2nd annual Side B mega run: "Stuck inna Quarry!!" - 26/08/12

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

droppa

Re: 2nd annual Side B mega run: "Stuck inna Quarry!!" - 26/0

Postby droppa » August 27th, 2012, 11:51 am

SR, you and yuh driver did well boi, if im not mistake, i think you all won a prize.....

Postby ronsin1 » August 27th, 2012, 4:09 pm

what position I placed?

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » August 27th, 2012, 6:21 pm

Had loads of fun, it was my first run with the Side B guys.
I'm looking forward to the next run, where ever you guys decide to go.
I just have one small request, when putting up the pics and vids, I'd appreciate if the ones with me(black isuzu) are kept to a minimum, please. I have a good reason.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 27th, 2012, 7:27 pm

oh right...I remember you!!!! didn't want to listen to me and put it in 4lo eh....

lmao....we made that part especially for you!!!!!

Postby ronsin1 » August 27th, 2012, 7:35 pm

I eh see at pic of my sportero yet :cry:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » August 27th, 2012, 7:59 pm

ronsin1 wrote:I eh see at pic of my sportero yet :cry:

Wait u was dey and i didnt get to meet u ... dang

And mr droppa thank u but i think its a Huge team effort that made this happen .. i just provided the place .. u guys did the idea and made it happen . I got home last night at 7 and just ate and went to bed.. had to be at work for 5:30 am ... only now seeing the pics n stuff. i think i goin run the course wit the volvo 6x6 when i get sum time.... Not the big pit tho:P

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » August 27th, 2012, 8:06 pm

Post up the total points of all the competitors so we can see how much work needs to be put in for the next event...

narvin

Postby narvin » August 27th, 2012, 8:11 pm

How difficult was the course for a fully outfitted Samurai. Just asking as I really could not make it but wish I could have even passed through.

Postby sliderz1 » August 27th, 2012, 9:02 pm

MonsterPower wrote:.... Not the big pit tho:P

stay away from pits please.......FAR AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!

for the guys that were there with us Saturday night!
:shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby sliderz1 » August 27th, 2012, 9:03 pm

narvin wrote:How difficult was the course for a fully outfitted Samurai. Just asking as I really could not make it but wish I could have even passed through.

easy thing bredda man, course wasnt for vehicle capababilty but more so driver + navigator skill

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » August 27th, 2012, 11:24 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
narvin wrote:How difficult was the course for a fully outfitted Samurai. Just asking as I really could not make it but wish I could have even passed through.

easy thing bredda man, course wasnt for vehicle capababilty but more so driver + navigator skill

Navin, you woulda breeze through that course... Lockers would be convenient but not necessary and you have enough clearance for a short wheelbase...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 27th, 2012, 11:41 pm

Certain obstacles called for good line and traction, like the pro entrance, and others called for pure power, like the pro-pit, aka "the jimny graveyard"!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 28th, 2012, 12:27 am

What an event!
Side B - Stuck Inna Quarry, turned out to be so much bigger than we originally thought when we first came up with the concept almost 2 months ago.

Was great to see so many other offroading clubs patronizing our humble little event, including TTORC, Trailblazers and even Team Dean's Wheels, along with so many other drivers, navigators and off-roading enthusiasts and fans.

Going to work on a write-up in a little while, but for now here's the results of the competition.

Results:

NOVICE CLASS:
1. Nilesh Ramdass, 36 points
2. Amrit Baboolal, 54 points
3. Neil Sirju, 66 points
4. Sajjid Mohammed, 74 points
5. Safraz Ali, 85 points
6. Jerry Robinson, 86 points
7. Kumar Sohan, 101 points
8. Ronald Sinanan, 116 points

PROFESSIONAL CLASS
1. Martin Hamilton, 30 points
2. Andrew Perry, 44 points
3. Dean Mohammed, 48 points
4. Neal Jagdeo 54 points
5. Collin Campbell, 73 points
6. Vishal Rajpaulsingh, 80 points
7. Darrel Chautilal, 93 points
8. Andre George, 94 points
9. Jamsheed Hosein, 109 points
10. Winston Sooklal, 118 points
11. Dean Mohammed (2nd driver), 120 points
12. Baljit Gopaul, 131 points
13. Rajnath Rampaul , 145 points

The rest of the competitors were classed as "DNF - Did Not Finish" due to not completing the entire course in their particular vehicle category.

Other sub-prizes:

- Best Dressed: Rodney Ali
- Crowd Pleaser: Kervin Rebeiro
- Best Stuck vehicle: Jamsheed Hosein
- Lucky Draw Prize: Safraz Ali
- Lucky Draw Prize: Colin Campbell
- Best Girls Team Prize: Lindsay Ali
- Best Recovery Team: Dave & Sal
- Special Thanks Prize: Shivan Dookeran

Big thanks towards our terrific sponsors, without whom our event would been quite difficult to pull off:

- Lubtech (Total Oil & Meguiar's Car Care Products prizes)
- Blue Mountain Water (Exclusive sponsor for water and prizes)
- Promotions Xpress Ltd (Executive sponsorship)
- Valvoline (Hampers / Prizes)
- Hand Arnold Ltd (STP & ArmorAll hampers / prizes, Grab N' Go garbage bags)
- Wheel Wizard (car care hampers / prizes)
- Digicel (hampers / prizes)
- Baldhead's Auto Supplies (hamper / prizes)
- R.M. Auto (hamper / prizes)
-
- (last but not least) Dookeran's Quarry (venue & equipment)

(thanks to everyone else who contributed, if I left anyone out - it's been a long week and I'm still mentally and physically drained!)

So, thank you everyone for coming to participate, spectate and support. We of Side B are all supremely please at the outcome of our invitational rally, and look forward to doing it again soon!

Writeup and pics to come inna bit, now finishing uploading some pics.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » August 28th, 2012, 12:42 am

rottedv wrote:oh right...I remember you!!!! didn't want to listen to me and put it in 4lo eh....

lmao....we made that part especially for you!!!!!

Yeah, I gave in to you eventually. What I needed was some more ground clearance...but don't worry, the L200 is ready for the next run.

Postby ronsin1 » August 28th, 2012, 6:30 am

MonsterPower wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:I eh see at pic of my sportero yet :cry:

was on the course when you used the overloader

gundelero

Postby gundelero » August 28th, 2012, 10:02 am

where de pics?

Postby sliderz1 » August 28th, 2012, 10:26 am

just a few selected pics frm a friend with a couple of my own in the mix

first section

take a quick breifing

Pro hill climb!

less than one quarter of the turnout?

in the Pro pit

respect!

beauties!

near the end

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 28th, 2012, 3:56 pm

Our initial estimate entries was 25 - on the event it gone to 41. We expected a crowd of 15-20 - this went to over 100. We had no sponsors - that went to 5-7 sponsors and more wanted to come onboard.

Thanks to Trinituner that got the word out and within a matter of days we got alot of attention. Special thanks to Duane and the rest of the Trinituner team for your support. Without everyone help and sponsors and the guys from Side B - this event would never be a success

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 28th, 2012, 3:57 pm

To see more pictures- please go to the Side B facebook page ; http://www.facebook.com/groups/sidebkeepontuckin/

BikerBoy.kesh

Postby BikerBoy.kesh » August 28th, 2012, 6:40 pm

Did i get no points?? :( not seeing myself on the list... Keshav Ramroop - 2012 Ford Ranger (Blue)

bobvis

Postby bobvis » August 28th, 2012, 8:22 pm

hey lighthammer,,,, i finished the course,,,,, ah not seeing my name on de list

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 29th, 2012, 3:06 pm

Sorry man, according to how the marshalls judged it, by the time ur fix was completed, ur time for your run was expired, hence they had to classify it as a DNF (Did Not Finish).

However, if you did get placed as a finish, you had 41 points (less points is better, it's a negative marking system) and you would have placed 2nd in pro class.
Last edited by lighthammer on August 29th, 2012, 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 29th, 2012, 3:08 pm

@keshav - you were judged as a DNF as well, since the last short hill-climb was too difficult and you couldn't finish it in the alloted amount of max tries.

You had 88 points (remember less is more) and you would have placed 6th in Novice Class if you had gotten to finish.

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » August 29th, 2012, 4:37 pm

lighthammer wrote:Sorry man, according to how the marshalls judged it, by the time ur fix was completed, ur time for your run was expired, hence they had to classify it as a DNF (Did Not Finish).

However, if you did get placed as a finish, you had 41 points (less points is better, it's a negative marking system) and you would have placed 2nd in pro class.

WAYS, WE MAKE 2ND PLACE IN PRO...BTW, We time did not expire for the fix, that take less than 3 minutes to fix. Only if the marshalls was checking the time we was doing the "a Favor to cut down the small hill that the loader had to cut", Rennie, Imtiaz say something in we defense. That we going to have some arguments for that, we get robbed by we own ppl.
But Anyways, We beat the Monster V8 Patrol that was we aim... And we did it...

Postby SR » August 29th, 2012, 10:04 pm

woo hooo 4th place novice................wha we win?
we came to get the experience

Postby 3stagevtec » August 30th, 2012, 11:21 am

stingray316 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:Sorry man, according to how the marshalls judged it, by the time ur fix was completed, ur time for your run was expired, hence they had to classify it as a DNF (Did Not Finish).

WAYS, WE MAKE 2ND PLACE IN PRO...BTW, We time did not expire for the fix, that take less than 3 minutes to fix. Only if the marshalls was checking the time we was doing the "a Favor to cut down the small hill that the loader had to cut", Rennie, Imtiaz say something in we defense. That we going to have some arguments for that, we get robbed by we own ppl.
But Anyways, We beat the Monster V8 Patrol that was we aim... And we did it...

There was a time related issue for you guys, but it is not related to the assistance given in helping to cut down the novice hill. That aside, points wise, you did beat the Monster.. :wink:

Postby 3stagevtec » August 30th, 2012, 11:24 am

SR wrote:woo hooo 4th place novice................wha we win?
we came to get the experience

That was an extreme way to gain experience yo! lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 30th, 2012, 12:54 pm

Some pics... using my camera but taken by 3stagevtec & Mrs Lighthammer

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 30th, 2012, 12:57 pm

The crowd-pleaser moment...

Photo Courtesy Chote

Photo Courtesy Lyden Thomas

Pantos

Postby Pantos » August 30th, 2012, 4:57 pm

Only seeing pics. Nobody took any short vids?

Return to “Off Road Runs”