Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Slack

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby Slack » May 21st, 2011, 9:18 pm

i believe ppl would be able to get diesel at the Piarco gas station in the morning. We will be there early.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 21st, 2011, 9:27 pm

All packed and ready to get an early night rest (If I can sleep that is). I will be trying to avoid the over heavy mud for these runs though. If I can't however, well, more fun :D.  If I remember correctly, someone said they had a water pump that they will be bringing? Don't forget to bring that please, I wanna take a quick borrow. Don't want to end up home looking like 3stagevtec did for the folks to see. Lol. They wouldn't dig no horrors if it is a 1cm thick layer of mud, but a whole 3inches coat of mud on the van can cause some problems. 

As of right now, it has some moderate rain on and off in Sando. For all you north guys, how is the weather looking up?

bobvis

Postby bobvis » May 21st, 2011, 9:31 pm

hey where is the meeting place for the run ???/

Postby 3stagevtec » May 21st, 2011, 9:59 pm

bobvis wrote:hey where is the meeting place for the run ???/

cutting it kinda close!

call me (Rene) at 330-6630!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 21st, 2011, 10:00 pm

bobvis wrote:hey where is the meeting place for the run ???/

Put your name on the list of people attending and PM lighthammer:
- Your vehicle make/colour
- License plate number
- Contact number

He will then PM you back the meeting location. For safety reasons, we wouldn't put our meeting location in the thread.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » May 21st, 2011, 10:11 pm

Spent the day at maracas, some reall hard showers there today..

Unipet in St Aug and in Santa Cruz both have diesel, no long liness..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 21st, 2011, 10:25 pm

^ light rain here in arima right now.

Jeremy, how the soil conditions looked in maracas today?

Hopefully the rain will hold off for tonight and into tomorrow.

Bobvis - I pm'd you, check ur inbox.
If you didn't get it, I'll send u another msg now and you can recheck ur inbox in a while, or call 3stagevtec.

Now finished putting together a rudimentary field-surgery kit, just in case the worst happens - it's good to be prepared.

Looks like we gonna have a wet-trail, guys be sure to come prepared just like santa flora:

- shovel
- pitchfork
- cutlass
- grating (if you have)
- tow ropes and chains
- umbrellas and raincoats if you have any
- first aid kit
- walkie talkies

And be sure to charge up your cellphone and cameras.

Tomorrow morning, 3stage and I will give a safety briefing and trail briefing when we meet up at 7am.

Get some sleep guys - rain starting to fall heavier now here in the east, so tomorrow is gonna be challenging!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 21st, 2011, 10:47 pm

oh, before I forget....

does anyone have any AIR COMPRESSORS??

If you have one, bring it please, we'll probably be airing-down our tyres at some point on the more tricky, slippery parts of the trail in blanchi.

I'll bring one, and I know two other guys have.

Please bring your AIR COMPRESSORS if you have them ok ?

Ok nite nite, see y'all bright and early tomorrow morning at the meeting point!

(if you still didn't get the PM about where the meet is, just PM me or call 687-4954)

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 21st, 2011, 11:31 pm

ey fellas, wah time Japs does open?? gotta get me a fish combo fuh d road....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 21st, 2011, 11:58 pm

10:00am bai.....

why yuh want japs fish?
Why not bake and shark???

Doh worry man, i go bring some hot dogs for u :D

Plus, it go have a doubles man right in front the meeting place, and another doubles man down the road too!

So you spoiled for choices in breakfast menu baicuddlesbaidawgbai

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 22nd, 2011, 3:54 am

ey tanx bwoyhammerbwoy!! yuh kno ah does look forward to yuh food on dem runs dem, jus once kristy prepare it an ting na, i good wid dat :) lol but i cyah sleep dreddddd i tossin an tunnin, wakeup drink water, go bac to bed an is d same flippin ting!! wares meh gyul wen ah need she eh?? ;) lmao

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 22nd, 2011, 4:47 am

^^ d gyul sleeping!! unlike you!...

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 22nd, 2011, 4:57 am

guess al jus hv to take matters into my own hands.....lmfao!!

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » May 22nd, 2011, 6:11 am

rain falling ..........

Haunted

Postby Haunted » May 22nd, 2011, 6:11 pm

no updates yet?
things must be bad

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 22nd, 2011, 7:00 pm

Now reach home...Run was excellent and I did not even drive....Real excitement towards the end but all in all it was great....As always thanks to the guys and gals of side B......Pics I'm sure will be up soon!!!! PS no 4x2's on this one.....

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 22nd, 2011, 7:14 pm

on d 22nd May@ approx 11am was wen meh dam battery decided to commit suicide!!! tanx to Loe's padna wit d frontier an all d other guys for givin me a hand wit d constant swappin of batteries to restart my truck...
it was greatly appreciated!!

nw is fuh a shower an rel food :D
hp all u guys got home safely as well...

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 22nd, 2011, 9:35 pm

I'm home safe and sound. The van get a quick wash. All the heavy mud and salt water/sand removed. I'll post whatever pics and vids I have tomorrow when I get time. Great run fellas. I hope Civic Minded didn't sprain his ankle too bad. Best of health...

Postby 3stagevtec » May 23rd, 2011, 12:14 am

NOW REACH HOME!!! : )

off to sleep! ZzzZzz

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 23rd, 2011, 7:04 am

It's ok, couple of days rest will cure that, run was great fellas. Now throwup some pics!

Postby ronsin1 » May 23rd, 2011, 8:31 am

it is a lucky thing I did not attend the Run apparently I had another Breakdown to deal with first was a generator then a 250 Ton chiller Stupes

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 23rd, 2011, 11:19 am

Good run yesterday fellas! Was truly epic.

Basic rundown of the run:

- met in airport np station early, left a bit late for stragglers
- passed through lopinot road and went all the way up the road till we reach the trail
- went up and through the lopinot trail, which is basically up and through the northern range, until we reach blanchi main road. Had a couple of scary hill climbs, saw a donkey and a monkey on the way, but it was a bess trail!!! Not too hard, but not too easy either :)
- reach spring bridge, waited for the stragglers. Cuddles battery died, had to swap batteries from a next frontier. Started up and headed into blanchi trail
- trail was bess! Good, hard surface with one slushy mud pit, the big ruts were ok now.
- walked to blanchi beach. That narrow section we talked about was truly too narrow for a hilux or landie to pass. Blanchi beach was besss!!! Very nice scenery, lots of rocks to climb plus soothing rock-pools to dip in.

- on the way out, had our first casualty, civicminded sprained his ankle. Got out my brand new field-surgery kit and amputated his leg........... Just kidding!!! Gave him a painkiller and wrapped his ankle up. He had to go home afterwards.
- on the way back out, I got stuck in the slushy pit and started to slide towards the drain (and the 20-foot drop to the ocean!). Had to drop into 4LO to lock the front and back diffs of the navara (4H still had too much slip for the lsd's) and 2nd gear.... And powered out of that pit like a BOSS!! The scorpions dug down and found a bite in the hard gravel underneath... And sting up the trail!!

- and then onto las cuevas, where the fun really began. First half of the group went in and to the beach, then jeremy got stuck in the second mud hole. He made it pretty far but his diffs got hung up. The jimny on 35's came and pulled him out, then a 2.2L TAY hilux tried (on 33" super swampers, I belive) and got stuck badly too. 3stage had to winch him out from behind.
- another jimny came along ad got stuck like a real @ss. First he came from behind and tried to go around the stuck hilux, and he got stuck. Jumped out and tried to lock his front diffs, but he couldn't engage 4WD. So he was spinning his 35" tractor tyres in the mud like a real fool - and he wouldn't listen to our instructions and tried to go brave like a real kant. He stick real good and the other jimny tried to tow him out but either his tow hook snapped or the bolt on the shackle sheared. He got out eventually.

- we all went to cuevas beach, some bathed, me and a few others went and did donuts on the beach. Limed for a while, then most of us were ready to go home. Unfortunately some of Rutless Tiida's ride-alongs got separated from the group, had a bit of a panic while looking for them but found them eventually.

- 3stage, myself and a couple others went to get bake and shark and chilled on tyrico afterwards till sunset. Finally get to dip into the ocean, was really nice! Water was cool and extra clear that day.

- but wait, that's not all! We decided that the run was still on! (We still had 2 members of side-b, me and 3stage, so that was enough to continue the run). After tyrico, we discussed plans over the walkie talkies while driving out and decided to go for Haagen Das in ellerslie plaza..... Followed by Pirates Of The Caribbean 4, in movietowne POS.
Sat down in wet clothes in freezing movietheatre, to watch a mediocre movie with Johnny Depp running around for 1 1/2 hours.

Only after the movie did the run end, around 11pm :).

So all in all, a fantastic run, we met all our goals, had lots of excitement, only one minor casualty, no damage to any vehicles, and we all had a blast.

** this is a special point here, since it's the FIRST TIME EVER that Side B ever made it to a beach on a run!! All the other times we had to turn back, mostly cuz of bad weather. It was a sweet victory to see that Blanchi beach, on the same trail where Side B was first formed or rather, "born", and my Navara was baptized!

So congrats to the guys and gals of Side B, we made it!

Pics to follow soon.
Keep On Truckin' !!!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 23rd, 2011, 12:12 pm

^^^ nice write up leo! sounds like yall had a blast! sorry i cudnt make it...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 23rd, 2011, 12:59 pm

Sounds like fun . Hiked to Paria and passed thru that area on Saturday. Glad to know that all went well.

After the last pitched road the road went up and than down to a very muddy section look like you all got no problems.

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » May 23rd, 2011, 1:26 pm

i wish i was there i real miss out :( :( :(

Postby sliderz1 » May 23rd, 2011, 2:43 pm

any1 got pics???

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 23rd, 2011, 4:16 pm

i go put up pics later tonight, have to sort through them first.

Postby sliderz1 » May 23rd, 2011, 8:10 pm

^^didnt get much pics on my side tho.........will post what i have soon

bobvis

Postby bobvis » May 23rd, 2011, 8:41 pm

hey ,, sunday's run was fun being a first timer with you all, i really enjoyed it ( stuck an all ) .. I am so accustomed to driving thru that trail with a sammy that i owned previously and thought it was a walk in the park ,,, but it was not to be,,, thanks to 3stagevtec for the pull.
Hope to be there for the next run.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 23rd, 2011, 8:50 pm

Now sorting through my pics..

Really enjoyed the drive with you all Sunday. I wasn't feeling too well in the morning but the day's action quickly took my mind off it. Had lots of fun and just happy we made it to the multiple beaches on this run.. Finally, a successful Side B run! :lol:

Return to “Off Road Runs”