'Road paving not linked to election'

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

Mini

Postby Mini » April 20th, 2010, 6:37 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161635342

Camille Bethel cbethel@trinidadexpress.com
Tuesday, April 20th 2010

The Ministry of Local Government yesterday denied that the $60 million road-paving project across Trinidad is linked to the upcoming general election.

Communications specialist at the ministry, Deodath Ojah-Maharaj, said the projects have been in the pipeline since last October.

’It has nothing to do with the elections. These were planned a year before, but these things don’t happen over night. There is the tendering process and what not,’ Ojah-Maharaj said.

In March, the Rural Development Company, a State agency which falls under the purview of the Local Government Ministry, placed newspaper advertisements listing several areas in Central Trinidad where upgrade of infrastructure would be carried out. The notice stated that the projects are being undertaken ’on behalf of the Ministry of Local Government and will commence in April 2010’.

The infrastructure work listed in the notice was said to be ’much needed’ and aimed at alleviating critical problems and deficiencies identified in the various communities - including Chaguanas, Cunupia, Cumuto, Curepe, Sangre Grade, Couva and Felicity.

These included the reconstruction of roads, including paving, construction of concrete drains, sidewalks and box culverts.

Postby redmanjp » April 20th, 2010, 6:50 am

’It has nothing to do with the elections. These were planned a year before, but these things don’t happen over night. There is the tendering process and what not,’ Ojah-Maharaj said.

In March, the Rural Development Company, a State agency which falls under the purview of the Local Government Ministry, placed newspaper advertisements listing several areas in Central Trinidad where upgrade of infrastructure would be carried out. The notice stated that the projects are being undertaken ’on behalf of the Ministry of Local Government and will commence in April 2010’.

yeah right- but in March u already knew u were gonna call elections so u fast track d paving- ah sure it would get put off a few mths well if no elections were called

and why yuh doh pave Abdool-Ghany Rd in Aranguez then? or wait it doh have no PNMites living there, I understand

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2010, 6:51 am

so why they paving streets in woodbrook(deverteuil st, o'connor) that were perfectly smooth and ignoring others next to them that worse off ?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 20th, 2010, 7:07 am

SULLBHIT!

check out the Guanapo road! wonder how much MILLIONS of dollars being utilitized for that PRIVATE venture? :roll:

Postby Greypatch » April 20th, 2010, 8:06 am

Minister Imbert said last night he want to pave ALL the roads in Cumuto

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 20th, 2010, 8:11 am

all of that is linked boy, im living in California for fifteen years, and up to now they ent pave my road, why because they think its sure votes, but they wrong....

MAN OUT :mrgreen:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 20th, 2010, 8:19 am

pugboy wrote:so why they paving streets in woodbrook(deverteuil st, o'connor) that were perfectly smooth and ignoring others next to them that worse off ?

vision 20/20 have cokey eye!

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 20th, 2010, 8:53 am

btw they call dat paving? in some cases in south they make d road worse.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 20th, 2010, 10:07 am

NXTREME wrote:btw they call dat paving? in some cases in south they make d road worse.

YUPP!!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 20th, 2010, 11:37 am

yeh its jes a coincidence ent ....... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Goolie

Postby Goolie » April 20th, 2010, 12:23 pm

steups

:lol: @ 'road paving not linked to election'

slow323

Postby slow323 » April 20th, 2010, 12:26 pm

why do they bother to say anyting at all, ministers is really a special breed of stupid yes

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 20th, 2010, 1:53 pm

firstchoicett wrote:all of that is linked boy, im living in California for fifteen years, and up to now they ent pave my road, why because they think its sure votes, but they wrong....

what part of california you living jed, cuz i living california and they now pave the entire area!

Postby TRAE » April 20th, 2010, 2:26 pm

yeah anybody believe that should run for PM yes

Postby Stephon. » April 20th, 2010, 8:06 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:SULLBHIT!
LOLLLLL

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 20th, 2010, 10:22 pm

Ok seriously, PNM government think they talking to them dotish PNM supporters out there or what?
They really think people gonna buy that "SULLBHIT" (nice one there evo lol) excuse of "it's not for elections"

Steups, we were born yesterday or something? :?

Postby Country_Bookie » April 21st, 2010, 10:12 am

Last year Harry Partap circulated copies of an extract from Hansard. Partap had called on Imbert to pave roads in Plum Mitan, Cumuto and other areas in the constituency that were used by hundreds of people on a daily basis. Imbert said basically they had paved one or two roads in the constituency and the people in Cumuto/Manzan should not be greedy and want more than one road in their area paved every few yrs.
But then this is the same Imbert who said that UNC built schools for douen and monkey when they were in office, referring to schools such as the one in Biche and Coryal.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 21st, 2010, 10:18 am

Who get the contracts to pave the road?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 21st, 2010, 10:19 am

Kronik wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:all of that is linked boy, im living in California for fifteen years, and up to now they ent pave my road, why because they think its sure votes, but they wrong....

what part of california you living jed, cuz i living california and they now pave the entire area!
check google map in anyone of my threads. Hilton Mitchelle St

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 21st, 2010, 11:25 pm

wait nah, is glasses!

well your road really bad den :lol: :lol: :lol:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » April 21st, 2010, 11:37 pm

Who get the contracts to pave the road?

is this a trick question :?: :lol:

slick

Postby slick » April 22nd, 2010, 1:13 am

Seereeram Bros paving road down my side...I don't really mind...the last time my road was paved was in 2001 so it's cool...but a lil asphalt can't fool me.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 22nd, 2010, 7:33 am

I know in the whereabouts that i work all/most paving is done by JS.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 22nd, 2010, 7:59 am

whichever contractor paved the roadway- its the same process, they pave the roads, their price is way over inflated, some false billing and invoicing, and then somehow that same contractor turns around and becomes a PNM Financial BAcker!

:roll: and then yuh wonder where the govt getting their election money from? :?

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » April 22nd, 2010, 8:26 am

tru dat . it is alleged that a popular contractor got 244,000 to patch a couple holes in a side road in chaguanas :? go figure...

Postby nervewrecker » April 22nd, 2010, 12:30 pm

Road paving not linked to election? just now they wil tell us corruption & $$$ laundering not linked to PNM.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 22nd, 2010, 1:23 pm

thats a good thing.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 22nd, 2010, 2:09 pm

i must edit what i write, i see them paving the whole street by me.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 22nd, 2010, 4:33 pm

slacker_jack wrote:Road paving not linked to election? just now they wil tell us corruption & $$$ laundering not linked to PNM.

or the Panday led UNC :P

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 22nd, 2010, 4:59 pm

Endeavour Rd getting paved! YAYYYYY!!!!!!!!

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”