Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

lighthammer

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby lighthammer » May 18th, 2011, 5:10 pm

^^ excellent!

Now we just waitin for our search & rescue specialist to get he shocks fix up and we orn like corn!

Now seeing some rain clouds over the Northern Range, with some light drizzles over Trincity & Arima.
Wonder how that Lopinot & Blanchi trail gonna be like..... can't wait to put the Scorpions to the test back in the same spot where my van get Blessed (and humped by 4 rasta men).

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 18th, 2011, 5:44 pm

droppa wrote:@davesingh if ur seerious about making the run,
1.add ur name to the list
2.pm Lighthammer ur info- Veh make/colour, lic plate #, phone #
and jus be at the meeting place for the given time and u good

@slack, we doh discriminate, a non diesel 4X4 is our search and rescue expert (3stage),
so we open to 4X4/4X2 petrol or diesel

Hence the reason the group name change to "Side B"
We all one big happy muddy family...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 18th, 2011, 8:35 pm

This turning out to be a huge run.... Damn!!! 18 trucks?! That's twice as much when you guys did quinam

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 18th, 2011, 8:38 pm

^^ and a couple of us bringing some tag-alongs too eh... might be more than 18 trucks on this run bai, probably 20 or more!

Looks like Las Cuevas goin and be crowded this sunday - hope them jimnys and them don't mind some traffic jam inside of the trail!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 18th, 2011, 8:46 pm

Updated Roll Call:
1. Jeremy
2. Droppa
3. Lighthammer
4. 3stagevtec
5. brianr20v
6. Speedaholic
7. Jon_one
8. Rutless Tiida
9. Rottedv (Tentative)
10. Rotated (tentative)
11. Civic Minded
12. claries
13. ronsin1 (Tentative)
14. Slack
15. cvt-7_RR
16. MrCuddles
17. Dave
18. bobvis

Ok bobvis - got your PM (replied to it too) and added you to the list.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 19th, 2011, 12:15 am

Right, so the guys from Side B have discussed the details of the run on Sunday through Lopinot/Blanchi/Las Cuevas. Just a few points to be made here....

1. *** MAKE EVERY EFFORT TO COME ON TIME!! *****

The meeting time is 7:00AM and we'll be leaving at 7:30am sharp!!!.

This is because we need as much time as possible to tackle the three trails that we'll be exploring on Sunday. Lopinot trail is challenging (though quite doable) - esp. for the 4x2 guys. There's a hill-climb and some rough-road to cover, hence we'll need some time to tackle these obstacles. Plus the drive up to blanchisseuse and up to Spring Bridge is a long one.

Please try your best to prepare the day before, and get some sleep on Saturday night so that you can wake up on time to reach the meeting point at 7:00AM.

2. Come prepared to get stuck. For the guys who ran with us before, basically we gonna enter territory that's similar to Santa Flora, but has less slippery mud and more gravelly base underneath the mud. Your prep list should include the following:

- shovels
- pitchfork
- grating
- tow rope and shackles/D-Rings (if you have them)
- tow chain
- air-compressor (we plan to air-down the tyres on a couple sections of the run)
- walkie talkies (bring them if you have any)
- medicines & sunscreen & insect repellent
- food, drinks, cooler (enough to feed your van passengers at least)
- camera, all batteries charged

3. Safety is of paramount importance. There have been stories of people getting robbed on the Las Cuevas trail before - but AFAIK it's because they didn't prepare or got isolated from the group. So it's important to keep together, try not to wander off on your own without telling someone where you're going (including bathroom stops!!) and always alert one of the Side-B guys or someone with a Radio if you 're going off somewhere or if you see someone/something suspicious. Keep your cellphone with you at all times. Remember - Safety in Numbers.

4. 10 minutes before we depart from the meeting point, 3stagevtec and myself will give you guys a quick safety briefing and a run-down of the trails, with what to expect, how to tackle the obstacles, etc.... We'll organize the convoy and space out the trucks in the most efficient way. The rest of the side-B guys will have radios/walkie talkies, and we'll all act as Marshalls for the convoy since it's so large.

5. This is gonna be a family-oriented trip, and many of the drivers are gonna be bringing their family members along. This means NO ALCOHOL CONSUMPTION ALLOWED, not by drivers nor passengers either. Drunkeness and wild-behaviour are not allowed. If it happens and you get warned, and it persists, you'll be left behind to fend for yourself. One drunken person can't be allowed to jeopardize the group - we'll be in a remote location, far away from any kind of professional. Plus with all the kicks and adrenaline flowing, we won't even need alcohol to have major fun, as the previous guys who ran with us can tell you.

Of course this is not to say we not gonna have fun - there'll be ditches to cross, mud holes to power-through, hills to climb, and deep ruts to navigate. We just gonna do it in a controlled manner. A little horseplay here and there is no big thing - but we as responsible off-roaders and responsible drivers have to maintain control at all times.

For the newer, less experienced guys, I'd highly recommend that you take a read of this thread and learn a little bit about off-roading technique:

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=373829&p=5341586#p5341586

This is an off-road driving technique thread that I created to help everyone learn how to drive off-road. It's quite different from driving on-road, and even from driving on a dirt path. Be smart and pro-active, learn how to drive properly and show off your skills on the trail.

So that's pretty much it for now, I'm very excited about the run on sunday. Please pray for good weather, we don't want to turn-around again and we want to go all the way!!

See allyuh bright and early on Sunday morning!
"Keep on truckin'"

Haunted

Postby Haunted » May 19th, 2011, 2:26 am

how many of you guys actually got M/T's or even A/T's?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 19th, 2011, 5:57 am

Haunted wrote:how many of you guys actually got M/T's or even A/T's?

As far as I know, no one has MTs.. It's a split between ATs and HTs I would guess..

We do have determination and a Warn though.. :wink:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 19th, 2011, 7:31 am

^. and my Axe!!

(LOTR geeks will know what i tawkin bout)

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » May 19th, 2011, 9:12 am

i tackled las cuevas a few times recently and my smooth stockers did me just fine... and the track seemed impassable...

claries

Postby claries » May 19th, 2011, 9:26 am

dats alot of trucks hope it have space for all of us!!!!!
the biggest side B run so far

aye brian gud to hear yuh got the glass
and dis time dont take chainn up from droppa ehh :lol:

droppa

Postby droppa » May 19th, 2011, 9:54 am

eh eh claries, outside wit dat.......

is u ah looking to chain up this time, lewwe see wah the toyos go do...........

Postby ronsin1 » May 19th, 2011, 11:19 am

lighthammer wrote:

2. Come prepared to get stuck. For the guys who ran with us before, basically we gonna enter territory that's similar to Santa Flora, but has less slippery mud and more gravelly base underneath the mud. Your prep list should include the following:

- shovels
- pitchfork
- grating
- tow rope and shackles/D-Rings (if you have them)
- tow chain
- air-compressor (we plan to air-down the tyres on a couple sections of the run)
- walkie talkies (bring them if you have any)
- medicines & sunscreen & insect repellent
- food, drinks, cooler (enough to feed your van passengers at least)
- camera, all batteries charged

I eh have none ah them thing :cry:

droppa

Postby droppa » May 19th, 2011, 11:46 am

well then yuh stickin,

if yuh have a 4X4 yuh shud at least have a cooler dred, it does hav one man alone inna van an he does have he cooler and drinks.....

so get some of the stuff u think u will need nah, if u feel u comfortable without any stuff its no scene too....

but i must tell u, u dont wanna get stranded out there and dont have some eats and drinks, esp water.....

also walk with water to wash ur hands and feet....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 19th, 2011, 12:34 pm

claries - for real... them toyos is mean tyres bai. From what jeremy used to do, they real capable.

I wanna see if the WLT engine in ur B2500 has enough torque to run through cuevas. I sure the toyos will grip well enough.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 19th, 2011, 12:37 pm

oh yeah fellas - bring allyuh garden boots.
I sure more than a couple of us gonna get stuck in that mud and we gonna need to wade around in eet.

So bring allyuh boots!!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 19th, 2011, 12:46 pm

rain like dat up dat side.....and I have on d same tyres from last time....maybe I would ride with meh pardner dey oui...I will stick at every corner....Don't want to spoil everyones' fun.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 19th, 2011, 12:54 pm

nah rotted, no worries! we done making arrangements, one of us will tow u over the harder parts.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 19th, 2011, 2:04 pm

actually for rotted and jhonnie and who ever else is 2wd, there are areas that u can park up and ride along, in las cuevas there is an entrance tru the fishing depot, once its clear u guys can come tru there....

claries

Postby claries » May 19th, 2011, 3:13 pm

And we have to see rotated on 2ft rims gettin orn too

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 19th, 2011, 3:27 pm

dont forget mee!! :P cant wait for sunday... might have som A/ts on the rear rims too... MIGHT.. not sure yet...

Postby ronsin1 » May 19th, 2011, 3:33 pm

droppa wrote:well then yuh stickin,

if yuh have a 4X4 yuh shud at least have a cooler dred, it does hav one man alone inna van an he does have he cooler and drinks.....

so get some of the stuff u think u will need nah, if u feel u comfortable without any stuff its no scene too....

but i must tell u, u dont wanna get stranded out there and dont have some eats and drinks, esp water.....

also walk with water to wash ur hands and feet....

oh a cooler I have that 8-) first aid kit is not a problem and I also have a pair of garden boots. but this week is very tied up for me as I has training set until Saturday and then I have some personal stuff to be completed that is very pressing

so getting the rest of stuff will be an issue.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 19th, 2011, 3:45 pm

remember d 4x2s groundclarence arent as much as d 4x4s so towin dem tru d trail cood do som damage to d underbody, sidesteps, bumpers ect.

:roll: jus an observation...

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » May 19th, 2011, 4:16 pm

Guys rain is predicted for this weekend so the regular guys will make a decision if the trail is to bad..
remember with each vehicle passing it will get harder for the others that are to follow.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 19th, 2011, 5:29 pm

MrCuddles wrote:remember d 4x2s groundclarence arent as much as d 4x4s so towin dem tru d trail cood do som damage to d underbody, sidesteps, bumpers ect.

:roll: jus an observation...

Lopinot and Blanchi is 2WD safe WRT ground clearance..

At Blanchi, the 2WD guys will park at the top of the main hill and hitch a ride. 4x4s will park at the bottom of the main hill and we will all walk to the beach.

Las Cuevas trail is an optional part of the run.. Those who don't want to tackle it can park at the start of the trail and walk through.. Trail is not very long..

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » May 19th, 2011, 5:29 pm

droppa wrote:eh eh claries, outside wit dat.......

is u ah looking to chain up this time, lewwe see wah the toyos go do...........

Na boy droppa i eh taking no chain up this time na ..................... but i know i gana stick need some tires really bad ..................... :) :)

Postby 3stagevtec » May 19th, 2011, 6:00 pm

Rutless Tiida wrote:Guys rain is predicted for this weekend so the regular guys will make a decision if the trail is to bad..
remember with each vehicle passing it will get harder for the others that are to follow.

This will apply greatly to Blanchi, that trouble hill will get very tricky when wet.. :twisted:

Haunted

Postby Haunted » May 19th, 2011, 7:43 pm

i wish yall luck...ill be in and out before yall reach

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 20th, 2011, 6:20 am

3stage - ah now buy an air compressor, so we go air dong nah, esp that trick rutty hill in blanchi.

And I also wired up my rollbar foglights, so we ready for a night-operation in case we end up there after the sun sets.

Looks like rain this weekend guys, but we are still 100% go.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 20th, 2011, 7:59 am

those fogs are brittttttteeeeeee fella................

yeah rain or not we pumpin stll on sunday.......

anyone have any implications to the set time, i know sometimes guys run ah lil late, have to pick up ppl and other stuff, so anyone who will be late, let us kno so wee can alwys meet u on the way....

Return to “Off Road Runs”