So I notice no one eh bringing up the PALACE again...

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2010, 11:04 am

dagga up inna de dance. too many cop men in dere too.... unc will be on a leash, a long one, but still, they cannot rein supreme

Postby Gladiator » April 24th, 2010, 11:44 am

Lich King wrote:If the Indo Trini drunkard lady happens to win, there won't be much she could do. It will be just like USA, Bush sent the American treasury so low it burst through the Earth and end up in China, and now people expecting miracles from Obama. The next problem is Indo Trinis and greed go hand in hand, each one always trying to steal more than the next one until they eventually destroy themselves and PNM will return. One thing I always respect the PNM for is their ability to always hold it together no matter what, all the trouble Rowley does give and Manning does keep him at his side, that is true leadership.

Look at Panday, the total opposite, a worthless nastyness that refuse to give way to unity in the opposition. They never even oppose anything in parliament so why would it be different if UNC wins? They allow the Property Tax bill to pass and refuse to represent the people and allyuh stupid enough to think a Indo Trini party will save us? Panday is the cause of all this mess, the sore loser just can't take a hint. So let the hard back Indo Trinis keep packing flowers around Panday picture and worship him more, this is the kinda forward thinking we need. They are the same fools who does worship Harry after he steal all their money and ride out.

Atleast PNM had the balls to shutdown Caroni after the Indo Trinis at the top thief out all the money and caused the company to fail. PNM is the only party that could restructure the port workers and customs, any other gov't and those people would have caused riots. In times like this the people will always want a stable party to lead, and this is why the Indo Trini party will never prevail, always crabs in a barrel. Even if Kamla wins this rounds it will most likely be short lived.

If Manning would just get rid of the seer woman I would support him but I cannot support that insanity so I have no choice but to vote otherwise.

Do you have rocks for brains!!!

Stereotyping Indians as drinkers is one concept I can never understand.... cause most of my Afro- Trini friends does swallow puncheon like water with no chaser too. I sat in to a lecture a while ago by a doctor at St Anns and he was talking about the effects of Guinnes and Puncheon on the brain and the statistics show majority Afro trini men being admitted to St Anns due to the addiction.

The PNM will always be there because they have a die hard racial group of PNMites that refuse to see any other race be in government. They use fear and religion to control their people and have them believing in the PNM just like a one tracked monotheistic cult with backward ancient principles and thinking.

Lich King

Postby Lich King » April 24th, 2010, 11:56 am

Gladiator wrote:Stereotyping Indians as drinkers is one concept I can never understand.

You saying that as if I caused it somehow. :D The Indians you're defending brought that stereotype upon themselves because of their actions and the way they behave. I'm just pointing out what is already there.

Postby Gladiator » April 24th, 2010, 12:18 pm

Lich King wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Stereotyping Indians as drinkers is one concept I can never understand.

You saying that as if I caused it somehow. :D The Indians you're defending brought that stereotype upon themselves because of their actions and the way they behave. I'm just pointing out what is already there.

My point is that we all "Drink" and enjoy it.... Have you ever been anywhere other than this dot we live on. I have been to 5 continents and people of all backgrounds and races etc enjoy a good drink. Englishmen literally live in the pub especially after work...

Face it, alcohol is a way of life in today's society except for the muslim brother or the born again or very strict hindu... If you have never knocked back a few then go try it we have some good local rum right here in trinidad :lol:

Lich King

Postby Lich King » April 24th, 2010, 12:33 pm

Social drinking is something I could accept, but what I'm saying is if a future country leader does not act respectable in the eyes of the public that person will lose credibility. CNN won't be reporting about the average Joe having a good time at Maracas, but when the leaders of the country mess up, you know what happens.

Also I believe you about the local rum, in fact I know a few foreigners who are not afraid to admit that Carib is the best beer they have ever tasted. :wink:

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 24th, 2010, 12:34 pm

^^ Gladiator,

You must also understand that people who drink, this usually result in broken homes. It is here that muslims have a point, instead of drinking rum they usually kill a cow and donate the meat to the poor and I personally find this to be quite a noble thing to do rather than say drinking out the money in rum.

I am not saying I do not drink alcohol. But I am not a heavy drinker neither, I will handle a beastly cold Carib anyday and anytime!!! Who vex they can fack off. I am also guilty of wasting thousands of dollars in cigarette but have decided to quit now not because it can kill you cause reality is when your time reach thats it.

While I maybe a Muslim I can still care less about one beer a day being bad. I think alcohol in moderation is very very healthy and this has been scientifically proven that moderate consumption of alcohol like beers for example prevents a number of heart disease and kidney disease.

So the reality is moderate consumption of alcohol is very good.

Where both sides get carried away is the ABUSE of alcohol. When you drink to much this is where it becomes a very very serious problem.

Just like how if you abuse fast food you get fat like a pig, if you abuse sleeping pills you can die etc.

Postby Gladiator » April 24th, 2010, 12:37 pm

Lich King wrote:Social drinking is something I could accept, but what I'm saying is if a future country leader does not act respectable in the eyes of the public that person will lose credibility. CNN won't be reporting about the average Joe having a good time at Maracas, but when the leaders of the country mess up, you know what happens.

Also I believe you about the local rum, in fact I know a few foreigners who are not afraid to admit that Carib is the best beer they have ever tasted. :wink:

Seriously have you actually seen Mrs Kamla drunk and disorderly with your own eyes or even on the TV, or are you basing your view on a hear/say rumor from the PNM platform. I don't know if you have noticed, but alot of what the PNM delivers on their platform is misinformed garbage aimed at sensitizing their uneducated supporters. Please don't fall into that crew...

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 24th, 2010, 12:43 pm

Gladiator, I must agree with you here 100%

I have NEVER EVER in my life seen Kamla drunk or should I say behave in the manner that a drunk person behaves. Its only because ignorant jealous people say she is a drinker that every j@ckass falls for it.

Maybe she has had a little drink now and then nothing to major a lil tipsy but nothing to talk about. She is human just like anyone else.

BTW Manning also drinks he does it very secretly behind closed doors. Its just that we never hear of it really. Remember the local media needs to sing for their supper. All those useless full page government ads and television ads.

The King of Saudi Arabia has been accused of taking cocaine many times. Its amazing how people can point fingers in a certain direction when its convenient to them.
Last edited by RadeonHD on April 24th, 2010, 12:54 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Gladiator » April 24th, 2010, 12:47 pm

Alpine,

Good points there man... definitely abuse of alcohol is a bad thing... my comments were based on casual or social drinking. I mean we all "catch it" from time to time but being an alcoholic is another thing totally.

You being a social drinking muslim might be frowned upon in many circles so be careful because the teachings Islam is not something to be taken for granted. There are many benefits of Alcohol though as you stated, relaxation being the most important.

I saw a documentary on history channel recently on beer where workers were given a pint a day by the companies they worked for somewhere in europe.

On the other hand I have a friend who is not Indian, he is an alcoholic. When I asked him why he drinks so much he told me his story of a woman that ripped him up and left him for dead and alco was the only way he could have gotten back his sanity. I feel sorry for him cause of the addiction but respect him and fully understand his reasons.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 24th, 2010, 12:53 pm

You see Manning knows how to fool the religious people. He will use this alcohol is against the bible and koran thing to gain the support of religious and so called godly people, funny thing is putting PNM back in power is the most evil thing you can do.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 24th, 2010, 1:05 pm

Also let me set this nonsense straight once and for all.

Kamla is not an alcoholic.

No alcoholic can get a MBA with full distinctions.

Have anyone ever read about her qualifications? She has what Manning and his wife can only dream off.

You know something many of us here who bash this woman have yet to even reach anything remotely close to the educational standards of kamla. I know people who don't drink and going UWI years and still cannot pass.

So any point being made about Kamla and alcohol is irrelevant and is just used by very narrow minded and desperate men who feel less of a human because they could never obtain what this woman has.

Lich King

Postby Lich King » April 24th, 2010, 1:05 pm

Alpine wrote:You see Manning knows how to fool the religious people. He will use this alcohol is against the bible and koran thing to gain the support of religious and so called godly people, funny thing is putting PNM back in power is the most evil thing you can do.

true true true....true.

When Kamla wins the first thing we need to do as a collective of concerned citizens is protest this property tax nonsense. This thing will really destroy the poor and middle class people, I could see crime increasing because of this. They always want to tax us using American standards but you never hear anything about American Salaries. The poor people in this country, who account for the majority, only work for approximately $500US/month, and how much is American social welfare?
Last edited by Lich King on April 24th, 2010, 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 24th, 2010, 1:07 pm

^^ Well said Lich King

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 24th, 2010, 6:09 pm

gidem... gidem !!

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2010, 6:59 pm

spalkkkkkkkk

netsket

Postby netsket » May 2nd, 2010, 11:58 am

Kamla: I will not live at La Fantasie

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,120036.html

By Andre Bagoo Sunday, May 2 2010

IF MADE Prime Minister, UNC political leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar will not live at the official Prime Minister’s Residence at La Fantasie Road, St Ann’s, sources yesterday disclosed as the UNC and PNM continued to put the finishing touches on their manifestos which are expected to be unveiled this week.

Sources close to the UNC Leader yesterday revealed that Persad-Bissessar has privately assured her colleagues that she has no desire to live at the controversial residence and that she would open the facilities up to the public. However, there is as yet no final plan on what form this arrangement would take or what the facilities would be used for.

“She has said she would not want to live there,â€

eyephone

Postby eyephone » May 2nd, 2010, 12:13 pm

Alpine wrote:Also let me set this nonsense straight once and for all.

Kamla is not an alcoholic.

No alcoholic can get a MBA with full distinctions.

Have anyone ever read about her qualifications? She has what Manning and his wife can only dream off.

And she did the MBA in only 1 YEAR. That is brilliance!

Postby wagonrunner » May 2nd, 2010, 12:28 pm

fellas,
she gi'in back the palace to d people.
When so yuh think we could curry a duck by the fountainside?

Emil

Postby Emil » May 3rd, 2010, 7:45 am

I wonder if that article answers Rasc's question.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 3rd, 2010, 7:57 am

Boy mannin go Drop DED if the general public gets to palance in he golden place !

i say turn it into a mini-disney land for children!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 3rd, 2010, 11:20 am

all dat drama went on in this page - wtf , so what if some time ago d woman take a drink & get drunk which probably was in a lil get together i dunno she bisnis & where ppl get that info

so because she is politics she must stop meat & go to temple everyday then - she not human too ? ... i find ppl getting orn as though from d time she come out parliament like she does head straight for smokey & bunty

why ppl doh talk bout manning & d time cabinet had d retreat : d 2 christine & others or his wife sleeping in hyatt & in separate beds .... :wink:

concerning d palace thing i give she right yes - for moral sake u cant go live in something like that when ppl suffering for basic ting like hospital beds ....besides i doubt she wud want to force her husband & kids to go live there too ...it doh matter to me where she chooses to live as long as she does d job properly .... :)

Postby RASC » May 3rd, 2010, 12:27 pm

Emil wrote:I wonder if that article answers Rasc's question.

Sure doesn't. As we all know words and politicians don't go hand in hand. Let's see what happens May 25th :wink:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 3rd, 2010, 12:28 pm

dont even watse yuh breath boy Rovin, as far as all the stupid pnm-mites ob this site know is that pastor mann does only drink wine and eat bread!

acesinghit

Re: So I notice no one eh bringing up the PALACE again...

Postby acesinghit » May 3rd, 2010, 1:09 pm

RASC wrote:'Cause now Kamla staying in it...is aight :lol:

This place good yes, complain when it suits you and your party. Otherwise, it's all gravy 8-)

I think you guys should start a petition requesting that if the UNCACOP wins, they DO NOT take up residence at the official PM's residence as a show of solidarity with regards to the reckless spending by the previous government.
What y'all think?

at least Kamla and her Husband would be staying at the "Palace" vs Patrick sleeping there alone and his wife staying at the Hyatt.

Postby 16 cycles » May 3rd, 2010, 1:23 pm

do MPs get a traveling allowance based on mileage covered to and from work?

If so, and UNCOP wins - Kamla commuting daily - that will add up.

Rent the place out, use the rent to afford a lil place in town for the family and use the extra from the rent to help ppl out

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 23rd, 2010, 7:35 am

didn't Kamla say that the president would be staying in the palace :?:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 23rd, 2010, 7:55 am

^^^until president's house has be repaired/refurbished......

Terran

Postby Terran » May 23rd, 2010, 8:04 am

I put this in the election ads thread, but it might be more appropriate here.

image003.jpg
image003.jpg (102.27 KiB) Viewed 3232 times

image001.jpg
image001.jpg (102.66 KiB) Viewed 3232 times

image002.jpg
image002.jpg (113.11 KiB) Viewed 3232 times

Postby Damien » May 23rd, 2010, 9:02 am

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”