Things to remember the Government for?

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

Firewall

Things to remember the Government for?

Postby Firewall » November 27th, 2008, 9:32 pm

This is NOT to bash and say "oh gorde _________ is a ****.

Actually is based on the premise that trinidadians actually DO have a 10 second memory.

Try to remember as much as you can about the misdeeds of the present government.

And actually be as precise as possible

(e.g. inflation raise from x% to y%)

Both GOOD and BAD

*if the mods deem the topic inappropriate please delete*

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 27th, 2008, 9:34 pm

100% free tertiary education up to degree level.
50% thereafter.

Must give them credit for that.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 27th, 2008, 11:01 pm

^^^definitely!!!!

thestroke

Postby thestroke » November 27th, 2008, 11:11 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:100% free tertiary education up to degree level.
50% thereafter.

Must give them credit for that.

yeah, but thats the same thing thats keepin people in uwi for 5,6,7 years :|

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » November 28th, 2008, 9:00 am

^^^ ask pios but dat....

:? :?

Postby crazybalhead » November 28th, 2008, 9:03 am

Raising the stamp duty start point from 450,000 to 850,000, a ray of hope for people trying to purchase a home.

lowering taxes to 25% across the board, and raising the amount of tax free $$$$ to 60,000 per annum.

NALIS and their computerisation project for differently abled folks.

urabus

Postby urabus » November 28th, 2008, 9:05 am

TRAFFIC....that's all i have to say

2 1/2 hrs i sat in traffic yest to get from morth to central
and same sh!t this morning, was level shoulder this morning :lol: :lol: :lol:

Rahtid

Re: Things to remember the Government for?

Postby Rahtid » November 28th, 2008, 9:11 am

Firewall wrote:This is NOT to bash and say "oh gorde _________ is a ****.

Actually is based on the premise that trinidadians actually DO have a 10 second memory.

Try to remember as much as you can about the misdeeds of the present government.

And actually be as precise as possible

(e.g. inflation raise from x% to y%)

Both GOOD and BAD

*if the mods deem the topic inappropriate please delete*

wuzup yute? long time no see,,,

free education,etc,

a lot of construction goin on so i have wok.

Postby crazybalhead » November 28th, 2008, 9:15 am

cute corolla wrote:TRAFFIC....that's all i have to say

That doh have anything to with the gov't. :? :?

And yuh is a real skunt if yuh was driving on the shoulder. :? :?

Postby crazybalhead » November 28th, 2008, 9:17 am

Anyhow,

Availability of online forms and information

urabus

Postby urabus » November 28th, 2008, 9:20 am

crazybalhead wrote:

so what next u gonna tell me that the govt has no part to play in curbing crime, wtf...it's their responsibility to alleviate these social issues not mine nor yours.

i just real frustrated with the traffic this morning so doh piss me off any further

but on a good note the gov't gave me a scholarship when i did A's and a pretty decent job so thumbs up to them for that

but the traffic NO NO NO

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » November 28th, 2008, 9:26 am

kidnapping (yes i blame the goverment for this )
loss of control of crime
total devastation of agriculture in the country for nah

Trini_Reddz

Postby Trini_Reddz » November 28th, 2008, 10:59 am

cute corolla wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

so what next u gonna tell me that the govt has no part to play in curbing crime, wtf...it's their responsibility to alleviate these social issues not mine nor yours.

i just real frustrated with the traffic this morning so doh piss me off any further

but on a good note the gov't gave me a scholarship when i did A's and a pretty decent job so thumbs up to them for that

but the traffic NO NO NO

So in one breath yuh bragging about breaking the law and in the next you say that crime is the responsibility of the gov't. The police should have pulled you over, search you and your vehicle from top to bottom, check for any defective parts or illegal accessories and ticket the living daylights out of you.

Complain complain complain all you want but never FIX ME FIRST ent!!!

sensiman

Postby sensiman » November 28th, 2008, 3:27 pm

Trini_Reddz wrote:
cute corolla wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

but the traffic NO NO NO

So in one breath yuh bragging about breaking the law and in the next you say that crime is the responsibility of the gov't. The police should have pulled you over, search you and your vehicle from top to bottom, check for any defective parts or illegal accessories and ticket the living daylights out of you.

Trini_Reddz.....VERY WELL SAID

Raziel

Postby Raziel » November 28th, 2008, 4:53 pm

Traffic
Flooding
Crime/murder/kidnapping
Idiotic policies on RORO
Inflation
Infrastructure issues
Our spiral down on the World statistics (WEF as e.g)
Corruption/nepotism on an unseen level (wife being minister, son given contracts, health minister's son owning a pharmacy chain)
Complete waste of funds/resources, e.g. Stadiums, Blimp, helicopters, etc
Supression of press/media
Idiot ministers

and the list goes on and on

Raziel

Postby Raziel » November 28th, 2008, 4:56 pm

Trini_Reddz wrote:So in one breath yuh bragging about breaking the law and in the next you say that crime is the responsibility of the gov't. The police should have pulled you over, search you and your vehicle from top to bottom, check for any defective parts or illegal accessories and ticket the living daylights out of you.

Isn't that the problem? (proof that it is the government's fault), the police did not, do not address the issues.

While I'm fully for social responsability, the fact is we pay the government to protect us and provide basic facilities (tax), on top of which they remove my basic ability to protect myself (gun laws).

Infrastructure/Crime issues are 100% the fault of the government.

Postby bushwakka » November 28th, 2008, 6:16 pm

hazel manning as minister of education :lol:

Postby ronsin1 » November 28th, 2008, 7:26 pm

bushwakka wrote:hazel manning as minister of education :lol:

we the breakfastes never had ah chance

Postby skylinechild » November 28th, 2008, 9:07 pm

liberisation of the telecomunication monolopy......ummmm.....awarding greendot the contract to broadcast on the 700MHZ frequency to give citizens better net access......errr.....doing the ICT survey in 2005 and using the findings to open up the internet to citizens......

Postby brams112 » November 28th, 2008, 9:43 pm

nobody talking about the impending recession,stealing hundred of millions of dollars,having billions yet worst health care,poor utilities destroying farmer's crops to build houses,poor planing yet again,oh did i say putting us back to where we were in the 80's in sheit street,yet again, yeah some guys got good points, but the real picture is, this where did all those billions go? who really seeing what we got for it?because all i am seeing is waste of time and money projects.let's hear from all the adults here who were born before the 80's not the kids in here. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Raziel

Postby Raziel » November 29th, 2008, 10:44 am

brams112 wrote:nobody talking about the impending recession,stealing hundred of millions of dollars,having billions yet worst health care,poor utilities destroying farmer's crops to build houses,poor planing yet again,oh did i say putting us back to where we were in the 80's in sheit street,yet again, yeah some guys got good points, but the real picture is, this where did all those billions go? who really seeing what we got for it?because all i am seeing is waste of time and money projects.let's hear from all the adults here who were born before the 80's not the kids in here. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

See my reply above ...

PNM does the same thing every time they get into power, this is a repeat of the 80's ...

p.s. for all the oil men on the board, hope you knwo what happened in the 80's as well

Firewall

Postby Firewall » April 5th, 2009, 12:12 am

anything else?

Postby joker » April 5th, 2009, 8:12 am

Flooding

the gov't is not entirely to blame .....

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2009, 8:55 am

what about de 3 blimps that our taxes bought,,, how much value for money we getting,

the palace,,, and the new curtains hazel put up for osama to come and see,,, value for money spent

the patrick manning stadium at taruba,,, money spent, going to spend compared to the use we will get from it.

i have no problem for spending money, but make sure the return justifies it,,

we do not need a billion dollar tv screen to one-up wit kfc, when the hospitals dont have medicine to give out

trdboy

Postby trdboy » April 5th, 2009, 9:45 am

pros : free education, tax alleviation..ammmmm looks like daz it!!

cons : free water down education, corruption like waaw, ministry of health in chaos..babies dying every month, kidnapping and murders and crime gone rampant, agriculture down to an abysmal low, urbansiation and infrastructure over development leading to rise in flooding, inflation sky rocketing and food price at record highs, sucky roro policies, NO FRIGGING TRACK TO RACE ON, traffic, decline from an already inefficient police service and national security on the whole, blatant mismanagement of tax payers money; blimps, palace, a million and one stadium, AND KAKAHOLE MINISTERS LIKE COLM IMBERT AND KAREN TESHEIRA.....

wats the point of free education when one day u travelling to school and u get kidnapped, raped and murdered??? and if u lucky to survive u end up in the hospital where the chances of u coming alive was better in the kidnappers hands, and then hada give a report to the idiotic popo who will ask u 'so what was the exact time when they were raping u and what did u notice in the room while u were screaming for ur life"

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2009, 10:10 am

trdboy, u get the point of how to manage development... u doh jus get an idea, and build wit tax payers dollars.

that big structure they buildin nex to the hospital in sando,,, they putting it in the middle of the traffic, so is more traffic due to more workers goin there, more traffic due to more customers having to use the facilities, more obstacles in emergency situations.
they could have built the thing outta tha traffic somewhere, like, i dunno, by the bottom of the highway by southland mall. not congesting the already congested sando, enough space to handle emergencies, still equally accessible to persons going to sando, more accessible to persons comming from east, north. since it takin most of the govt departments outta sando,, congestion inside the town would be reduced,

jus my two cents,,,but what do i kno, i cyar spel gud,
* finishes breakfasses, and tinks about a paradigim shift for the duwens and parrots*

trdboy

Postby trdboy » April 5th, 2009, 10:29 am

this government does operate like a typical horny man..go in head first with a blood rush and after he buss up the nanny and smoking a cig back pedals and wonder if she have something..........there are no evident pro-active thinking whatsoever only acting, reacting and overreacting and then millions for damage control, publicity and saving face!! and doh get me started on denials lawwd!!!!

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 5th, 2009, 11:01 pm

Allowing Uncle Jack Warner to keep his diplomatic passport.
:D :D :D :D

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 6th, 2009, 7:54 am

Raziel wrote:Traffic
Flooding
Crime/murder/kidnapping- just look around
Idiotic policies on RORO

Inflation- very much Self Explanitory

Infrastructure issues

Our spiral down on the World statistics (WEF as e.g)
Corruption/nepotism on an unseen level (wife being minister, son given contracts, health minister's son owning a pharmacy chain)

Complete waste of funds/resources, e.g. Stadiums, Blimp, helicopters, etc and the Hilarious fact that the minister who is basically in charge of Construction is saying that we are wasting money to bring back an investigator. however always justifys costs overuns on projects.

Supression of press/media- the inability to voice your opinion about any of the ministers in government without losing your job.

Idiot ministers involved in a TEA CUP throwing incident that was apparently MORe important that governing the COUNTRY itself!

The DEATH of agriculture and the corrupted and favored distribution of LANDS.

The Congestion of govt offices into the HEART of the capital!

The destruction of the local manufacturing sector and the idiotic support of a HANDout program!

and the list goes on and on on ON and ON and ON and ON and ON

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » April 6th, 2009, 8:18 am

^^ i surprised you have nothing more to add!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”