HOW Kamla, HOW???

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

ziig

Re: HOW Kamla, HOW???

Postby ziig » May 20th, 2010, 11:48 am

my intentions are not in anyway to cause anger or create a fight.....I saw this elections forum and thougth this would be a great place for us to Discuss opinions and hear each others side...at the end of the day we all have to live toghether in trinidad..no matter who in power..this is our chance to have an opinion..no matter if we dont like another persons..we should at least respect it..coice our own and move on...
inspite of the attacks on my family ..on this very forum a few days ago I am still here looking for opinions and debates which can be both productive and informative...and unfortunately have only found a handful if soo much

Postby Rooki3 » May 20th, 2010, 11:53 am

ziig wrote:shut up!!! my family lived here all their life and continue to...i went away..my parents and inlaws are here...i fear for them like you do..for yours

ok so you weren't here for the 8yrs, when things went from bad to worst, all i'm saying PNM had there time, i would be a hypocrite to say they did nothing good, but i think its time for someone else to try & we'll see from there, i gave up on the current administration, after the calder hart/UDECOTT fiasco!!!

this country is backward in terms of governance, no one man should hold the helm of one party for more tahn 2 terms, this way there'll be a mixture of personalities & ideologies

Postby Rooki3 » May 20th, 2010, 11:57 am

ziig wrote:my intentions are not in anyway to cause anger or create a fight.....I saw this elections forum and thougth this would be a great place for us to Discuss opinions and hear each others side...at the end of the day we all have to live toghether in trinidad..no matter who in power..this is our chance to have an opinion..no matter if we dont like another persons..we should at least respect it..coice our own and move on...
inspite of the attacks on my family ..on this very forum a few days ago I am still here looking for opinions and debates which can be both productive and informative...and unfortunately have only found a handful if soo much

dude, nismoid attacked you cause you were attempting to spread propaganda on dookeran & me en give him wrong, doh play with matches when yuh fraid fire

Postby Damien » May 20th, 2010, 12:04 pm

Cyar blame ziig once government money flowing i would do the same

PNM we take good care of you ( friends and famalee of the pnm)

Goolie

Postby Goolie » May 20th, 2010, 12:33 pm

Ziig the problem that the country is faced with is how much money has passed through the hands of this gov't, and what have they done for the people of T&T. Yes they introduced CDAP and made an addition to the dollar for dollar called GATE.... OJT,CEPEP,HYPE,MUST etc

But these are essentially not favours a gov't gives to its citizens.. Why do we pay taxes? Not so that WE the people can reap the benefits and see our tax paying dollars work for us?

The current administration built lots of multi million dollar buildings, hosted million dollar summits, 2 million dollar flag. Look at Manning's palace. The ppl dont mind we have state of the art buildings, but what do WE benefit from them? Why cant we have water in our taps? Why can't we feel safe in this country nowadays? Why are there not enough beds in the hospitals? Why cant the Scarborough hospital be completed? Why cant we have proper roads? These are some of the reasons why most of the people in T&T are disgruntled. After SO much money has been spent, why is it that our standard of living has not raised?

Postby Gladiator » May 20th, 2010, 12:35 pm

ziig wrote:second time now you calling me stupid man...listen like you not following the same elections as me...Kamla said her Energy policy is to be discussed when they win...what foolishness is that...If I was going to be a leader of a country rich in oil and gas...THAT would be my biggest plan of action....taking up pages in my manifesto..NOT ONE PAGE...
and further more galdiator your easily neglect the fact that those platforms you mention are the actions of the present government as they implement their policy....which is very much focused on revenue from oil/gas and manufacturing...not mention other avenues being developed for when oil/gas go scarce....

maybe it is your ignorance that makes you see everyone else as stupid? I dunno I is just a dumb professor that dont know anything.....

ohhh and being a lecturer does not make me SUPER smart...I am a engineer not a economist or policy maker...so my opinions are my own...based on research and facts ....but still my own forged opinion of those...

and i really am not trying for your respect by the way...this is an election forum not a RESPECT ME forum

Zigg I hope you not a sanitation engineer eh!!!! :lol:

Anyway the platforms I spoke about are being constructed by BP and BG not by the Govt. There will be gas production eventually and revenues will flow. If anything the PNM Govt is to blame for not making more money off these companies due to the fact that foreigners and expats do almost all the work and reap the benefit, the only work for the locals are welding and topside construction.

The PNM master plan was for deepwater drilling off the North Coast of Tobago where there were 5 prospected wells with alot of natural gas. Petro Canada leased the block and drilled 4 wells, the water was too deep and the weather conditions too severe, 2 wells were dry I think and they were capped and no one wants to venture there again due to the amount of resources that will be needed to mine the gas. Petro Canada went bankrupt last year.

I do apologise for calling you stupid (although I may not have done it directly). At the end of the day we are all people and I have many PNM friends and call them stupid too when we argue and things get heated. Yuh never know who you will meet and when and where. I have worked on 5 continents with people from all over the world with all backgrounds. You never know we might meet one day and be best of friends and not even know we clashed on tuner...

I do give you credit though to be one of the 3 people trying to defend the PNM in this election.

Peace bro!!!

ziig

Postby ziig » May 20th, 2010, 12:44 pm

LOL no not a sanitation engineer...
I understand your point...in defence though it was the government that encouraged this investment correct? and when you ask for soemone to invest it is soo you wont have to fork out the money , and you get income, without headache.....
I do aggree that locals should get the work...but i guess it was one thing BP and so didnt want if they invested? I am not sure of the arrangement....
anyway I really do hope that inspite of this elections and all the pecong (spell?) that we will meet and be friends..I am not a ignorant person...a bit strong minded..lol
But i enjoy a good arguemnt and healthy discussions...so one day Galdiator putting all this stupidness aside and having a beer or two with you sounds good...maybe after monday..ok

angrytuner

Postby angrytuner » May 20th, 2010, 1:19 pm

first of all, the treasury is not a room full of money and gold like you imbeciles alluding to eh. The price of oil is decent right now, and compared to what a unc government worked with previously, its pretty damn good. What they have set out to accomplish can be accomplished wit the projections that have been made about oil prices and trends.

So what you idiots are saying is dont vote for the coalition because they couldnt possibly do what they say they want to do, but only because the pnm government spent out all of the money and squandered its resources.So vote for the pnm instead...idiots

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 20th, 2010, 2:37 pm

All these talks about the oil price and what not.... well I thought this country has a gas based economy, the oil that is used to produced gasoline is imported into this country, so when the oil price drops the better for us. correct me if I am wrong.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 20th, 2010, 2:50 pm

The treasury is already at negative.

Because from what I heard we owe over 100 billion to other countries. Manning has gone beyond mad now and we will get like Guyana if the PNM returns.

Thanks to the Pee en em.

I need not question Kamla because the last time they said they would do something and they did it on US $7 a Barrel for oil.

So she can defenitely do what she iss saying here and if she eh manage to do all I would still be happy the worthless PNM is out of office anyways.

I prefer trust someone who can do 80% of what they promise than someone who does 1%

And with UNC, performance beats old talk and their past records proves this so I need not question

PNM on the other hand is stink liars.

Postby Rooki3 » May 20th, 2010, 6:41 pm

Postby zoom rader » May 20th, 2010, 8:03 pm

ziig wrote:shut up!!! my family lived here all their life and continue to...i went away..my parents and inlaws are here...i fear for them like you do..for yours

Ziig. dont take them on, they juss vex u get a secret PNM scholarship. We PNM people must stick together our Prime minster loves us and cares for us.

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » May 21st, 2010, 4:07 am

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » May 21st, 2010, 11:17 am

The PNM are so disconected they want to make abortion a key campaign issue. They are not concerned about the issue of crime which getting people killed before they could even have childre. I wonder if anyone dug up the statistics of how many motherless or fatherless kids are out there now as a result of the crime. If 3k ppl killed in the last 8 yrs, perhaps around 10k kids have lost parents?

Seems to me at that rate the PNM is gonna have a serious prob. later on when those kids start to vote against them.

armagedon

Postby armagedon » May 22nd, 2010, 3:15 am

Yeah, we will have more money because the thiefing and squandermania will stop

Postby j.o.e » May 22nd, 2010, 3:47 am

Published: 21 May 2010

The People's Partnership (PP) promise to pay a state-funded pension to every citizen reaching the age of 60 will cost the new administration, if elected, $4.8 billion in the first year, economists and public servants said this week. The proposal, while promising to improve the standard of living of thousands of citizens, is unsustainable and may harm the economy, economists speaking to the T&T Guardian said yesterday. The People’s Partnership promise would scrap the income qualification and lower the pensionable age from 65 to 60.

logoThis would mean that even the country’s wealthiest citizens would automatically qualify for the $3,000 monthly pension once they turn 60. In its election manifesto, the People’s Partnership manifesto promised to “remove all restrictions and qualifications for people to receive an old age pension and thus every citizen will automatically receive a state-funded old age pension upon attainment of pensionable age.” The manifesto promises to increase the value of the old age pension entitlement to $3,000 a month. In a newspaper advertisement on Wednesday the People’s Partnership stated every citizen aged 60 and over will automatically qualify for a state-funded old age pension.

Statistics provided by senior public servants and verified by the Guardian indicate there are 134,542 citizens aged 60 or over. That means the cost of paying all of the 134,542 citizens a pension of $3,000 would be $403.6 million a month or $4.84 billion in the first year. This would be equal to just over 10 per cent of the current budget and, if implemented immediately, would add $1.6 billion to the $7.7 billion gap between what the Government expects to collect in taxes in 2010 and what it proposes to spend. Between 2011 and 2015, the proposal will cost $26 billion which will be $17 billion more than the current system in that period, the public servants estimated.

The cost of the proposal is expected to rise by 2.5 per cent every year, which is the number of citizens turning 60 every year. The current cost of the existing senior citizens’ grant in 2010 is estimated to be $1.6 billion, the public servants told the Guardian. The grant, administered by the People’s National Movement administration, is calculated based on the income levels of eligible persons and is given to citizens 65 years and over who have a monthly income of $1,000 or less.

The Government announced plans this month to increase the senior citizens grant from a maximum of $1,950 to $2,500. One of the nation’s foremost economists described paying old age pension to people in comfortable income brackets as “fiscally irresponsible and at odds with the objective of ‘eradicating’ poverty since it will drain considerable resources that may otherwise be directed to this laudable — but unachievable — objective.”

Did Dookeran a respected economist agree to this?sounds nice but is it wise?

Firewall

Postby Firewall » May 22nd, 2010, 8:41 am

ziig wrote:yea civic minded...that is why they can make empty promises...then fool you and say treasury empty......already Manning has known this and made sure to let the public know of the 19 Bil heritage..and the (forget how much now) Bill USD in our treasury...I think its 9 BIL USD...
so when they say it empty..is only so they can empty it.....

the heritage and stabilization fund is at 8 Billion but its is not meant to be used for the everyday running of the country

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2010, 9:08 am

Well Tuners This is my last Post on Elections with tuner.
I took on RASC, ZIIG,SHANGO 13 ,JENNY CUM LATELY CHINEESLIM,DUANE and a hoist of other PNM clowns all of which have siad that i am racist,dense,victim and illiterate.

So this is my last fact
Racist+Dense+Victim+illiterate = PNM

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2010, 6:13 pm

^ excuse me, but at no point in time did I say I was supporting the PNM or any party.

I will NOT show my preference on this forum. My preference is for the booth at the polling station only. As a moderator here, it is my duty to keep the discussions unbiased.

My comments are against YOUR silly statements, not against or for any party.

Postby Gladiator » May 22nd, 2010, 6:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ excuse me, but at no point in time did I say I was supporting the PNM or any party.

I will NOT show my preference on this forum. My preference is for the booth at the polling station only. As a moderator here, it is my duty to keep the discussions unbiased.

My comments are against YOUR silly statements, not against or for any party.

With all due respect Duane... I thought you were a PNM supporter also judging from your posts. 95% of the time you post something Pro PNM or Anti UNCOP. I really dont think you can keep the discussion Unbiased due to the fact that the discussion is based on the views of the users of the forum and you cant really control what they think and may write.

If the UNCOP supporters on the forum outnumber the PNM the discussions will be biased towards the UNCOP.

Please dont ban me... I didnt mean to disrespect you in any way. If I did I apologize in advance.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2010, 7:29 pm

^ i wont ban someone because they disagree with me. Only of they break the forum rules. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

show me ONE statement from me that was against the UNCOP party or the PNM party.

Your discussions have been some of the more educated here. Iam not against any party, What I am agasint is the stupid comments from users who are thinking race and making cheap shots to bolster their arguments. THAT is what I attempted to keep unbiased.

We saw the preference early on in this 2010 election forum when Midnight_Demon's poll was run now showing 90% for UNCOP and 10% for PNM. If I was against pro UNCOP sentiment then I would have shut down this forum. I would never do that. It is not our intention to censor anyone, we opened this election forum for ppl to discuss the elections because we WANT them to, regardless of their preffered party.

Postby Damien » May 22nd, 2010, 7:56 pm

^ this forum running after midnight tommorow and after elections?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 22nd, 2010, 8:26 pm

this is one of the promises i hope that the new administration will review - i mean it seems kinda lofty and the repercussions that may result of this is bad for the economy - there are other ways to make the current 2500dollars more valuable - example - controlling inflation. The PNM has shown that they lack the knowledge how to control this -but with the economic minds that entering government i am sure they can keep this at a sustainable level.

I know there will be promises passing and i know the party will want to keep the promises to maintain the image of the party but i wish they examine the risk it will take.

I think Kamla is counting on that there will be some monies available to this.

phenom

Postby phenom » May 22nd, 2010, 8:33 pm

ok... this is to set it all straight... Information from TREASURY (from people who WORK THERE) .. yuh boy Patrick moved money from the Heritage fund into the Stabilization fund 2 Fridays ago, went and fool all the stupid PNM people... after he finish they CALLED treasury and made them transfer back the money to the Stabilization fund and went and boast to the PNM zombies ow the stabilization fund have X-amount... challenge them to show both at the same time..

but that don't matter cuz we LIKE IT SO.... BTW the are finishing up bleeding teh money out..

AND YES this came from the people who know...

Postby Damien » May 22nd, 2010, 8:36 pm

phenom wrote:ok... this is to set it all straight... Information from TREASURY (from people who WORK THERE) .. yuh boy Patrick moved money from the Heritage fund into the Stabilization fund 2 Fridays ago, went and fool all the stupid PNM people... after he finish they CALLED treasury and made them transfer back the money to the Stabilization fund and went and boast to the PNM zombies ow the stabilization fund have X-amount... challenge them to show both at the same time..

but that don't matter cuz we LIKE IT SO.... BTW the are finishing up bleeding teh money out..

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2010, 10:03 pm

phenom wrote:ok... this is to set it all straight... Information from TREASURY (from people who WORK THERE) .. yuh boy Patrick moved money from the Heritage fund into the Stabilization fund 2 Fridays ago, went and fool all the stupid PNM people... after he finish they CALLED treasury and made them transfer back the money to the Stabilization fund and went and boast to the PNM zombies ow the stabilization fund have X-amount... challenge them to show both at the same time..

was this on the news?

Postby Gladiator » May 22nd, 2010, 10:10 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ i wont ban someone because they disagree with me. Only of they break the forum rules. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

show me ONE statement from me that was against the UNCOP party or the PNM party.

Your discussions have been some of the more educated here. Iam not against any party, What I am agasint is the stupid comments from users who are thinking race and making cheap shots to bolster their arguments. THAT is what I attempted to keep unbiased.

We saw the preference early on in this 2010 election forum when Midnight_Demon's poll was run now showing 90% for UNCOP and 10% for PNM. If I was against pro UNCOP sentiment then I would have shut down this forum. I would never do that. It is not our intention to censor anyone, we opened this election forum for ppl to discuss the elections because we WANT them to, regardless of their preffered party.

Hey Duane...I should have rephrased my argument to mean I see you defend Pro PNM supporters more than defend Pro Opposition users. But this could be due to the fact that there are more Pro opposition comments than pro PNM.

Putting that aside and looking at things from a business point of view, I think you should refrain from making comments in the political forum due to the fact that your comments may deem you pro PNM or pro UNCOP according to the view of a reader and Trinituner.com can be labeled a PNM site or UNCOP site...

This could prove detrimental due to the fact that if a tuner of high political ranking/fanatic from either side "pulls rank" you may loose advertising business from whichever side is in power. I am sorry but that is just how Trinidad is...

Your Views???

Oh and since we talking, can you un-ban my real account. This [Gladiator] account really belongs to a cousin of mine that doesn't use it anymore. My original account's username is JL and i have been a member since 2003. Not sure why I was banned, but it has been a couple months since I got banned.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2010, 10:45 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Hey Duane...I should have rephrased my argument to mean I see you defend Pro PNM supporters more than defend Pro Opposition users. But this could be due to the fact that there are more Pro opposition comments than pro PNM.

While I agree that RASC, Ziig, AP and others along with their counterparts Civic-Minded, Sumana.00, Greypatch etc, even you, had truly intellectual comments and arguements for and against - I cannot say the same for the vast majority of posters and their posts in this 2010 election forum. It is a crying shame from the 2007 forum.

i cant remember directly supporting any user's political preference either. Again its the empty and far out comments that I have mostly commented against and I have a real big issue against racists.

Gladiator wrote:Putting that aside and looking at things from a business point of view, I think you should refrain from making comments in the political forum due to the fact that your comments may deem you pro PNM or pro UNCOP according to the view of a reader and Trinituner.com can be labeled a PNM site or UNCOP site...

This could prove detrimental due to the fact that if a tuner of high political ranking/fanatic from either side "pulls rank" you may loose advertising business from whichever side is in power. I am sorry but that is just how Trinidad is...

Your Views???

^ I am doing exactly what I view to be good

if someone wants to take my comments out of context and formulate some fanatical opinion based on that to make corporate decisions then I didnt even have a chance either way.

Premera

Postby Premera » May 22nd, 2010, 10:50 pm

does anyone what RASC is abbreviated for ?????

Really Ah Stupid *reole........ :lol: :lol: :lol:

sorry eh but i just had to put this ........no pun intended

Postby Damien » May 22nd, 2010, 10:51 pm

Duane say rasc yes bwhahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”