Think this is a one off, or normal behavior?

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

What you think?

Normal behavior
33%
The reporter was rude, and the behavior justified
67%

Total votes: 18

Think this is a one off, or normal behavior?

Postby wagonrunner » May 17th, 2010, 3:39 pm

After May 25th, would you be surprised if you are the recipient of such a response?

ek4ever

Re: Think this is a one off, or normal behavior?

Postby ek4ever » May 17th, 2010, 3:48 pm

ideeeeooottttt!!! Why not just say "No comment"

Postby RASC » May 17th, 2010, 3:50 pm

Well he's good enough for a UNCOP platform. I don't think any of the MANY supporters here would have a problem if he said that to a reporter haggling him post election :s

Firewall

Postby Firewall » May 17th, 2010, 4:00 pm

The man DEAD wrong for saying that and no need for the mother talk, BUT

imagine if it was a typical trini that would have easily escalated to violence after all the hounding that going on, i mean, i saw the vids for 4 different incidents

Can't say if he is guilty or innocent, but can't a restraining order be taken out against the reporter?

man acting like a paparazzi, and he has the bbc behind him

Postby Gladiator » May 17th, 2010, 4:03 pm

I dont really care... these are the non important detractions that are there to sway our attention form the real issues like crime, flooding, education, healthcare, corruption etc...

Postby Damien » May 17th, 2010, 4:10 pm

Firewall wrote:The man DEAD wrong for saying that and no need for the mother talk, BUT

imagine if it was a typical trini that would have easily escalated to violence after all the hounding that going on, i mean, i saw the vids for 4 different incidents

Can't say if he is guilty or innocent, but can't a restraining order be taken out against the reporter?

man acting like a paparazzi, and he has the bbc behind him

couldnt have said it better

Postby wagonrunner » May 17th, 2010, 4:13 pm

Gladiator wrote:I dont really care... these are the non important detractions that are there to sway our attention form the real issues like crime, flooding, education, healthcare, corruption etc...

what was your reaction to Kamla defeating, then not accepting Panday's nomination for this election?
*please forgive me if i'm using the incorrect terms.*

Postby Gladiator » May 17th, 2010, 4:32 pm

Gladiator wrote:I dont really care... these are the non important detractions that are there to sway our attention form the real issues like crime, flooding, education, healthcare, corruption etc...

what was your reaction to Kamla defeating, then not accepting Panday's nomination for this election?
*please forgive me if i'm using the incorrect terms.*

Well as far as I understand 90% of the hatred people had for the UNC was Basdeo Panday. Personally I like him and thought he would have been an asset to the party especially as a speaker on the hustings however many supporters of pre 2007 UNC did not like his leadership style and his decisions hence the emergence of the COP.

Panday is a leader and always will be a leader thus he can never be a follower, if he was apart of the current UNCOP he would eventually cause a breakup and try to lead with a separated fraction of the party.

The non inclusion of Makela Panday was necessary since she will have her father's interest at hand and he may use her to get revenge on the people he deem his enemies.

At the end of the day the UNC deserve full props since they were able to show true democracy and showed the nation that if they dont approve of the leader and his views they will replace him and instill another leader. This cant be said about the PNM since they are dissatisfied with their leader yet they fail to replace him even though there is another emerging leader that shows potential and popularity.

Postby wagonrunner » May 17th, 2010, 5:09 pm

forgive me further for butchering parts out of your response
many supporters of pre 2007 UNC did not like his (Panday's) leadership style

is there a similarity between Jack's response, and the Bas's?
are there other similarities, in as you say "style"?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 17th, 2010, 9:10 pm

what about this idiot

btw patos foot in mouth again??

Manning said that the NUGFWU or NJAC trowed a bomb in his yard in the 1970 uprising and shattered his windows and woke up his 5 year old son………..see the excerpt from Wikipedia on his marriage date as 1972 ……….so there is no way that this could be true at all…………

Hazel Manning
Hazel Anne Marie Manning is a Trinidad and Tobago politician. She entered the Senate as a People's National Movement (PNM) Senator after the 2001 election. Senator Manning has served since then as Minister of Education of Trinidad and Tobago and is currently the Minister of Local Government. She is also the spouse of Prime Minister Patrick Manning.
She was born in the southern city of San Fernando and received her secondary education at St. Joseph's Convent,San Fernando. Sheg obtained her Bachelor's Degree from the University of the West Indies at St. Augustine in the Social Sciences. She subsequently obtained a post graduate Diploma in Administration. She and Patrick Manning were married in 1972. They have two sons.[1]
Her career has included working in various agencies including the Town and Country Planning Division of the Ministry of Planning and Development where she was head of its research unit. She also worked for several years as a social impact assessment consultant.[2]

davbal

Postby davbal » May 17th, 2010, 9:24 pm

Man get ketch in lie

Postby Gladiator » May 17th, 2010, 9:47 pm

He is a stranger to the truth.... according to Kamla!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 17th, 2010, 9:53 pm

TRUE TALK!!!

Postby eliteauto » May 17th, 2010, 10:04 pm

so one of the front line members of a coalition that you support exudes less than statesman behavior and you don't care because it's a distraction from real issues?? So the allegations against him in FIFA and the same made here wrt local football are also distractions. what about the pre-action protocols filed in the last 2 months against his sons due to owing millions of dollars, are those distractions also?

*sigh* ppl really get the Gov't they deserve yes

Postby Stephon. » May 17th, 2010, 10:28 pm

Wow, this has nothing to do with elections, and he probably was just in a 'I don't give a fk' attitude, but sheit, no matter what that was uncalled for, even after the guy said his mom is dead he said "Go to find her, find her" in his Nigerian accent. SMH

Postby wagonrunner » May 17th, 2010, 10:31 pm

trying it again, for an answer to the question.

Postby Damien » May 17th, 2010, 10:43 pm

eliteauto wrote:so one of the front line members of a coalition that you support exudes less than statesman behavior and you don't care because it's a distraction from real issues?? So the allegations against him in FIFA and the same made here wrt local football are also distractions. what about the pre-action protocols filed in the last 2 months against his sons due to owing millions of dollars, are those distractions also?

*sigh* ppl really get the Gov't they deserve yes

carry on

Postby Gladiator » May 17th, 2010, 11:11 pm

wagonrunner wrote:forgive me further for butchering parts out of your response

I dont think you can judge Jacks leadership style from his dealings with Jennings. When Jack comes to my constituency he is a different person, you see different qualities when he deals with his people... kindness, caring, concern. Panday only visited the area for election time in a meeting or a motorcade.

On another note Jack is not the leader of the UNCOP, Kamla is and Bas was... therefore although Jacks decisions may influence party decisions, country decisions would not be Jacks but Kamlas with the input from the other leaders of COP, TOP, MSJ, NJAC...

The main problem with Bas is the same as with Manning. They exhibit an autocratic leadership style where their say is the final say and although others may contribute to solve the situation the "Leader" has the last say and sometimes the only one.

I think this is where the coalition will have strength due to the fact that each sub leader (Dagger, McCloud, Dook, Ashword) would have an equal say in decision making and more groups in the country will be represented by these main representatives.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 18th, 2010, 8:38 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:what about this idiot

btw patos foot in mouth again??

Manning said that the NUGFWU or NJAC trowed a bomb in his yard in the 1970 uprising and shattered his windows and woke up his 5 year old son………..see the excerpt from Wikipedia on his marriage date as 1972 ……….so there is no way that this could be true at all…………

Hazel Manning
Hazel Anne Marie Manning is a Trinidad and Tobago politician. She entered the Senate as a People's National Movement (PNM) Senator after the 2001 election. Senator Manning has served since then as Minister of Education of Trinidad and Tobago and is currently the Minister of Local Government. She is also the spouse of Prime Minister Patrick Manning.
She was born in the southern city of San Fernando and received her secondary education at St. Joseph's Convent,San Fernando. Sheg obtained her Bachelor's Degree from the University of the West Indies at St. Augustine in the Social Sciences. She subsequently obtained a post graduate Diploma in Administration. She and Patrick Manning were married in 1972. They have two sons.[1]
Her career has included working in various agencies including the Town and Country Planning Division of the Ministry of Planning and Development where she was head of its research unit. She also worked for several years as a social impact assessment consultant.[2]

:pwned: :pwned: :pwned: :pwned: :pwned:

Postby Greypatch » May 18th, 2010, 8:41 am

Postby eliteauto » May 18th, 2010, 8:57 am

Gladiator wrote:

I dont think you can judge Jacks leadership style from his dealings with Jennings. When Jack comes to my constituency he is a different person, you see different qualities when he deals with his people... kindness, caring, concern. Panday only visited the area for election time in a meeting or a motorcade.

On another note Jack is not the leader of the UNCOP, Kamla is and Bas was... therefore although Jacks decisions may influence party decisions, country decisions would not be Jacks but Kamlas with the input from the other leaders of COP, TOP, MSJ, NJAC...

The main problem with Bas is the same as with Manning. They exhibit an autocratic leadership style where their say is the final say and although others may contribute to solve the situation the "Leader" has the last say and sometimes the only one.

I think this is where the coalition will have strength due to the fact that each sub leader (Dagger, McCloud, Dook, Ashword) would have an equal say in decision making and more groups in the country will be represented by these main representatives.

prob the most intelligent answer you'll get here WR

Postby Rooki3 » May 18th, 2010, 9:08 am

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 18th, 2010, 9:08 am

eliteauto wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

yes cause the uncop surporters are unintelligent ,backward and belong in the bush

if only they could be like these patriots and examples to society who seem to be making the right choice based on facts that they analyzed with their better brain power and in no way are allowing race to influence their choice of party

Postby eliteauto » May 18th, 2010, 9:27 am

I fail to see the relevance of your answer haydn28, Gladiator gave a great response that was well thought out, from your previous posts it appears you support the People's Partnership so why type the nonsense you did above (possibly being sarcastic) in response to me...really are you representative of the core support base of the PP? Because if so for a party that purports an intelligent electorate you and others like you on this forum who answer any intelligent question with sarcasm, vitriol and "well look wha dem do ", do your party a great disservice

Another question.......why is it that ANYONE who asks a question of the PP here on this forum is assumed to be the enemy or Pro PNM?

Postby wagonrunner » May 18th, 2010, 9:31 am

eliteauto wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

agreed.
forgot to thank him for taking the time to do it.
hope this suffices.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 18th, 2010, 9:43 am

EA it would suprise you that i dont belong to or am i throwing my support behind any party as yet,
am just analizing each party's approach and past/present deeds along with the slate of people involved to govern this country. i was on a lil peecong as is normal with trini election season lol
check RASC thread which is the most significant thread in my view
'kamla how?'

its more than time to open up our eyes by looking at the 2 sides with a nutral point of view.

this election should be about the poor man , the unemployed and those seeking justice
u and i may be living some what normal right now but it have plenty people suffering ,who cant make ends meet and freeness and 10days are not the answer to this in the long term.

highrise buildings and 100 highways are not the answer, what makes us 1st world are the people not the infrastructure .Social services,agriculture, health, Education and the Labour sector needs a lot of attention and frankly Manning not looking at this , after 300 B gone not one new hospital was built and trust me it real bad in the hospitals eh , real bad. roads are a mess, all the contracts by udcott are over budjet and not finished on time not to mention unoccupied .

manning brining the IMAGE that we are 1st world put simply its more than time to give some one else a try, if we dont like what they are doing we simply get rid of them come the next election
Last edited by haydn28 on May 18th, 2010, 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » May 18th, 2010, 9:55 am

Fully agreed and Fully endorsed..that is exactly what I'm doing..provoking thought on both sides, we cannot just automatically vote anyone anymore, they have to EARN our votes

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 18th, 2010, 10:15 am

Jack and jennings has nothing to do with this election....jennings is know world wide to be provocative to the point that could reach to violence....

as usual the PNM are looking to sidetrack the public from the real issues that we want answers about...

the same time Patos spend every night on television, he could have a debate about issues and policies with the People's Partnership.....

yes there were some development in trinidad and i agree but at what cost and were they needed??
San Fernando has never seen any sort of positive development since the last UNC administration. Some HDC houses were constructed BUT these are not for residents of san fernando.
Imagine the last 'development' we had was an interchage at cross crossing....how sad is that...the high rise building on independence ave was not needed, look at the dilapidation condition of the general hospital, no beds and the only medication they ever have is panadol.
The King's Wharf is riddled with crime and prostitution, the bus terminals are in a mess and san fernando has little to no parking. Wouldn't these have been better projects to tackle. Develop the wharf into a beautiful waterfront....

Postby zoom rader » May 18th, 2010, 10:24 am

eliteauto wrote:I fail to see the relevance of your answer haydn28, Gladiator gave a great response that was well thought out, from your previous posts it appears you support the People's Partnership so why type the nonsense you did above (possibly being sarcastic) in response to me...really are you representative of the core support base of the PP? Because if so for a party that purports an intelligent electorate you and others like you on this forum who answer any intelligent question with sarcasm, vitriol and "well look wha dem do ", do your party a great disservice

Another question.......why is it that ANYONE who asks a question of the PP here on this forum is assumed to be the enemy or Pro PNM?

Mr elitauto, Are u an undecided voter?

Postby wagonrunner » May 20th, 2010, 11:25 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:as usual the PNM are looking to sidetrack the public from the real issues that we want answers about...

really? how?
at last check the thread was started by me.

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”