Trinidad & Tobago MVT, VAT, CD and Transfer Fees

Looking to Buy, Sell or Trade your vehicle or parts? Post it here
Cars, Bikes, Trucks, Pickups, Vans, Boats, ATVs etc

Forum rules
• Negative comments or replies, lowballing or 'sale bashing' are NOT allowed in FS topics.
• Personal ads are FREE. Commercial Ads are not allowed without Powerseller Status. Posting items/property for rent is considered commercial.
• Powerseller status is for users who wish to post many items for sale, new or used.
• Even if you do not own a business but would like to post many items for sale, then Power Seller status is required.
• Users are limited to no more than 2 simultaneous Ads / FS (For Sale) topics per classified forum; powersellers are limited to no more than 4.
• Ads that have not been replied to after 180 days will be deleted.
Please click here to view the forum rules
brandon123

Re: Trinidad & Tobago MVT, VAT, CD and Transfer Fees

Postby brandon123 » May 18th, 2014, 2:06 pm

let me ask this..... if a car's manufacture date is 2008/01, can it be imported like around 2014/09?

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 18th, 2014, 2:08 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:thanks man^

No probs. You got through?

UKScene

Postby UKScene » May 20th, 2014, 12:18 pm

brandon123 wrote:let me ask this..... if a car's manufacture date is 2008/01, can it be imported like around 2014/09?

In a word No as now it is too late...if it was around 2008/11 and you import it before 2014/11 then yes.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 28th, 2014, 7:28 am

NR8 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:thanks man^

No probs. You got through?

yup I got through,but it was the worse thing ever...I remember last year and year before when you go to transfer you were able to pay transfer fee one time,friggin people tell me come back in a week.When I returned the said week lady said come back in three days.. :x :x

General info I did not know,you now have a 7 day period after you buy your car to go and have it transferred otherwise you have a late penalty to pay...these mofos.

caglowe

Postby caglowe » October 23rd, 2014, 8:07 pm

Good info here

LordB

Postby LordB » November 12th, 2014, 6:10 pm

UKScene wrote:
brandon123 wrote:let me ask this..... if a car's manufacture date is 2008/01, can it be imported like around 2014/09?

In a word No as now it is too late...if it was around 2008/11 and you import it before 2014/11 then yes.

Actually, if I recall correctly ... once it was manufactured in 2008 then you can import it in 2014 (6 year old car). You can check with a foreign used dealer to make sure, but as far as I know once it on the sea before year end 2014, then they would allow you to register the car once all of your documents show that the car was bought, deregistered, loaded on the RORO ship etc before the end of the year.

Can anyone confirm?

crazykid023

Postby crazykid023 » November 13th, 2014, 1:52 am

Can anyone plz tell me wat do cif means I understand that mvt is motor vehicle tax

crazykid023

Postby crazykid023 » November 13th, 2014, 2:39 am

Tell me if I'm rite OK let's say cif is tt77400 and let's say cc is 1800 after M.V.T C.D and V.A.T. in all the car will cost $165678 can sumone plz do the maths an tell me if I'm rite

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 13th, 2014, 12:03 pm

^^^i get $$132583.5

LordB

Postby LordB » November 13th, 2014, 4:51 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:^^^i get $$132583.5

Correct!

and then you have to add some money for your custom broker and to get the Bill of Lading, BS tyre inspection etc

crazykid023

Postby crazykid023 » November 13th, 2014, 7:45 pm

OK thanks alot ppl...... I'm look to bring in a bluebird sylphy from SBT japan so I jus wanted to make sure I have enough money

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 13th, 2014, 8:27 pm

sylphy comes 1800??

i kno abt the 2000 & 1500

crazykid023

Postby crazykid023 » November 13th, 2014, 9:42 pm

I don't think dey com exactly 1800cc but I jus used dat amount to get d mvt I knw d more cc is more money u pay

panka

Postby panka » November 15th, 2014, 8:13 am

Foreign used cars can be imported once it is 6 years and under. Once the vehicle is processed and landed here before the end of the sixth year.

CIF Cargo- Insurance- Freight

FOB Freight -n- Board

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 15th, 2014, 10:25 am

crazykid023 wrote:I don't think dey com exactly 1800cc but I jus used dat amount to get d mvt I knw d more cc is more money u pay

well padna you need d exact cc, bcuz different sizes have different MVT & CD brackets

crazykid023

Postby crazykid023 » November 15th, 2014, 6:38 pm

Roger on dat

stacy11

Postby stacy11 » January 17th, 2015, 11:38 am

I want to import a wingroad wagon or a Tida on my own, can anyone assist me. Does anyone know a good site to buy from. I already looked at a few like SBT and Japan vehicles.

jaya0789

Postby jaya0789 » January 28th, 2015, 5:01 am

Anyone ever experience the port losing vehicle keys? If you did can u tell me what can be done and if this is some sort of racket?

Ruff

Postby Ruff » January 28th, 2015, 12:51 pm

jaya0789 wrote:Anyone ever experience the port losing vehicle keys? If you did can u tell me what can be done and if this is some sort of racket?

AFAIK PATT is responsible for the keys and can be held liable.

jaya0789

Postby jaya0789 » January 28th, 2015, 1:20 pm

ok But what is the procedure in addressing the issue if all they saying is give them a week to try and find it, but i am hearing there might be some sort of racket on the port with intelligent keys.

Ruff

Postby Ruff » January 29th, 2015, 3:32 pm

The easiest solution would be to contact your supplier with vehicle's vin # and have them provide you with replacement(s). Obviously you will have to arrange with PATT to compensate you and also to waive your rent.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » January 29th, 2015, 3:40 pm

ahmmmmm so y not let a locksmith make one?

i doubt exporter would hv copies, esp if its a used car

Ruff

Postby Ruff » January 29th, 2015, 4:32 pm

Exporter will have access to new keys from manufacturer.

gearhead876

Postby gearhead876 » February 9th, 2015, 12:06 am

I Been to Customs and a clerk there was telling me that I have to pay $3.75 per cc (1500cc in total) plus taxes and import licences etc.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » February 12th, 2015, 6:42 pm

and wam

kenneedy

Postby kenneedy » February 12th, 2015, 10:21 pm

PM me if u interest

gearhead876

Postby gearhead876 » February 19th, 2015, 4:02 pm

Good day all does any knows any great reliable and reasonable price customs brokers? I am from Tobago and "the" broker here doesn't have any competition plus i feel he over charging me!

i trying to import a 1,500 cc 2010 wingroad
(CIF=USD $5250) ( 1 USD = 6.44 TTD)
and he quote me thEsE FIGURES
DUTY :$8,531
MVT:$5,587
VAT:$7,267
BROKER FEE:$4,100
WHAT DO YOU THINK? IS THIS A GOOD DEAL? AND ALSO ARENT CC'S UNDER 1500 FREE?

gearhead876

Postby gearhead876 » February 19th, 2015, 4:12 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:and wam

ARE NOT cc's 1500 AND UNDER FREE??

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » February 19th, 2015, 4:24 pm

nope, no cc is free

d pimp

Postby d pimp » February 19th, 2015, 7:59 pm

Hey guys need some info wit respect to transferring a vehicle- ️car is on my an my dads name, have copies of both his an my ID an DP an he signed d transfer form in d pic below does he need to go in license office wit me to do d transfer seeing that he signed already an I have copies of his cards?
Any guidance tonight will b greatly appreciated anyone wit info can call or msg me 498-8937. Thanks in advance

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424390335.205711.jpg

Return to “Car Classifieds - Buy, Sell or Trade”