Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 14th, 2011, 10:32 pm

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 15th, 2011, 12:23 am

oh snap!! epic!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 15th, 2011, 6:41 am

jeep wrangler - ultimate offroad stock vehicle

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2011, 7:42 am

wrangler or cruiser?

the two offroad champions jed.......

btw like side b hadda pull of something on Sunday?

there mite be some folks turning up at trincity with no run in hand......

i know the DB has alot on their hands, so if they fall tru, let us still make a Toco or grand Rivere...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 15th, 2011, 1:26 pm

*goes outside to check the weather*

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2011, 1:33 pm

hot sun in town.........................

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2011, 2:57 pm

jus spoke to a local of MD and she said the last day they had rain was tuesday, so the place is mostly dry for now..........and the fixed up the beach area with lights and so on, so we cud look at that........

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 15th, 2011, 3:14 pm

^ 3stage could scout it tomorrow, just to check the trail conditions and dry level.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 15th, 2011, 3:37 pm

Yup, If the 'official' run off, we could plan something otherwise

Postby 3stagevtec » April 15th, 2011, 9:37 pm

:D :D :D

I took a close look at the terrain in south today, Woodland area to be exact, and it was very dry. Seems that the little rain that fell dried up pretty quickly with the last few days of sun..

awaiting word from the DB officials..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 15th, 2011, 10:21 pm

So here's the suggestions for alternative plans if Sunday's official run is cancelled:

- Blanchisseuse/maracas run with a beach lime
- Morne Diablo run through the trail and to the Mud Volcano and beach
- Road trip to Salybia with kayaking and trip to Toco lighthouse, possibly to Grand Riviere/shark river

What do you guys say?

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 15th, 2011, 11:12 pm

hw bout less on-road & more off-road......

Postby 3stagevtec » April 15th, 2011, 11:36 pm

Morne Diablo it is then..

still waiting on the word..

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 16th, 2011, 12:51 am

^hmmm hw i kno u was gonna say dat? lol but it lookin bess doh,, rel excitement!! :D

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2011, 10:13 am

Well fellas, looks like Sunday's official run through Valencia might end up being cancelled after all. Safety seems to be a major concern, esp with such a large group this time.

There are a couple options available for tomorrow though:

1. Blanchisseuse/maracas run with a beach lime - possibly Las Cuevas Trail if it's dry and passable (I got word that it should have been graded down this past week - but we can walk it and see).

2. Morne Diablo run through the trail and to the Mud Volcano and beach. This will depend heavily on the weather, cuz any slight rain can easily turn that Grade 2 trail very quickly into a Grade 3 or even Grade 4. I for one don't really want a repeat of Santa Flora if we can help it - I'd prefer if the trail remained as a proper "Obstacle Course" than a mud pit.

3. Road trip to Salybia with kayaking and trip to Toco lighthouse, possibly to Grand Riviere/shark river. We could lime on the beach, go kayaking on the river, there's lifeguards there so we'd be reasonably safe.

What do you guys say?

I for one don't mind a beach lime. Also Morne Diablo will be MEGA-FUN, but only if it stays dry. If we get wet, then it'll quickly become difficult for our stock vehicles, esp if the group is a large one. There's a mud volcano for us top explore and I'm sure the guys wanna see it, so IMO I think it's better to do that run in the height of dry season, to ensure we all can make it through.

Most likely we can do the blanchi-maracas run, and those who crave off-road action can go check out the Las Cuevas Trail. We'll def. Have to walk it first to make sure it's safe.

Not everyone will be sufficiently updated on the latest status of the run being cancelled, so Droppa and Myself will meet up with u guys in Trincity at 7-7:30am and we'll discuss our options there. We'll leave it up to you guys to decide our route for the day, so whoever shows up can voice their opinion.

Just walk prepared, the usual equipment:
- cooler with food and drinks
- shovel
- tow ropes
- cutlass
- iron grating (if u have

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » April 16th, 2011, 11:08 am

cool i in want to play in some MUD again

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 16th, 2011, 12:25 pm

3. Road trip to Salybia with kayaking and trip to Toco lighthouse, possibly to Grand Riviere/shark river. We could lime on the beach, go kayaking on the river, there's lifeguards there so we'd be reasonably safe.

This sounding like fun...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 16th, 2011, 12:32 pm

^^^ yea wudnt mind that!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2011, 12:40 pm

fellas... let we go kayaking nah. It's lots of fun, the river in salybia is clean and nice and calm... and the beach right there for us to lime.

If anyhting, we can take a mini roadtrip further up to the toco lighthouse, and chill on the rocks and watch the sun set, and watch the lights in Tobago come on in the evening time.

What allyuh tink??????

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2011, 12:55 pm

^^ of course, allyuh could bring along ur respective female counterparts.... they'll like the evening sunset on the cliffs and ting.

I wanna show allyuh how to drift a kayak!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 16th, 2011, 3:19 pm

I IN if we going MD or we going blanchi to try the trail there again.

Haunted, give us some update/advice on the Cuevas trail; yuh know up dey almost every week!
And when yuh pulling out of French street I think one day you go end up in John D carpark!

I OUTT for the kayaking up the river and watching the sunset and thing. Lil too touchyfeely for me.

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 16th, 2011, 5:07 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Haunted, give us some update/advice on the Cuevas trail; yuh know up dey almost every week!
And when yuh pulling out of French street I think one day you go end up in John D carpark!

i havent gone up in a while due to exams for uwi and all that non sense...i might go tomorrow cause i havent seen mud for a lil while...

and what you mean i go end up in John D carpark?
i dont take tht corner hard...do i?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2011, 5:18 pm

Jeremy - don't be afraid of your feelings.....

We'll leave it up to the guys to decide tomorrow as to what route we go take.

Morne Diablo, like I said, I'm a bit uncertain about cuz of the weather - it might be dry now but it could drop a passing rain at any time, which is what happened to us in Santa Flora.

Looks like Blanchi or Toco.... you guys decide tomorrow mornign when we meet.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2011, 5:19 pm

Also... can someone bring a Football, frisbee, cricketbat & windball.. just in case we get bored and decide to play on the beach nah.

JD......

Postby JD...... » April 16th, 2011, 5:20 pm

if yau'll go salibya part of the trail to rio seco falls is a nice manageable offroad track which is fun to drive, until it turns into a class 4-5 trail. might as well visit it.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 16th, 2011, 5:40 pm

I'll give you guys a call in the morning. I up for a challenge, not really interested in a beach run. South was dry as usual today, so conditions looking good so far. Can always check the news to see what the predicted weather is like for tomorrow..

Keep me updated as to what everyone wants..

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » April 16th, 2011, 5:51 pm

if any 4x2 friendly plz let me know :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 16th, 2011, 6:00 pm

lighthammer wrote:Jeremy - don't be afraid of your feelings.....

We'll leave it up to the guys to decide tomorrow as to what route we go take.

Morne Diablo, like I said, I'm a bit uncertain about cuz of the weather - it might be dry now but it could drop a passing rain at any time, which is what happened to us in Santa Flora.

Looks like Blanchi or Toco.... you guys decide tomorrow mornign when we meet.

MD was pretty dry today, according to these guys (http://www.metoffice.gov.tt/) tomorrow looks to be cloudy but little cgance of rain.

However these guys say isolated showers in the PM

http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/ttxx0001

But this image shows clear skys with little developments to wry about

http://www.ghcc.msfc.nasa.gov/cgi-bin/post-goes

Id bet on clear skys with temps in the 30's

Postby 3stagevtec » April 16th, 2011, 6:08 pm

^ bringing out the Rav4??

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 16th, 2011, 6:19 pm

3stagevtec wrote:^ bringing out the Rav4??

Hilux, rav4 need some repairs right now.

Return to “Off Road Runs”