Vehicle TRANSFER FEES in Trinidad & Tobago

Looking to Buy, Sell or Trade your vehicle or parts? Post it here
Cars, Bikes, Trucks, Pickups, Vans, Boats, ATVs etc

Forum rules
• Negative comments or replies, lowballing or 'sale bashing' are NOT allowed in FS topics.
• Personal ads are FREE. Commercial Ads are not allowed without Powerseller Status. Posting items/property for rent is considered commercial.
• Powerseller status is for users who wish to post many items for sale, new or used.
• Even if you do not own a business but would like to post many items for sale, then Power Seller status is required.
• Users are limited to no more than 2 simultaneous Ads / FS (For Sale) topics per classified forum; powersellers are limited to no more than 4.
• Ads that have not been replied to after 180 days will be deleted.
Please click here to view the forum rules
fearsaga15

Postby fearsaga15 » September 15th, 2008, 8:43 pm

yeah AND transferring a roro is different from transferring a foreign used car..
eg. i transferred my 93 honda civic last week and so the new owner thought the tax wud be 100. but since it was registered in 98 and a foreign used car is considered as a new car in 98( since it was assembled in 98), they had to end up payin 900!

chea

Postby chea » October 2nd, 2008, 10:24 am

a million thanx bro..cant tell u how much time u save everybody

gtr_fever

Postby gtr_fever » October 3rd, 2008, 7:39 pm

ppl jus make sure u eh go to late to transfer cuz u dont want to fall in the 2 hour lunch the one n only guy who handling transfers at the counter does take!!!

ingolook

Postby ingolook » October 27th, 2008, 9:55 am

I in problems:

Bought a car from my cousin-in-law about a year ago.

didn't transfer it,

he went away,

the insurance is on my name.

I need to transfer it to sell it, 1998 CK4. What could i do?

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » October 27th, 2008, 7:32 pm

tell him to come back and transfer it lol,

umm have him write a letter addressed to the lisencing commisioner sayin that he is transfering the said vehicle to you OR authorizing you to sell the said vehicle that is under his name...(well thats what i think needs to be done)

superpower

Postby superpower » November 2nd, 2008, 2:33 pm

realy good INFO guys Keep it up 10 points i must say,

John_Doe

Postby John_Doe » November 4th, 2008, 10:58 pm

what about bikes... Ihear that they have different fees???

shawty_d

Postby shawty_d » November 13th, 2008, 8:49 am

great info...very useful as well as the link http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=40772

badstyles16

Postby badstyles16 » November 19th, 2008, 4:03 pm

PCL HAS STARTED SO YOU CAN ADD PCL TO THE LIST NOW

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » November 19th, 2008, 7:55 pm

duno when exactly pcj started tho

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 21st, 2008, 9:42 pm

how much would it cost to transfer a car..

PBR series...and made in 2000..

car is a wingroad y11 ...

thanks in advance.....

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » November 22nd, 2008, 7:09 pm

falls in the 7-10years bracket so 900 n then u got add vat t tht i think

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2008, 1:53 am

910??

in that case..i liking!!

i waz told its checked by Reg. date for LOCAL and for RORO by manu. date..

can this be confirmed?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 23rd, 2008, 1:40 pm

John_Doe wrote:what about bikes... Ihear that they have different fees???

anyone can confirm?????

want to buy a 250cc in a couple weeks.......

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2008, 7:58 pm

Chiney wrote:910??

in that case..i liking!!

i waz told its checked by Reg. date for LOCAL and for RORO by manu. date..

can this be confirmed?

come ppl hurry..

man hadda spend money here :lol:

well???????????

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » November 24th, 2008, 9:07 am

yes roro is by manu. date lol

i nuh sure abt bikes tho i'd think it wud be the same tho

roadkill

Postby roadkill » November 24th, 2008, 10:20 pm

just to add. in san'do Motor and General Insurance opposite Jenny's Wok don't give cover letters anymore to anyone who is not a client. yuh have to go on cipero street to get one and it costing around $150.00.

Sweet Angel 2008

Postby Sweet Angel 2008 » November 26th, 2008, 10:46 am

If the manufacture date of my car is December 19th 2003, will it cost the $3000.00 to transfer or will they consider it just a few weeks away and let it be $2000.00??

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 26th, 2008, 7:04 pm

Sweet Angel 2008 wrote:If the manufacture date of my car is December 19th 2003, will it cost the $3000.00 to transfer or will they consider it just a few weeks away and let it be $2000.00??

If you're 16 years old and your birthday is a few weeks away......

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 26th, 2008, 11:10 pm

uttamj wrote:yes roro is by manu. date lol

i nuh sure abt bikes tho i'd think it wud be the same tho

thanks alot man!

just to add...it waz brought in by japan motors for the current owner in 04..and im buyin it next yr jan... i will be its 3rd owner..

i still safe right?

i hopin not to pay more than 1000$ to transfer it dread

jessebear76

Postby jessebear76 » December 8th, 2008, 10:28 pm

For Roll on Roll vehicles they check from the manufactured date and for knock down they check from the registration date or the year of arrival.

Eurotrash

Postby Eurotrash » December 28th, 2008, 10:19 pm

to check taxes...

over 10 years - $100
7-10 years old - $900
5-7 years old - $2000
2-5 years old - $3000
under 2 years - $4000

local vehicles - year month and date of first registration. note: it's found on the card copy on the right hand side of the name and address of the first owner.

roll on roll off - check from date of manufacture. located on the top right hand corner of the card copy. most would carry the year and month, eg. 03\11. the year is 2003 and the month of manufacture is november. this means from the first of december the tax would drop. in the case where there is no month listed, the taxes would be calculated using the first day in the next year.

knock down - these are calculated from date month and year of registration, just like the local vehicles. many people are confused by this. a knock down is known by the acronym L.A.F.U.P. written on the certified copy which stands for locally assembled, foreign used parts. these vehicles were built locally and registered for an average of 20-30k. because these vehicles were built locally, they are not considered foreign used vehicles even as every part on it is. so therefore the taxes paid are equal to a local car. so don't be too upset when someone with a higher series pays less than you.

motorbikes - simplest of all. $100, or if your bike is an over 250cc engine, $200 tax.

vat registered company vehicles - $10 transfer fee only, provided that the selling company gives a vat invoice with the following: engine and chassis number, the price of the vehicle, the amount of vat charged and the grand total, an invoice number and of course the vat registration number.

any more questions feel free to pm, or email at mercedes566@live.com

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » December 28th, 2008, 10:29 pm

good stuff here ... finally someone clears it up !

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 31st, 2008, 2:42 pm

oh yes! finally!!!

Postby De Dragon » February 2nd, 2009, 11:23 am

What about Inspection sticker? If the vehicle that you are selling doesn't have one?

Tasha

Postby Tasha » February 8th, 2009, 8:54 pm

do they still check engine numbers? i know they check the chassis....i'll be transfering by thursday

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » February 8th, 2009, 9:09 pm

no they dont really check engine number...but they definitely check the chassis no.

AftermathAudio

Postby AftermathAudio » February 17th, 2009, 6:12 pm

very usefull bless

BBFL

Postby BBFL » February 23rd, 2009, 4:03 pm

wat is the deal with inspections and private vehicles ???????? :?:

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » March 14th, 2009, 10:30 pm

The licensing fees have changed though... what are they now after the great budget of '08? I know that there was a link in this thread but the posts were circa 2005 so I doubt it is applicable now...

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=40772

I want to understand the new rules as I am bringing in a car and want to be able to estimate what I will be paying...

Return to “Car Classifieds - Buy, Sell or Trade”