Vehicle TRANSFER FEES in Trinidad & Tobago

Looking to Buy, Sell or Trade your vehicle or parts? Post it here
Cars, Bikes, Trucks, Pickups, Vans, Boats, ATVs etc

Forum rules
• Negative comments or replies, lowballing or 'sale bashing' are NOT allowed in FS topics.
• Personal ads are FREE. Commercial Ads are not allowed without Powerseller Status. Posting items/property for rent is considered commercial.
• Powerseller status is for users who wish to post many items for sale, new or used.
• Even if you do not own a business but would like to post many items for sale, then Power Seller status is required.
• Users are limited to no more than 2 simultaneous Ads / FS (For Sale) topics per classified forum; powersellers are limited to no more than 4.
• Ads that have not been replied to after 180 days will be deleted.
Please click here to view the forum rules
bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » April 2nd, 2010, 3:35 pm

Does anyone know how much does it cost to get a T vehicle inspected?

sexidreadz

Postby sexidreadz » April 10th, 2010, 10:28 pm

Hey guys,

Good work with all the info, it has really help with most of my questions. Anyway, my question is this... About to buy a car and going thru the credit union. The seller had the car transferred in his name a few days ago and only has the receipt, he has to go back to get the certified copy. Can I use that to get the loan from the CU? They asked for a copy of the certified copy so I dont know if they will take the receipt. Help!

Russel-Milfhunter

Postby Russel-Milfhunter » April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm

a PBP civcic 99 model register in 2003 how much would it cost to transfre....

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 18th, 2010, 2:34 pm

PBP
May 2003-Oct 2003

$6000.00 - < 2 years
$4500.00 - 2-5 years
$3000.00 - 5-7 years
$1350.00 - 7-10 years
$0150.00 - > 10 years

I think in this case the month that it was registered in 2003 is important.

g unit

Postby g unit » April 18th, 2010, 8:19 pm

anyone can help me here, how strict are they with this 2 forms of ID???

cuz i jus hav 1 at the moment, the other is not accessible at the moment. can someone please respond ASAP

Russel-Milfhunter

Postby Russel-Milfhunter » April 19th, 2010, 9:41 am

thanks man

pioneer punk

Postby pioneer punk » April 20th, 2010, 6:30 am

i bought a b14 PBG the long rear light ones how much would be the transfer 150 or 1400

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 20th, 2010, 8:49 am

A little more up to date.

PA_ series
    PAN
    Dec 1983-Mar 1984

PAO
    Mar 1984-Jul 1984

PAP
    Aug 1984-Jan 1985

PAR
    Jan 1985-Jul 1985

PAS
    Aug 1985-Jan 1986

PAT
    Jan 1986-Jul 1986

PAU
    Jun 1986-Nov 1987

PAW
    Nov 1987-Jan 1990

PAX
    Jan 1990-Dec 1991

PAY
    Dec 1991-Jun 1993

PAZ
    Jun 1993-Jun 1995

PB_ series
    PBA
    Jun 1995-Jul 1996

PBB
    Jul 1996-Jun 1997

PBC
    Jun 1997-Jan 1998

PBD
    Jan 1998-Jul 1998

PBE
    Jul 1998-Dec 1998

PBF
    Dec 1998-Jun 1999

PBG
    Jun 1999-Nov 1999

PBH
    Nov 1999-May 2000

PBJ
    Jun 2000-Jan 2001

PBK
    Jan 2001-Jul 2001

PBL
    Jul 2001-Jan 2002

PBM
    Jan 2002-Jul 2002

PBN
    Jul 2002-Dec 2002

PBO
    Dec 2002-May 2003

PBP
    May 2003-Oct 2003

PBR
    Nov 2003-Mar 2004

PBS
    Apr 2004-Aug 2004

PBT
    Aug 2004-Nov 2004

PBU
    Dec 2004-Apr 2005

PBW
    Apr 2005-Jul 2005

PBX
    Aug 2005-Oct 2005

PBY
    Nov 2005-Mar 2006

PBZ
    Apr 2006-Jun 2006

PC_ series
    PCA
    Jul 2006-Aug 2006

PCB
    Oct 2006-Dec 2006

PCC
    Jan 2007-Apr 2007

PCD
    Apr 2007-Jul 2007

PCE
    Jul 2007-Oct 2007

PCF
    Oct 2007-Dec 2007

PCH
    Jan 2008-Apr 2008

PCJ
    May 2008-Aug 2008

PCK
    Aug 2008-Jan 2009

PCL
    Jan 2009-May 2009

PCM
    May 2009-Sep 2009

PCN
    Sep 2009-Feb 2010

PCP
    Feb 2010-Jul 2010

PCR
    Jul 2010-Present

New Transfer Taxes (as of October 1 2009):
Cars
$6000.00 - Under 02 years
$4500.00 - Over 02 years but not over 05 years
$3000.00 - Over 05 years but not over 07 years
$1350.00 - Over 07 years but not over 10 years
$0150.00 - Over 10 years

Taxes are applied to date of 1st registration in Trinidad & Tobago (license plate series), not year of manufacture.

Licensing Offices:
    Wrightson Road, Port of Spain
    Bye Pass, San Fernando
    Milford Road, Tobago

Procedure:
    Complete the Transfer Form which is obtained at the information counter
    Take the vehicle to the Inspection Shed
    Return to the main office until called to the transfer counter
    Pay at cashiers (usually closes at 3:00 pm)
    Leave

Note:
    Both parties must be present at the counter
    Both parties must each have two (2) forms of identification
    A Receipt with the new owner's name must be presented
    Insurance in the name of the Buyer must be presented (cover note will suffice)
    Transfer must be effected within seven days of Sales Receipt
Last edited by SRASC on April 25th, 2010, 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 20th, 2010, 10:12 am

I had to go to see the chief clerk four times just to get my name on the certified copy. I applied for the change in January but it came back on the last owner name.
Most important keep your chits showing transfer and applications for certified copy, because if you are not in there system they will put it in using info. on the chits and you will be able to get your copy.

pioneer punk

Postby pioneer punk » April 20th, 2010, 12:47 pm

thanks for the info , so therfore the b14 PBG series if i transfer this month i will hav to pay the 1350 then..

sexidreadz

Postby sexidreadz » April 30th, 2010, 6:52 am

Hey does anyone know how long it takes to transfer a vehicle these days? Someone told me yesterday that you have to carry the car, get it inspected and then go back in a week to actually pay and have the car transferred. Is this true?

acharles18

Postby acharles18 » April 30th, 2010, 9:38 am

i think that is in south

in the north its different

lmakaveli

Postby lmakaveli » May 5th, 2010, 7:50 pm

hear dis nah. allyuh sayin it varies according to the registration of d car. i read d t&t budget 09/10 d other day an they stated that it varies according to the manufacture of the car.

which one it really is? cuz i lookin to buy a next car now an i wanna kno before i go an dey tell me i hadda jump out one setta money.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 5th, 2010, 9:18 pm

They have signs in the Licensing Office stating that it is from date of 1st registration Trinidad & Tobago.

g@16sunny

Postby g@16sunny » May 7th, 2010, 2:33 pm

What happens if u dont apply within the 7 days???

boostsignal

Re: Vehicle Tranfer Fees and Requirements Updated.

Postby boostsignal » May 12th, 2010, 9:46 pm

i was there today and the certified copy is now $100.00

Wildcard26

Re: Vehicle TRANSFER FEES

Postby Wildcard26 » May 13th, 2010, 8:08 am

Update on my situation.

So your boy paid his $4510 transfer fee + $20 for Certified copy on January 5th 2010 and was told to check back in 8 weeks for the certified copy. Due to situations beyond my control I was only able to go on the 3rd May 2010. Only to be told that it was not done and they are experiencing issues in PoS. They now do an Amendment letter and told me to check back in another 8 weeks. I just had to shale my head and laugh it off yes.

Another note in case if it has not been posted already; I saw sign at the clerk window where you have to collect your Certified copy that said that Certified copies not collected after 1 year the person would need to reapply. (to that effect) This is in South office to is just a heads up just in case.

bing

Postby bing » May 13th, 2010, 1:43 pm

wat? $100.00 you say? can't be!

g@16sunny

Postby g@16sunny » May 13th, 2010, 3:04 pm

how much was the certified copy before???

boostsignal

Postby boostsignal » May 13th, 2010, 9:03 pm

$20.00

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » May 14th, 2010, 8:51 am

Sorry if im a idot but could you help this is my situation....
I bought over a Motorcycle from the UK in October, the model year is 1997, im a UK citizen and do not have a Trini passport or ID card i do have a Trini driving Licence and im married to a national..
The bike is on a PCN and is in my name, i will have to sell the bike in the next few weeks as a few things have come up..Will there be any problems??? someone has said as im not a national i have to wait 2 years from date of import before i can sell the thing!!! is this right?????

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 14th, 2010, 11:36 am

boostsignal wrote:i was there today and the certified copy is now $100.00

How long does it take before you get it?

g@16sunny

Re: Vehicle Transfer Fees and Requirements Updated

Postby g@16sunny » May 15th, 2010, 11:53 am

wtf.... so much dey rasie it by..... hmmmmmmm.....

Postby equipped2ripp » May 16th, 2010, 2:12 am

government doing anything to get extra $$$... i don't know why this increase surprised people.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 16th, 2010, 11:34 am

You'd expect better service with increase prices and taxation .... not in sweet tnt.

g@16sunny

Postby g@16sunny » May 16th, 2010, 2:59 pm

i can only imagine wats next.... we mite hav to pay som other tax to use d road jus now.... T&T iz really a hell of a country.. when can we ever expect better...??? :evil: :evil:

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » May 19th, 2010, 6:44 pm

oh larrdddd :!: :shock:

Stay Tuned

Re:

Postby Stay Tuned » May 21st, 2010, 11:32 pm

g@16sunny wrote:What happens if u dont apply within the 7 days???

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » May 26th, 2010, 9:57 pm

what about transfer a vehicle from a company to you

iz it still $10 ?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 1st, 2010, 5:19 pm

yea, a padnah did that in march and was the same