What if yuh dont vote? Who gets the vote? PNM?

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

crazydazy

What if yuh dont vote? Who gets the vote? PNM?

Postby crazydazy » April 30th, 2010, 4:47 pm

I've been hearing for years that if yuh dont vote, yuh vote automatically goes to the ruling party.

Can someone please confirm or deny this please?
Last edited by crazydazy on April 30th, 2010, 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » April 30th, 2010, 5:07 pm

wtf i doubt that tru , but then again is trinidad :?

sheis_solucky

Postby sheis_solucky » April 30th, 2010, 5:50 pm

it means u might as well because you're voting for the status quo or the current political party at the time. :D

Postby buzz » April 30th, 2010, 5:51 pm

its a figure of speech

no it doesn't go to the other party but it helps them

for eg

constituency tunapuna has 12 registered voters

if 5 vote for party X

4 vote for party Y

and 3 persons did not vote

obviously party X wins that seat, so once again it would aid party X, thats why its said that if you don't vote it would "go to the other party". Remember, the less opposition the ruling party has the better

hope this clears things up

Re: What if yuh dont vote? Who gets the vote? PNM?

Postby Greypatch » April 30th, 2010, 7:07 pm

crazydazy wrote:I've been hearing for years that if yuh dont vote, yuh vote automatically goes to the ruling party.

what are you like 5 ?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 30th, 2010, 8:18 pm

x10 on what buzz, said .... :)

Postby Stephon. » April 30th, 2010, 9:09 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:x10 on what buzz, said .... :)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2010, 9:34 pm

crazydazy wrote:I've been hearing for years that if yuh dont vote, yuh vote automatically goes to the ruling party.

Thats ridiculous-----are you crazy..dazy?

That sounds like a question a PNM supporter would ask..... :D :D :D :D

serioulsy buzz is correct....

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2010, 7:00 am

buzz for abc cetch ah crab teacher skillzzzzz, yo!

dat is why unc used to have a hard time gettin votes, their supporters by default would not vote because 'they know what go happen so it doh make ah difference' and the pnm voters then and now by default would vote because 'that is what they had to do'

but more persons now dont 'feel ah how' to go and vote, and don't need the 'if u goin then i goin' to go and vote any more... they are more willing to do it

Deepthoughts

Postby Deepthoughts » May 1st, 2010, 11:47 am

Not voting is like voting for the incumbent in areas that are deemed "Safe Seats" Port of Spain South being one of them. If you vote for the opposition in a safe seat it is WRONGLY associated with "wasting your vote" why? Becasue the incumbent has made it out over time to make you feel that your vote is wasted if you don't vote for the incumbent in a safe seat. BUT YOU are NOT the only person voting, there are thousands of you voting as well. IF the people decide that they don't WANT the incumbent to return, they choose not to. That is democracy.

So in the short, don't listen to the old way f thinking. You must choose for yourself.

This will help you think about it some more.

"Why'd the Chicken Vote in T&T?

Ah go tell you why I stuck on this voting ting. Its the only thing that we can do as citizens to be heard, I mean seriously heard. Not like going cap in hand to your "representatives" office at specific times during the day to complain about how yuh neighbour stinking up the place wit he chicken farm or something! I mean a real message, a final message of defiance:.. . ."

http://bit.ly/9gcmAY

Deepthoughts

Postby Deepthoughts » May 1st, 2010, 11:50 am

Also voting in T&T is a simple process and really. . . what will you lose if you vote? Nothing! But what you GAIN is more important. You gain power and who doesn't want that? ;)

The Numbers don't lie!

http://bit.ly/9Z1mxF

insane

Postby insane » May 1st, 2010, 4:28 pm

yea is tru. so if u plannin to vote for pnm, doh vote dey go still get it! LMAO :lol:

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”