Political T-shirts in the workplace

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

evo-STI-k

Political T-shirts in the workplace

Postby evo-STI-k » May 6th, 2010, 11:40 am

So are there any laws that govern this?

Why is it that someone who works in a public office that came to work with a T-Shirt bearing the opposition UNDER HIS shirt was subsequently called up by his superiors and told that if he did that again he would be fired.

SO since when is there a law against wearing a T-shirt UNDER your work clothes?

Where does the line with politics and your Right to wear whatever you want stop?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 6th, 2010, 12:48 pm

am but why wud u want to be wearing a political jersey when u at work ? ...unless u eh have no water to wash ur regular juzzy & dise all u have left that is clean ...... :?

Postby wagonrunner » May 6th, 2010, 1:00 pm

evo-STI-k,
difference between law, and Company policy.

so tek off yuh orange jersey and false pretenses, and relish the fact that they can't say anything about your autographed balisier knickers.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 6th, 2010, 1:03 pm

wagonrunner wrote:evo-STI-k,
difference between law, and Company policy.

so tek off yuh orange jersey and false pretenses, and relish the fact that they can't say anything about your autographed balisier knickers.

but ah have eet orn UNDER meh work shart! so whats wrong with that?

STEUPS!

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » May 6th, 2010, 1:05 pm

it good :|

Postby ronsin1 » May 6th, 2010, 1:43 pm

the company I work for has it in our contract

We can only wear plain shirts or shirts with company logos

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » May 6th, 2010, 2:14 pm

But where i working it have a fella who does wear a PNM jersey to work in.
Nobody never really take it on anyway cause is the whole of laventille..beetham...diego...sealots and belmont ppl working here....just a few from penal... :D but despite the majority of afro's to indo's no one shows any racial prejudice towards one another...and no is not CEPEP i working..... :D :D :D

Postby wagonrunner » May 6th, 2010, 2:25 pm

could it be different companies may have different policies?

Postby zoom rader » May 6th, 2010, 2:45 pm

lostboys crew wrote:But where i working it have a fella who does wear a PNM jersey to work in.
Nobody never really take it on anyway cause is the whole of laventille..beetham...diego...sealots and belmont ppl working here....just a few from penal... :D but despite the majority of afro's to indo's no one shows any racial prejudice towards one another...and no is not CEPEP i working..... :D :D :D

I hope u all know that Carrarer Votes PNM

davbal

Postby davbal » May 6th, 2010, 9:07 pm

I agree there should be no political jerseys in a business place.

peacelove

Postby peacelove » May 6th, 2010, 9:34 pm

I think it looks unprofessional to wear political jerseys in the workplace. It's fine to wear them in casual settings or at rallies but the workplace shouldn't be the setting for that. Aside from the fact that it's an easy way for people to victimize you because of your political affiliations and depending on the type of workplace can turn off clients or customers etc.
If it's an jersey worn under the shirt though, wouldn't that make no sense because bright red or yellow will show up under the shirt anyway?

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2010, 10:05 pm

but patos wears a baliser on his shirt when he goes to work....

Postby Gladiator » May 6th, 2010, 10:09 pm

slacker_jack wrote:but patos wears a baliser on his shirt when he goes to work....

LOL :lol:

peacelove

Postby peacelove » May 6th, 2010, 11:01 pm

slacker_jack wrote:but patos wears a baliser on his shirt when he goes to work....

i mean that people can victimize you as a regular citizen if you are open with your political affiliations. in the workplace. I still think those balizer ties look unprofessional in parliament but the reality is that no one can really victimize patos though... he's the pm

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » May 7th, 2010, 9:42 am

I hope u all know that Carrarer Votes PNM

:lol: :lol: :lol: ...Nah is not Carerra i working padna....but is in the marine business...if you guys only knew who is my new boss... :( :( :(

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 7th, 2010, 10:21 am

peacelove wrote:

i mean that people can victimize you as a regular citizen if you are open with your political affiliations. in the workplace. I still think those balizer ties look unprofessional in parliament but the reality is that no one can really victimize patos though... he's the pm

But whether we wear a political jersey or not - we getting victimized by manning any way - point ?

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”