Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby 3stagevtec » May 23rd, 2011, 10:00 pm

Postby 3stagevtec » May 23rd, 2011, 10:03 pm

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 23rd, 2011, 10:52 pm

thank u fuh d pix 3stage.....LH stikkin like jeremy oui lol

Postby 3stagevtec » May 23rd, 2011, 10:58 pm

Speaking of Jeremy...

part 2 still uploading..

Postby 3stagevtec » May 23rd, 2011, 11:17 pm

Hope to see you on some more runs with us Bobvis! That Hilux looking mean!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » May 24th, 2011, 12:25 am

WENT IN THERE WAYYY TOO SLOWWW...

Steups. :)

Haunted

Postby Haunted » May 24th, 2011, 12:33 am

track is so dry...i goin sunday for sureee

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 24th, 2011, 1:38 am

Rene boy... that brand new panasonic real wukkin, dem pics real crisp!!
Might give my dusty, crusty, mashup ol' Nikon a run for de money!

Aye, I didn't know your Grand Vitara had such good grip.... to be climbing up perpendicular inclines!!!

Hold on dey fellas... my pics coming just now, with a video too :D

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 24th, 2011, 1:54 am

[quote="3stagevtec"]Image

:O! i want! :D <3

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 24th, 2011, 2:09 am

^^ i knew it! I knew you'd say that speedy.... hahhahahahahaha!!!

Soon, soooon my friend!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 24th, 2011, 2:28 am

i must!!! i meann look at it!!! *snif* its so beautiful... *emo*

*totes*

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 24th, 2011, 2:38 am

Right... so, sorry for the delays guys - had to work today and was feeling rreeaallllllll mashup, sunday's run was real work!

Here's my pics (warning, there's a lot, and I hardly took any myself - most of them is from the missus and her handling of the camera! So credit goes to her for the pics and vids :mrgreen: )

The meet-up

Safety briefing & trail-breakdown

Waiting for stragglers

He was the straggler.....

Convoy

A monkey!

Starting of the Lopinot Trail

Nissan gettin' ornnnn

testing the new foglights install on the rollbar (the front HID's were just turned on, hadn't warmed up yet hence the green colour - they're actually 4300K, close to stock colour)

Some of the scenery in the Northern Range. Beautiful, fresh and clean!

Waiting for the trail to clear of vehicles, before proceeding up an hill-climb

Coming out of the Lopinot trail, and onto the Blanchisseuse main road, just at the Look-out point.

Interesting fact: This is how Rene' parks when he comes home from work.

On the move again

Spring Bridge. At this point, I was having some flashbacks to the maiden-run of Side B :)

The jimny crosses the bridge

Mean Machine

Ah boy cuddles.... pressure!
But don't worry, is a Nissan, you don't need to walk with tools/parts !

Woi!

Blanchi trail - the flat part.

A 3.2 DiD sportero on Highway tyres that balding in front - good job on the hill-climb!!

This drain is more dangerous than first-appearances. The sides of the drain are actually eroding away and are far-more eroded underneath than what we can see in this photo. I almost slid into this drain on the way out, cuz of the long wheel-base of my Navara. I had hit the embankment, and gotten stuck in the drain. Had to drop it into 4-LO and use 2nd gear to power out. The scorpions dug deep and found a place to bite, and got me out easily!

Muddier than it looks

Nissan POWAH!!
(right after cuddles when through here, my camera battery died.... and I couldn't get a shot of the Navara powering through.... anyone have a pic of it?)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 24th, 2011, 3:19 am

Moarrr pics!!

Went through a deep hole, and the tail of my navara brushed the edge. Damned bumper-step came out again.... I should really stick that down with some superglue at some point!

Walkign he rest of the way to blanchi beach

This was a really epic moment, and I wish we had gotten a better picture of all the original Side B guys - cuz this is the first time ever, that Side B had gotten to a beach while on a run!!
Most of our runs involved aiming for a beach through a trail, but the last couple times we've had to turn back cuz of bad weather.

Congrats guys, we made it!!!!

VICTORY!!!!!!!

These rock-pools were an excellent place to come bathe and sit and relax. Too bad we didnt' stay long enough to bathe here. Sun was blazing and I was tempted to just jump in!

Rock climbing, hooray!

So happy we finally got to one of our goals :mrgreen:

So after this, we headed out of the trail and got back to the main road.
While on the way to Las Cuevas, look who we met up with:

This is a funny picture. It's almost as if the trucks are peeking into the entry of the trail and saying "Is it safe to go in there???"

Bess pic!!

Jeremy vex that he stick :mrgreen:
Time to go into beast-mode!!!

This man drive like a real kant-hole and get himself stuck. He wasn't part of our group, and drove into the trail after the hilux got stuck. Like a real @ss, he drive around the hilux and wanna play he showing off to the little people that "oh, I have a big off-road machine and I could drive where I want." It was at this exact point that he get stick like a big kokolooks.... and we all had a big laff.
We tried to help de man out, but he play reeeaaallll ignorant and wanna do he own thing. I guess he was trying to compensate for something, like a small brain or underdeveloped genitals... oh well, we shoulda leave his @ss. He was ready to leave us and our hilux stuck in the mud. He get what he deserved :).
We wasted a good 40 mins on his sorry self anyway... which was valuable beach time!

Trying to help out the fella, who after getting pulled out, went straight back in the mud and get stick AGAIN!!
What a scrotum-sac this man is boy.. wheeeyyyy!

testing out the trail conditions - favourable for... STICKING!

Playing on the beach

Running off.

Finally get to do donuts on the sand.

After this point, we settled for about an hour and a half and let the guys and gals go swimming and bathing. Was a really nice day, good weather and great company.

At this point, most of the guys broke off to go home after a great day of trail running and exploring. Most of us had never been on Cuevas trail or through Lopinot.
The rest of us decided to go to tyrico to eat some bake and shark, lime, and take another bathe.

So after the sun set, we dried off and headed home.
But this was not the end of the run.

3stage and myself were still around, and while talking over the radios on the drive out we decided that we should go for Haagen Das in ellerslie plaza. The two of us, plus 2 other trucks were enough for a run - so the Side B run was STILL ON!!

So the run ended with:
1. Haagen Das at Ellerslie plaza
2. Went to Movietowne POS to catch "Pirates Of The Caribbean 4" at the 8:45pm show (in semi-wet beach clothes, and sand on our feet! Needless to say, I froze my ass off in my wet shorts, and left the Movietowne seat all nice and damp, and the staff there gonna be wondering where all this damned sand came from!!! Ent 3stage??? :mrgreen:)

So, all-in-all... a fantastic run. We met all our goals, minor casualties, went on 3 trails and 3 beaches...... I was fully pleased. Glad to know that everyone got home safe and sound, and that everyone who came had a total blast.

To the guys who couldn't make it - don't worry, we have much more runs to come later on in the year, and not just the Official DB runs too (lots of Side-B runs where we gonna re-visit prev. places, eg. Santa Flora Part 2, Morne Diablo Part 2, a night-run, Turtle Watching and Kayaking weekend, Down-De-Islands, Rally, First-Aid and Recovery Training day with BBQ and Beach lime........ stay tuned!!)

Thank you all for coming, for the great company, and thanks to the guys of Side B for an awesome run.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 24th, 2011, 3:39 am

And to top it all off, here's a nice long video of the Las Cuevas trail fun.

Enjoy!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 24th, 2011, 6:37 am

dat was some epic stickage......and dat fool....we should have left that jimny after we pulled him out the first time and den ask him if he was selling....dat cheese......

Hopefully I wouldn't be riding along next time...we'll see....kudos for the pics and vids....

droppa

Postby droppa » May 24th, 2011, 8:30 am

nice run on sunday guys, was real best, and small man had a time too.....

btw it was kinda good that there were no 4X2s on this run, cuz there were some parts in lopinot that they would have gotten real trouble with......

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » May 24th, 2011, 9:06 am

Droppa, small man is real kicks!!..

Nice pics Leo.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 24th, 2011, 9:19 am

droppa wrote:nice run on sunday guys, was real best, and small man had a time too.....

btw it was kinda good that there were no 4X2s on this run, cuz there were some parts in lopinot that they would have gotten real trouble with......

That's what I was counting on! :twisted:

I knew they would have some problems, that's why the 4x2s were supposed to be paired up with the powerful 4x4s.. It would have been a little challenging, but they would have had some epic fun and great stories to tell...

Nice pics Kristy! :wink:

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 25th, 2011, 12:29 am

Finally got the time to upload the pictures and post them. The videos are being uploaded right now, so if not tonight, I will post those tomorrow when they finish. My pictures are not as clean as 3stagevtec and lighthammer since then have fancy cameras (they fancy imo). I just used my cell phone and the digital camera my friend had. Enjoy.

River on the way through Lopinot trail up the hills. River lime anyone?

lighthammer wrote:Had a couple of scary hill climbs, saw a donkey and a monkey on the way, but it was a bess trail!!!
This your donkey? :shock:
The RWD men would love this trail. I had to use 4WD for one corner. Was just spinning tires on part of the hill. LOL.

Scenery like these are always good for the health. Just takes away all the stress.

Was so tempted to speed up a little on the bridge and give it some hard brakes. But really, that bridge is awesome.

Almost reach Blanchisseuse beach. Just look at that view!

Everyone face was pretty much all grin like this. Well done guys making it to our 1st beach.

Side B.

It's a lot of pictures. But I got to say, this beach was one of, if not, the most beautiful beach I've ever came across in Trinidad. It is all natural, with little human interference. I hope they don't fix the roads to get there. Leave it for only 4X4 vehicles. Less people know of it, the better.

Me : Is that pit deep?
Neela : *walks in* Nah man, you can drive through it... :mrgreen:
Gotta love her free/happy spirit.

One stuck idiot coming right up. If I remember correctly, the guy with the Samurai who came along with us broke his tow point on his vehicle pulling this guy out. I'm glad the guys of Side B drive with their head and not their ego. It avoids unnecessary events.

Snorkel and thing! Ready for those deep pits I see.

Approx. $40 to $50 in Diesel to cover 217Km. That is from San Fernando > to inside Chagaunas > to complete the trip with everyone > back to inside Chagaunas > and finally back to San Fernando. I like my diesel.

I have to get the rest of the pictures from my friend and her digital camera. Only got the videos so far.
As I said before. Well done guys. We completed everything we set out to do today. Hit all the trails, got some extra fun on the sand and got to soak some good salt water. No major incidents other than the little sprain ankle civicminded got (Best of health. Good thing is an automatic you have. And better yet, we have a lighthammer who is there for any such situations).
Not only did we complete everything, some even stayed back and soaked some more salt water and even take in a good movie. How was the movie?

Another run that was well worth ever effort. Cheers... :drinking:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 25th, 2011, 12:57 am

Aye - I could well do with a run similar like this again!

But this time, let's throw some 4x2's into the mix (of course we have to anticipate some stickage - and prepare accordingly).

To be perfectly honest, I much rather Blanchisseuse beach than Las Cuevas beach, it's more scenic and offers more for everyone: Water to bathe, rocks to climb and fish from, calm rock pools to just lie down and relax in, and even a nice sandy spot to get some smalll-goal football or cricket in.

Somebody go hadda bring a portable grill to cook all that fish I planning to catch!

So next time - 4x2's are invited to come.

Speedy and Rotted - challenge has been extended.... what is your answer??!!!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 25th, 2011, 1:00 am

Scenic drive through the northern range.

Samurai stuck in mud 1.

Samurai stuck in mud 2.

Samurai stuck in mud 3. If you listen, you will hear a bang at 21seconds. I think that is the Samurai that is pulling (The one that came along with us). The tow point on his vehicle broke. Just a simple weld to fix it right up as new.

Vitara On Sand

Mazda On Sand

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 25th, 2011, 1:09 am

lighthammer wrote:Aye - I could well do with a run similar like this again!

But this time, let's throw some 4x2's into the mix (of course we have to anticipate some stickage - and prepare accordingly).

To be perfectly honest, I much rather Blanchisseuse beach than Las Cuevas beach, it's more scenic and offers more for everyone: Water to bathe, rocks to climb and fish from, calm rock pools to just lie down and relax in, and even a nice sandy spot to get some smalll-goal football or cricket in.

Somebody go hadda bring a portable grill to cook all that fish I planning to catch!

So next time - 4x2's are invited to come.

Speedy and Rotted - challenge has been extended.... what is your answer??!!!

I in for that. From what I see, even though the waves looked big, the guy who went in there was floating and wasn't having any problems. And also, because of the big rocks on either side, that should stop and dangerous currents, so bathing there is safe. BBQ chicken, grilled fish, some cricket, some football. Yea, that sounds like a perfect lime.

The 2WD drive guys will some good fun getting there. I would suggest however we bring a grating just to put in that tight left turn where there was plenty mud. The corner where the road is falling is a bit intimidating. If I remember correctly, once you stay to the right, there is no worries at all.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 25th, 2011, 2:22 am

i accept said challenge!! :D

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 25th, 2011, 7:36 am

fellas with the drop in liners- you should take them out , and give the tray a good wash - very sure sand got in there!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 25th, 2011, 8:25 am

the guy with the samurai who got stuck is a real kant.....and his vehicle was hazardously overloaded, and with yung uns too eh.....

civic hows the ankle doin???

dat run was real nice, dem fellas had a time washin the van after, i still need an engine wash badly...

claries

Postby claries » May 25th, 2011, 9:52 am

the run was rel bess fellas

hoping another one soon :lol:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 25th, 2011, 11:05 am

droppa wrote:the guy with the samurai who got stuck is a real kant.....and his vehicle was hazardously overloaded, and with yung uns too eh.....

dat run was real nice, dem fellas had a time washin the van after, i still need an engine wash badly...

ankle is ok - swelling went down a bit - a couple of days of rest will fix it right up.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 25th, 2011, 11:14 am

Come on Runul, 1/2 a donut?? lol.. (from 36sec in last vid..)

I gotta say the LSD in the Mazda working great! both rear wheels were spinning all the time!

Postby 3stagevtec » May 25th, 2011, 11:26 am

civic minded wrote:
droppa wrote:the guy with the samurai who got stuck is a real kant.....and his vehicle was hazardously overloaded, and with yung uns too eh.....

ankle is ok - swelling went down a bit - a couple of days of rest will fix it right up.

next time use low range + 2nd gear & engine braking.. will help on those steep hills.. :mrgreen:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 25th, 2011, 12:57 pm

you forget is a auto he jivin orr?? ^^^

Return to “Off Road Runs”