some old used rims and some beastly mud terrain tyres. You can put some normal All Terrains in the front and the good MT in the rear. I could see that alone beating the 4x4's. The reason for the spear rims is because I don't think they make MT's in 24's.

no 24"s.. is 17"s or 18" I think he had..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 22nd, 2011, 1:41 pm

17's on h/t's...

Return to “Off Road Runs”