2010 Election: Another PNM Win?

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

AbstractPoetic

2010 Election: Another PNM Win?

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 13th, 2010, 12:16 pm

Hypothetical of how this election might turn out:

PNM
1 Arima
2 Arouca/Maloney
3 D'Abadie/O'Meara
4 Diego Martin Central
5 Diego Martin North/East
6 Diego Martin West
7 La Brea
8 La Horquetta/Talparo
9 Laventille East/Morvant
10 Laventille West
11 Lopinot/Bon Air West
12 Point Fortin
13 POS North/St. Anns West
14 POS South
15 San Fernando East
16 St. Anns East
17 Toco/Sangre Grande
18 Tobago East
19 Tobago West

UNC
1 Caroni Central
2 Caroni East
3 Chaguanas East
4 Chaguanas West
5 Couva North
6 Couva South
7 Fyzabad
8 Naparima
9 Oropouche East
10 Oropouche West
11 Princes Town North
12 St. Augustine
13 Tabaquite
14 Siparia

Marginal Seats
1 Cumuto/Manzanilla
2 Mayaro
3 Barataria/San Juan
4 Pointe-a-Pierre
5 San Fernado West
6 Tunapuna
7 Princes Town South/Tableland
8 St. Joseph

21 needed to win....

Agree or disagree??? This isn't looking too good for UNCOP...
Last edited by AbstractPoetic on April 13th, 2010, 12:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » April 13th, 2010, 12:17 pm

No...UNC will win.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 13th, 2010, 12:19 pm

RASC wrote:No...UNC will win.

Which seats, RASC? Give us a breakdown.

Postby RASC » April 13th, 2010, 12:21 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

All the marginals and (MAYBE) San Fernando East-Manning's seat.

Postby janfar » April 13th, 2010, 12:21 pm

AbstractPoetic, if you check results from the 2k7 election, you would see that a tally of both COP and UNC votes would give them a lead in 21 seats. Taking that in addition to the drastic change in popularity of Manning's PNM the situation is set to take drastic swings either way.

As you said in another thread... its gonna be an exciting one!!!

Postby UML » April 13th, 2010, 12:21 pm

more reason to ensure that any and everybody comes out and vote!!

young people need to vote!!!

tobago might be the only change that we might see...they not like trinis :|

Postby RASC » April 13th, 2010, 12:23 pm

RASC wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Added to which, the "sure" PNM strongholds will see drastic reductions in numbers. PNM will still win, but less ppl will come out to vote. As mentioned before a PNMite would rather NOT vote than vote for the UNC

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 13th, 2010, 12:28 pm

janfar wrote:AbstractPoetic, if you check results from the 2k7 election, you would see that a tally of both COP and UNC votes would give them a lead in 21 seats. Taking that in addition to the drastic change in popularity of Manning's PNM the situation is set to take drastic swings either way.

Its a VERY close call, I agree, but rememer COP did not win any seats in the last election so this must be taken into consideration. It's not how many votes you have but how many seats you win and right now PNM looks to have the stronghold. UNCOP needs double the amount of seats needed to pull this out. The numbers are in favor of PNM, unless one of the PNM "strongholds" swings the other way. This is why UNC needs COP more than COP needs UNC.

Of the marginal seats I think Mayaro will swing to UNC though.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 13th, 2010, 12:29 pm

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Added to which, the "sure" PNM strongholds will see drastic reductions in numbers. PNM will still win, but less ppl will come out to vote. As mentioned before a PNMite would rather NOT vote than vote for the UNC

Still doesn't change the fact that they will win the seat and perhaps win the election.

I really despise this Westminster system of doing things.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 13th, 2010, 12:32 pm

UML wrote:more reason to ensure that any and everybody comes out and vote!!

young people need to vote!!!

tobago might be the only change that we might see...they not like trinis :|

UML, if I was you I would be on the ground right now to start recruiting new voters.

PNM already registered many new voters and are on the ground fighting for every last vote. UNC and UNCOP supporters need to start doing the same. There are many swing voters out there and folks need to capitalize on that, especially in the marginal districts.

Postby janfar » April 13th, 2010, 12:36 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
janfar wrote:AbstractPoetic, if you check results from the 2k7 election, you would see that a tally of both COP and UNC votes would give them a lead in 21 seats. Taking that in addition to the drastic change in popularity of Manning's PNM the situation is set to take drastic swings either way.

Its a VERY close call, I agree, but rememer COP did not win any seats in the last election so this must be taken into consideration. It's not how many votes you have but how many seats you win and right now PNM looks to have the stronghold. UNCOP needs double the amount of seats needed to pull this out. The numbers are in favor of PNM, unless one of the PNM "strongholds" swings the other way. This is why UNC needs COP more than COP needs UNC.

Mayaro is home... I could tell u its going to UNC. Especially if they dont make Cambell the rep.

I understand what you are saying, but most ppl voted COP last time because they didnt wanna vote for Panday. With a change in leadership and the possibility of Unity (only one person will be repping both UNC and COP) all these Marginal and quite possible PNM strongholds will go to UNCOP.

Postby pete » April 13th, 2010, 12:40 pm

RASC wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

ROFLMAO

Now I know you're just messing with us. :lol: :lol:

TK!

Postby TK! » April 13th, 2010, 12:44 pm

PNM in dey forking azz

Postby Damien » April 13th, 2010, 12:48 pm

Unc ftw

Postby RASC » April 13th, 2010, 12:49 pm

pete wrote:
RASC wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

ROFLMAO

Now I know you're just messing with us. :lol: :lol:

Nah I serious jed :lol:

I really don't think the marginals gonna have enough ppl happy with the govt's performance to bail them out of this one. PNM's people would rather just not vote. I think UNC have it man :wink:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 13th, 2010, 12:51 pm

janfar wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Mayaro is home... I could tell u its going to UNC. Especially if they dont make Cambell the rep.

I understand what you are saying, but most ppl voted COP last time because they didnt wanna vote for Panday. With a change in leadership and the possibility of Unity (only one person will be repping both UNC and COP) all these Marginal and quite possible PNM strongholds will go to UNCOP.

Let's hope so, janfar.

The important thing now is mobilizing on the ground and getting people registered to vote.

Hotxspicy

Postby Hotxspicy » April 13th, 2010, 1:03 pm

I honestly think the UNCOP have a fairly good chance of beating the PNM.... But we'll just have to wait and see........ who win good for them........ hope this time they actually do somthing to make T&T better......

todd61

Postby todd61 » April 13th, 2010, 1:18 pm

If pnm win i going to shoot myself

Postby UML » April 13th, 2010, 1:19 pm

todd61 wrote:If pnm win i going to shoot myself

..bury or burn? :|

Postby Greypatch » April 13th, 2010, 1:20 pm

peeNM by a landslideeeeee

gundelero

Postby gundelero » April 13th, 2010, 1:38 pm

UNC all de way!!!

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 13th, 2010, 1:42 pm

If Manning remain PM I will immediately bun my passport... I ain't want to see Trinidad again

If UNC win, I will bun meh passport in 2 years once they start all the crab in ah barrel sheit. Is injun yuh no, yuh it bound to happen :lol:

Postby Greypatch » April 13th, 2010, 1:44 pm

pnm gonna win 42 seats (even thoughit have 41) dat is how dominant dem is..

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » April 13th, 2010, 1:59 pm

i shoulda get ah id card :?

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » April 13th, 2010, 2:14 pm

^^^ uh have 8 days left to register...

and u sure tobago is PNM or TOP???

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 13th, 2010, 2:18 pm

trini_ravi wrote:^^^ uh have 8 days left to register...

I also have a feeling Tobago will lean to UNCOP given the recent TOP/UNC coalition. TOP is not a fan of the PNM.

Real close race here. Could swing either way.

Postby janfar » April 13th, 2010, 2:25 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
trini_ravi wrote:^^^ uh have 8 days left to register...

I also have a feeling Tobago will lean to UNCOP given the recent TOP/UNC coalition. TOP is not a fan of the PNM.

Real close race here. Could swing either way.

Really will be a photo finish... i believe this election will truly show the grassroot vs informed vote division.

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » April 13th, 2010, 2:34 pm

last election pnm ppl came and wash my neighbour yard, move out some old mash up bricks , paint the next neighbour front wall etc .

This election they might send chinese workers to build wall and roof hahahhaah :lol:

ah jus love it

Postby dougla_boy » April 13th, 2010, 2:36 pm

UNC would probably win, but after 2yrs or so, people will start to complain, too much power struggle in UNC.

angel_player

Postby angel_player » April 13th, 2010, 2:49 pm

^^ tht is a big possibility IF they win

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”