Trinidad & Tobago MVT, VAT, CD and Transfer Fees

Looking to Buy, Sell or Trade your vehicle or parts? Post it here
Cars, Bikes, Trucks, Pickups, Vans, Boats, ATVs etc

Forum rules
• Negative comments or replies, lowballing or 'sale bashing' are NOT allowed in FS topics.
• Personal ads are FREE. Commercial Ads are not allowed without Powerseller Status. Posting items/property for rent is considered commercial.
• Powerseller status is for users who wish to post many items for sale, new or used.
• Even if you do not own a business but would like to post many items for sale, then Power Seller status is required.
• Users are limited to no more than 2 simultaneous Ads / FS (For Sale) topics per classified forum; powersellers are limited to no more than 4.
• Ads that have not been replied to after 180 days will be deleted.
Please click here to view the forum rules
Skifflaz

Re: Trinidad & Tobago MVT, VAT, CD and Transfer Fees

Postby Skifflaz » April 16th, 2015, 7:27 pm

Wasn't 1500cc and less free initially?

sheltrin

Postby sheltrin » June 3rd, 2015, 4:23 pm

sinstersamwise

Postby sinstersamwise » June 20th, 2015, 4:22 pm

Hi Guys, I am Interested in brining in a RORO vehicle. I just wanted to ensure that my estimates are on point, see below.

Cost Insurance Freight = 9,000US/63,000.00TT - 1500cc
MVT = 5,625.00
Duty Payable = 13,725.00
Vat 15% = 12,352.50
Total = $94,702.50

Can anyone verify if these figures look accurate?

sinstersamwise

Postby sinstersamwise » June 23rd, 2015, 4:24 pm

bump...

LordB

Postby LordB » June 25th, 2015, 12:18 am

Duty is 25% for a 1500cc .. also you'll have to pay a customs broker to clear the car and pay to get the bill of lading etc. Also the cost to get the tyres inspected. But you should be able to get the car on the road for just under 100k ... remember .. if you are bringing it in yourself ... you should also budget to clean the car inside and out and at the very least to change out engine oil and transmission fluid and associated filters. You may also have to buy new tyres...

sinstersamwise

Postby sinstersamwise » June 25th, 2015, 1:25 am

Thanks for the reply....that be 25% of cif + mvt correct?

matrixneo

Postby matrixneo » June 28th, 2015, 8:33 am

Hi tuners, how do u calculate the duty on vehicles? does anyone know the different range etc

LordB

Postby LordB » June 28th, 2015, 11:53 pm

Duty is charged on the CIF only ... as far as I can recall.

sinstersamwise

Postby sinstersamwise » June 30th, 2015, 9:18 am

LordB wrote:Duty is charged on the CIF only ... as far as I can recall.

Thanks for the information.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » July 25th, 2015, 9:29 am

How is the cc rating determined? as in what documentation is used to calculate the tax

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » August 12th, 2015, 10:50 am

Check back through this thread there should be a calculator. With regards to the cc rating Idk if its from the chassis because sometimes it may be considered a 2000cc when in reality it's 1990 or some weird figure above or below

jhon03

Postby jhon03 » August 13th, 2015, 4:46 am

Wow so much figures.....this sheit tedious just trying to calculate on the road cost much more for actually doin it. Is that evo 9 i want really worth all this trouble.

Flash5761

Postby Flash5761 » September 1st, 2015, 2:33 pm

Hey can you tell me the cost mvt , vat, cd 7 seater 2000cc..CIF $10,000.us...

eXamin

Postby eXamin » September 4th, 2015, 10:11 am

Flash5761 wrote:Hey can you tell me the cost mvt , vat, cd 7 seater 2000cc..CIF $10,000.us...

That should cost approximately $140,000 OTR.

Also Engine size of 1500cc is 3.75 per cc not FREE.

akilsterling

Postby akilsterling » September 11th, 2015, 11:45 am

tuners can someone assist me in understanding the discounts i will get if i bring a vehicle under taxi "H" what will i be exempted from. lets say the vehicle is 15000 usd including shipping how will the break down look for the cost.

phase86

Postby phase86 » September 19th, 2015, 12:23 pm

Is it too late to bring in a vehicle that was manufactured in 2009 into the country? I just need clarification as the Ministry of trade states "The vehicle must be no more than SIX (6) years old from the year of manufacture at the time of importation into Trinidad and Tobago" If counting 2009 as one year to 2015 that makes it 7 years if manufacture date is included or is it counted as 2009-2010 as one year making 6 years? Please Clarify...

panka

Postby panka » September 20th, 2015, 7:58 am

If your vehicle is 2009 year of manufacture, you have until December 2015 the have it landed in Trinidad. Once the vehicle is imported and cleared by customs before the end of the year. Your import license is valid until the last day in December.

phase86

Postby phase86 » September 20th, 2015, 9:16 pm

Much appreciated.

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » September 20th, 2015, 9:56 pm

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » September 26th, 2015, 9:44 am

I think its not based on landed date, but date of shipping on Bill of Lading, so if it leaves if a 2009 vehicle is purchased in 2015 but lands it 2016 you should be ok.

Anyway who is a good, reliable broker who clears cars and licenses it and what not?

panka

Postby panka » September 26th, 2015, 9:49 am

Quite true , but if there is any delay in shipping, the license will have to be extended since it will no longer be valid after 2015

UKScene

Postby UKScene » October 18th, 2015, 4:32 am

Just a quick heads up that I am still sending cars from the UK and have available 4 sailing dates that will land in Trinidad before the end of December 2015.

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2015, 7:15 pm

anyone know what a broker charges locally to clear a vehicle? as well as average licensing fees?

padna of mine wants to bring in a 2012 tiida for himself with his personal import license

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » November 26th, 2015, 8:16 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:anyone know what a broker charges locally to clear a vehicle? as well as average licensing fees?

padna of mine wants to bring in a 2012 tiida for himself with his personal import license

Broker fees is about $1000 approximately

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 11th, 2016, 11:04 am

Fellas help me out here, let me know if I going wrong.

1500CC
CIF = $7000 ($47000TT)
MVT = None
Customs = 20% (20% of 47000 = $9400)
VAT = 12.5% (47000+9400 = 56400*12.5% =7050 )
Total = 47000 + 9400 + 7050 = $63450

Am I right in saying that the on the road cost will be around $65000 with broker fee and inspection(how much does the inspection cost)?
Just Insurance and thats it?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » May 11th, 2016, 2:02 pm

flatline wrote:Motor Vehicle Tax is normally payable at the following rates:

* engine size not exceeding 1599 cc Free
* engine size exceeding 1599 cc but not exceeding 1799 cc ? $ 4.00 per cc
* engine size exceeding 1799 cc but not exceeding 1999 cc ? $ 8.00 per cc
* engine size exceeding 1999 cc but not exceeding 2499 cc ? $21.00 per cc
* engine size exceeding 2499 cc but not exceeding 2999 cc ? $25.00 per cc
* engine size exceeding 2999 cc but not exceeding 3499 cc ? $30.00 per cc
* engine size exceeding 3499 cc ? $45.00 per cc
April 2016 UPDATE: 50% increase in Duty and MVT for engine size exceeding 1999cc

---

Value Added Tax is payable at a rate of 12.5%. It is calculated in the following manner:

12.5% of the C.I.F. Value + Customs Duty + MVT = VAT Payable

---

Customs duty is normally payable at the following rates:

* Vehicles with an engine size not exceeding 1599 cubic capacity (cc)- 20%
* Vehicles with an engine size exceeding 1599 cc but not exceeding 1999 cc - 25%
* Vehicles with an engine size exceeding 1799 cc but not exceeding 1999 cc - 25%
* Vehicles with an engine size exceeding 2000 cc - 30%
April 2016 UPDATE: 50% increase in Duty and MVT for engine size exceeding 1999cc

Customs duty is based on the Cost, Insurance and Freight (C.I.F.) Value of the Vehicle.
----

New April 2016 MVT, Duty and VAT schedule

This post does not make sense to me at all. The customs duties have been doubled. Adding 50% of any number to said number does not result in the number being doubled. Either the previous info in this post was wrong or the government is robbing the citizens of this country blind.

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » May 23rd, 2016, 12:51 am

* engine size not exceeding 1599 cc Free

For MVT is this current info? A RORO dealer told me I have to pay MVT on Axio and all engines even if they under 1599cc...

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » June 13th, 2016, 10:02 pm

Apparently customs is charging people the full 100% MVT and the 25% discount no longer applies. I have a vehicle coming in for a customer and Im querying this right now! Any customs workers here could verify this information

trinivixen

Postby trinivixen » June 14th, 2016, 10:14 pm

hey guys ,
Anyone one able to quote the "on the road" cost for a 2012 , 1300 cc, FOB Amount: USD 2,700 , Freight Amount: USD 1,450 ??

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 16th, 2016, 2:40 pm

^^ there's a lot of factors
1) what's the color?
2) premium, super or diesel?
3) what material is the upholstery made of?
4) how many RPM's @ idle?

Return to “Car Classifieds - Buy, Sell or Trade”