how will life be better under a UNC/COP govt ?

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

how will life be better under a UNC/COP govt ?

Postby Greypatch » April 17th, 2010, 7:05 pm

Kamla/Dooks in charge... bas is old news...

how will the small man (patch) live better ?

dem gonna solve crime ?

stop inefficiency in the public service ?

tell me nah

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2010, 8:03 pm

This is what Trinidad gonna look like

Postby Stephon. » April 17th, 2010, 8:06 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

angrytuner

Re: how will life be better under a UNC/COP govt ?

Postby angrytuner » April 17th, 2010, 8:58 pm

Greypatch wrote:
dem gonna solve crime ?

stop efficiency in the public service ?

to answer the first question: YES

the second question: What efficiency in the public service?

Postby ronsin1 » April 17th, 2010, 9:02 pm

angrytuner, how will they solve crime

angrytuner

Postby angrytuner » April 17th, 2010, 9:23 pm

ronsin1, well, is like this,

1.) hire a real commissioner of police-which should have a huge trickle down effect, an effective commissioner will root out corruption in the police service and manage it in a more efficient manner

2.)place a real attorney general with the expertise necessary to seek the publics' interest in matters or crime and criminal activity.One that would ensure that the criminals are prosecuted and punished according to their crime.

3.)Not allow CPEP monies to flow into the hands of village idiots, err elders, who will fatten themselves and tighten their stranglehold on the youth of Laventille and their futures

4.)Ensure the functionality of the police complaints division(defunct), so that again , that the interests of the law abiding citizenry could be sought.

5.) educate the uneducated ppl, train those interested so that crime is not an option to them.

6.) Cut URP

i dunno, the above will help some...

NST

Postby NST » April 18th, 2010, 12:45 am

It probably won't be any better, but it certainly can't get any worse.

Postby ronsin1 » April 18th, 2010, 7:53 am

angrytuner wrote:ronsin1, well, is like this,

1.) hire a real commissioner of police-which should have a huge trickle down effect, an effective commissioner will root out corruption in the police service and manage it in a more efficient manner

2.)place a real attorney general with the expertise necessary to seek the publics' interest in matters or crime and criminal activity.One that would ensure that the criminals are prosecuted and punished according to their crime.

3.)Not allow CPEP monies to flow into the hands of village idiots, err elders, who will fatten themselves and tighten their stranglehold on the youth of Laventille and their futures

4.)Ensure the functionality of the police complaints division(defunct), so that again , that the interests of the law abiding citizenry could be sought.

5.) educate the uneducated ppl, train those interested so that crime is not an option to them.

6.) Cut URP

i dunno, the above will help some...

Ok that will reduce crime but how will it SOLVE CRIME

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » April 18th, 2010, 8:16 am

It's an impossibility to solve crime entirely, not with the way the human mindset is...

The best to hope for is a containment/reduction in crime levels.

PNM has virtually demonstrated past all debate that they are incapable of handling the crime endemic that has gripped this country.

UNC can't do any worse as it stands.

Time will tell if Kamla and crew can make any inroads to repair the damage done over the past decade or so...
Last edited by SPK1983 on April 18th, 2010, 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ronsin1 » April 18th, 2010, 8:19 am

SPK1983 wrote:It's an impossibility to solve crime entirely, not with the way the human mindset is...

PNM has virtually demonstrated past all debate that they are incapable of handling the crime endemic that has gripped this country.

Time will tell if Kamla and crew can make any inroads to repair the damage done over the past decade or so...

angrytuner this should have been your answer there is no way a government can solve crime it can be reduced if the Police up holds the law

netsket

Postby netsket » April 18th, 2010, 10:06 am

efficient and effective enforcement and high police presence...with high conviction rates and a properly functioning judicial system...will lead to a considerably reduction in crime....in addition with some police shootings

we have to instill fear back into the the criminal...they have to think twice about doing any crime.

the new administration have to make video and audio evidence acceptable in the court also....dont make sense having all this spying equipment and we eh doing nuttin other than political reasons.

toolpusher

Postby toolpusher » April 18th, 2010, 12:06 pm

What is the COP/UNC position on the long list for Firearm Users Licence?

Does anyone know......

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 18th, 2010, 12:21 pm

^ hopefully the same

the last thing we need is everyone carrying a gun and turning T&T into the wild wild west

monkeyman

Postby monkeyman » April 18th, 2010, 12:52 pm

^ where you living its already the wild wild west for the bandits :roll:

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 18th, 2010, 12:54 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ hopefully the same

the last thing we need is everyone carrying a gun and turning T&T into the wild wild west

are you living in a different place???

last time i checked its worst of than the wild wild west.....

todd61

Postby todd61 » April 18th, 2010, 1:03 pm

No mad tax carp i hope

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » April 18th, 2010, 1:16 pm

angrytuner

Postby angrytuner » April 18th, 2010, 1:19 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
SPK1983 wrote:It's an impossibility to solve crime entirely, not with the way the human mindset is...

angrytuner this should have been your answer there is no way a government can solve crime it can be reduced if the Police up holds the law

ponit taken and noted , i really mis-read that question...

Postby redmanjp » April 18th, 2010, 2:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ hopefully the same

not everyone, if u have a criminal record, or were ever arrested or even suspected of being involved in anything illegal, or at risk (live in a depressed area & likely to be involved in illegal activity/tempted to use weapons) or mentally ill (including bipolar, suicidal, etc.) or does be drunk every Friday evening :D and likely to be trigger happy or get aggressive easy

as for the rest of us, why not? once u can successfully complete training in the use of firearms and probably psychometric testing then we should be able to defend ourselves- in fact maybe change the Constitution to include the right to bear arms as in the US

as far as I could see is already d Wild Wild West- at least we would have a fighting chance- perhaps I should put up a sign on MY PROPERTY that says' TRESPASSERS WILL BE SHOT' if u still want to break in & rob & terrorize MY family what yuh expect-that I must lie down & die?? NO NO is pow pow SELF DEFENCE AINT MURDER

and they should allow 'personal protective devices' too like mace/pepper spray- if a lil pepper is considered grievious bodily harm then go arrest d doubles man when he put too much pepper!

Think about this- how many people's lives could be saved by self defence using a licensed firearm (including instances where u dont actually use it but make it known u will thus deterring would be criminals), vs. how many lives would be lost resulting from misuse of a licensed firearm? I think the murder rate will go down not up- most criminals could do what they want because they know most people cant defend themselves but they'll think twice if they know someone could, unless they chupid
Last edited by redmanjp on April 18th, 2010, 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eyephone

Postby eyephone » April 18th, 2010, 4:19 pm

Hopefully the ppl that are and sick and suffering and have no other choice but to go to a general hospital or health centre might actually be tended to in a timely fashion and have beds to lay on instead of the ground.

Hopefully the MRI machines and machinery at the oncology clinics will be working and it won't take them 3 - 7 working days to get them fixed.

Hopefully people who need help with surgeries, medicine or just plain surviving on the whole will get the attention required without having to go on Ian's or Inshan's shows.

Hopefully the people who live in rural areas will be treated as people and not as persons who should be happy that they at least gettin water once a month and have a path made by a tractor to call a road.

Hopefully we will have a PM that cares and listens and lives to protect and take care of ALL their citizens.

ravestarfx

Postby ravestarfx » April 18th, 2010, 9:16 pm

what are your views on bringing back the hanging into full effect?

maybe it can help to reduce crime

if criminals know that their neck will be snapped for their relevant warranted crimes?

i agree to with personal protective devices

fine if you all dont want to give out firearm license

then make other devices acceptable

e.g. pepper spray, tazer, batton

something to add some sort of comfort to the citizens in knowing they can defend themselves.

also pay people their money. I saw on Win TV that people have not been paid for nearly 8 months in enterprise
some of them say they trying not to resort to crime but really .. . . other minds who cant wait probably did robberies already.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 18th, 2010, 9:24 pm

one thing I hope they do is institute the 3-strikes law....3rd conviction=life imprisonment....other than that one has to ask .... how come crime was so low during the UNC gov't???

Why it is that with energy prices 1/4 of what the PNM gov't had....UNC never ran a deficit budget?

And with the billions spent by this PNM administration the population is really no better off....why is that?

Terran

Postby Terran » April 18th, 2010, 9:45 pm

Good arguments.

Why enforce a law when there are no effective means of bringing a criminal to justice? They talk about illegal tint and excessive speed, but how would they prove it, and how will they uphold and enforce the law? When last did we hear about breathalyser testing? Hmm?

civicman

Postby civicman » April 18th, 2010, 9:46 pm

All the talk talk talk
Look at one thing UNC did and what happened to crime
Look at the stats
Rember Rapid response
look at those 98/99 figure
when rapid response was in full swing
So it ent no rocket science

Watch now take a random drive see how much police yuh go see/pass
on the Highway (bet yuh go ketch yuh tail to see any) an look at how much money dumdum joseph spending on crime with 509 murders

1994-2009 Crime Statistics - TTCrime.com:
Year: Murders:
1994 143 PNM
1995 122 UNC
1996 106 UNC
1997 101 UNC
1998 98 UNC
1999 93 UNC

2000 118 UNC
2001 151 UNC/PNM
2002 171 PNM
2003 229 PNM
2004 260 PNM
2005 386 PNM
2006 368 PNM
2007 395 PNM
2008 550 PNM
2009 509 PNM

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 18th, 2010, 9:54 pm

I remember the Patrols under the unc administration first time I see that yes... blue lights ftw

Postby Gladiator » April 18th, 2010, 11:58 pm

nareshseep wrote:I remember the Patrols under the unc administration first time I see that yes... blue lights ftw

Yup... during the UNC times we also had motorbike community patrols in the rural areas

netsket

Postby netsket » April 19th, 2010, 12:14 am

we also had community police

ravestarfx

Postby ravestarfx » April 19th, 2010, 1:43 am

as strange as this may sound but back then we had more "'running"' and "working"" and ""available"" units

than we do now

now you call in a station NO VEHICLES

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 19th, 2010, 6:09 am

Gonzales Predicts Again
Venezuelan physic, Yesenia Gonzales has predicted that this country’s next Prime Minister would be a woman.
Gonzales made the prediction yesterday afternoon, at the Pilipino Fundraiser at the Fatima RC church.
She also said that Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s credibility would come into question in relation to the Chief Justice tribunal, which would continue tomorrow morning.
Gonzales said a senior Politician would suddenly die and leader of the Congress of the people Winston Dookeran would get disenchanted and leave the party to take up an overseas job.
Power 102 Tags: Psychic Predictions, Yesenia Gonzales
Last edited by civic minded on April 19th, 2010, 8:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 19th, 2010, 7:14 am

crime can be REDUCED significally, forget about human rights, start back Bussing necks on a regular process, get serious about crime and the courts!

All those who fidn that Hangings is too inhumane, well fine, bring in the electric CHAIR, or lets get some lethal injections going!

Purge out our over crowded jails.....................................

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”